Bitcoin Forum
November 24, 2017, 01:32:31 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 2057 2058 2059 2060 2061 2062 2063 2064 2065 2066 2067 2068 2069 2070 2071 2072 2073 2074 2075 2076 2077 2078 2079 2080 2081 2082 2083 2084 2085 2086 2087 2088 2089 2090 2091 2092 2093 2094 2095 2096 2097 2098 2099 2100 2101 2102 2103 2104 2105 2106 [2107] 2108 2109 2110 2111 2112 2113 2114 2115 2116 2117 2118 2119 2120 2121 2122 2123 2124 2125 2126 2127 2128 2129 2130 2131 2132 2133 2134 2135 2136 2137 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3012783 times)
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
March 12, 2016, 01:35:24 AM
 #42121

Looks like permalinks work properly again on my site. Its up again weeee!

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511530351
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511530351

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511530351
Reply with quote  #2

1511530351
Report to moderator
1511530351
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511530351

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511530351
Reply with quote  #2

1511530351
Report to moderator
AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1002



View Profile
March 12, 2016, 02:22:52 AM
 #42122

Maybe this was mentioned already in this 2000+ page thread but Im going to ask anyway... Is there anyway to dynamically adjust the fan speed? These miners are actually fairly quiet but being able to knock them down manually or auto adjust based on temp would be a nice plus. Note that Im a new Titan owner so maybe this is common knowledge and I just lacking it.

EDIT: Thought this was GenTarkins thread, but I guess the question fits here as well...

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 12, 2016, 04:30:27 AM
 #42123

ITS ALIVE:)))
Thanks for fixing it buddy.
Not a problem, pleasure to fix and fun to do this for bitcoins!
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
March 12, 2016, 06:18:49 AM
 #42124

Maybe this was mentioned already in this 2000+ page thread but Im going to ask anyway... Is there anyway to dynamically adjust the fan speed? These miners are actually fairly quiet but being able to knock them down manually or auto adjust based on temp would be a nice plus. Note that Im a new Titan owner so maybe this is common knowledge and I just lacking it.

EDIT: Thought this was GenTarkins thread, but I guess the question fits here as well...

Nope, Im pretty sure there isnt. I havent seen any indication of being able to specify fan speeds or even a fanspeed controller.
But, Im sure those that have studied the physical board might know more bout this.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
TXSteve
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 340


View Profile
March 12, 2016, 11:12:32 AM
 #42125

Maybe this was mentioned already in this 2000+ page thread but Im going to ask anyway... Is there anyway to dynamically adjust the fan speed? These miners are actually fairly quiet but being able to knock them down manually or auto adjust based on temp would be a nice plus. Note that Im a new Titan owner so maybe this is common knowledge and I just lacking it.

EDIT: Thought this was GenTarkins thread, but I guess the question fits here as well...

Nope, Im pretty sure there isnt. I havent seen any indication of being able to specify fan speeds or even a fanspeed controller.
But, Im sure those that have studied the physical board might know more bout this.

I suspect KNC skipped a fanspeed controller because it'd always be at 100% while mining, so not much point in having it
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 12, 2016, 01:59:59 PM
 #42126

I suspect KNC skipped a fanspeed controller because it'd always be at 100% while mining, so not much point in having it
Pretty much. You need a resistor bank or a dc-dc controller and to be honest it's really not worth it. Besides, the fan is pretty quiet as is, and the board has very limited temperature sensing so run at full speed.
AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1002



View Profile
March 12, 2016, 02:26:30 PM
 #42127

All very valid reasons and I assumed as much. Thanks for confirming.

I guess you could replace the fan with one that has its own thermal sensor. Ive seen 80mm fans with this so I assume they have larger ones as well to fit the titan. Might not be worth the cost unless youre replacing a bad fan tho.

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
March 12, 2016, 06:10:17 PM
 #42128

GenTarkin's Mod - Firmware - IMPORTANT NOTICE

Before enabling "Energy Saver": please set any dies which are listed in autobypass to OFF, then clear the autobypass list, then apply settings, then enable "Energy Saver".

Doing so will result in slightly faster and much more accurate results.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 12, 2016, 09:28:05 PM
 #42129

All very valid reasons and I assumed as much. Thanks for confirming.

I guess you could replace the fan with one that has its own thermal sensor. Ive seen 80mm fans with this so I assume they have larger ones as well to fit the titan. Might not be worth the cost unless youre replacing a bad fan tho.

