Bitcoin Forum
November 20, 2017, 09:44:40 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 [831] 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 ... 1299 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000  (Read 2112037 times)
Vorksholk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1610



View Profile WWW
January 02, 2015, 07:16:21 PM
 #16601

Ok so I have about 4 drives currently plotted and about 6 more to go. Just want to make sure im doing this correctly

When plotting a drive should i start each drive at nonce 0 or pickup where the last drive ended?

for example should i be doing
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 800001 - 1600000 Drive 3: Nonce 1600001 - 2400000
Or
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 3: Nonce 0 - 800000

Please im concerened i might be doing this wrong as i have a 1 TB Plot on a different computer that has been Getting better payouts then my Currently 10TB's Machine

For the same address, never overlap nonces--this would be similar to having multiple GPUs using the same nonces to mine.

However, if each drive is mining to a different address, then they can use the same nonces as you used on other drives for other addresses.

Fold Proteins, earn cryptos! CureCoin.
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=603757.0
1511171080
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511171080

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511171080
Reply with quote  #2

1511171080
Report to moderator
1511171080
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511171080

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511171080
Reply with quote  #2

1511171080
Report to moderator
Join ICO Now A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511171080
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511171080

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511171080
Reply with quote  #2

1511171080
Report to moderator
xizmax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 07:22:38 PM
 #16602

Ok so I have about 4 drives currently plotted and about 6 more to go. Just want to make sure im doing this correctly

When plotting a drive should i start each drive at nonce 0 or pickup where the last drive ended?

for example should i be doing
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 800001 - 1600000 Drive 3: Nonce 1600001 - 2400000
Or
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 3: Nonce 0 - 800000

Please im concerened i might be doing this wrong as i have a 1 TB Plot on a different computer that has been Getting better payouts then my Currently 10TB's Machine

Hehe, I'm close to superstition that some plots are "luckier" than others myself Smiley

Must be weird coincidences. However, as Vorksholk said, do not overlap them for the same account

BURST, your C:\urrency
Follow us on https://twitter.com/burstcoin_dev
Hellsgremlin
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 07:50:23 PM
 #16603

Ok so I have about 4 drives currently plotted and about 6 more to go. Just want to make sure im doing this correctly

When plotting a drive should i start each drive at nonce 0 or pickup where the last drive ended?

for example should i be doing
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 800001 - 1600000 Drive 3: Nonce 1600001 - 2400000
Or
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 3: Nonce 0 - 800000

Please im concerened i might be doing this wrong as i have a 1 TB Plot on a different computer that has been Getting better payouts then my Currently 10TB's Machine

For the same address, never overlap nonces--this would be similar to having multiple GPUs using the same nonces to mine.

However, if each drive is mining to a different address, then they can use the same nonces as you used on other drives for other addresses.


LoL,  I have 9TB to Replot!
Could have been worst.... Could have been 20tb Smiley     TY for stopping me before things got out of hand
Irontiga
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532

BURST. An AWESOME coin.


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2015, 07:56:21 PM
 #16604

Ok so I have about 4 drives currently plotted and about 6 more to go. Just want to make sure im doing this correctly

When plotting a drive should i start each drive at nonce 0 or pickup where the last drive ended?

for example should i be doing
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 800001 - 1600000 Drive 3: Nonce 1600001 - 2400000
Or
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 3: Nonce 0 - 800000

Please im concerened i might be doing this wrong as i have a 1 TB Plot on a different computer that has been Getting better payouts then my Currently 10TB's Machine

For the same address, never overlap nonces--this would be similar to having multiple GPUs using the same nonces to mine.

However, if each drive is mining to a different address, then they can use the same nonces as you used on other drives for other addresses.


LoL,  I have 9TB to Replot!
Could have been worst.... Could have been 20tb Smiley     TY for stopping me before things got out of hand


I think we're a bit late for that, 9 tb is pretty out of hand lol

Irontiga
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 532

BURST. An AWESOME coin.


View Profile WWW
January 02, 2015, 08:01:46 PM
 #16605

Hey, @burstdev

I am making a new blockex, but whenever i test with a certain account, it just takes ages to try and load, and then gives an error after crashing my wallet. The specific account that i know to do this is BURST-L28E-WSYC-F4N3-B82AC

What is wrong with it? Is it's pool accountness giving it too many tx.'s or something? I really don't know why the wallet would crash tho....

0bert
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 09:35:19 PM
 #16606

Hey@all!

I am new to Burst and i want to mine some coins, at least try it.  Grin
I will study the guide now/soon, just did a quick scan...

I have a GTX 670, so i guess i should use the GPU Plotter.

But which miner do you recommend? It doesn't matter or some differences between them?

