Bitcoin Forum
April 20, 2019, 01:44:24 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 ... 220 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Avalon ASIC users thread  (Read 436396 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1078


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2013, 06:28:52 PM
 #1221

Is someone able to compile the same firmware but with variable fan speed please?

Temps are 42 and 46 [I only have external air being piped to one intake at the moment so can make the 46 lower]. I need to sleep next to this thing and 4k rpms don't exactly help Cheesy

1555767864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555767864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555767864
Reply with quote  #2

1555767864
Report to moderator
1555767864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555767864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555767864
Reply with quote  #2

1555767864
Report to moderator
1555767864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555767864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555767864
Reply with quote  #2

1555767864
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1555767864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555767864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555767864
Reply with quote  #2

1555767864
Report to moderator
1555767864
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555767864

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555767864
Reply with quote  #2

1555767864
Report to moderator
loshia
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 06:49:23 PM
 #1222

So I thought I'd make it easy for everyone to try the latest cgminer 3.3.0 and overclock settings all rolled into one, so here is a firmware with the overclock settings settable from the web interface:


(perhaps my mistake was that I have kept settings)



I got this same exact Cgminer API error

HELP ME PLEASE!

My unit has been offline for 8 hours now Sad




kill cgminer process (needs to be done twice)
save config again.... try 345 instead of 350... it seems more stable for me
goto startup and RESTART cgminer.....

repeat this process every 5mins if not working
Apiallow have you touched it ?


Please help the Led Boy aka Bicknellski to make us a nice Christmas led tree and pay WASP membership fee here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=643999.msg7191563#msg7191563
And remember Bicknellski is not collecting money from community;D
melmo
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 204
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:01:57 PM
 #1223

http://www.mycom.nl/hardware/voedingen/9687/corsair-tx750m


is this good enough for upgrading a batch 1 PSU?

Mine had a 750 watt Gold Enermax, so replacing with a 750 watt Bronze power supply may not be an upgrade. 
cryptograd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:08:13 PM
 #1224

So I thought I'd make it easy for everyone to try the latest cgminer 3.3.0 and overclock settings all rolled into one, so here is a firmware with the overclock settings settable from the web interface:


(perhaps my mistake was that I have kept settings)



I got this same exact Cgminer API error

HELP ME PLEASE!

My unit has been offline for 8 hours now Sad




kill cgminer process (needs to be done twice)
save config again.... try 345 instead of 350... it seems more stable for me
goto startup and RESTART cgminer.....

repeat this process every 5mins if not working

Is this a specifically a software problem(Cgminer) or does this indicate possible hardware damage due to overclocking?

Liked something I said ->17ry6rrknqmQ2S1NRArzdrNMmG2Zk449AE
Most important bitcointalk post in history
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=120184.msg1381739#msg1381739
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:13:42 PM
 #1225

no idea.... if that does nto work then maybe..... try flashing back to old firmware maybe?
mtbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 877
Merit: 1000


Etherscan.io


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:13:54 PM
 #1226


Is this a specifically a software problem(Cgminer) or does this indicate possible hardware damage due to overclocking?

Its a configuration/software issue. Seen this a couple of times as I was flashing within the various firmware. You can try flashing it back to the stock firmware. Hard Reboot, Cgminer configuration, change the speed settings, save & reapply settings.

EtherScan::Ethereum Block Explorer | BlockScan::Coming Soon
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:30:32 PM
 #1227

http://www.mycom.nl/hardware/voedingen/9687/corsair-tx750m


is this good enough for upgrading a batch 1 PSU?

Mine had a 750 watt Gold Enermax, so replacing with a 750 watt Bronze power supply may not be an upgrade. 


I thought batch 1 had gold 650W PSU? I have one of those corsair bronze laying around.................. would it be better than a gold 650w?
Elokane
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 871
Merit: 1000


Truth is a consensus among neurons www.synereo.com


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2013, 07:36:00 PM
 #1228

Is there a legend to all of the tables in the cgminer status dashboard anywhere?

Synereo: liberating the Internet from abusive business models.

Beware of he who would deny you access to information, for in his heart, he dreams himself your master.
<br>
btcsql
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:42:45 PM
 #1229

Is someone able to compile the same firmware but with variable fan speed please?

