Bitcoin Forum
June 24, 2019, 12:45:29 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 [154] 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 ... 814 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2578981 times)
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 30, 2012, 09:52:56 PM
 #3061

The only thing stopping me from mining on p2pool (except of some testing) is the constant bad luck. If that's solved and the 90 days luck factor keeps swinging around 100%, I'd love to switch to p2pool as p2pool basically is quite awesome Grin.
Seconded. Only problem is that as the hashrate rises, it seems like the luck gets worse.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Try The Brand New Ethereum Game
50 Last Players Also Win The Bank
Works On Any iOS/Android Device With Standard Browser
Join Us On Telegram To Get Notified When You Can Win
COLOR PIXELS
AND WIN
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1561380329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561380329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561380329
Reply with quote  #2

1561380329
Report to moderator
1561380329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561380329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561380329
Reply with quote  #2

1561380329
Report to moderator
1561380329
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1561380329

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1561380329
Reply with quote  #2

1561380329
Report to moderator
RandomQ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 30, 2012, 10:03:41 PM
 #3062

I have had an annoying hardware failure of one of the machines that provides data for p2pool.info behind the scenes.  Until I can rebuild this machine, it means p2pool.info may be intermittently out of action or inaccurate.

It's fixed.  

And no comment...




That is very nice first time I've seen the 90 day over 100%  Grin

Thanks for Great Week P2Pool
Ente
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2126
Merit: 1001



View Profile
July 31, 2012, 07:44:00 AM
 #3063

Only problem is that as the hashrate rises, it seems like the luck gets worse.

Some changes have been made to p2pool recently. Hope is that this cured the luck for good!

Ente
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2012, 08:39:34 AM
 #3064

Some changes have been made to p2pool recently. Hope is that this cured the luck for good!

Ente
Ahh, good to hear. I haven't been following the development very closely lately; wasn't getting email notifications for this topic for some reason. I may have to give it a try again soon.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


House Nogleg


View Profile WWW
July 31, 2012, 09:23:23 AM
 #3065

The only thing stopping me from mining on p2pool (except of some testing) is the constant bad luck. If that's solved and the 90 days luck factor keeps swinging around 100%, I'd love to switch to p2pool as p2pool basically is quite awesome Grin.
Seconded. Only problem is that as the hashrate rises, it seems like the luck gets worse.
well, as the hashrate rises, i know i get more stale/dead shares, because of all the new work messages.

i wish I could add some difficulty to my miners, but the /1000 or whatever doesn't work in phoenix

louisBSAS
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 565
Merit: 11



View Profile
July 31, 2012, 02:37:37 PM
 #3066

i wish I could add some difficulty to my miners, but the /1000 or whatever doesn't work in phoenix

I was wondering who else is out there using Phoenix and what command line options are you using for best results on p2pool. Does worksize have anything to do with the 'difficulty' issue?

I have played with setting poclbm, phatk and phatk2 - the phatk kernel seems to give me the best hashrate.

I have tried with/without vectors and fastloop plus higher and lower Aggression - and given each change a couple days to see how it plays on stales, DOA's, etc.

Anyone want to share 'best configuration' for ATI cards?

* These two give me the best results so far.

... seems to increase local hash rate but payout drops over time - dead on arrival: between 1.9 - 4.0%
-k phatk DEVICE=0 WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=9

... seems to generate a higher payout over time but slows reported hash rate.
-k phatk DEVICE=0 WORKSIZE=256 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=9


I am running 3 boxes with a mix of 6870's 6990's and 7970's - phoenix 1.7 - Ubuntu 10.04lts
Frizz23
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 500


View Profile
July 31, 2012, 07:06:10 PM
 #3067

I have had an annoying hardware failure of one of the machines that provides data for p2pool.info behind the scenes.  Until I can rebuild this machine, it means p2pool.info may be intermittently out of action or inaccurate.

It's fixed.  

And no comment...




