Bitcoin Forum
January 16, 2019, 09:27:36 AM *
News: The copper membership price will increase by about 300% around Friday.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 [101] 102 103 104 105 106 107 »
  Print  
Author Topic: GekkoScience 2Pac/Compac BM1384 Stickminer Official Support Thread  (Read 149275 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
gvb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 116
Merit: 4


View Profile
July 24, 2018, 07:30:32 AM
 #2001

NB  I am just starting in mining and have limited linux knowledge.

welcome to the club Wink

I've put a text file on the raspbian desktop with the lines below in it.

I just need to open it and copy paste the first 2 lines in the console to run it and that sudo leafpad one to edit the config



cd ./mining/2pac/cgminer
sudo ./cgminer


#edit settings

sudo leafpad /root/.cgminer/cgminer.conf


#show devices

./cgminer -n


#run miner at specific freq

./cgminer --gekko-2pac-freq 150


1547630856
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547630856

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547630856
Reply with quote  #2

1547630856
Report to moderator
1547630856
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547630856

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547630856
Reply with quote  #2

1547630856
Report to moderator
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1547630856
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1547630856

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1547630856
Reply with quote  #2

1547630856
Report to moderator
cosmiconion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 24, 2018, 10:44:39 AM
 #2002

Hi thanks for your help ... I sort of follow the instructions. 
I set in the console frequency 100 (in bash write ./cgminer -2pac -freq 100 et ... ) ,  starts at 100, then goes back to 75,  weird

My Pi only seems t be able to run 2 2pac, I assume my powered hub is not good enough
0 and 1 running at 75 mhz , and 2 is OFF .  if I enable 2 , it will just run at 0.


NB  I am just starting in mining and have limited linux knowledge.

welcome to the club Wink

I've put a text file on the raspbian desktop with the lines below in it.

I just need to open it and copy paste the first 2 lines in the console to run it and that sudo leafpad one to edit the config



cd ./mining/2pac/cgminer
sudo ./cgminer


#edit settings

sudo leafpad /root/.cgminer/cgminer.conf


#show devices

./cgminer -n


#run miner at specific freq

./cgminer --gekko-2pac-freq 150



gvb
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 116
Merit: 4


View Profile
July 24, 2018, 12:07:04 PM
 #2003

I bought this 2.1A per port hub > https://www.aliexpress.com/item/10-Port-USB-HUB-Charger-Sipolar-A-400-Standard-20V-6A-Power-adapter/32513481750.html

I have 3 2PACs running on it at 212.5MHz and also have the Pi3 and a power supply fan attached to it to cool down the 2PACs.

It's been running for a week now without the constant stopping of the miners or freezing of the Pi.

As it is a general usage hub it's usefull for anything so not a mining aim only purchase if you might stop mining later.
gekkeleo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 06:43:02 AM
 #2004

good morning all,

i have a 2pac when i plug it in my hw start counting thats the only thing it do.
i try to run it solo and with my other sticks but it only makes hw cgminer says my speed is around 300 ghz?.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 01:07:05 PM
 #2005

300ghz, or 300GH/s? Because there's a big difference between those two and one of them shouldn't be possible without having broken cgminer first.

I'm guessing the white light stays lit on that stick. This generally means one of the ASICs has died and you should seek warranty replacement (assuming it's not the result of abuse).

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
cosmiconion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 04:45:02 PM
Last edit: July 29, 2018, 06:00:40 PM by cosmiconion
 #2006

cant get this to work on raspberry pi

I follow to the letter

I get USB device fail





Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libudev-dev
    
mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2



    Debian 8.7.1 new install.
        Default Install (No desktop environment, + SSH Server)
        (*do not specify root password to enable sudo)
   
    or Raspbian - Kernel version: 4.4 (Raspberry Pi)

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev screen libtool automake pkg-config libjansson-dev

mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2


http://23.108.83.14/images/2Pac-0002.JPG
http://23.108.83.14/images/2Pac-0003.JPG


Window cgminer.exe build steps (grab the finished zip file in the next paragraph if you want to skip this)


