Bitcoin Forum
June 02, 2020, 12:43:40 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 ... 1318 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN][BURST] Burst | Efficient HDD Mining | New 1.2.3 Fork block 92000  (Read 2166582 times)
yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 07:36:03 PM
 #581

Signup at Digital Ocean and use my referral code for free credit:  https://www.digitalocean.com/?refcode=62c04e82d0b6

Then use the $5/mo droplet to create a server/VPS. Has 20GB SDD but the plots can be wiped once you fill your SSD.

1591101820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591101820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591101820
Reply with quote  #2

1591101820
Report to moderator
1591101820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591101820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591101820
Reply with quote  #2

1591101820
Report to moderator
1591101820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591101820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591101820
Reply with quote  #2

1591101820
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1591101820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591101820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591101820
Reply with quote  #2

1591101820
Report to moderator
1591101820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591101820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591101820
Reply with quote  #2

1591101820
Report to moderator
1591101820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1591101820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1591101820
Reply with quote  #2

1591101820
Report to moderator
yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 07:37:17 PM
 #582

Do you want to create lots of little plots or few big plots?

Also how do you export your private key for BURST?

tylerderden
Copper Member
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162
Merit: 1025



View Profile
August 11, 2014, 07:37:48 PM
 #583

i knew there was a reason i was waiting to use the rest of my amazon vps credit.
TetraHect0rCannabinol
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10

Twitter -> @z0rius


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2014, 07:41:22 PM
 #584

Do you want to create lots of little plots or few big plots?

Also how do you export your private key for BURST?


the private key is the passphrase from here : pocminer_v1/passphrase.txt

*Grabs a bottle of Whiskey* - Its official, Im crazyer than crazy, I Am Hect0r Baby Cheesy
Depredation
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 672
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 11, 2014, 07:42:45 PM
 #585

Any places to exchange or trade?

                              ▄█▄         ▄█▄
                            ▄████▀      ▄████▀
                          ▄████▀      ▄████▀
                        ▄████▀      ▄████▀
                      ▄████▀      ▄████▀
                    ▄████▀      ▄████▀
 ▄█▄          ▄      ▀█▀      ▄████▀
▀████▄      ▄███▄           ▄████▀
  ▀████▄     ▀████▄       ▄████▀
    ▀████▄     ▀████▄   ▄████▀
      ▀████▄     ▀████▄████▀
        ▀████▄     ▀█████▀
          ▀█▀        ▀█▀
.verify.▄  █▄
██ ███▄
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
▀█ ████
   ████
   ████
█▄ ▀███
███▄ ▀█
▄  █▄
██ ███▄
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
▀█ ████
   ████
   ████
█▄ ▀███
███▄ ▀█
▄  █▄
██ ███▄
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
██ ████
▀█ ████
   ████
   ████
█▄ ▀███
███▄ ▀█
yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 07:45:04 PM
 #586

Selling 10k BRST for .18 BTC.

Vandalay23
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 339
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 07:47:56 PM
 #587

So... can anyone tell us how the different parameters of the plot generation effect the hashrate of a miner?

There is:
1) the plot size
2) Memory usage
3) number of cores
 
CryptoSurfer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 84
Merit: 10


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 07:51:51 PM
 #588

Hi Guys,

Let's say i have two hdd's and both are used for mining.Is it ok to have just one listenaddress for both wallets? ?
For example: localhost:8125 or do i need to have another instance running on a different port?
The apiserver is listening on 8123. Is this also ok for both instances?
ReDPoiSoN
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686
Merit: 500



View Profile
August 11, 2014, 08:03:28 PM
 #589

I have got error after starting run_generate.bat

http://prntscr.com/4btyti

What's the problem it should to be?

Write me in PM the cmd and I will correct it for you!
GlobalDenomination
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 238
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 08:06:40 PM
Last edit: August 11, 2014, 10:36:01 PM by GlobalDenomination
 #590

i have got 2 now
TetraHect0rCannabinol
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10

Twitter -> @z0rius


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2014, 08:08:18 PM
 #591

I have got error after starting run_generate.bat

http://prntscr.com/4btyti

What's the problem it should to be?

