Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2018, 10:51:12 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 2041 2042 2043 2044 2045 2046 2047 2048 2049 2050 2051 2052 2053 2054 2055 2056 2057 2058 2059 2060 2061 2062 2063 2064 2065 2066 2067 2068 2069 2070 2071 2072 2073 2074 2075 2076 2077 2078 2079 2080 2081 2082 2083 2084 2085 2086 2087 2088 2089 2090 [2091] 2092 2093 2094 2095 2096 2097 2098 2099 2100 2101 2102 2103 2104 2105 2106 2107 2108 2109 2110 2111 2112 2113 2114 2115 2116 2117 2118 2119 2120 2121 2122 2123 2124 2125 2126 2127 2128 2129 2130 2131 2132 2133 2134 2135 2136 2137 2138 2139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3031296 times)
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1019

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 17, 2015, 11:28:37 PM
 #41801

Very similar, now who has the balls to pull off the Pi? Oh wait, is the Pi on top of a board by default? Then That is how they did it.

Ok, now I see. What KNC did is this:

It looks like they took the Neptune board:
Added a cross connect board to map the Beaglebone pins to a Rpi. Added lights and a U4 thingie. Maybe a clock crystal or a VRM.
Plugged cross connect board into Neptune board
Plugged Pi into cross connect board
Uploaded code into the SPI ports on the FPGA
Went to town.

You can probably build your own cross connect board by looking at the neptune pins, matching them to the BB Black pins, then cross-mapping those to a Pi. Power, SPI, GPIO ports, done. Or just pay the guy above who did it.
1532170272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532170272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532170272
Reply with quote  #2

1532170272
Report to moderator
1532170272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532170272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532170272
Reply with quote  #2

1532170272
Report to moderator
1532170272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532170272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532170272
Reply with quote  #2

1532170272
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532170272
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532170272

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532170272
Reply with quote  #2

1532170272
Report to moderator
qberty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 405
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 18, 2015, 02:23:55 AM
 #41802

Very similar, now who has the balls to pull off the Pi? Oh wait, is the Pi on top of a board by default? Then That is how they did it.

Ok, now I see. What KNC did is this:

It looks like they took the Neptune board:
Added a cross connect board to map the Beaglebone pins to a Rpi. Added lights and a U4 thingie. Maybe a clock crystal or a VRM.
Plugged cross connect board into Neptune board
Plugged Pi into cross connect board
Uploaded code into the SPI ports on the FPGA
Went to town.

You can probably build your own cross connect board by looking at the neptune pins, matching them to the BB Black pins, then cross-mapping those to a Pi. Power, SPI, GPIO ports, done. Or just pay the guy above who did it.

Yeah that's basically what I did to make the Bridges. So I guess it's settled then. We can use neptune/jup boards with titans (as long as we get a Pi 512 RAM and a bridge to connect it to the board). Good to know.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1019

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 18, 2015, 03:46:25 AM
 #41803

Nice job too, where did you get them made? Looks like a pro job, and if they put the parts on then that has really come a ways from the last time I had PCB's done.
qberty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 405
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 18, 2015, 06:43:57 AM
 #41804

Nice job too, where did you get them made? Looks like a pro job, and if they put the parts on then that has really come a ways from the last time I had PCB's done.

I did a couple prototypes from a lab near my old school, and just decided to order enough raw materials to make 10 over there by making some kids slave away one by one. It would have been cheaper to just send it to china/us fab lab to mass produce it but I doubt there is enough buyers to warrant that, so I just made a bunch of super high quality ones (Honestly I wanted the PCBs to be white since I like white and it looks a bit classier, but I just settled on cloning them exactly).
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1051


Clueless!