Linux cgminer.exe cross-compile steps (for windows use)

    Ubuntu 16.04.1 LTS new install.
    Default Install (+OpenSSH server)

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git autoconf autopoint bison flex gperf libtool libtool-bin python ruby scons unzip intltool p7zip-full libgtk2.0-dev

cosmiconion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 05:10:34 PM
Last edit: July 29, 2018, 06:01:26 PM by cosmiconion
 #2007

I get this

 failed usb_init
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.621] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to
access - BSC device 1:24
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.621] See README file included for help
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.622] GekkoScience detect (1:24) failed to initialise (incorrect device?
), resetting
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.622] failed usb_init
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.958] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to
access - BSC device 1:24
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.959] See README file included for help
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.959] GekkoScience detect (1:24) failed to initialise (incorrect device?
), resetting
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.960] failed usb_init

I am trying to run at 150 ...

./cgminer -o stratum+tcp://pool.ckpool.org:3333 -u 3DZ3cEJYk5GUyGRJ7nkDqttUcaNgAtWais -p x --suggest-diff 32 --gekko-2pac-freq 150


cant get this to work on raspberry pi

I follow to the letter

I get USB device fail






Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git autoconf automake libtool pkg-config libcurl4-openssl-dev libudev-dev
    
mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2 -march=native" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2



    Debian 8.7.1 new install.
        Default Install (No desktop environment, + SSH Server)
        (*do not specify root password to enable sudo)
   
    or Raspbian - Kernel version: 4.4 (Raspberry Pi)

Code:
sudo apt-get update
sudo apt-get upgrade -y

sudo apt-get install -y build-essential git libusb-1.0-0-dev libusb-1.0-0 libcurl4-openssl-dev libncurses5-dev libudev-dev screen libtool automake pkg-config libjansson-dev

mkdir -p git/vthoang; cd git/vthoang
git clone https://github.com/vthoang/cgminer.git
cd cgminer

CFLAGS="-O2" ./autogen.sh --enable-gekko
make -j 2



cosmiconion
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 29, 2018, 06:04:50 PM
 #2008

found solution :

cd ~/git/vthoang/cgminer/

sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

sudo reboot

from here :  https://www.eyeboot.com/download/GekkoScience_2PAC_BM1384_USB_Stick_Miner/2PAC_BM1384_USB_Setup_Guide.pdf

its written badly , so you have to tweek as all joined

it is a real shame that both bitcoin forum and bitshopper.de have inadequate instructions on both 2pac and moonlander 2.  have had to find other ways to set up.  sloppy work by the big guys.


I get this

 failed usb_init
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.621] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to
access - BSC device 1:24
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.621] See README file included for help
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.622] GekkoScience detect (1:24) failed to initialise (incorrect device?
), resetting
 [2018-07-29 18:08:41.622] failed usb_init
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.958] USB init, open device failed, err -3, you don't have privilege to
access - BSC device 1:24
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.959] See README file included for help
 [2018-07-29 18:08:46.959] GekkoScience detect (1:24) failed to initialise (incorrect device?
)


sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
July 30, 2018, 01:00:37 PM
 #2009


Yeah I hear you man, if only that incredibly common problem were answered in the FAQ section of the first post.

...oh wait


Q. How to get past "USB init, open device failed" ... "you don't have privilege to access" error.
Code:
cd ~/git/vthoang/cgminer/
sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`
sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/
sudo reboot




Or maybe if it was solved in the README file, like the error message specifically states the user should check?

...oh wait

Code:
LINUX:

The short version:

 sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/


The long version:

On linux, the direct USB support requires no drivers at all. However due to
permissions issues, you may not be able to mine directly on the devices as a
regular user without giving the user access to the device or by mining as
root (administrator). In order to give your regular user access, you can make
him a member of the plugdev group with the following commands:

 sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

If your distribution does not have the plugdev group you can create it with:

 sudo groupadd plugdev

In order for the USB devices to instantly be owned by the plugdev group and
accessible by anyone from the plugdev group you can copy the file
"01-cgminer.rules" from the cgminer archive into the /etc/udev/rules.d
directory with the following command:

 sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

After this you can either manually restart udev and re-login, or more easily
just reboot.


