Bitcoin Forum
June 14, 2021, 01:27:38 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 400 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Pictures of your mining rigs!  (Read 1805379 times)
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
September 21, 2012, 06:29:11 PM
 #1421

So what kind of money are you guys getting back? If you feel comfortable enough, just give us an example of how much money you made the last month of mining? I'd LOVE to just leave for work knowing I have a mining rig working its butt off making me a little extra money. Not knowing what hardware to buy is what is killing me. ASIC hadware is out I see but only by small companies.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
1623677258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623677258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623677258
Reply with quote  #2

1623677258
Report to moderator
1623677258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623677258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623677258
Reply with quote  #2

1623677258
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1623677258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623677258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623677258
Reply with quote  #2

1623677258
Report to moderator
1623677258
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1623677258

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1623677258
Reply with quote  #2

1623677258
Report to moderator
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 22, 2012, 03:42:50 AM
 #1422

A 7970 will push 700mhash
FTFY

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Jack1Rip1BurnIt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


Trust me, these default swaps will limit the risks


View Profile
September 29, 2012, 01:49:34 AM
 #1423

I started off with these 3 5850s.



Eventually upgraded to 3 7950s.




Successful trades with bels, misterbigg, ChrisNelson, shackleford, geniusboy91, and Isokivi.
crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
September 29, 2012, 04:43:07 PM
 #1424

You have some of the best rigs. I like that little power adapter. Wink

And Absolute: a miner's best friend.

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
HDSolar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 06:57:37 PM
 #1425

You have some of the best rigs. I like that little power adapter. Wink

And Absolute: a miner's best friend.
So is the Aboslute for water cooling or for when the price of bitcoins drop Smiley.  Cool setups.

Get paid to be social and visit HypeWizard today!  www.hypewiz.com
AR-15 80% at www.uspatriotarmory.com
my Cryptanalys.is profile
HDSolar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 06:58:20 PM
 #1426

Needed to do a video of it, here is the rig, hope you enjoy.

http://youtu.be/sfClhuwE3IQ

 Grin

Get paid to be social and visit HypeWizard today!  www.hypewiz.com
AR-15 80% at www.uspatriotarmory.com
my Cryptanalys.is profile
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 07:04:14 PM
 #1427

Where exactly is the 6990?
HDSolar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 386
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2012, 07:09:03 PM
 #1428

Where exactly is the 6990?
It is in the CPU at the bottom of the rack, I slow down to show the card running at the end of the video.  I put the Artic cool fan on it so it does not look like a factory one if you missed it.  Watch it again and you will see  Grin.

That factory fan sucks balls big time.

Get paid to be social and visit HypeWizard today!  www.hypewiz.com
AR-15 80% at www.uspatriotarmory.com
my Cryptanalys.is profile
philips
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 700
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 07, 2012, 07:20:52 PM
 #1429

Ah silly me, it was enough to follow the monitor cable Smiley
Anyway, nice rig. Very stylish.
elrodvoss
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 87
Merit: 10


View Profile
October 07, 2012, 07:22:42 PM
 #1430

Well, I made mention of it in another post so I guess I better officially post my pics and my explanation of the setup.

Been doing Bitcoin for almost a year now.  Started with one rig that is running with 4 5850s using box fan to keep system cooled.  Ive been using the spare bed room since its just a storage room for now.  Main advantage is that I can keep the room closed and keep the noise to a min.

Of course I wanted to expand to more rigs, but I did not want to overload the breaker for the room.  I don't have any other spare rooms, and I cant have a rig with a box fan in a usable room.  So I decided to make up a submersion rig.  Ive seen these for years on youtube and I always wanted to try it.  So this was my chance.  The advantage was that I could place the rig in the garage and since the system will be "sealed" I don't have to worry about dirt, bugs, mice, etc getting into the computer like if I used a traditional air cooled rig.

So after alot of digging and planning and errors I got it going.  It is not running at 100% yet, only cause I greatly underestimated the cooling needs with 4 video cards.  I do have a triple radiator on order with some high speed fans, so that should give me the cooling required to run the cards at full speed.