Temps are 42 and 46 [I only have external air being piped to one intake at the moment so can make the 46 lower]. I need to sleep next to this thing and 4k rpms don't exactly help Cheesy


Quoted for truth -- 4k RPMs is impossible to sleep next to, it would be a great service if someone could enable the 325 clock without the 4k RPM fans...
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:47:24 PM
 #1230

why are you all sleeping next to your hardware? ever tried earplugs?Huh?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1078


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2013, 07:49:13 PM
 #1231

why are you all sleeping next to your hardware? ever tried earplugs?Huh?
I'm in student halls, I'm literally 60cm away from these fans. IN ORDER TO HEAR MYSELF THINK I NEED TO TYPE IN CAPITALS.

btcsql
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 292
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 07:50:23 PM
 #1232

why are you all sleeping next to your hardware? ever tried earplugs?Huh?
I'm in student halls, I'm literally 60cm away from these fans. IN ORDER TO HEAR MYSELF THINK I NEED TO TYPE IN CAPITALS.



Hear ye hear ye, btc network be secured from within the confines of the student housing. 4000 rpms in your ears is like being on a transoceanic flight, all hours.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1078


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2013, 07:52:39 PM
 #1233

why are you all sleeping next to your hardware? ever tried earplugs?Huh?
I'm in student halls, I'm literally 60cm away from these fans. IN ORDER TO HEAR MYSELF THINK I NEED TO TYPE IN CAPITALS.



Hear ye hear ye, btc network be secured from within the confines of the student housing. 4000 rpms in your ears is like being on a transoceanic flight, all hours.

I CAN'T HEAR YOU BRO

cryptograd
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10



View Profile
June 24, 2013, 08:11:44 PM
 #1234

no idea.... if that does nto work then maybe..... try flashing back to old firmware maybe?


Its a configuration/software issue. Seen this a couple of times as I was flashing within the various firmware. You can try flashing it back to the stock firmware. Hard Reboot, reapply settings.

Tried it still stuck, but Im at work now so I have to wait till I get out Sad

Liked something I said ->17ry6rrknqmQ2S1NRArzdrNMmG2Zk449AE
Most important bitcointalk post in history
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=120184.msg1381739#msg1381739
elasticband
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


Nighty Night Don't Let The Trolls Bite Nom Nom Nom


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 08:25:26 PM
 #1235

no idea.... if that does nto work then maybe..... try flashing back to old firmware maybe?


Its a configuration/software issue. Seen this a couple of times as I was flashing within the various firmware. You can try flashing it back to the stock firmware. Hard Reboot, reapply settings.

Tried it still stuck, but Im at work now so I have to wait till I get out Sad


hiw long were you running 350? What kind of environment? what temps? What were your hw errors like?
SolarSilver
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1113
Merit: 1000


View Profile
June 24, 2013, 08:36:37 PM
 #1236

Tried it still stuck, but Im at work now so I have to wait till I get out Sad

Just log in with SSH and see what is going on, if cgminer is running. And if not, check the error (perhaps config) when you start it up.

The fact that the web interface can't connect can mean various things.
yantis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 11



View Profile
June 24, 2013, 08:46:03 PM
 #1237

Ckovivas - Thanks for the firmware and latest cgminer update!

Is there a way to get the fans to run at maximum on the avalons.
I have tried adding these:
--avalon-temp 0
--avalon-temp 1
--avalon-temp 30

But none are running at 4000 so the temperature is running several degrees more than normal. I tried this on a couple different units.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1078


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2013, 08:54:45 PM
 #1238

Ckovivas - Thanks for the firmware and latest cgminer update!

Is there a way to get the fans to run at maximum on the avalons.
I have tried adding these:
--avalon-temp 0
--avalon-temp 1
--avalon-temp 30

But none are running at 4000 so the temperature is running several degrees more than normal. I tried this on a couple different units.
? They're defaulted to max on his firmware.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2842
Merit: 1159


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
June 24, 2013, 08:55:10 PM
 #1239

Ckovivas - Thanks for the firmware and latest cgminer update!

Is there a way to get the fans to run at maximum on the avalons.
I have tried adding these:
--avalon-temp 0
--avalon-temp 1
--avalon-temp 30

But none are running at 4000 so the temperature is running several degrees more than normal. I tried this on a couple different units.
cgminer is setting them to max. Your fans just don't happen to run at 4000 at max.

As yantis has pointed out, you can change the temp target to run your fans quieter. Add that line with your temperature target to "More options". The highest I would go  is 55 degrees.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
yantis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110
Merit: 11



View Profile
June 24, 2013, 09:00:41 PM
 #1240

No but with the strombom (spelling) firmware they run at 4000 just not with this update. If I switch to that firmware then the fans are maxed out and the units are a couple degrees cooler but then I miss out on the latest cgminer goodness.

cgminer 3.3 firmware
Fan2 3840
Fan3 3600

Strombom firmware:
Fan2 3840
Fan3 3960
Pages: « 1 ... 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 [62] 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 ... 220 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!