Don't accuse "the big guys" of not giving you enough info. Rather, start paying attention.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
marousi
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 136
Merit: 0


View Profile
July 31, 2018, 07:34:34 AM
 #2010

The crypto space is full of morons. They don't know how to read, how to research. When they have a problem they don't try to solve it, instead they go online hoping for an answer.
MacEntyre
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 65
Merit: 11


View Profile WWW
August 09, 2018, 10:44:10 AM
 #2011

found solution :

cd ~/git/vthoang/cgminer/

sudo usermod -G plugdev -a `whoami`

sudo cp 01-cgminer.rules /etc/udev/rules.d/

sudo reboot

from here :  https://www.eyeboot.com/download/GekkoScience_2PAC_BM1384_USB_Stick_Miner/2PAC_BM1384_USB_Setup_Guide.pdf

its written badly , so you have to tweek as all joined

it is a real shame that both bitcoin forum and bitshopper.de have inadequate instructions on both 2pac and moonlander 2.  have had to find other ways to set up.  sloppy work by the big guys.

Simply ask for support (Chat; E-Mail) before you complain, newbie. The topic could have been resolved within minutes.
Others would say: RTFM!!! The support thread is linked from our website and the solution is mentioned on page 1.

MacEntyre
bitshopper.de

MacEntyre
bitshopper.de
Psychopathic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 09, 2018, 10:48:37 PM
Last edit: August 10, 2018, 02:47:09 AM by Psychopathic
 #2012

Hey everybody, newby ass newbie here. Just got a 2pac, and of course I had to play around with it. At one point, I had 'er running at 30GH/s, which is amazing, but I've not achieved anything close since then. Since I hit that 30, I've played with the potentiometer a bit, and I'm reading voltages of .74 on both ASIC cores.
I guess my question is: do I add up the voltage from each core for a total of 1.48? or are both chips underpowered, thus explaining my ~6.5GH/s rate?

If it makes a difference to whoever responds, I've rotated the potentiometer screw clockwise to where the flat part is a 45-degree angle to the bottom right corner of the board, looking at it with the USB plug facing you.

/edit: Running at 100MHz, just lookin' for that ~10GH/s before I keep playing and trying to get it back up to around 15
/2nd edit: Using Biodom's picture on page 2 for reference for voltage testing
/3rd edit: Also, how do I measure vcore's voltage? Which piece is it? Is it the side of the 1st ASIC chip that reads about 2x what the chips themselves do?
/4th edit: found this, and it sounds like I've somehow managed to be giving the chips way too little power but I'm not 100% sure
/5th edit: Which pieces do I short out to "factory reset"?

/edit 6: It seems I just need to keep turning the potentiometer clockwise until it gives me that sweet, sweet 10GH/s at 100MHz <------------------------------is this correct?
/edit 7: Mining stably 17 ~17GH/s, at 200MHz so I think I got 'er worked out. It was all in this thread
/edit 8: dialed voltage in to 1.26, mining at about 8GH/s at 100MHz. Will leave at this setting until someone responds. This hashrate still seems a touch low, should i up the voltage to like 1.3?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1764803.msg17678108#msg17678108

Picture and explanation of where to measure. You should see 1.24-1.26V across the two chips, with 620-630mV per chip. If that's the case, there's an IO line broken somewhere. If there's an imbalance causing the string to lock up, your Node 0 voltage will be about 480mV. If that's the case, turn up the voltage a bit, unplug, wait about 20 seconds and plug it back in.
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 02:51:01 AM
 #2013

Probably, yeah. You should see 11GH (WU of about 150) for every 100MHz if everything's working right.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Psychopathic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 03:25:13 AM
 #2014

Probably, yeah. You should see 11GH (WU of about 150) for every 100MHz if everything's working right.