View Profile
December 18, 2015, 08:06:50 AM
 #41805

My Titans controller board is not working. Only one led light is green. Display doesn't show anything. I can connect it but it doesn't find any miners. If anyone knows what to do, please tell me. Also, if anyone has spare controller boards to sell (Titan controller card is compatible with both the Jupiter and Saturn controller cards) please pm me.

don't think they are compabible from what is on this thread...what you can do is replace the raspberry pi B+ (512mb is it) in case it is the PI..if not you have a 40 buck PI to play with.....there is a guy selling Titan bridges here...so see if that is burnt out (between pi and main board)

again as far as the 6 port board from what I understand they are the same but the FPGA chip is programmed for scrypt on the Titans not sha-256 on the neptunes/jupiter/saturns/mercurys etc ..thus it won't work *unless knc in the goodness of there ..hell i can't even fininsh that line...knc won't release the code for such..)

So those are your options (could be a ribbon ...try a different PSU and leads.....check the ports (solder points) on the controller board)

others on here will have better info ..all that comes to mind .....I have limited skills...just the above is what I think is correct.



Very similar, now who has the balls to pull off the Pi? Oh wait, is the Pi on top of a board by default? Then That is how they did it.

Ok, now I see. What KNC did is this:

It looks like they took the Neptune board:
Added a cross connect board to map the Beaglebone pins to a Rpi. Added lights and a U4 thingie. Maybe a clock crystal or a VRM.
Plugged cross connect board into Neptune board
Plugged Pi into cross connect board
Uploaded code into the SPI ports on the FPGA
Went to town.

You can probably build your own cross connect board by looking at the neptune pins, matching them to the BB Black pins, then cross-mapping those to a Pi. Power, SPI, GPIO ports, done. Or just pay the guy above who did it.

Yeah that's basically what I did to make the Bridges. So I guess it's settled then. We can use neptune/jup boards with titans (as long as we get a Pi 512 RAM and a bridge to connect it to the board). Good to know.


huh....? I thought the FPGA on (software) on the 6 port board was different and knc would not release such? want you to be right thou ...clarity...GLEN we nee CLARITY ON THIS!
(yelling does not help but makes me feel better as I type this and shout at bitcointalk ...man  I need a life)Smiley















 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 18, 2015, 05:08:32 PM
 #41806

My Titans controller board is not working. Only one led light is green. Display doesn't show anything. I can connect it but it doesn't find any miners. If anyone knows what to do, please tell me. Also, if anyone has spare controller boards to sell (Titan controller card is compatible with both the Jupiter and Saturn controller cards) please pm me.

don't think they are compabible from what is on this thread...what you can do is replace the raspberry pi B+ (512mb is it) in case it is the PI..if not you have a 40 buck PI to play with.....there is a guy selling Titan bridges here...so see if that is burnt out (between pi and main board)

again as far as the 6 port board from what I understand they are the same but the FPGA chip is programmed for scrypt on the Titans not sha-256 on the neptunes/jupiter/saturns/mercurys etc ..thus it won't work *unless knc in the goodness of there ..hell i can't even fininsh that line...knc won't release the code for such..)

So those are your options (could be a ribbon ...try a different PSU and leads.....check the ports (solder points) on the controller board)

others on here will have better info ..all that comes to mind .....I have limited skills...just the above is what I think is correct.



Very similar, now who has the balls to pull off the Pi? Oh wait, is the Pi on top of a board by default? Then That is how they did it.

Ok, now I see. What KNC did is this:

It looks like they took the Neptune board:
Added a cross connect board to map the Beaglebone pins to a Rpi. Added lights and a U4 thingie. Maybe a clock crystal or a VRM.
Plugged cross connect board into Neptune board
Plugged Pi into cross connect board
Uploaded code into the SPI ports on the FPGA
Went to town.

You can probably build your own cross connect board by looking at the neptune pins, matching them to the BB Black pins, then cross-mapping those to a Pi. Power, SPI, GPIO ports, done. Or just pay the guy above who did it.

