Bitcoin Forum
July 21, 2018, 10:16:59 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 [161] 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 299897 times)
Helfred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 09, 2016, 06:21:22 AM
 #3201

Hi folks,

was at the office, cannot stay calm with such a problem (

As i turned out, the first chain is not working, shows just "-" (no "x" or "o").

Anyone an idea, what can i do ?

Tried several reboots, but no change!
Pls check:
https://www.dropbox.com/s/dfuza3wtvruzgk5/Screenshot%20%281%29.png?dl=0

1532211419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532211419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532211419
Reply with quote  #2

1532211419
Report to moderator
1532211419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532211419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532211419
Reply with quote  #2

1532211419
Report to moderator
1532211419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532211419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532211419
Reply with quote  #2

1532211419
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1532211419
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1532211419

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1532211419
Reply with quote  #2

1532211419
Report to moderator
Helfred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 10, 2016, 05:18:02 AM
 #3202

Can somebody help ?

@notlist3d ?
@bitmainwarranty ?

Have a look on the screenshot posted. Would be nice to have your opinion on that ?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 10, 2016, 06:04:00 AM
 #3203

Can somebody help ?

@notlist3d ?
@bitmainwarranty ?

Have a look on the screenshot posted. Would be nice to have your opinion on that ?

It's just been a while since I have messed with S4's due to my electricity price so keep that in mind.  If anyone has messed with one recently please step in. 

There is a board diagnostics on their site - https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/203361315-Board-Diagnostics .  Do it with the S4 unplugged for safety and check the connections.  The thing I don't like about yours is seeing "----"

If that does not work personally I would back-up S4 sd card (as I am more cautious then most).  And try reflashing firmware and see if any change.   And the backup is so you can go back to previous. 
Helfred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 10, 2016, 06:47:44 AM
 #3204

I am thankful for any hint!

The board diagnostics seems to show how to identify a bad chain.
In my case it looks like there is no connection between the controller and chain 1.

Does this mean the hashing board is bad ? Or just connection lost ?
Probably a bad cable ?
nlwnola
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2016, 02:36:27 AM
 #3205

I picked up a used S4 last week and its been working great except for 2 of the 4 fans being out.  Biggie i'm sure.  I ordered replacements and they will be here thursday.  Today was the first time it decided to shut off on me.  I looked on my pool site and saw it was offline and then went to the ip address and saw it was offline as well.  I checked on the unit and pressed the power button and it came back on fine, booted up, and is mining away.  I don't know what could be wrong, prob heat though.  I've been keeping a room air conditioner on it since i found out about the two fans (one in the back and one in the front (opposite side) not working).  I'm not out a bunch of money on this if its not recoverable, just curious if anyone has an idea.  

i did a screenshot of the temps and status
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9QeOqc80-emdllYeWx4NktZdlE/view?usp=sharing
adaseb
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1058



View Profile
May 11, 2016, 02:56:58 AM
 #3206

I picked up a used S4 last week and its been working great except for 2 of the 4 fans being out.  Biggie i'm sure.  I ordered replacements and they will be here thursday.  Today was the first time it decided to shut off on me.  I looked on my pool site and saw it was offline and then went to the ip address and saw it was offline as well.  I checked on the unit and pressed the power button and it came back on fine, booted up, and is mining away.  I don't know what could be wrong, prob heat though.  I've been keeping a room air conditioner on it since i found out about the two fans (one in the back and one in the front (opposite side) not working).  I'm not out a bunch of money on this if its not recoverable, just curious if anyone has an idea.  

i did a screenshot of the temps and status


Undervolt and Underclock at

0660 Volts
and 1187 freq.


.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
nlwnola
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 9
Merit: 0