Kk. Set to 1.31 @ 100MHz, gonna let it run overnight and while I'm at work tomorrow, will post an update then if stuff still seems off. Almost can't believe you got back to me O.o
sidehack
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1321

Curmudgeonly hardware guy


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 03:43:36 AM
 #2015

It was fun watching all those fresh edits pop up throughout the day.

Got a new 28-135GH stick miner!
Currently in development - 100+GH USB stick; 800GH 60W pod; 6TH volt-adjustable S1/3/5 upgrade kit
Server PSU interface boards and cables. USB and small-scale miners. Hardware hosting, advice and odd-jobs. Supporting the home miner community since 2013 - http://www.gekkoscience.com
Psychopathic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 03:54:43 AM
Merited by NotFuzzyWarm (2)
 #2016

I did some homework before I posted, and then I did more homework as I waited. Hopefully it helps someone somehow
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1680
Merit: 1159


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 02:48:30 PM
 #2017

I did some homework before I posted, and then I did more homework as I waited. Hopefully it helps someone somehow
+ 1million for that

You are one of the few newbs here in a long long time who knows how to learn: 1st research and *then* ask questions. Most just say "give me a fish!" (a single answer). Ja, we'll give you a fish - a fish smack in the head. You asked "teach me to fish" (how does is work), lo and behold -- you get teachers.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Tetrahybrid
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 5
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 08:40:33 PM
 #2018

@vh and friends, you guys are amazing for what you have created here.


I really dont get the "Rough chart of power draw"-Table, especially the 300 MHz. So for 300 MHz it will take 13.98 watts and 2.80 ampere, but I can't find any hubs or whatsoever USB power supplier that goes beyond 2.5 ampere.

So what do I got wrong?
lok8nusa
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 11

Call 811 before you dig


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 08:50:24 PM
 #2019

@vh and friends, you guys are amazing for what you have created here.


I really dont get the "Rough chart of power draw"-Table, especially the 300 MHz. So for 300 MHz it will take 13.98 watts and 2.80 ampere, but I can't find any hubs or whatsoever USB power supplier that goes beyond 2.5 ampere.

So what do I got wrong?

Nothing at all. It requires some "innovative" thinking to supply 3 amps to one of these. Can't be had out of a box (yet).

Coining bits since 2017 
Avalon 741 x 2; BM S7 x 1, C1 x 1, S3 x 1; GekkoScience R808 x 2, 2Pac x 8
Kano Pool is the BEST BTC mining pool.
Psychopathic
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4
Merit: 2


View Profile
August 10, 2018, 09:07:24 PM
 #2020

I did some homework before I posted, and then I did more homework as I waited. Hopefully it helps someone somehow
+ 1million for that http://www.sherv.net/cm/emo/word/congrats-smiley-emoticon.gif

You are one of the few newbs here in a long long time who knows how to learn: 1st research and *then* ask questions. Most just say "give me a fish!" (a single answer). Ja, we'll give you a fish - a fish smack in the head. You asked "teach me to fish" (how does is work), lo and behold -- you get teachers.

I really try, I'm an AV installer by trade so I'm familiar with troubleshooting. If you mess with something and it stops working, try and set it back to last known good settings. If you can't, soft reset. If that doesn't work, factory reset. If you can't, call tech support and keep trying while you're on hold for 40 minutes. If no tech support, fuck with it until it works. I read through like 50 pages of this thread while I was waiting, hence the 8 updates on my original post haha


Also, update on my 2pac: I switched the to a different usb port than I was originally using before I went to bed last night and left the stick at 100MHZ at 1.32v. Checked on it before I went to work, it was down to 3.5GH/s, don't remember how many HW errors but I'd assume there were a few and it only gathered like 3,000 shares so it stopped really hashing right after I went to bed. That was about 7 hours ago now. Unplugged the stick and plugged it back in, checked volatge and it was 1.34 (didn't touch potentiometer) and restarted cgminer, been hashing 100MHZ at ~10GH/s all day but I've got about 9 HW errors...are those from getting too much power?
Pages: « 1 ... 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 [101] 102 103 104 105 106 107 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!