Yeah that's basically what I did to make the Bridges. So I guess it's settled then. We can use neptune/jup boards with titans (as long as we get a Pi 512 RAM and a bridge to connect it to the board). Good to know.


huh....? I thought the FPGA on (software) on the 6 port board was different and knc would not release such? want you to be right thou ...clarity...GLEN we nee CLARITY ON THIS!
(yelling does not help but makes me feel better as I type this and shout at bitcointalk ...man  I need a life)Smiley



Yes the FPGA code is different for titans vs the SHA knc products for the controller board.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
qberty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 405
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 18, 2015, 09:21:31 PM
 #41807

Yes the FPGA code is different for titans vs the SHA knc products for the controller board.

Okay then, nevermind. Only way to go back and forth is to flash the nands or freeze dump ://
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1019

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 18, 2015, 10:10:39 PM
 #41808

Yes the FPGA code is different for titans vs the SHA knc products for the controller board.
Sure, but isn't the FPGA microcode loaded as a part of the boot up process?
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1019

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 18, 2015, 10:12:46 PM
 #41809

huh....? I thought the FPGA on (software) on the 6 port board was different and knc would not release such? want you to be right thou ...clarity...GLEN we nee CLARITY ON THIS!
(yelling does not help but makes me feel better as I type this and shout at bitcointalk ...man  I need a life)Smiley
The problem is people have to test this stuff. And I doubt anyone with a running Titan is willing to take their system down, buy a working Neptune board, plug it all in, see if it works, then put their old system back together. If someone wants to mail me a Titan cube and a Rpi adapter+board feel free to drop me a line.
qberty
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 405
Merit: 250



View Profile
December 18, 2015, 10:26:25 PM
 #41810

huh....? I thought the FPGA on (software) on the 6 port board was different and knc would not release such? want you to be right thou ...clarity...GLEN we nee CLARITY ON THIS!
(yelling does not help but makes me feel better as I type this and shout at bitcointalk ...man  I need a life)Smiley
The problem is people have to test this stuff. And I doubt anyone with a running Titan is willing to take their system down, buy a working Neptune board, plug it all in, see if it works, then put their old system back together. If someone wants to mail me a Titan cube and a Rpi adapter+board feel free to drop me a line.

Likewise, if someone wants to mail me a neptune set portion PM me as well Wink

The rule of thumb has been so far, that nobody is willing to go out of their way unless it benefits/safeguards them. Tongue
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 18, 2015, 10:59:22 PM
 #41811

Yes the FPGA code is different for titans vs the SHA knc products for the controller board.
Sure, but isn't the FPGA microcode loaded as a part of the boot up process?

Yeah, its loaded into the RAM on the controller board and executed. Thats why it has to be loaded up each power up.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1019

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 18, 2015, 11:01:38 PM
 #41812

Yeah, its loaded into the RAM on the controller board and executed. Thats why it has to be loaded up each power up.
Ok. Some FPGA's have built in EEPROM that people load the code into. Which pretty much precludes modding it in the field as you need either a Jtag tool like an Atmel Dragon or a Xylink tool to whack at it.

Got the power chips off the board, waiting for cooldown so I can flux and retry. Also checking the caps to see if any shorted.
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1019

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 19, 2015, 12:42:28 AM
 #41813

Yep, I figured out why the Neptune (and possibly other) boards have been failing.

root@Neptune:/etc/init.d# io-pwr init
TPS65217 OK. Modification A, revision 1.1
root@Neptune:/etc/init.d#

Yaay! Happy me.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 19, 2015, 12:58:28 AM
 #41814

Yep, I figured out why the Neptune (and possibly other) boards have been failing.

root@Neptune:/etc/init.d# io-pwr init
TPS65217 OK. Modification A, revision 1.1
root@Neptune:/etc/init.d#

Yaay! Happy me.

What does that say about failure?

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1019

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 19, 2015, 01:21:41 AM
 #41815

What does that say about failure?
Well, before the chip would never fully power up, it always gave those stupid errors. Now it comes up clean and oddly enough the red LED is lit on the board (it never did that before). Given that pulling the cap cleared the short, I can say as a flat fact that the cap shorted.