View Profile WWW
May 11, 2016, 03:02:10 AM
 #3207

I picked up a used S4 last week and its been working great except for 2 of the 4 fans being out.  Biggie i'm sure.  I ordered replacements and they will be here thursday.  Today was the first time it decided to shut off on me.  I looked on my pool site and saw it was offline and then went to the ip address and saw it was offline as well.  I checked on the unit and pressed the power button and it came back on fine, booted up, and is mining away.  I don't know what could be wrong, prob heat though.  I've been keeping a room air conditioner on it since i found out about the two fans (one in the back and one in the front (opposite side) not working).  I'm not out a bunch of money on this if its not recoverable, just curious if anyone has an idea.  

i did a screenshot of the temps and status
https://drive.google.com/file/d/0B9QeOqc80-emdllYeWx4NktZdlE/view?usp=sharing

Undervolt and Underclock at

0660 Volts
and 1187 freq.



ok i see how to do that, kinda new.  reasoning?
Helfred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 11, 2016, 05:56:18 AM
 #3208

Hi community,

may i ask the forum again, who did have the same problem as I ?
"-" instead of "o"s or "x"

I will today open up the S4 and check for cables. Are these standard cables ? Or something special ?

When you look at my screenshot you will see that even temperature is not shown. I have the suspision, that cable is bad and the board does not get data from the controller and vice versa.

Again: any hints appreciated. Could somebody solve such a problem ?
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 11, 2016, 02:05:18 PM
 #3209

Hi community,

may i ask the forum again, who did have the same problem as I ?
"-" instead of "o"s or "x"

I will today open up the S4 and check for cables. Are these standard cables ? Or something special ?

When you look at my screenshot you will see that even temperature is not shown. I have the suspision, that cable is bad and the board does not get data from the controller and vice versa.

Again: any hints appreciated. Could somebody solve such a problem ?

I will be honest I doubt a cable went bad.  It can be easily tested though by switching cables in the S4 from one hashing board to another. You really need to open it up and look inside and make sure everything is snug on cables.

I still stick with: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=796839.msg14804352#msg14804352

You might bring it home from office to diagnose compared to having to go to office each time you want to work on it.
Helfred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 11, 2016, 02:15:02 PM
 #3210

I agree.

I will keep you informed, which results the tests gave.

I have now firmware dated oct 16th 2014

Could probably an update help ? (hence I seriously believe that this is a hardware failure...)
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 11, 2016, 02:26:11 PM
 #3211

I agree.

I will keep you informed, which results the tests gave.

I have now firmware dated oct 16th 2014

Could probably an update help ? (hence I seriously believe that this is a hardware failure...)

If you really have a hardware failure no re-loading/updating will do nothing.  But I would still try it as long as you made that back-up of sd card (read how to use win32diskimager to copy image and write image)  before throwing in the towel.

I am giving you some possible fixes.  But if hardware failure such as a blade going bad no it is not something you can really fix yourself. Unless you got a new blade or got old one fixed somehow.  But I would at least run through possible solutions before giving up.

And don't forget troubleshooting page for S4 over at: https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us
Helfred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2016, 10:18:09 AM
 #3212

Gentlemen,

I am back in business!)))
All 4 chains are working. I just did clean the S4 with a vacuum cleaner and checked the connection (plug-out, plug-in).

Everything works well!

Thanks to everybody for help and support!
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 12, 2016, 10:25:05 AM
 #3213

Gentlemen,

I am back in business!)))
All 4 chains are working. I just did clean the S4 with a vacuum cleaner and checked the connection (plug-out, plug-in).

Everything works well!

Thanks to everybody for help and support!

Not a problem!  Glad it is working good again.   For anyone else with a S4 out there if your in a dusty area you might want to open it up every once in a while to spray dust out.   It is surprising how much dust they can collect.

But best of luck mining!
MyRig
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 502


support@myrig.com


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2016, 02:23:47 AM
 #3214

@Helfred,

didn't see your message just until now.

Glad to hear you are back in hashing.  On these used unit, time to time, please clean inside and try to remove anything that start to deposit around the PCB!