Write me in PM the cmd and I will correct it for you!

it is the xmx value, the vm could not create the heap, checkout :
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=731923.msg8298798#msg8298798

pretty much lower the -Xmx...m value in the bat file.

*Grabs a bottle of Whiskey* - Its official, Im crazyer than crazy, I Am Hect0r Baby Cheesy
yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 08:11:46 PM
Last edit: August 11, 2014, 08:26:37 PM by yourofl10
 #592

20k BRST @ .3 BTC (selling)

EDIT: use DigitalOcean for VPS ( https://www.digitalocean.com/?refcode=62c04e82d0b6 ) and promo code "UBUNTUDROPLET" for $10 in free credit.

Wings1987
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 418
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 08:57:07 PM
 #593

Hi Guys,

Let's say i have two hdd's and both are used for mining.Is it ok to have just one listenaddress for both wallets? ?
For example: localhost:8125 or do i need to have another instance running on a different port?
The apiserver is listening on 8123. Is this also ok for both instances?

I am also not clear on this. Going to set up plots on a 4TB external and I am not clear on how to set up the second drive. Are we using 2 wallets or can it mine to one wallet?

Thanks in advance. I saw this asked earlier but could not find an answer.
burstcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 09:40:03 PM
 #594

Hi Guys,

Let's say i have two hdd's and both are used for mining.Is it ok to have just one listenaddress for both wallets? ?
For example: localhost:8125 or do i need to have another instance running on a different port?
The apiserver is listening on 8123. Is this also ok for both instances?

I am also not clear on this. Going to set up plots on a 4TB external and I am not clear on how to set up the second drive. Are we using 2 wallets or can it mine to one wallet?

Thanks in advance. I saw this asked earlier but could not find an answer.
One wallet instance is fine.

Do you want to create lots of little plots or few big plots?

Also how do you export your private key for BURST?

One large plot and many small ones will run just the same.
You just need to backup the passphrase you use in the wallet interface, and put in passphases.txt for mining.

BURST-QHCJ-9HB5-PTGC-5Q8J9
yourofl10
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168
Merit: 100


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 09:43:15 PM
 #595

Hi Guys,

Let's say i have two hdd's and both are used for mining.Is it ok to have just one listenaddress for both wallets? ?
For example: localhost:8125 or do i need to have another instance running on a different port?
The apiserver is listening on 8123. Is this also ok for both instances?

I am also not clear on this. Going to set up plots on a 4TB external and I am not clear on how to set up the second drive. Are we using 2 wallets or can it mine to one wallet?

Thanks in advance. I saw this asked earlier but could not find an answer.
One wallet instance is fine.

Do you want to create lots of little plots or few big plots?

Also how do you export your private key for BURST?

One large plot and many small ones will run just the same.
You just need to backup the passphrase you use in the wallet interface, and put in passphases.txt for mining.

How can we increase our hashrate or chances of finding a block then? Smiley

burstcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 09:47:07 PM
 #596

Hi Guys,

Let's say i have two hdd's and both are used for mining.Is it ok to have just one listenaddress for both wallets? ?
For example: localhost:8125 or do i need to have another instance running on a different port?
The apiserver is listening on 8123. Is this also ok for both instances?

I am also not clear on this. Going to set up plots on a 4TB external and I am not clear on how to set up the second drive. Are we using 2 wallets or can it mine to one wallet?

Thanks in advance. I saw this asked earlier but could not find an answer.
One wallet instance is fine.

Do you want to create lots of little plots or few big plots?

Also how do you export your private key for BURST?

One large plot and many small ones will run just the same.
You just need to backup the passphrase you use in the wallet interface, and put in passphases.txt for mining.

How can we increase our hashrate or chances of finding a block then? Smiley

I meant that with the same amount of plots, it doesn't matter how much it's split up. More plots = more mining power though.