That is very nice first time I've seen the 90 day over 100%  Grin

Thanks for Great Week P2Pool

Did they change the algorithm to calculate the luck charts on p2pool.info?
RandomQ
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 31, 2012, 07:49:18 PM
 #3068

I have had an annoying hardware failure of one of the machines that provides data for p2pool.info behind the scenes.  Until I can rebuild this machine, it means p2pool.info may be intermittently out of action or inaccurate.

It's fixed.  

And no comment...




That is very nice first time I've seen the 90 day over 100%  Grin

Thanks for Great Week P2Pool

Did they change the algorithm to calculate the luck charts on p2pool.info?

Nope P2Pool Just got Better  Grin
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
July 31, 2012, 09:41:45 PM
 #3069

Just started using p2pool again today and I have a quick question. Does the --p2pool-node flag support DNS lookups or can it only do IP addresses? I have a friend nearby that I'd like to be always connected to, but he has a dynamic IP.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 12:06:36 AM
 #3070

i wish I could add some difficulty to my miners, but the /1000 or whatever doesn't work in phoenix

I was wondering who else is out there using Phoenix and what command line options are you using for best results on p2pool. Does worksize have anything to do with the 'difficulty' issue?

I have played with setting poclbm, phatk and phatk2 - the phatk kernel seems to give me the best hashrate.

I have tried with/without vectors and fastloop plus higher and lower Aggression - and given each change a couple days to see how it plays on stales, DOA's, etc.

Anyone want to share 'best configuration' for ATI cards?

* These two give me the best results so far.

... seems to increase local hash rate but payout drops over time - dead on arrival: between 1.9 - 4.0%
-k phatk DEVICE=0 WORKSIZE=128 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=9

... seems to generate a higher payout over time but slows reported hash rate.
-k phatk DEVICE=0 WORKSIZE=256 VECTORS BFI_INT FASTLOOP AGGRESSION=9


I am running 3 boxes with a mix of 6870's 6990's and 7970's - phoenix 1.7 - Ubuntu 10.04lts

I would only use phoenix with the 5000 series.  Everything above that I recommend cgminer.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 12:07:31 AM
 #3071

Just started using p2pool again today and I have a quick question. Does the --p2pool-node flag support DNS lookups or can it only do IP addresses? I have a friend nearby that I'd like to be always connected to, but he has a dynamic IP.

To everyone and anyone who might be jumping back on the bandwagon, make sure you're using the latest version of p2pool!  Don't dust off the version you had when you used it last!!

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
jgarzik
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1554
Merit: 1005


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 12:21:19 AM
 #3072

Trying to investigate a luke-jr claim from IRC:

Quote
<luke-jr> sipa: already we have p2pool + height-in-coinbase-bitcoind making ver=2,coinbase=no-height blocks

The dev team is working on BIP 34 - height in coinbase, and if what luke-jr says is true, then there is a buggy p2pool implementation out there generating invalid version 2 blocks.

For those hackers out there, this is the BIP 34 change:

Code:
-    pblock->vtx[0].vin[0].scriptSig = (CScript() << pblock->nTime << CBigNum(nExtraNonce)) + COINBASE_FLAGS;
+    unsigned int nHeight = pindexPrev->nHeight+1; // Height first in coinbase required for block.version=2
+    pblock->vtx[0].vin[0].scriptSig = (CScript() << nHeight << CBigNum(nExtraNonce)) + COINBASE_FLAGS;

All that is required is that nHeight be the first element of the coinbase.


Jeff Garzik, Bloq CEO, former bitcoin core dev team; opinions are my own.
Visit bloq.com / metronome.io
Donations / tip jar: 1BrufViLKnSWtuWGkryPsKsxonV2NQ7Tcj
Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 01, 2012, 05:16:03 AM
 #3073

Just started using p2pool again today and I have a quick question. Does the --p2pool-node flag support DNS lookups or can it only do IP addresses? I have a friend nearby that I'd like to be always connected to, but he has a dynamic IP.

To everyone and anyone who might be jumping back on the bandwagon, make sure you're using the latest version of p2pool!  Don't dust off the version you had when you used it last!!