Maybe most important:
How many TB i should take to start... ? (Guide said 2TB, but it's old...  Wink)
(Some small payouts on poolmining after 24h lately would be enough to begin with...  Smiley)

Anything else i should know?
Thanks for you help!

Greets 0bert
12gaFacelift
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 277



View Profile
January 02, 2015, 10:01:25 PM
 #16607

Ok so I have about 4 drives currently plotted and about 6 more to go. Just want to make sure im doing this correctly

When plotting a drive should i start each drive at nonce 0 or pickup where the last drive ended?

for example should i be doing
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 800001 - 1600000 Drive 3: Nonce 1600001 - 2400000
Or
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 3: Nonce 0 - 800000

Please im concerened i might be doing this wrong as i have a 1 TB Plot on a different computer that has been Getting better payouts then my Currently 10TB's Machine

For the same address, never overlap nonces--this would be similar to having multiple GPUs using the same nonces to mine.

However, if each drive is mining to a different address, then they can use the same nonces as you used on other drives for other addresses.

I do not understand the "never overlap nonces" so here is my question, how to do with multiple hard drive, at the moment i have 5 hard drive with 1tb each.

drive 1 : 0 - 3700000
drive 2 : 0 - 3700000
drive 3 : 0 - 3700000
drive 4 : 0 - 3700000
drive 5 : 0 - 3700000

all of them are mining with the same adress at the same pool :-s

if this is not the right wait can you help me to make it better.

Thanks

Never argue with idiots, they just drag you down to their level then beat you with experience. ~ *CANADA ONLY* Colloidal Silver Wire Rod - 12 Gauge Pure Silver .9999 - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=775964.0

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=731923.0
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1323657.0
xizmax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 10:09:26 PM
 #16608

Hey@all!

I am new to Burst and i want to mine some coins, at least try it.  Grin
I will study the guide now/soon, just did a quick scan...

I have a GTX 670, so i guess i should use the GPU Plotter.

But which miner do you recommend? It doesn't matter or some differences between them?

Maybe most important:
How many TB i should take to start... ? (Guide said 2TB, but it's old...  Wink)
(Some small payouts on poolmining after 24h lately would be enough to begin with...  Smiley)

Anything else i should know?
Thanks for you help!

Greets 0bert


I mine with a very small plot, some 300gb and I get some small payments let's say an average of 100 coins a day (way below roi but I do it for fun), so 2TB is okay.

GPU plot > optimize > mine

If you're on nix preferred miner is dcct (or that is the word on the street IIRC, I'm using windows)
On windows it's blago's miner and uray's miner

Study the guide, it is not half bad. I managed to set it up on my own. I was, and still am, a noob. Therefore it should not be too difficult.

If you get stuck, ask away

Ok so I have about 4 drives currently plotted and about 6 more to go. Just want to make sure im doing this correctly

When plotting a drive should i start each drive at nonce 0 or pickup where the last drive ended?

for example should i be doing
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 800001 - 1600000 Drive 3: Nonce 1600001 - 2400000
Or
Drive 1: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 2: Nonce 0 - 800000 Drive 3: Nonce 0 - 800000

Please im concerened i might be doing this wrong as i have a 1 TB Plot on a different computer that has been Getting better payouts then my Currently 10TB's Machine

For the same address, never overlap nonces--this would be similar to having multiple GPUs using the same nonces to mine.

However, if each drive is mining to a different address, then they can use the same nonces as you used on other drives for other addresses.

I do not understand the "never overlap nonces" so here is my question, how to do with multiple hard drive, at the moment i have 5 hard drive with 1tb each.

drive 1 : 0 - 3700000
drive 2 : 0 - 3700000
drive 3 : 0 - 3700000
drive 4 : 0 - 3700000
drive 5 : 0 - 3700000

all of them are mining with the same adress at the same pool :-s

if this is not the right wait can you help me to make it better.

Thanks

That is kinda bad, you are effectively mining with only 1TB.

When mining with the same account and multiple drives you "add" nonces accross drives. So,
drive 1: 0 - 370000
drive 2: 370001 -  740000
drive 3: 740001 - 1110000 and so on

I'm afraid you need to replot

EDIT: Btw we really need a good gui, or at least a new guide Smiley

BURST, your C:\urrency
Follow us on https://twitter.com/burstcoin_dev
pinballdude
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 287


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 10:19:03 PM
 #16609

Hey, @burstdev

I am making a new blockex, but whenever i test with a certain account, it just takes ages to try and load, and then gives an error after crashing my wallet. The specific account that i know to do this is BURST-L28E-WSYC-F4N3-B82AC

What is wrong with it? Is it's pool accountness giving it too many tx.'s or something? I really don't know why the wallet would crash tho....

Hi irontiga, that address is uray's US pool, so it probably has loads and loads of transactions in it.