BURST-QHCJ-9HB5-PTGC-5Q8J9
burstcoin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 10:04:42 PM
 #597

The pool situation:

I understand pools are needed, as it is getting very difficult to solo mine. As plots are specific to the account address the coins will go to, this poses a bit of a problem. Pool support will be released in 2 steps:

1. A pool server program will be created that supplies users each a unique address to generate plots for. The user's plots for mining with that pool will only be usable for that pool. This will be released and a pool will be set up hopefully within a few days. It will be very simplistic to try to get it released as soon as possible.

2. Later on, a new client will be released to update the protocol. A user will then be able to announce to the network an address where their mined coins will go to instead of their own. This will allow pool miners to generate plots for themselves, and mine at any pool by setting their mining output address to the pool they want to use.

BURST-QHCJ-9HB5-PTGC-5Q8J9
TetraHect0rCannabinol
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101
Merit: 10

Twitter -> @z0rius


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2014, 10:16:38 PM
 #598

The pool situation:

I understand pools are needed, as it is getting very difficult to solo mine. As plots are specific to the account address the coins will go to, this poses a bit of a problem. Pool support will be released in 2 steps:

1. A pool server program will be created that supplies users each a unique address to generate plots for. The user's plots for mining with that pool will only be usable for that pool. This will be released and a pool will be set up hopefully within a few days. It will be very simplistic to try to get it released as soon as possible.

2. Later on, a new client will be released to update the protocol. A user will then be able to announce to the network an address where their mined coins will go to instead of their own. This will allow pool miners to generate plots for themselves, and mine at any pool by setting their mining output address to the pool they want to use.

Sounds like a plan mate, if you need some testing / development help give me a shout.

On a secondary note, ive been looking through your miners code, I think a ideal setup would be, ssd + fast ish cpu + a smaller gpu, the gpu would do the hashing functions while the cpu is free to continue processing the os and the app, for example, a gpu could be used to generate the plots, while the cpu is free to hash blocks etc thus splitting them and allowing more power without breaking the bank.

The gpu would not have to be a 6970/7970 etc as a small gpu would be utilised better, anyway also in ScoopReader.java from the miner there is a try/catch macro in readFile, a double catch is used, is this even possible in java ?


*Grabs a bottle of Whiskey* - Its official, Im crazyer than crazy, I Am Hect0r Baby Cheesy
HunterMinerCrafter
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 10:23:07 PM
 #599

On one machine I have about 30GB of plot generated and get deadlines anywhere from 20k to 2 million.

On a second machine I have about 200GB of plots, and always get deadlines of 500k to 2 million.

On both machines I get "Error reading file" on every plot file.

 Huh
paulthetafy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 816
Merit: 1000


View Profile
August 11, 2014, 10:40:52 PM
 #600

So I left the plots generating and mining on a couple of VM's overnight, woke up this morning to find that they had all had the same error generating the plots...

#
# There is insufficient memory for the Java Runtime Environment to continue.
# Native memory allocation (malloc) failed to allocate 630517760 bytes for committing reserved memory.
# Possible reasons:
#   The system is out of physical RAM or swap space
#   In 32 bit mode, the process size limit was hit
# Possible solutions:
#   Reduce memory load on the system
#   Increase physical memory or swap space
#   Check if swap backing store is full
#   Use 64 bit Java on a 64 bit OS
#   Decrease Java heap size (-Xmx/-Xms)
#   Decrease number of Java threads
#   Decrease Java thread stack sizes (-Xss)
#   Set larger code cache with -XX:ReservedCodeCacheSize=
# This output file may be truncated or incomplete.
#
#  Out of Memory Error (os_linux.cpp:2769), pid=8593, tid=139980355077888

Each VM has 16GB of RAM / dual core and they were being generated with ./run_generate.sh 1234567890 1 819100 8191 2
Any ideas?
Incidentally they all crapped out after generating just over 6GB of the plot. Very frustrating.  I have to start over now.
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 [30] 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 ... 1318 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!