I suppose. One of the things to watch out for is that you would measure incoming air temp as the KNC titan pushes air through the enclosure. Technically it's always better to PULL a fluid (ie: air) not push it, but once again running full steam is best on a Titan that is still quite worth something.

Meantime I'm wiring another bypass circuit up for someone who torched a cube's power bus.
padrino
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1400


https://www.bitworks.io


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2016, 10:52:29 PM
 #42130

All very valid reasons and I assumed as much. Thanks for confirming.

I guess you could replace the fan with one that has its own thermal sensor. Ive seen 80mm fans with this so I assume they have larger ones as well to fit the titan. Might not be worth the cost unless youre replacing a bad fan tho.

I suppose. One of the things to watch out for is that you would measure incoming air temp as the KNC titan pushes air through the enclosure. Technically it's always better to PULL a fluid (ie: air) not push it, but once again running full steam is best on a Titan that is still quite worth something.

Meantime I'm wiring another bypass circuit up for someone who torched a cube's power bus.

Technically it's better? Have you read the research on the topic? Especially when design comes into play, for example look at how the cubes behave with negative pressure vice (semi) directed airflow.


1CPi7VRihoF396gyYYcs2AdTEF8KQG2BCR
https://www.bitworks.io
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 13, 2016, 12:43:55 AM
 #42131

All very valid reasons and I assumed as much. Thanks for confirming.

I guess you could replace the fan with one that has its own thermal sensor. Ive seen 80mm fans with this so I assume they have larger ones as well to fit the titan. Might not be worth the cost unless youre replacing a bad fan tho.

I suppose. One of the things to watch out for is that you would measure incoming air temp as the KNC titan pushes air through the enclosure. Technically it's always better to PULL a fluid (ie: air) not push it, but once again running full steam is best on a Titan that is still quite worth something.

Meantime I'm wiring another bypass circuit up for someone who torched a cube's power bus.

Technically it's better? Have you read the research on the topic? Especially when design comes into play, for example look at how the cubes behave with negative pressure vice (semi) directed airflow.


Yes.
tolip_wen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 387


View Profile
March 13, 2016, 12:53:04 AM
 #42132

All very valid reasons and I assumed as much. Thanks for confirming.

I guess you could replace the fan with one that has its own thermal sensor. Ive seen 80mm fans with this so I assume they have larger ones as well to fit the titan. Might not be worth the cost unless youre replacing a bad fan tho.

I suppose. One of the things to watch out for is that you would measure incoming air temp as the KNC titan pushes air through the enclosure. Technically it's always better to PULL a fluid (ie: air) not push it, but once again running full steam is best on a Titan that is still quite worth something.

Meantime I'm wiring another bypass circuit up for someone who torched a cube's power bus.

Been there done that! (the bypass, not a torched power trace)
http://imgur.com/LhXa182

EDIT:
Another good option to land a jumper is right at the filter caps closest to the ASIC.
Another good option to land a jumper is right at the filter caps closest to the DC/DC converter.
The ASIC caps are where you run ~0.7VDC if you bypass the ericsson VRM's.


BTW, I did this long ago just to measure thermal properties of the 12VDC traces.
I did the mod on a brand new PCB, after I ran it once to test functionality.
I also replaced ALL my PCIe power inputs with wires soldered direct to ASIC PCB.
http://imgur.com/3pVt5ae
I assumed I might mess up the via's doing the connector mods and figured out the plan B before implimenting plan A.

I melted a couple consumer PSU modular connectors with my old 28nm stuff.
I use only screw terminals on the PSU side now.
http://imgur.com/uFJ5Off
The exception is, I use a modular connector right at the 2kW PSU, but it is designed for the high current.


I doubt it really matters at the 'gas'  pressures involved but,

For a compressable 'fluid' like atmosphere I personally think it is better to PUSH air to compress it and get more molecules to pass hot area.
*assuming the compression does not raise the air temp too much.
Pulling creates a partial vacuume, partial vacuume's are used in vacuume bottles to reduce heat transfer.
Pushing is also often the easiest way to filter the air @ the fan input.
Clean guts are quieter and work better longer.
I also prefer the lower fan rpm of pushers for lower tone of the noise that does exist.

Anyone can test this for themselves.
Take a fan and place it on a flat surface while running.
Listen to the difference between pushing against the surface and pulling.
Many years among racks of fans has left me with a biased opinion on fan noise.


