Bitcoin Forum
July 08, 2020, 11:17:11 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.20.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 [235] 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 ... 306 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] AEON: Cryptonote privacy, efficiency, decentralization, and stability  (Read 616365 times)
stoffu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 184
Merit: 161


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2017, 08:43:31 AM
Last edit: October 18, 2017, 09:10:35 AM by stoffu
 #4681

Hi,
for better results, you can try out aeon-stak-cpu, you can download binaries from here:
https://github.com/shyba/aeon-stak-cpu/releases

General suggestion by the devs is not using the main pool (aeon-pool.com) but smaller ones.
You can find a list of available pools here:
http://aeonpools.net

Since our pool is not listed in aeonpools.net for some reason, I give you our URL as well:
https://aeonpool.poolele.com


How long does it take to earn some AEON with a hashrate of 900 h/s? I have been mining but no reward yet.
Do you recommend to join https://aeon-pool.com/?

I am solo mining on a Intel Core i7 5280K with simplewallet and aeond.

Not sure if ihave setup thing s right, when minig is startet from the wallet, the reward will automaticly go to my wallet?

Do you recommend a other way of mining?

Correct, a dedicated CPU miner is generally much more efficient than the default miner included in aeond. Besides Stak-CPU, XMRig is also highly recommended: https://github.com/xmrig/xmrig

On my MacBook Pro 2016 with 2.9GHz Core i7, XMRig generates near 1000 H/s (with huge pages enabled) while aeond generates only around 500 H/s, both with 8 threads.
1594207031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594207031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594207031
Reply with quote  #2

1594207031
Report to moderator
1594207031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594207031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594207031
Reply with quote  #2

1594207031
Report to moderator
1594207031
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1594207031

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1594207031
Reply with quote  #2

1594207031
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
kschneezy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 390
Merit: 186


View Profile
October 18, 2017, 06:20:46 PM
 #4682

I have great faith in the future development of AEON. Things are looking bright :  )
earlybirdly
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 38
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2017, 06:40:18 PM
 #4683

Very helpful answers. Thank you all very much.

My machine crashed already two times during mining with 12 and 10 threads. I guess I have to go down to 8 threads.
Maybe with the suggest aeon-stak-cpu I will be able to mine with more threads.

As soon as my setup is ready to go, I think about joining a smaller pool.
Ad as soon ASUS finally releases the new Custom Design RX Vega 64 I will have a lot more hash power.
Would you recommend a other graphics card than the new AMD Vega 64?


I didn't know that the MacBook is able to mine as well and I will set up this system up after my Desktop machine.

one more thing: I have a Linux and a Windows system on my same machine. I s there a difference in hash rate between the two?
I read somewhere with Linux mining is better, more stable? better hash rate?
Nic0$lud
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 14
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2017, 10:47:27 PM
Last edit: October 18, 2017, 10:59:03 PM by Nic0$lud
 #4684

When mining with CPU, it is best tuning it at your CPU Total Threads Number -1 (if you're using the computer) or at your max if you're gonna let it mine, without using it.
example 4Core *2 Threads per Core  = 8 Threads total

In case you want to mine with both CPU and GPU on the same setup, it's best using CPU Cores number -1, or else you'll experience frequent miner crashes.

I have the best personal experience using these:
RX580 AORUS 8GB ~1600H/s (moded ROM - overclocked)
RX470 STRIX 4GB ~1300H/s (Rx570 ROM - overclocked)
RxVega64 is actually too expensive for the hashrate it achieves


Very helpful answers. Thank you all very much.

My machine crashed already two times during mining with 12 and 10 threads. I guess I have to go down to 8 threads.
Maybe with the suggest aeon-stak-cpu I will be able to mine with more threads.

As soon as my setup is ready to go, I think about joining a smaller pool.
Ad as soon ASUS finally releases the new Custom Design RX Vega 64 I will have a lot more hash power.
Would you recommend a other graphics card than the new AMD Vega 64?


I didn't know that the MacBook is able to mine as well and I will set up this system up after my Desktop machine.

one more thing: I have a Linux and a Windows system on my same machine. I s there a difference in hash rate between the two?
I read somewhere with Linux mining is better, more stable? better hash rate?
Elder III
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148
Merit: 270


View Profile
October 18, 2017, 11:17:41 PM
 #4685

If you use aeon stak cpu to mine the readme will tell you the optimal number of threads to use based on the cache size of your CPU. It also has information on how to enabled locked pages (Win 10 Pro) for an extra ~15-20% boost.
korm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 06:59:19 AM
 #4686

Is this good enough?
I5 7500 = 200H/s
1050ti 4GB = 600H/s
thehihoguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2017, 07:07:17 AM
 #4687

Wanna add to the two previous answers:

Most important for CPU mining is the L3 cache of a CPU. You can find that information by googling your CPU.

