Bitcoin Forum
April 20, 2019, 05:26:40 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 [135] 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1255367 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Airwhale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 07:16:10 PM
 #2681

The hard thing about the noise for me is the screaming quality to it.  Other air cooled asics have a clean-whitenoise sound that isn't that bothersome to me.  The SP10 squeals/whistles at a high, oscillating pitch.  I can't be in the same room as it for too long,  and that is even at its lowest fan setting.  

I'd put spacing between the units, (and ideally move air through that space somehow)  I suggest not stacking them on each other.  They do get very, very hot,  particularly on the bottom.  

Spondoolies has fast shipping... it took me about a week to get my SP10,  and that was with a problem with bitpay that delayed it a couple of days.

If you have american outlets,  be aware... the performance suffers on 110v outlets.  If you are going that route,  I suspect other mining manufacturers might be a better deal for you.  

Also be aware that, in the past,  spondoolies had a dramatic price cut when they had units in stock,  as opposed to preorder.  I was very disappointed to order a preorder one,  have my order delayed a few days due to problems with bitpay,  and just as it gets sorted out,  Guy lowered the price of the SP10 by about 12%, while I had to pay full price.

The SP10 is a very well engineered miner,  but it is for a very specific application:  being in a hosted environment with high voltage plugs,  where noise does not matter.  If you are not deploying it in such a setting,  I suggest only getting one right now, not multiples, to see if it meets your needs.
1555781200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555781200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555781200
Reply with quote  #2

1555781200
Report to moderator
1555781200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555781200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555781200
Reply with quote  #2

1555781200
Report to moderator
1555781200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555781200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555781200
Reply with quote  #2

1555781200
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1555781200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555781200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555781200
Reply with quote  #2

1555781200
Report to moderator
1555781200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555781200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555781200
Reply with quote  #2

1555781200
Report to moderator
1555781200
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555781200

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555781200
Reply with quote  #2

1555781200
Report to moderator
Marcellow
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 07:31:03 PM
 #2682

A few questions as a Miner who got in via Scrypt mining since I was told BitCoin wasn't profitable anymore but doing my own calculations, seeing that this was sort of a lie (Or at the very least, Spondoolies made it profitable again.) Excuse my ignorance if these questions have already been answered but I was trying to search through all 100+ pages of this post and didn't find any answers as of yet.

I've already seen Spondoolies on CCN's website and people have already been posting reviews on this ASIC, so I'm assuming this ASIC company is already established and trust worthy manufacturer unlike the millions of ASIC companies popping up on Scrypt sites talking about how there taking pre-orders but still months away from launch.

How long does it take to order an SP-10 Dawson from them (Does it have to ship from Isreal or do they have a local shipping site?)

I've read that the SP-10 produces 45 db of noise yet some people are complaining this is too loud... Are they just hyper-sensitive of hearing or do they not have basements/living rooms to store these ASIC's? And are there any methods of lowering the noise levels if indeed they are louder then 45 db? (I live in NYC so 45 is REALLY quiet even for night time here)  Grin

I've also read that the units get really hot underneath, and I was interested in getting racks for multiple units, but how do the units not burn each other (Or at the very least cause overheating) if there stacked on top of one another?

Any information or help at all would be greatly appreciated as someone who's been taught since entering ASIC mining to ignore SHA-256 and focus purely on Scrypt.  Smiley

Well about the noise, installed two sp10's in a datacenter yesterday. Today i got a phonecall from the datacenter.
It is a big datacenter (+1000 racks), they told me the sp10's are the loudest machines they ever had in the building....
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 07:41:04 PM
 #2683

The noise complaints are numerous. So why doesn't Spondoolies address this issue and make an alternate version in a 2U rack size? I'm sure they would sell more units if they weren't so loud.
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2014, 07:52:07 PM
 #2684

The default login/password to the webUI is admin/admin correct?

The person who had his co-located can't log into it with admin/admin and he never changed or reset anything. Is there a way to change the admin password via the shell? Really weird how he can't log into it now. Very strange.



Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 08:07:25 PM
 #2685

The default login/password to the webUI is admin/admin correct?

The person who had his co-located can't log into it with admin/admin and he never changed or reset anything. Is there a way to change the admin password via the shell? Really weird how he can't log into it now. Very strange.

Yes it should be admin/admin. No idea about the change of admin pass via SSH.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
Zelek Uther
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500


Run a Bitcoin node.


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 08:21:22 PM
 #2686

The hard thing about the noise for me is the screaming quality to it.  Other air cooled asics have a clean-whitenoise sound that isn't that bothersome to me.  The SP10 squeals/whistles at a high, oscillating pitch.  I can't be in the same room as it for too long,  and that is even at its lowest fan setting.  