Likewise the similar short on the other board makes me think this is not uncommon.

As to what it says, it might say that either:

a) The FPGA runs super hot and fries the caps (I doubt this a lot)
b) The caps are lousy quality and suck Goat Cock (given the # of blown caps I have seen on the hashing boards I wonder).

Will have to work on it a bit more to verify, but more busted boards would help.

Edit: After pulling the trim caps on the other board, the chip seems to be up: Advanced tab now works. I think I have a cross-verify. We'll see.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1000


View Profile
December 19, 2015, 01:30:00 AM
 #41816

What does that say about failure?
Well, before the chip would never fully power up, it always gave those stupid errors. Now it comes up clean and oddly enough the red LED is lit on the board (it never did that before). Given that pulling the cap cleared the short, I can say as a flat fact that the cap shorted.

Likewise the similar short on the other board makes me think this is not uncommon.

As to what it says, it might say that either:

a) The FPGA runs super hot and fries the caps (I doubt this a lot)
b) The caps are lousy quality and suck Goat Cock (given the # of blown caps I have seen on the hashing boards I wonder).

Will have to work on it a bit more to verify, but more busted boards would help.

Edit: After pulling the trim caps on the other board, the chip seems to be up: Advanced tab now works. I think I have a cross-verify. We'll see.

Well, Im confused ... all that command states is the board powered up fine. LOL! So Im still not sure how that indicates failure.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1019

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 19, 2015, 01:49:07 AM
 #41817

Well, Im confused ... all that command states is the board powered up fine. LOL! So Im still not sure how that indicates failure.
Oh ok. Quick summary (I have all of this in my other thread, I really don't want to screw this one up with endless tech prattle)

On a "bad" board:
root@Neptune:/etc/init.d# io-pwr init
TPS65217 OK. Modification A, revision 1.2
Wrong SEQ4 value 0x40
Wrong ENABLE value 0x09
Wrong SEQ4 value 0x40
Wrong SEQ4 value 0x40
Wrong SEQ4 value 0x40
DC/DC converter configuration failed!

On a board where I pulled the shorted cap
root@Neptune:/etc/init.d# io-pwr init
TPS65217 OK. Modification A, revision 1.1
root@Neptune:/etc/init.d#

io-pwr is the command to fire up the DC-DC converter. It puts out three voltages. If a cap is shorted it detects the crowbar and fails.
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1051


Clueless!


View Profile
December 19, 2015, 03:07:03 AM
 #41818

huh....? I thought the FPGA on (software) on the 6 port board was different and knc would not release such? want you to be right thou ...clarity...GLEN we nee CLARITY ON THIS!
(yelling does not help but makes me feel better as I type this and shout at bitcointalk ...man  I need a life)Smiley
The problem is people have to test this stuff. And I doubt anyone with a running Titan is willing to take their system down, buy a working Neptune board, plug it all in, see if it works, then put their old system back together. If someone wants to mail me a Titan cube and a Rpi adapter+board feel free to drop me a line.


damn i saw  a 1 die only working titan cube go for 100 bucks on ebay that would be worth risking on something like this anyone have a cube that barely hashes that wants to try this?

I mean even a BAD cube that just kinda sorta works for like say 1/2 hr then dorks out would be enough to test such (imho not that I know squat) Smiley

(wonder if VEGAS has such a practiacally 'dead' but not quite Titan Cube... laying about? that is 'unfixable' in a stable manner of any sort but would work for testing purposes?)


I mean SOMEONE on this thread has to have a Titan cube that 'practiacally' is a Titan cube paperweight...ie kinda sorta works but too damn scary to run on their main unit
due to flakyness or inherent knc evilness? Smiley It does not (again in my uninformed opinioin) have to run fast on say its one working die or run for long ...just enough to show
proof of concept)...(again i know squat on electronics just saying Smiley



huh....? I thought the FPGA on (software) on the 6 port board was different and knc would not release such? want you to be right thou ...clarity...GLEN we nee CLARITY ON THIS!
(yelling does not help but makes me feel better as I type this and shout at bitcointalk ...man  I need a life)Smiley
The problem is people have to test this stuff. And I doubt anyone with a running Titan is willing to take their system down, buy a working Neptune board, plug it all in, see if it works, then put their old system back together. If someone wants to mail me a Titan cube and a Rpi adapter+board feel free to drop me a line.