Lets say you have 4 core CPU with 8 threads but only 4 MB L3 cache, then you should have max 4 threads set for mining.

Aeon uses a 1mb scratchpad.
thehihoguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2017, 07:09:09 AM
 #4688

Is this good enough?
I5 7500 = 200H/s
1050ti 4GB = 600H/s

What miner are you using for CPU and how many threads? Seems low, are you using CPUMiner Multi? My recent tests showed me that you can get double the hashrate with xmrig and aeon-stak-cpu
NeuroticFish
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2268
Merit: 1722


First 100% Liquid Stablecoin Backed by Gold


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 07:10:02 AM
 #4689

Would be great if you support smaller pools for decentralizing the network

I've been mining at aeon.rupool.tk until something wrong happened, the pool was frozen for days, then it was reset.
I think I've lost some money with that reset so until I find another good low diff pool I mine another coin that looks profitable.
Quite shame, since I like AEON. However, I'm done with "smaller pools".

aeonpools.net

Theres a list of pools:)

Thanks for the list, it'll make my my research quicker, maybe I get back to AEON sooner than I first thought.

korm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 07:30:40 AM
 #4690

What miner are you using for CPU and how many threads? Seems low, are you using CPUMiner Multi? My recent tests showed me that you can get double the hashrate with xmrig and aeon-stak-cpu
I'm nub, so in windows 10 - minergate soft for CPU (4 threads, dont use this PC for another work)
& aeon-stak-nvidia for GPU
I was glad that I could run the mining on the video card. Therefore, I do not remember where I downloaded it. I tried a lot of different software. Only one works.
stoffu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 184
Merit: 161


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2017, 07:38:24 AM
 #4691

People, let's not forget that there's a practical and efficient solution for solo mining using the stratum proxy:
https://github.com/sammy007/monero-stratum/tree/aeon

You can use any dedicated CPU/GPU miners like in pool mining; the only difference is that you run your own node (which is good for decentralization) and you get the entire block reward to your wallet. This should be logically the most cost-effective way of mining since there's no pool fee to pay (you're your own pool).

I've set up CPU & GPU miners on my home computers which generate around 4kH/s in total, and I find a block every week or two weeks. This may sound like too infrequent for many people, but once you get used to it and feel confident that you'll be eventually rewarded at the predicted rate over the long run, it's not bad at all (the variance can be arbitrarily large, though).
thehihoguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2017, 08:07:23 AM
 #4692

What miner are you using for CPU and how many threads? Seems low, are you using CPUMiner Multi? My recent tests showed me that you can get double the hashrate with xmrig and aeon-stak-cpu
I'm nub, so in windows 10 - minergate soft for CPU (4 threads, dont use this PC for another work)
& aeon-stak-nvidia for GPU
I was glad that I could run the mining on the video card. Therefore, I do not remember where I downloaded it. I tried a lot of different software. Only one works.

Please dont use minergate. Its related to scammers and they steal about 30% of your hashrate according to community members.

If you feel comfortable with solomining and waiting for rewards up to a week or two, then follow stoffus advice. It would help to decentralize AEON.

If you prefer more frequent payouts, you can use this guide for setting up a pool mining software other than minergate:

https://www.hiddenjadestone.com/2017/10/19/guide/cpu-pool-mining-windows-xmrig/

Try it out and if you have questions feel free to ask.

In terms of reward, solomining and poolmining will give you the same on average over long time. But as stoffu mentioned, you have the advantage of saving yourself the pool fee if you mine solo.

For a list of pools available, check out www.aeonpools.net
Please dont use the biggest pools though and rather a smaller pool to help decentralize.
thehihoguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2017, 08:39:53 AM
 #4693

Would be great if you support smaller pools for decentralizing the network

I've been mining at aeon.rupool.tk until something wrong happened, the pool was frozen for days, then it was reset.
I think I've lost some money with that reset so until I find another good low diff pool I mine another coin that looks profitable.
Quite shame, since I like AEON. However, I'm done with "smaller pools".

aeonpools.net

Theres a list of pools:)

Thanks for the list, it'll make my my research quicker, maybe I get back to AEON sooner than I first thought.

You could join the "older" smaller pools. Those are probably more stable. We had many new pools and pool owner recently, which is good for adoption, but also brings inexperienced pool owners in.

https://aeonpool.xyz/
https://aeonpool.dreamitsystems.com/
http://serenity.hiddenjadestone.com/
https://aeon.sumominer.com/
Not a full list, just what comes in my mind right now

I hope you wont turn your shoulder away from mining AEON just because of one or two bad experiences:)

Or if you have enough hashrate, you could solomine and maximize your part in decentralization, see previous posts
teknohog
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510
Merit: 252


555


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2017, 11:17:36 AM
 #4694

I see all these hints on CPU mining threads, and I wonder if people look at their actual hashrates or simply trust the theory. Because with some CPUs, using 1 thread per CPU core is faster than the default. I see it with AMD FX-8320E and A4-5000 (using xmrig, but the effect is the same with other miners).