It runs very quiet.  Only sound you hear is the fans since the pump is submerged.

superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 08, 2012, 12:53:50 AM
 #1431

I did have a buddy try that. not mining but just gaming. you will need a much bigger radiator than that, car radiator, transmission cooler, something. Also you will want a really high flow pump as you will probably get about a 10th of what the pump is rated

Well, I made mention of it in another post so I guess I better officially post my pics and my explanation of the setup.

Been doing Bitcoin for almost a year now.  Started with one rig that is running with 4 5850s using box fan to keep system cooled.  Ive been using the spare bed room since its just a storage room for now.  Main advantage is that I can keep the room closed and keep the noise to a min.

Of course I wanted to expand to more rigs, but I did not want to overload the breaker for the room.  I don't have any other spare rooms, and I cant have a rig with a box fan in a usable room.  So I decided to make up a submersion rig.  Ive seen these for years on youtube and I always wanted to try it.  So this was my chance.  The advantage was that I could place the rig in the garage and since the system will be "sealed" I don't have to worry about dirt, bugs, mice, etc getting into the computer like if I used a traditional air cooled rig.

So after alot of digging and planning and errors I got it going.  It is not running at 100% yet, only cause I greatly underestimated the cooling needs with 4 video cards.  I do have a triple radiator on order with some high speed fans, so that should give me the cooling required to run the cards at full speed.










It runs very quiet.  Only sound you hear is the fans since the pump is submerged.

crazyates
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 952
Merit: 1000



View Profile
October 08, 2012, 05:18:19 AM
 #1432

Geez! What kinda liquid you using?

Tips? 1crazy8pMqgwJ7tX7ZPZmyPwFbc6xZKM9
Previous Trade History - Sale Thread
Jack1Rip1BurnIt
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350
Merit: 250


Trust me, these default swaps will limit the risks


View Profile
October 08, 2012, 05:55:52 AM
 #1433

Geez! What kinda liquid you using?

If it is just like any other submerged system, it should be mineral oil.

Successful trades with bels, misterbigg, ChrisNelson, shackleford, geniusboy91, and Isokivi.
superfastkyle
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 437
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 08, 2012, 06:11:05 AM
 #1434

Geez! What kinda liquid you using?

If it is just like any other submerged system, it should be mineral oil.

Yeah there's not much else you can use that's clear, unless you spend 100's of dollars a gallon on something like Fluorinert. But damn that would be cool. Thermal conductivity of mineral oil is much lower than water. But on the bright side, systems seem to stay stable at higher temps, because there are no hot spots

but technically I'm pretty sure you could submerge a computer in distilled water if you could totally seal the system from any metals entering the system, but that's probably impossible
Xfinity
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 127
Merit: 100



View Profile
October 08, 2012, 10:35:47 AM
 #1435


Info on cool rig!


Sweet rig, was it difficult to setup?

Donations (BTC): 1L8EcGAuaDNK4kNxAbEBawo8ZaeFZvibgj
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
October 08, 2012, 02:42:38 PM
 #1436


Info on cool rig!


Sweet rig, was it difficult to setup?

since he said, yes, i would venture......yes



So after alot of digging and planning and errors I got it going.  It is not running at 100% yet, only cause I greatly underestimated the cooling needs with 4 video cards.  I do have a triple radiator on order with some high speed fans, so that should give me the cooling required to run the cards at full speed.


1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 08, 2012, 03:47:53 PM
 #1437

I guess the problem now will be finding a buyer for four very greasy GPUs when ASICs hit  Cheesy
BR0KK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 500



View Profile
October 08, 2012, 08:37:47 PM
 #1438

Quote
but technically I'm pretty sure you could submerge a computer in distilled water if you could totally seal the system from any metals entering the system, but that's probably impossible

tried that ... ittl run about 5 minutes and then switch off forever Smiley

Distilled water doesn't stay "clean" very long


poon-TANG
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 150
Merit: 100



View Profile
October 09, 2012, 01:24:33 AM
 #1439

So if your using a radiator with a fan to cool it.....why bother submerging it? I thought the whole idea of submerging the entire system was to eliminate the need for fans.
Shadow383
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 09, 2012, 01:33:24 AM
 #1440

So if your using a radiator with a fan to cool it.....why bother submerging it? I thought the whole idea of submerging the entire system was to eliminate the need for fans.
You need to cool the oil unless you're planning on submerging it in a much, much larger tank.
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 400 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!