Likewise, if someone wants to mail me a neptune set portion PM me as well Wink

The rule of thumb has been so far, that nobody is willing to go out of their way unless it benefits/safeguards them. Tongue



Another issue that needs consideration is 'supposedly' you can take any Neptune or Jupiter or Saturn or Mercury board and use such on a Neptune...but the 2nd batch of
Jupiters (asics anyway) were different ..you could not use them on the earlier Oct units..thus would it have to be a Neptune Board to test this stuff...would a NOV Jupiter
batch board work ...WOULD 0ct 2013 Jupiter/Saturn/Mercury Boards work (even thou some of those are only 4 ports)

So I guess you'd kinda have to check it with a Neptune Board first imho on such a Titan cube experiment....and if brave work backwards to a Jupiter NOV 2013 board and backwards that way to be safe I'd ASSUME if they worked on the Neptune Board with a Titan Cube  they would work for all with the bridge adapter ..but how I'd approach this.

(so much fun I could have 'frying stuff' in the interests of this thread..if I could ONLY win the frigging lottery..the stuff I could 'destroy for Science!" sigh) Smiley



















 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
lightfoot
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1019

I fix broken miners. And make holes in teeth :-)


View Profile
December 19, 2015, 06:13:29 AM
 #41819

Cool, I'm up and hashing here with wrecked equipment. More details on this thread.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1283859.20

Next up: Fixing blown Titans. Why not, I seem to be kind of good at this :-)

Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1792
Merit: 1051


Clueless!


View Profile
December 19, 2015, 07:57:59 AM
 #41820

Cool, I'm up and hashing here with wrecked equipment. More details on this thread.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1283859.20

Next up: Fixing blown Titans. Why not, I seem to be kind of good at this :-)




yeah ...i have no balls...i will be gettting one of the cloned titan bridges ....i have a jupiter 4 port board (which supposedly you can upgrade to a neppie so prob would work) and a spare raspberry pi B+ 512 mb (which I assume is the proper PI for the Titan)......sooooooo

All I have to do is take the Jupiter Board....pop the bridge on it......put the pi on it....re-do the SD firmware and fire it up?

or I suppose you could just fire up the above w/o a cube and see if the stuff comes up as a Tarky Titan IP and all with the firmware etc with no cubes?

I suppose you could fry the pi and/or the 4 port board i doubt the titan bridge would be affected?

Alas NO BALLS we need someone with a barely I mean barely working Titan cube to try this with (or send to someone with proper neppie board)

but that is the somewhat 'likely deluded' thoughts about this on this thread lol Smiley

as to 'straight titan controller fixes' you should find a few folk on here who need such..fixes  I'd think? (Vegas?)















 

 

█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
BitBlender 

 













 















 












 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
█ 
Pages: « 1 ... 2041 2042 2043 2044 2045 2046 2047 2048 2049 2050 2051 2052 2053 2054 2055 2056 2057 2058 2059 2060 2061 2062 2063 2064 2065 2066 2067 2068 2069 2070 2071 2072 2073 2074 2075 2076 2077 2078 2079 2080 2081 2082 2083 2084 2085 2086 2087 2088 2089 2090 [2091] 2092 2093 2094 2095 2096 2097 2098 2099 2100 2101 2102 2103 2104 2105 2106 2107 2108 2109 2110 2111 2112 2113 2114 2115 2116 2117 2118 2119 2120 2121 2122 2123 2124 2125 2126 2127 2128 2129 2130 2131 2132 2133 2134 2135 2136 2137 2138 2139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!