I'd put spacing between the units, (and ideally move air through that space somehow)  I suggest not stacking them on each other.  They do get very, very hot,  particularly on the bottom.  

Spondoolies has fast shipping... it took me about a week to get my SP10,  and that was with a problem with bitpay that delayed it a couple of days.

If you have american outlets,  be aware... the performance suffers on 110v outlets.  If you are going that route,  I suspect other mining manufacturers might be a better deal for you.  

Also be aware that, in the past,  spondoolies had a dramatic price cut when they had units in stock,  as opposed to preorder.  I was very disappointed to order a preorder one,  have my order delayed a few days due to problems with bitpay,  and just as it gets sorted out,  Guy lowered the price of the SP10 by about 12%, while I had to pay full price.

The SP10 is a very well engineered miner,  but it is for a very specific application:  being in a hosted environment with high voltage plugs,  where noise does not matter.  If you are not deploying it in such a setting,  I suggest only getting one right now, not multiples, to see if it meets your needs.
tzortz has four stacked, and hasn't reported any issues. There would be a small clearance between them due to the rubber feet (that are supplied in case you aren't rack-mounting them).

If they are stacked in a rack they won't actually be touching either, as the one above will sit on rails rather than the one below. The rails will create a small gap between them.

@spond: is it necessary to put gaps between when stacking multiple SP10s in a rack?


Run a Bitcoin node, support the network.
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 04, 2014, 08:32:34 PM
 #2687

Right , I have 4 of them stacked without any spacer and have minimum 1.47Ths each.
I did not use the rubbers, I was too lazy.
My inlet air temp is 30C, outlet is 78C.

No, issues so far.

I do not believe that will be any improvement if I change anything with that setup.


All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
Airwhale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 08:45:01 PM
 #2688

All I know is that when I touch the bottom of my SP10 it is really, really hot =P
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 09:36:04 PM
 #2689

The noise complaints are numerous. So why doesn't Spondoolies address this issue and make an alternate version in a 2U rack size? I'm sure they would sell more units if they weren't so loud.
Because the product is already obsolete and they have the SP 30 to move now. Wouldn't make sense spending the money on engineering for something that is soon to go EOL. Would be a great miner though.
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 09:57:40 PM
 #2690

The noise complaints are numerous. So why doesn't Spondoolies address this issue and make an alternate version in a 2U rack size? I'm sure they would sell more units if they weren't so loud.
Because the product is already obsolete and they have the SP 30 to move now. Wouldn't make sense spending the money on engineering for something that is soon to go EOL. Would be a great miner though.

August is still 2 months away. That's an eternity in BTC time. They could sell a lot of SP10 ver.2.0 in that time period. All that's needed is a bigger case with larger fans and a PSU that doesn't sound like shop-vac. Their talented engineers could probably knock that out in an afternoon.
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2014, 10:08:31 PM
 #2691

The noise complaints are numerous. So why doesn't Spondoolies address this issue and make an alternate version in a 2U rack size? I'm sure they would sell more units if they weren't so loud.
Because the product is already obsolete and they have the SP 30 to move now. Wouldn't make sense spending the money on engineering for something that is soon to go EOL. Would be a great miner though.



Spondoolie is making another batch of SP10's for sale in mid June. While it is obsolete for some people, it isn't obsolete for everyone. But at that point in time it is more worth it to buy an SP30. 1.4TH/s is just a smudge these days. I'm even thinking of getting an SP30 but told myself I would never pre-order another miner in my life and I'm sticking to that. We could have $200 BTC prices again over night.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2014, 10:43:19 PM
 #2692

Hey, I've been unable to get 2 SP10 to hash at 1.4. The highest has always been 1.35. It is running off a 120V and turbo mode has been selected. I have not made any changes or messed around with voltage since I don't want to thermally seize the miner, since I'm remote to it, that would be a bad thing. Are there any SAFE settings I can try in advanced voltage settings to try and get it to 1.4 as advertised?

Thanks.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2014, 10:45:51 PM
 #2693

The noise complaints are numerous. So why doesn't Spondoolies address this issue and make an alternate version in a 2U rack size? I'm sure they would sell more units if they weren't so loud.
Because the product is already obsolete and they have the SP 30 to move now. Wouldn't make sense spending the money on engineering for something that is soon to go EOL. Would be a great miner though.