Can you craft an url with a API query that crashes the wallet, then others can try and see what happens. Perhaps all You need is just to up the amount of memory the wallet can use (the x something parameter when the wallet is started)
b3da
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 94


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 10:35:56 PM
 #16610

..
...
Can you craft an url with a API query that crashes the wallet, then others can try and see what happens. Perhaps all You need is just to up the amount of memory the wallet can use (the x something parameter when the wallet is started)

burst?requestType=getAccountTransactions&account=BURST-L28E-WSYC-F4N3-B82AC

0bert
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 10:39:39 PM
 #16611

Hey@all!

I am new to Burst and i want to mine some coins, at least try it.  Grin
I will study the guide now/soon, just did a quick scan...

I have a GTX 670, so i guess i should use the GPU Plotter.

But which miner do you recommend? It doesn't matter or some differences between them?

Maybe most important:
How many TB i should take to start... ? (Guide said 2TB, but it's old...  Wink)
(Some small payouts on poolmining after 24h lately would be enough to begin with...  Smiley)

Anything else i should know?
Thanks for you help!

Greets 0bert


I mine with a very small plot, some 300gb and I get some small payments let's say an average of 100 coins a day (way below roi but I do it for fun), so 2TB is okay.

GPU plot > optimize > mine

If you're on nix preferred miner is dcct (or that is the word on the street IIRC, I'm using windows)
On windows it's blago's miner and uray's miner

Study the guide, it is not half bad. I managed to set it up on my own. I was, and still am, a noob. Therefore it should not be too difficult.

If you get stuck, ask away

Thank you, good infos!
First i would start on windows, so blago's or uray's miner, alright! Smiley

btw:
Does it matter how fast my hdd is? Or just bigger is better?
What about SSD?  Grin Cheesy (just curious, don't want to use it)

Greets
xizmax
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 527


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 10:42:21 PM
 #16612

Hey@all!

I am new to Burst and i want to mine some coins, at least try it.  Grin
I will study the guide now/soon, just did a quick scan...

I have a GTX 670, so i guess i should use the GPU Plotter.

But which miner do you recommend? It doesn't matter or some differences between them?

Maybe most important:
How many TB i should take to start... ? (Guide said 2TB, but it's old...  Wink)
(Some small payouts on poolmining after 24h lately would be enough to begin with...  Smiley)

Anything else i should know?
Thanks for you help!

Greets 0bert


I mine with a very small plot, some 300gb and I get some small payments let's say an average of 100 coins a day (way below roi but I do it for fun), so 2TB is okay.

GPU plot > optimize > mine

If you're on nix preferred miner is dcct (or that is the word on the street IIRC, I'm using windows)
On windows it's blago's miner and uray's miner

Study the guide, it is not half bad. I managed to set it up on my own. I was, and still am, a noob. Therefore it should not be too difficult.

If you get stuck, ask away

Thank you, good infos!
First i would start on windows, so blago's or uray's miner, alright! Smiley

btw:
Does it matter how fast my hdd is? Or just bigger is better?
What about SSD?  Grin Cheesy (just curious, don't want to use it)

Greets

Some testing I read in this thread indicates that any reasonably new drive is fast enough. I don't believe people tried with ancient 4,2k rpm drives.

So it's a matter of bigger is better, hence SSD's hold no advantage atm

BURST, your C:\urrency
Follow us on https://twitter.com/burstcoin_dev
Kartojal
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 207


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 11:00:09 PM
 #16613

.......

First i would start on windows, so blago's or uray's miner, alright! Smiley

btw:
Does it matter how fast my hdd is? Or just bigger is better?
What about SSD?  Grin Cheesy (just curious, don't want to use it)

Greets

Some people reports that Blago miner is better than Uray, and you can use your SSD to plot more fast on it, and then move the plot to the desired HDD.

burstcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 11:50:33 PM
 #16614

Hey, @burstdev

I am making a new blockex, but whenever i test with a certain account, it just takes ages to try and load, and then gives an error after crashing my wallet. The specific account that i know to do this is BURST-L28E-WSYC-F4N3-B82AC

What is wrong with it? Is it's pool accountness giving it too many tx.'s or something? I really don't know why the wallet would crash tho....
Just tried this, and it locked up firefox for a few minutes, but it eventually loaded. The wallet kept running unaffected and was reporting new blocks throughout. The massive tx count makes it a rather difficult query probably for any pool. You may want to try using the firstIndex and lastIndex parameters to reduce the amount reported each try, or just access the db directly instead of going through the client.

That request pulls 220962 transactions, and creates 177MB of json.

