Bitcoin Forum
March 25, 2019, 03:27:52 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 [98] 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1255341 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 18, 2014, 08:25:20 AM
Last edit: May 18, 2014, 08:38:21 AM by Collider
 #1941

What overclock settings are you using?
Im only getting mine to run at 1.38TH/s each in turbo.
Im still getting a few errors but not as high as when they started up initially.

Use fan speed atleast 90% , start voltage you can leave, unless you have a May batch, then put maybe 0.68 ,maximum voltage 0.78, and make sure maximum power draw is 1250W if you have a 208V+ circuit.

Your unit will get even louder though, so i hope you have it in a DC


@ spondoolies
How far is the hosting customer control panel?

What is the best email address to rech your hosting staff? I would like to contact them regarding my units.
1553527672
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553527672

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553527672
Reply with quote  #2

1553527672
Report to moderator
Your Bitcoin transactions
The Ultimate Bitcoin mixer
made truly anonymous.
with an advanced technology.
Mix coins
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1553527672
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553527672

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553527672
Reply with quote  #2

1553527672
Report to moderator
1553527672
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553527672

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553527672
Reply with quote  #2

1553527672
Report to moderator
1553527672
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1553527672

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1553527672
Reply with quote  #2

1553527672
Report to moderator
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 18, 2014, 09:36:08 AM
 #1942

What overclock settings are you using?
Im only getting mine to run at 1.38TH/s each in turbo.
Im still getting a few errors but not as high as when they started up initially.

Use fan speed at least 90% , start voltage you can leave, unless you have a May batch, then put maybe 0.68 ,maximum voltage 0.78, and make sure maximum power draw is 1250W if you have a 208V+ circuit.

Your unit will get even louder though, so i hope you have it in a DC


@ spondoolies
How far is the hosting customer control panel?

What is the best email address to rech your hosting staff? I would like to contact them regarding my units.

That is true with small correction: this is for maximal performance.
- If you have cool temperature you can set the fan for less. It depends on how much noise you are willing to take for the added fractions of %.
- maximum voltage 0.78 - you can set less if you want more efficiency. Also, if your ambient temperature is very high (>35C) you may want to manually limit the max-voltage to prevent fluctuation and even get better rates. But we are talking about fractions of %.   
 
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1086


Clueless!


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 09:41:31 AM
 #1943

What overclock settings are you using?
Im only getting mine to run at 1.38TH/s each in turbo.
Im still getting a few errors but not as high as when they started up initially.

Use fan speed at least 90% , start voltage you can leave, unless you have a May batch, then put maybe 0.68 ,maximum voltage 0.78, and make sure maximum power draw is 1250W if you have a 208V+ circuit.

Your unit will get even louder though, so i hope you have it in a DC


@ spondoolies
How far is the hosting customer control panel?

What is the best email address to rech your hosting staff? I would like to contact them regarding my units.

That is true with small correction: this is for maximal performance.
- If you have cool temperature you can set the fan for less. It depends on how much noise you are willing to take for the added fractions of %.
- maximum voltage 0.78 - you can set less if you want more efficiency. Also, if your ambient temperature is very high (>35C) you may want to manually limit the max-voltage to prevent fluctuation and even get better rates. But we are talking about fractions of %.   
 


This is probably a dumb question...but why not pop the top and use fans outside box and slow down fan speed for fans in the box to get the same result? er I mean for home use?

or is it some kinda airflow not a good idea?

Searing

Try out www.synchro.net An 'Old School' BBS (Bulletin Board System) works on Win /10/8/7 and Linux!
Three-minute install. The last upgrade was Jan 1st, 2019. I think you will be impressed by this project!
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 18, 2014, 09:46:10 AM
 #1944

It is a terrible idea concerning airflow.

You need to force atleast 150cfm through the unit (nothing "escapes" out the side/top)
canford
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2014, 09:48:10 AM
 #1945

I had 3 SP10s delivered today.  Two are fine and hashing at 1.35 and 1.4 TH/s, respectively.  The two that are working I did a firmware update first, then changed the network settings.

The third SP10 I did not update the firmware, changed the IP address and rebooted.  I could get to the miner web UI OK, but then it showed the gateway address missing.  I added the gateway address and rebooted, and that is the last network contact from the miner.