YMMV
Smiley

'twisted research and opinion' donations happily accepted @
13362fxFAdrhagmCvSmFy4WoHrNRPG2V57
My sub 1337 vanity address Wink
AmDD
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1002



View Profile
March 13, 2016, 10:48:19 PM
 #42133

Since Im here now, can anyone explain or point me to documentation for the voltages? Why is the die voltage listed as a negative number and why is it different from what is actually reported in the table?

BTC tip jar: 18EKpbrcXxbpzAZv3T58ccGcVis7W7JR9w
LTC tip jar: Lgp8ERykAgx6Q8NdMqpi5vnVoUMD2hYn2a
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 14, 2016, 12:52:48 AM
 #42134

Tollip: Nice job! What I did was land the +12 from the caps on Supply 1, through the +12 adapter's 3 pins, then on to the other supplies like so.



Works well enough, especially when you consider the damage on the pads from burning out the plug.

As for pushing and pulling air, when you push a fluid or such into a load (such as a heat sink) what you get is back-pressure which can cause the fan blades to stall. Once they stall, the fan will spin faster because it's not doing anything anymore. By pulling the air, you increase the velocity around blockages (like fins, radiators, parts, stuff like that) resulting in more airflow, less stalling, and lower temps. I can publish some numbers (since I'm a numbers nut and have a lot of junk here) if people are interested.

hacky
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 15


View Profile
March 14, 2016, 01:55:52 PM
 #42135

Energy saver phase 3 ended this morning on my Titan with 1.0.2 firmware of GenTarkin, so I click "yes" to apply settings and to stop auto tuning process.

Here are my results (ASIC5 has 1 dead die and I set 3 dies to 325 MHz, all others are set to 300 MHz) :

Web interface says :
1240W / 1349W wall -> 1174W / 1278W wall
ASIC2 : 321W -> 304W
ASIC3 : 328W -> 310W
ASIC5 : 267W -> 256W
ASIC6 : 322W -> 303W

Before energy saver, my APC switch said 5,6 A, now it shows : 5,2 A @240V. So ~96 W down with same hashrate (~307 Mh/s avg), same error rate and rejects.

Big thanks GenTarkin, awesome work Smiley

Happy mining !
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
March 15, 2016, 12:23:57 AM
 #42136

Energy saver phase 3 ended this morning on my Titan with 1.0.2 firmware of GenTarkin, so I click "yes" to apply settings and to stop auto tuning process.

Here are my results (ASIC5 has 1 dead die and I set 3 dies to 325 MHz, all others are set to 300 MHz) :

Web interface says :
1240W / 1349W wall -> 1174W / 1278W wall
ASIC2 : 321W -> 304W
ASIC3 : 328W -> 310W
ASIC5 : 267W -> 256W
ASIC6 : 322W -> 303W

Before energy saver, my APC switch said 5,6 A, now it shows : 5,2 A @240V. So ~96 W down with same hashrate (~307 Mh/s avg), same error rate and rejects.

Big thanks GenTarkin, awesome work Smiley

Happy mining !

Awesome =) glad to hear!

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
wolverine5pl
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252


View Profile
March 15, 2016, 07:36:16 PM
 #42137

I was bit surprised when after modyfing cubes per youtube video (anyone did put heatsink on all DC converters?) and applying new thermal paste I managed to get my problematic dies to work at full spead. I had 2 that would run at 125mhz max. now they running at full 300mhz (didnt tried more).
and was shocked how dried up thermal paste was on some cubes:/

btw anyone ever tried to put some water cooling?Smiley
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
March 15, 2016, 08:35:49 PM
 #42138

I was bit surprised when after modyfing cubes per youtube video (anyone did put heatsink on all DC converters?) and applying new thermal paste I managed to get my problematic dies to work at full spead. I had 2 that would run at 125mhz max. now they running at full 300mhz (didnt tried more).
and was shocked how dried up thermal paste was on some cubes:/

btw anyone ever tried to put some water cooling?Smiley
Boy that's interesting! Nice job, what were the symptoms before re-pasting the dies?

I just took out about 50% of the hog on a board that was kind of shaped like a taco chip with all dies dead. After a reflow and gentle torquing of the board to remove the sag, I have two dies are running at full speed, and the other two put out a lot of noise and fail (so they have to be disabled). The source of the hog was probably having the heat sink screwed down way too tight (don't do this).

The remaining two do the "mumble" error when powered on, in BFGMiner you see tons of shares without requests coming in on all four dies, making the unit hash slowly. Still pulls full power on the dies, but garbage output. Turning off the dies makes the remaining two stable at 300mhz/40mh.