Spondoolie is making another batch of SP10's for sale in mid June. While it is obsolete for some people, it isn't obsolete for everyone. But at that point in time it is more worth it to buy an SP30. 1.4TH/s is just a smudge these days. I'm even thinking of getting an SP30 but told myself I would never pre-order another miner in my life and I'm sticking to that. We could have $200 BTC prices again over night.
It's also quite a price difference between the SP-10 and the SP-30.  $2695 is a bit easier to swallow than $5095 for some.  Oh, and that SP-10 is available NOW, whereas it'll be September before I can pick up that SP-30.  Compound that with the power requirements of the SP-30, and that SP-10 doesn't look so obsolete.  I was truly hoping for that SP-15 as it would represent a rig I could still run at home without having to install my own personal data center.  Come September, if I want that SP-30, I have two choices: 1) install a 240V/30A circuit in my home, including outlet, and PDU or 2) pay someone to host it for me.  Chances are good I'm going to go with option 1, simply because I like having complete control over my gear.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
June 04, 2014, 10:47:27 PM
 #2694

Hey, I've been unable to get 2 SP10 to hash at 1.4. The highest has always been 1.35. It is running off a 120V and turbo mode has been selected. I have not made any changes or messed around with voltage since I don't want to thermally seize the miner, since I'm remote to it, that would be a bad thing. Are there any SAFE settings I can try in advanced voltage settings to try and get it to 1.4 as advertised?

Thanks.

You're limited by your power.  At 120V, that PSU caps at 1100W.  1.35 is the best you're going to see.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 10:57:01 PM
 #2695

 Sad
Hey, I've been unable to get 2 SP10 to hash at 1.4. The highest has always been 1.35. It is running off a 120V and turbo mode has been selected. I have not made any changes or messed around with voltage since I don't want to thermally seize the miner, since I'm remote to it, that would be a bad thing. Are there any SAFE settings I can try in advanced voltage settings to try and get it to 1.4 as advertised?

Thanks.

You're limited by your power.  At 120V, that PSU caps at 1100W.  1.35 is the best you're going to see.


Add to that, the difference of 50GHs is just pennies a day. It's not worth the effort to try to reclaim it.
psjw4450
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 342
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 11:06:20 PM
 #2696

I received my SP 10 the other day and can't find where the different modes everyone is talking about is located.  I see that people are talking about turbo mode but nowhere does that show up as an option on my miner.
Airwhale
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 219
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 11:18:32 PM
 #2697

If you have not yet,  read zvi's technical blog for the slow-slow corner miners.  http://www.spondoolies-tech.com/blogs/technical-blog/14194753-1-49-on-early-may-batch-unit

Hey, I've been unable to get 2 SP10 to hash at 1.4. The highest has always been 1.35. It is running off a 120V and turbo mode has been selected. I have not made any changes or messed around with voltage since I don't want to thermally seize the miner, since I'm remote to it, that would be a bad thing. Are there any SAFE settings I can try in advanced voltage settings to try and get it to 1.4 as advertised?

Thanks.

kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 04, 2014, 11:48:49 PM
 #2698

Sad
Hey, I've been unable to get 2 SP10 to hash at 1.4. The highest has always been 1.35. It is running off a 120V and turbo mode has been selected. I have not made any changes or messed around with voltage since I don't want to thermally seize the miner, since I'm remote to it, that would be a bad thing. Are there any SAFE settings I can try in advanced voltage settings to try and get it to 1.4 as advertised?

Thanks.

You're limited by your power.  At 120V, that PSU caps at 1100W.  1.35 is the best you're going to see.


Add to that, the difference of 50GHs is just pennies a day. It's not worth the effort to try to reclaim it.


It's not just power that is the limiting factor. There is some variation between units, and I have a late May SP10 that will not do above 1.3TH at 208V in a datacenter.

It kind of sucks considering the unit is running in a near perfect environment and I was hoping for 1.45TH, but it is still within 10% of the 1.4TH that they advertise.
s1gs3gv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1014

ex uno plures


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2014, 12:39:08 AM
 #2699

It kind of sucks considering the unit is running in a near perfect environment

hey, whats the probem ? you can still fry your eggs and bacon on the back of a SP10, right ?
s1gs3gv
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1014

ex uno plures


View Profile WWW
June 05, 2014, 12:42:18 AM
 #2700

But at that point in time it is more worth it to buy an SP30. 1.4TH/s is just a smudge these days. I'm even thinking of getting an SP30 but told myself I would never pre-order another miner in my life and I'm sticking to that. We could have $200 BTC prices again over night.
Careful with those SP30 pre-orders. No refund - right RoadStress ?

KNC could ship a monster Neptune and Bitmain could have a sweet S3 deal soon ...
Pages: « 1 ... 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 [135] 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!