Antminer & DragonMint Repair  E-mail: support@myrig.com   T: @MyRig_com
Return Address: MyRig 3700 Quebec Street, Unit 100-239, Denver, Colorado 80207, USA
Helfred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 13, 2016, 05:14:12 AM
 #3215

@BitmainWarranty

Will keep this in mind!

But nevertheless hope, that this wont happen again...)

Btw: someone know where to buy in Moscow a used S4+ ?
MyRig
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 502


support@myrig.com


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2016, 01:56:29 PM
 #3216

Used S4+, not sure, but do have S7  you can email support@bitmainwarranty.com to arrange that part.  or call  +7-499-9187389

Antminer & DragonMint Repair  E-mail: support@myrig.com   T: @MyRig_com
Return Address: MyRig 3700 Quebec Street, Unit 100-239, Denver, Colorado 80207, USA
Helfred
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 14, 2016, 04:16:38 AM
 #3217

Will contact you around tuesday!
Zekeman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 23
Merit: 0


View Profile
August 10, 2016, 02:40:25 AM
 #3218

I purchased two of these and am waiting for delivery. Are these units still worth mining with? Does it use the whole 1400 watt? I pay 0.0699 kWh... which isnt bad for general use.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.
adaseb
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 1666
Merit: 1058



View Profile
August 10, 2016, 02:54:15 AM
 #3219

I purchased two of these and am waiting for delivery. Are these units still worth mining with? Does it use the whole 1400 watt? I pay 0.0699 kWh... which isnt bad for general use.

Any suggestions would be appreciated.


Yes it uses exactly 1400Watts and hashes at 2TH/s.

So you will make $1.42 a day in profits and pay $2.35 for electricity so you will lose $0.93 EVERYDAY

Only miner at your power level is an undervolted S7 or S9.

.FORTUNE.JACK.
      ▄▄███████▄▄
   ▄████▀▀ ▄ ██████▄
  ████ ▄▄███ ████████
 █████▌▐███▌ ▀▄ ▀█████
███████▄██▀▀▀▀▄████████
█████▀▄▄▄▄█████████████
████▄▄▄▄ █████████████
 ██████▌ ███▀████████
  ███████▄▀▄████████
   ▀█████▀▀███████▀
      ▀▀██████▀▀
         
         █
...FortuneJack.com                                             
...THE BIGGEST BITCOIN GAMBLING SITE
       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄█████████████████▄
  ▄█████████████████████▄
 ▄██
█████████▀███████████▄
██████████▀   ▀██████████
█████████▀       ▀█████████
████████           ████████
████████▄   ▄ ▄   ▄████████
██████████▀   ▀██████████
 ▀██
█████████████████████▀
  ▀██
███████████████████▀
    ▀█████████████████▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
#JACKMATE
WIN 1 BTC
▄█████████████████████████▄
███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
██████████▀█████▀██████████
███████▀░░▀░░░░░▀░░▀███████
██████▌░░░░░░░░░░░░░▐██████
██████░░░░██░░░██░░░░██████
█████▌░░░░▀▀░░░▀▀░░░░▐█████
██████▄░░▄▄▄░░░▄▄▄░░▄██████
████████▄▄███████▄▄████████

███████████████████████████
███████████████████████████
▀█████████████████████████▀
PremiumCodeX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 798
Merit: 508


Miracles are not meant to be wished for


View Profile WWW
October 28, 2016, 07:52:20 PM
 #3220

I rented an antminer s4 for about 5 months and barely broke even during my time mining. You have my vouch! Smiley


Ç̤̱͕̮̽̆͒̀͝ö̼̟̞̦̟͌̎̀͝d̲̜̫̘͛͂̽͜͠͝ȇ͉̣̝̰͎͑̓̂͝X̨̨̛̛͔̳̃͋̌ͅ

Pages: « 1 ... 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 [161] 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!