M
Yeah, I know; I'm on an entirely new Ubuntu install so I had to download the newest version. Does anybody know the answer to my question though?

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
Smoovious
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 504
Merit: 500

Scattering my bits around the net since 1980


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 09:12:04 AM
 #3074

Just started using p2pool again today and I have a quick question. Does the --p2pool-node flag support DNS lookups or can it only do IP addresses? I have a friend nearby that I'd like to be always connected to, but he has a dynamic IP.

To everyone and anyone who might be jumping back on the bandwagon, make sure you're using the latest version of p2pool!  Don't dust off the version you had when you used it last!!

M
Yeah, I know; I'm on an entirely new Ubuntu install so I had to download the newest version. Does anybody know the answer to my question though?
Just try it, see if it works or not... won't hurt anything to experiment Smiley

-- Smoov
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610
Merit: 1000


House Nogleg


View Profile WWW
August 01, 2012, 02:44:51 PM
 #3075

Quote
Just try it, see if it works or not... won't hurt anything to experiment Smiley

-- Smoov


hmm, any ideas why my systems on my switch get 50% rejected on p2pool (they were originally on a hub and I thought it was from all the collisions, that shouldnt be as much of an issue now?)   it  doesn't happen on other pools

Krak
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 591
Merit: 500



View Profile WWW
August 01, 2012, 04:45:36 PM
 #3076

Just try it, see if it works or not... won't hurt anything to experiment Smiley

-- Smoov
Doesn't look like it worked. Maybe we could make that a feature request? However, I looked through my address file and your IP is in there.

BTC: 1KrakenLFEFg33A4f6xpwgv3UUoxrLPuGn
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 07:22:01 PM
 #3077

Came back to p2pool today after a while of being gone. Added 1.9ghash to the pool. Smiley I just want to confirm that the binaries in the first post are up to date. I'm running p2pool ver 3.1, and want to make sure I'm on the right version.

Also, what was the edit to change the frequency that p2pool displays information. Every 3 seconds is just too freakin' often.
tvasconcelos
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 66
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 01, 2012, 09:52:03 PM
 #3078

Hi, been on p2pool for a week now, 24/7. Just heard of some kind of lottery, can someone explain this to me as i was 4???

I've seen my address with a number in front of it, 16.whatever, on a sendmany patron whatever url... what is that? Is there some extra earning on p2pool that i'm not receiving? i only get what i mine, the shares i submit, not a cent more... i like p2pool even though i might be getting more on other pools. i have 450Mh/s, sometimes on p2pool window i get as low as 200, others i get 500.

Just interested in knowing if there's some more to gain on this pool, and what am i doing wrong if i'm not getting any...

Thank you.
ChanceCoats123
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 680
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 10:32:42 PM
 #3079

Hi, been on p2pool for a week now, 24/7. Just heard of some kind of lottery, can someone explain this to me as i was 4???

I've seen my address with a number in front of it, 16.whatever, on a sendmany patron whatever url... what is that? Is there some extra earning on p2pool that i'm not receiving? i only get what i mine, the shares i submit, not a cent more... i like p2pool even though i might be getting more on other pools. i have 450Mh/s, sometimes on p2pool window i get as low as 200, others i get 500.

Just interested in knowing if there's some more to gain on this pool, and what am i doing wrong if i'm not getting any...

Thank you.

With only 450mhash, more than likely you're just seeing share balance. If you've even mined with a pool that offers proportional mining, then you'll know that there is not just the variance of finding blocks for a pool, but also the variance of getting shares for your miners. It just happens that at that particular time during the round, your miner hadn't found its share of shares, so to speak. Over time, it all balances out just like block finding.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
August 01, 2012, 11:09:54 PM
 #3080

Quote
Just try it, see if it works or not... won't hurt anything to experiment Smiley

-- Smoov


hmm, any ideas why my systems on my switch get 50% rejected on p2pool (they were originally on a hub and I thought it was from all the collisions, that shouldnt be as much of an issue now?)   it  doesn't happen on other pools

What miner and what hardware?

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Pages: « 1 ... 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 [154] 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 ... 814 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!