Edit: This is an example of the gibberish message:

[2016-03-14 21:33:38] KNC 1b[5:2:76]: Got nonce for unknown work in slot 5


As to water cooling I tried a Corsair H100 on a KNC Neptune. Worked great in terms of keeping the CPU cool, right up to when the unit leaked and vented the coolant with a foom. Oh well.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
March 16, 2016, 01:57:31 AM
 #42139

I was bit surprised when after modyfing cubes per youtube video (anyone did put heatsink on all DC converters?) and applying new thermal paste I managed to get my problematic dies to work at full spead. I had 2 that would run at 125mhz max. now they running at full 300mhz (didnt tried more).
and was shocked how dried up thermal paste was on some cubes:/

btw anyone ever tried to put some water cooling?Smiley
Boy that's interesting! Nice job, what were the symptoms before re-pasting the dies?

I just took out about 50% of the hog on a board that was kind of shaped like a taco chip with all dies dead. After a reflow and gentle torquing of the board to remove the sag, I have two dies are running at full speed, and the other two put out a lot of noise and fail (so they have to be disabled). The source of the hog was probably having the heat sink screwed down way too tight (don't do this).

The remaining two do the "mumble" error when powered on, in BFGMiner you see tons of shares without requests coming in on all four dies, making the unit hash slowly. Still pulls full power on the dies, but garbage output. Turning off the dies makes the remaining two stable at 300mhz/40mh.

Edit: This is an example of the gibberish message:

[2016-03-14 21:33:38] KNC 1b[5:2:76]: Got nonce for unknown work in slot 5


As to water cooling I tried a Corsair H100 on a KNC Neptune. Worked great in terms of keeping the CPU cool, right up to when the unit leaked and vented the coolant with a foom. Oh well.

Yeah, I could never come to fully trust water cooling. Had some running great on 6 hashfast boards for as long as I was mining on them. But still... one small leak and its all fucking done.
Inside PC cases Im even more paranoid using water cooling ... I dont wanna destroy my computer ... lol!

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
SgtMoth
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 907


buy silver!


View Profile
March 16, 2016, 06:15:36 PM
 #42140

I was bit surprised when after modyfing cubes per youtube video (anyone did put heatsink on all DC converters?) and applying new thermal paste I managed to get my problematic dies to work at full spead. I had 2 that would run at 125mhz max. now they running at full 300mhz (didnt tried more).
and was shocked how dried up thermal paste was on some cubes:/

btw anyone ever tried to put some water cooling?Smiley
Boy that's interesting! Nice job, what were the symptoms before re-pasting the dies?

I just took out about 50% of the hog on a board that was kind of shaped like a taco chip with all dies dead. After a reflow and gentle torquing of the board to remove the sag, I have two dies are running at full speed, and the other two put out a lot of noise and fail (so they have to be disabled). The source of the hog was probably having the heat sink screwed down way too tight (don't do this).

The remaining two do the "mumble" error when powered on, in BFGMiner you see tons of shares without requests coming in on all four dies, making the unit hash slowly. Still pulls full power on the dies, but garbage output. Turning off the dies makes the remaining two stable at 300mhz/40mh.

Edit: This is an example of the gibberish message:

[2016-03-14 21:33:38] KNC 1b[5:2:76]: Got nonce for unknown work in slot 5


As to water cooling I tried a Corsair H100 on a KNC Neptune. Worked great in terms of keeping the CPU cool, right up to when the unit leaked and vented the coolant with a foom. Oh well.

Yeah, I could never come to fully trust water cooling. Had some running great on 6 hashfast boards for as long as I was mining on them. But still... one small leak and its all fucking done.
Inside PC cases Im even more paranoid using water cooling ... I dont wanna destroy my computer ... lol!

Ive been using this computer for about 4 years now and I have never had a leak

Pages: « 1 ... 2057 2058 2059 2060 2061 2062 2063 2064 2065 2066 2067 2068 2069 2070 2071 2072 2073 2074 2075 2076 2077 2078 2079 2080 2081 2082 2083 2084 2085 2086 2087 2088 2089 2090 2091 2092 2093 2094 2095 2096 2097 2098 2099 2100 2101 2102 2103 2104 2105 2106 [2107] 2108 2109 2110 2111 2112 2113 2114 2115 2116 2117 2118 2119 2120 2121 2122 2123 2124 2125 2126 2127 2128 2129 2130 2131 2132 2133 2134 2135 2136 2137 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!