The A4-5000 in particular is interesting, as it only has 2 MB of L2 cache and no L3. I guess the execution units are so slow as to negate any cache speedups.

With my i5-7300HQ, the default of 3 threads at 4 cores is faster. Besides the cache size effect, in this case there's also Turbo Boost, which allows higher clockspeeds when fewer cores are loaded. So you get more speedup than simply from the cache size.

Of course, the situation can be complicated by other programs running on the same machine. But in most practical cases, the other programs only take short bursts of CPU time, so long-term hashrates should not be affected.

world famous math art | masternodes are bad, mmmkay?
Treat your coins with respect. Only "pump and dump" people.
thehihoguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 484
Merit: 251


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2017, 11:28:02 AM
 #4695

I see all these hints on CPU mining threads, and I wonder if people look at their actual hashrates or simply trust the theory. Because with some CPUs, using 1 thread per CPU core is faster than the default. I see it with AMD FX-8320E and A4-5000 (using xmrig, but the effect is the same with other miners).

The A4-5000 in particular is interesting, as it only has 2 MB of L2 cache and no L3. I guess the execution units are so slow as to negate any cache speedups.

With my i5-7300HQ, the default of 3 threads at 4 cores is faster. Besides the cache size effect, in this case there's also Turbo Boost, which allows higher clockspeeds when fewer cores are loaded. So you get more speedup than simply from the cache size.

Of course, the situation can be complicated by other programs running on the same machine. But in most practical cases, the other programs only take short bursts of CPU time, so long-term hashrates should not be affected.

In the end, you have to try out several settings for your setup to find the perfect configuration. Theres just so many things, that can impact the hashrate (driver, use of machine during mining, software, cpu features,etc).

With aeon-stak-cpu for example, we found out that with certain CPU's you have better results by addressing only the physical core threads (threads 0,2,4,6,8). while for other cpus like mine, i had better results by just addressing every possible thread...
korm
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 11:31:23 AM
 #4696

thehihoguy thanks for help Smiley


With my i5-7300HQ, the default of 3 threads at 4 cores is faster. Besides the cache size effect, in this case there's also Turbo Boost, which allows higher clockspeeds when fewer cores are loaded. So you get more speedup than simply from the cache size.

Of course, the situation can be complicated by other programs running on the same machine. But in most practical cases, the other programs only take short bursts of CPU time, so long-term hashrates should not be affected.

Yep. It is fantastic. I increased my rate two times for CPU.
After all - I'm have this one:
i5-7500 - 500-550H/s (+100%)
G4400 - 230-250H/s (+100%)
i3 2120 - 95-100H/s (+0%)
1050ti - 660H/s (+5%)
Lorenzitto
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 6
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 09:10:56 PM
 #4697

I almost earned 3 whole aeon coins mining less than 36 hours, but it was likely 2 months ago , now the minimum is 1000 h/s to see something appear in the wallet.
jbmustaq
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 446
Merit: 100


View Profile
October 19, 2017, 09:47:46 PM
 #4698

Anybody can provide a detail about solomining in Windows 7
stoffu
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 184
Merit: 161


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2017, 11:26:36 PM
 #4699

Anybody can provide a detail about solomining in Windows 7

There are two options:

The first option is simple and easy, but cannot benefit from massive performance improvements offered by dedicated CPU/GPU miners (e.g. XMRig, Stak-CPU/AMD/NVIDIA, ccminer). The second option is highly recommended (what I do), but I'm not sure if you can easily build aeon-stratum for Windows, because currently Aeon is made to build on Visual Studio instead of MSYS as in Monero. If you have OSX or Linux computer somewhere, you could run the pool there and let it connect to the daemon running on that same computer, or on your Windows 7 computer. Another option is to set up a Linux virtual machine on your Windows 7 computer and run the pool inside the VM which connects to your host Windows 7.
Aides
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 19
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 21, 2017, 05:09:32 AM
Last edit: October 21, 2017, 07:22:55 AM by Aides
 #4700

Would be great if you support smaller pools for decentralizing the network

I've been mining at aeon.rupool.tk until something wrong happened, the pool was frozen for days, then it was reset.
I think I've lost some money with that reset so until I find another good low diff pool I mine another coin that looks profitable.
Quite shame, since I like AEON. However, I'm done with "smaller pools".

aeonpools.net

Theres a list of pools:)

Thanks for the list, it'll make my my research quicker, maybe I get back to AEON sooner than I first thought.
Tell me your wallet address. I'll check if there are any more coins on the pool. The pool was used to replace the equipment with a more powerful one. Mining was not available 30 minutes.
Each pool has a support address. You can always write in support and you will be answered.
Pages: « 1 ... 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 [235] 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 ... 306 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!