I followed the instructions for SP10 Miner recovery.  I used a Windows machine to flash a class 10 uSD 8MB card.  I then tried the miner recovery process three times.  I had to hold the uSD card in with a finger while I unplugged and replugged the power cord.  All three times, after about 40 seconds I got the expected flash of yellow and green.  I removed the card and unplugged and replugged the SP10.  I get flashing lights under the ethernet connection, and then both yellow and green lights come on.  The miner never contacts the Spondoolies start page and does not come up on the network.

To be sure, I repeated the entire process with a 16 GB uSD card, exact same results.  Checked and replaced the network cable.  The miner boots, runs the fans, then both yellow and green lights come on.  I tried another recovery but waited an extra two minutes at each stage, same results.  All three miners are running at 240V.

Spondoolies, help!  Thanks very much for your assistance, I am posting this here so others can learn from this as well.

Thanks very much,
Henry

Please write to me at zvi@spondoolies-tech.com - I will assist you with the recovery and the overclocking. Regards`

Zvi helped me, all 3 SP10s are now up and running.  1.4 TH/s due to hot weather.  So impressed with well packed machines and instantaneous technical support.  Could not recommend more!  Thanks Zvi.

-Henry

As it cools off, hashrates coming up.  Currently 1.44, 1.44, 1.43.  Last one is in the bottom of the rack, struggles with high intake temps.  The three miners are in a 5U rack, if I could do it again I'd use a 6+ rack to provide airflow under the bottom miner.  Great product!

Update: Fixed cooling problem by improving airflow.  Reduced noise problem by adding foam to surfaces above, below and behind the SP10s rack.  Current hashrates for the 3 SP10s are 1.43, 1.44 and 1.45.  Zvi said 1.45 is a good target, so all is well.  Awesome product Spondoolies!  Zvi, I really appreciate your help getting my unit recovered.  One more window fan on the way in preparation for summer and these units should be rock-solid. Datacenter and cheaper power would be great, but I am engineering this the best I can with what I have.

Пoльзyйтecь бecплaтнo и пишитe чтo вaм нyжнo yлyчшить:trd.ai
Bидeo, кaк пoльзoвaтьcя пpoeктoм:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNhx715vOOk&feature=youtu.be
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030
Merit: 1086


Clueless!


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 09:48:31 AM
 #1946

It is a terrible idea concerning airflow.

You need to force atleast 150cfm through the unit (nothing "escapes" out the side/top)

so i suppose a "better fan" to replace in stock is out of the question as well then>>>> ie no way to improve from that direction?


er canford ..how did you improve airflow?

Try out www.synchro.net An 'Old School' BBS (Bulletin Board System) works on Win /10/8/7 and Linux!
Three-minute install. The last upgrade was Jan 1st, 2019. I think you will be impressed by this project!
canford
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2014, 09:52:19 AM
 #1947

It is a terrible idea concerning airflow.

You need to force atleast 150cfm through the unit (nothing "escapes" out the side/top)

so i suppose a "better fan" to replace in stock is out of the question as well then>>>> ie no way to improve from that direction?


er canford ..how did you improve airflow?

I installed the 3 SP10s in a 5U rack in spots 1, 3, 5.  I built a stand to allow for airflow under the rack.  Then put a standard hardware store blower fan next to the rack.  Presto, 1.43, 1.44, 1.45.

Пoльзyйтecь бecплaтнo и пишитe чтo вaм нyжнo yлyчшить:trd.ai
Bидeo, кaк пoльзoвaтьcя пpoeктoм:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNhx715vOOk&feature=youtu.be
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 18, 2014, 10:04:11 AM
 #1948

Any pictures available, maybe?

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
canford
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2014, 10:27:12 AM
 #1949

Any pictures available, maybe?

Sure:

Пoльзyйтecь бecплaтнo и пишитe чтo вaм нyжнo yлyчшить:trd.ai
Bидeo, кaк пoльзoвaтьcя пpoeктoм:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=pNhx715vOOk&feature=youtu.be
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
May 18, 2014, 11:08:45 AM
 #1950

Thanks, you have done a nice and clean setup.