BURST-QHCJ-9HB5-PTGC-5Q8J9
coinits
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


011110000110110101110010


View Profile
January 02, 2015, 11:56:18 PM
 #16615

Hey, @burstdev

I am making a new blockex, but whenever i test with a certain account, it just takes ages to try and load, and then gives an error after crashing my wallet. The specific account that i know to do this is BURST-L28E-WSYC-F4N3-B82AC

What is wrong with it? Is it's pool accountness giving it too many tx.'s or something? I really don't know why the wallet would crash tho....
Just tried this, and it locked up firefox for a few minutes, but it eventually loaded. The wallet kept running unaffected and was reporting new blocks throughout. The massive tx count makes it a rather difficult query probably for any pool. You may want to try using the firstIndex and lastIndex parameters to reduce the amount reported each try, or just access the db directly instead of going through the client.

That request pulls 220962 transactions, and creates 177MB of json.

Do you have something I can read as to the db structure and type?

Thanks

Jump you fuckers! | The thing about smart motherfuckers is they sound like crazy motherfuckers to dumb motherfuckers. | My sig space for rent for 25 btc per week.
mo35
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 81


View Profile
January 03, 2015, 02:44:17 AM
 #16616

Been using Blago`s miner since it apeared, best miner out there, but occasionaly it crashes. I noticed its only happening , when there is new block flood (like miner barely started to read plot and no confirmations received yet , and then new block pops up), btw its not happening always. Still not nice to wake up and see crashed miner. Anyone else experiencing this behaviour and is there any fix for that.

thx
Blago
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 416



View Profile
January 03, 2015, 05:56:30 AM
 #16617

Been using Blago`s miner since it apeared, best miner out there, but occasionaly it crashes. I noticed its only happening , when there is new block flood (like miner barely started to read plot and no confirmations received yet , and then new block pops up), btw its not happening always. Still not nice to wake up and see crashed miner. Anyone else experiencing this behaviour and is there any fix for that.

thx

PM to me your config, screenshot of start miner's window (if not solo-mode), miner version.

Relax, I’m russian!...
BURST-B2LU-SGCZ-NYVS-HZEPK
The Chainmaker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
January 03, 2015, 06:03:10 AM
 #16618

What kind of function and Automated Transactions or Smart Contracts or AT do for me today on the Burst platform that I can not do on another platform.

I am trying to find a real world example of how Burst has a feature that another coin doesn't/

If it can be digitized, it should be decentralized
CIYAM
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862


Ian Knowles - CIYAM Lead Developer


View Profile WWW
January 03, 2015, 06:52:52 AM
 #16619

What kind of function and Automated Transactions or Smart Contracts or AT do for me today on the Burst platform that I can not do on another platform.

I am trying to find a real world example of how Burst has a feature that another coin doesn't/

Unfortunately one of the killer use cases will actually not be usable until AT appears upon another blockchain (although this is expected to happen soon). This is "atomic cross-chain transfer" which will let users of two blockchains exchange "coins" from each blockchain in a trustless manner without a 3rd party (thus no need for a crypto to crypto exchange that takes commissions and has to be trusted).

Another use case that will be appearing soon will be a lottery you can enter and then things like auctions and crowd-funding (all trustless and without 3rd parties).

It will take some time for these things to appear but it won't be that long until most people who are familiar with blockchains will be able to see the benefits of what AT can bring to them.

With CIYAM anyone can create 100% generated C++ web applications in literally minutes.

GPG Public Key | 1ciyam3htJit1feGa26p2wQ4aw6KFTejU
The Chainmaker
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
January 03, 2015, 08:26:40 AM
 #16620

What kind of function and Automated Transactions or Smart Contracts or AT do for me today on the Burst platform that I can not do on another platform.

I am trying to find a real world example of how Burst has a feature that another coin doesn't/

Unfortunately one of the killer use cases will actually not be usable until AT appears upon another blockchain (although this is expected to happen soon). This is "atomic cross-chain transfer" which will let users of two blockchains exchange "coins" from each blockchain in a trustless manner without a 3rd party (thus no need for a crypto to crypto exchange that takes commissions and has to be trusted).

Another use case that will be appearing soon will be a lottery you can enter and then things like auctions and crowd-funding (all trustless and without 3rd parties).

It will take some time for these things to appear but it won't be that long until most people who are familiar with blockchains will be able to see the benefits of what AT can bring to them.


Okay.  thanks for the update. :-)

I am thinking then that maybe this year will be test cases and proofs and then next year some serious AT might get going.

If it can be digitized, it should be decentralized
Pages: « 1 ... 781 782 783 784 785 786 787 788 789 790 791 792 793 794 795 796 797 798 799 800 801 802 803 804 805 806 807 808 809 810 811 812 813 814 815 816 817 818 819 820 821 822 823 824 825 826 827 828 829 830 [831] 832 833 834 835 836 837 838 839 840 841 842 843 844 845 846 847 848 849 850 851 852 853 854 855 856 857 858 859 860 861 862 863 864 865 866 867 868 869 870 871 872 873 874 875 876 877 878 879 880 881 ... 1299 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!