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 12:40:23 PM
 #1951

Thanks, you have done a nice and clean setup.

Indeed. I was planning to get some kind of closed enclosure, but after seeing this I might just do the switch to something open.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
vpn1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 12:48:01 PM
 #1952

Cooling and noise is always an intriguing issue. I wonder if someone can run spec. tests which might help everyone else out .e.g at what ambient temp + additional cooling will equal x fan speeds?

1. take that setup above, what happens if you pipe cold air from behind the fans? How much fan speed can you reduce?  Do you have central air conditioning where you can duct from a vent directly towards the miners like this?

http://oi60.tinypic.com/261zssp.jpg


The other end is attached to the vent on the ceiling, same deal if your central air vent is on the floor.

2. If no central a/c same deal with a portable a/v unit, very cheap but also power hungry, say 5000 BTU @ 400 watts but it pumps out at least 72F (22 C). If you position it directly behind the miners and that is the air the fans draw in.

Any worthy reduction in the temps thus the fan can be reduced?

How about the entire room being a/c'd down to 20 C.

3. I nearly went Peltier plates on my GPU's. Incredibly effective down to freezing but power hungry. Super cheap and easy to do your self. Like 25-50 dollars in parts. Obviously you cannot do that to a multitude of tiny chips individually. I don't know how the setup is even on these miners.  But if you can do it to a CPU there must be a way to do it to these? Maybe freeze the entire heat sink that is overl ayed over all the chips?

Here's a nice detailed demo of it on a CPU

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=DHFGY32hV7w

I guess my question is in order to run the fan at say 50% speed (or whatever volume level is acceptable) what must the chip temps be. From there one can work backwards and find a solution. Obviously long before mining came along, overclocking CPU's and the cooling of them has an incredible wealth of equally  incredibly novel solutions all well tested and tried over the years.
blaiser
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 12:52:36 PM
 #1953

Any pictures available, maybe?

Sure:

Would you provide a link for the supplier of your 5u rack I might be interested? Also should you feed your your SP10's ~220V instead of ~110V you should even get a better hash rate.

Best regards,

~Blaise

Hey man, can you spare some Teeth - GQZ1mXzbsviarDAjgGeVTRB5GmjyMtFj5N
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 1027


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2014, 01:05:34 PM
 #1954


@ spondoolies
How far is the hosting customer control panel?

What is the best email address to rech your hosting staff? I would like to contact them regarding my units.

It will take few more weeks, we're working on the security aspects of the solution.

rabi@ or zvi@

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
blaiser
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 02:28:16 PM
 #1955

Cooling and noise is always an intriguing issue. I wonder if someone can run spec. tests which might help everyone else out .e.g at what ambient temp + additional cooling will equal x fan speeds?

1. take that setup above, what happens if you pipe cold air from behind the fans? How much fan speed can you reduce?  Do you have central air conditioning where you can duct from a vent directly towards the miners like this?




Cooling and noise is always an intriguing issue. I wonder if someone can run spec. tests which might help everyone else out .e.g at what ambient temp + additional cooling will equal x fan speeds?

1. take that setup above, what happens if you pipe cold air from behind the fans? How much fan speed can you reduce?  Do you have central air conditioning where you can duct from a vent directly towards the miners like this?


For clarity - the SP10's have 6 fans (7 counting the power supply fan) in the back removing/exhausting warm air. so I'm sure your meaning and wondering if cool air directed to the front of vpn1's machine and ducting the exhaust air out of the room would allow for a decrease in fan RPM's, agreed.

Best regards,

~Blaise

Hey man, can you spare some Teeth - GQZ1mXzbsviarDAjgGeVTRB5GmjyMtFj5N
vpn1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 33
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 04:16:29 PM
 #1956

I see, I did not realise that. No wonder it is so loud, working hard at that. Obviously it is a given this is for the server set-up.

So on the other side is intake ventilation only? Are the four other sides fully sealed?

So what would happen if you did assist it on the intake side pushing in cold air/

How about going to portable AC remedies. If It is fully sealed except for the two ends, wrap the unit with a compressor sound blanket.


http://oi62.tinypic.com/2ugea6w.jpg


Then affix a connection to the case over the bank of fans similar to this ac exhaust ducting

 http://oi60.tinypic.com/15r1d0l.jpg


You can wrap that up in sound deadening insulation, stick an exhaust fan on the other end to assist in removal or do as the portable ac does and eject it out the window.

Pretty sure you could cut the noise in half with a bit of tinkering and no more than 50 or 100 dollars in parts.
Gyrsur
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170
Merit: 1102


#BEL+++


View Profile WWW
May 18, 2014, 04:46:10 PM
 #1957

how noisy is the SP10?

Reason for selling:
We live in a very old home and the noise level is much higher than anticipated.

███████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████
#1
███████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████
BTC 
  ●
   BTC
  BTC  
.
    ▄▄▄▀▀▀▀
 ▄██▀
███        ▄▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄▄▄
▀███▄▄▄▄▀▀▀                 ▀▀▄▄
  ▀▀▀██████████████████████████▀
   ▄█▄     ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
    ▀▀██▄▄█▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀
      ▄  ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
      ▀██▄  ▄▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▄
        ▀█▀██████████████▀▀
         ▀█▄▄ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
            █▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀
             ▀▀▄▄▄▄▄▄▄
.
     BTC
  BTC   
  ●
  BTC  
███████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████
███████████
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
██
███████████
kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 04:53:04 PM
 #1958

how noisy is the SP10?

Reason for selling:
We live in a very old home and the noise level is much higher than anticipated.

I think the main design mistake Spondoolies-Tech made with the SP10 was cramming it into a 1.25U case, which forced them to use very small and very loud fans. Most people don't need the SP10 to be 1.25U. Even in a datacenter, a 2U or 3U design would have been fine in 99% of cases. Most data center racks are between 40 and 48U, and there is a limit on how much power can be supplied to a rack. I doubt many data centers can power and cool a rack that contains 20 SP10s and draws ~25KW of power.

Otherwise, it looks like a very well engineered product.
davecoin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 813
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 04:58:16 PM
 #1959

how noisy is the SP10?

Reason for selling:
We live in a very old home and the noise level is much higher than anticipated.

I think the main design mistake Spondoolies-Tech made with the SP10 was cramming it into a 1.25U case, which forced them to use very small and very loud fans. Most people don't need the SP10 to be 1.25U. Even in a datacenter, a 2U or 3U design would have been fine in 99% of cases. Most data center racks are between 40 and 48U, and there is a limit on how much power can be supplied to a rack. I doubt many data centers can power and cool a rack that contains 20 SP10s and draws ~25KW of power.

Otherwise, it looks like a very well engineered product.

It is a beautiful piece of hardware, but it is clear that when Spondoolies says "Meet the first Data Center-ready Bitcoin miner", they are not kidding.  I think a lot of it has to do with your living situation though.  We have guests over regularly and the sound of a server running in the basement and resonating throughout the house just doesn't work for us.  If you were a bachelor living in a house and spent most of your time away from home (or simply didn't mind the fan noise), it would be perfectly acceptable.
kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 18, 2014, 05:04:08 PM
 #1960

how noisy is the SP10?

Reason for selling:
We live in a very old home and the noise level is much higher than anticipated.

I think the main design mistake Spondoolies-Tech made with the SP10 was cramming it into a 1.25U case, which forced them to use very small and very loud fans. Most people don't need the SP10 to be 1.25U. Even in a datacenter, a 2U or 3U design would have been fine in 99% of cases. Most data center racks are between 40 and 48U, and there is a limit on how much power can be supplied to a rack. I doubt many data centers can power and cool a rack that contains 20 SP10s and draws ~25KW of power.

Otherwise, it looks like a very well engineered product.

It is a beautiful piece of hardware, but it is clear that when Spondoolies says "Meet the first Data Center-ready Bitcoin miner", they are not kidding.  I think a lot of it has to do with your living situation though.  We have guests over regularly and the sound of a server running in the basement and resonating throughout the house just doesn't work for us.  If you were a bachelor living in a house and spent most of your time away from home (or simply didn't mind the fan noise), it would be perfectly acceptable.

I think that would be a deal breaker for most home miners. I run some miners in my basement storage room, and being able to hear them upstairs is a definite deal breaker. My wife wouldn't stand for it...  Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 [98] 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!