Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2018, 01:12:47 PM *
News: Make sure you are not using versions of Bitcoin Core other than 0.17.0 [Torrent], 0.16.3, 0.15.2, or 0.14.3. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 300205 times)
MyRig
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 502


support@myrig.com


View Profile WWW
February 16, 2015, 02:02:46 AM
 #2361

Please go to http://bitmain.zendesk.com  and go to S4 Download Section.  There are several version on bootable images you can use to restore S4 MicroSD card.

you can use the free software called HDD Guru Raw Disk Copy

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/HDDRawCopy1.10Setup.exe



Using windows, is there software to flash the S4 image? I cant seem to find any software. I looked at windows disk imager but it only takes .img files

Antminer & DragonMint Repair  E-mail: support@myrig.com   T: @MyRig_com
Return Address: MyRig 3700 Quebec Street, Unit 100-239, Denver, Colorado 80207, USA
1539695567
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539695567

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539695567
Reply with quote  #2

1539695567
Report to moderator
1539695567
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539695567

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539695567
Reply with quote  #2

1539695567
Report to moderator
1539695567
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1539695567

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1539695567
Reply with quote  #2

1539695567
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
starsoccer9
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1642
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
February 16, 2015, 04:19:03 PM
 #2362

Please go to http://bitmain.zendesk.com  and go to S4 Download Section.  There are several version on bootable images you can use to restore S4 MicroSD card.

you can use the free software called HDD Guru Raw Disk Copy

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/HDDRawCopy1.10Setup.exe



Using windows, is there software to flash the S4 image? I cant seem to find any software. I looked at windows disk imager but it only takes .img files

I tried this, it still did not work. I cant connect to it at all, but both LED are Green and the LCD screen is lit up just blank
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 16, 2015, 11:59:05 PM
 #2363

It seems there's a problem with the extranonce.subscribe implementation in the latest S4 firmware.  I was able to get it working with westhash by putting #xnsub at the end of the URL.  However, when the price dropped below my parms to make it worth mining, the pool didn't switch to dead.  Furthermore, the speed (5s) changed to 0.  All rebooting the unit did was change the speed (avg) to 0 as well.  Lastly, it happened to both of my S4s simultaneously.  Only once I removed the #xnsub from the URLs did both start behaving normally again.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1044


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 03:29:57 AM
 #2364

I had to get replacement fans for an S4.  Two of them failed on me.  The propellor with axel came out of it's socket on both of them [exposing the copper coils].

I decided to order some fans to have ready to replace failed fans in the future to avoid too much down time.  I also bought extension cables, as the cables that come with the fans are not up to 27 inches long [Needed for the furtherest fan in the back left of the unit].  I purchased three (3) Delta Electronics PFC1212DE 120x120x38mm Cooling Fan, 252.85 CFM, 5500 RPM, 66.5 dBA, 4.8 Amp, PWM Connector.  This fan comes fabricated from the manufacturer with a 4 pin connector.  Here is a picture of the fan:




The following is a video review of the fan to also show watts consumed at full speed:  approximately 51.2 watts at full speed (5500 RPM & 252.85 CFM).


https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=mXdAUuD-kC4


Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
MyRig
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 502


support@myrig.com


View Profile WWW
February 17, 2015, 03:32:33 AM
 #2365

we are sorry to hear that, it may be a time for the Control PCB unit to be replaced.  Could be the control PCB itself or it could be the beagle bone or combination of both.

However, once in a very while...  the MicroSD card physically goes bad.  We have seen a few cases where simple MicroSD card replacement from a local store (kingstone or Sony 4GH) took care of the problem.

if another MicroSD card doesn't work, please proceed with the parts replacement via warranty.  support @ bitmain . zendesk . com

Thank you


Please go to http://bitmain.zendesk.com  and go to S4 Download Section.  There are several version on bootable images you can use to restore S4 MicroSD card.

you can use the free software called HDD Guru Raw Disk Copy

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/HDDRawCopy1.10Setup.exe



Using windows, is there software to flash the S4 image? I cant seem to find any software. I looked at windows disk imager but it only takes .img files

I tried this, it still did not work. I cant connect to it at all, but both LED are Green and the LCD screen is lit up just blank

Antminer & DragonMint Repair  E-mail: support@myrig.com   T: @MyRig_com
Return Address: MyRig 3700 Quebec Street, Unit 100-239, Denver, Colorado 80207, USA
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 04:40:18 AM
 #2366

we are sorry to hear that, it may be a time for the Control PCB unit to be replaced.  Could be the control PCB itself or it could be the beagle bone or combination of both.

However, once in a very while...  the MicroSD card physically goes bad.  We have seen a few cases where simple MicroSD card replacement from a local store (kingstone or Sony 4GH) took care of the problem.

if another MicroSD card doesn't work, please proceed with the parts replacement via warranty.  support @ bitmain . zendesk . com

Thank you


I would say this is prone to happening, and with the S2 Ive replaced the SD card twice. Other RPI/BBB-controlled ASICs (BTCgarden, rockminer, bitfury) all have the same problem - SD cards dont always handle reboots or power 'blips' well.

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
starsoccer9
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1642
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2015, 01:28:35 PM
 #2367

we are sorry to hear that, it may be a time for the Control PCB unit to be replaced.  Could be the control PCB itself or it could be the beagle bone or combination of both.

However, once in a very while...  the MicroSD card physically goes bad.  We have seen a few cases where simple MicroSD card replacement from a local store (kingstone or Sony 4GH) took care of the problem.

if another MicroSD card doesn't work, please proceed with the parts replacement via warranty.  support @ bitmain . zendesk . com

Thank you


Please go to http://bitmain.zendesk.com  and go to S4 Download Section.  There are several version on bootable images you can use to restore S4 MicroSD card.

you can use the free software called HDD Guru Raw Disk Copy

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/HDDRawCopy1.10Setup.exe



Using windows, is there software to flash the S4 image? I cant seem to find any software. I looked at windows disk imager but it only takes .img files

I tried this, it still did not work. I cant connect to it at all, but both LED are Green and the LCD screen is lit up just blank

Hello,

I have tried switching out the sd card as well as the beagle bone black. Neither has worked.
bittalc1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 03:32:00 PM
 #2368

Now this i call good support,i got my replacement fan today, it was sent on 13 feb. Thanks BITMAIN for the fast response and fast shipping!!! My miner is happy again Cheesy
bborominer
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2
Merit: 0


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 10:11:28 PM
 #2369

So this is what I have going on with the Antminer S4. When I power it up it turns on and the fans start turning on full speed and the LED screen lights up. However nothing is displayed on the screen and the two small LED lights to the side never light up. It runs like this until I cut it off....... As a side note I have two antminer S4's only one is doing this, the other works fine. If I switch the SD card from one miner to the other the one that is working continues to work and the one that is not working will not work no matter which SD card is in it. PLEAS HELP......after posting this and reading it the thought accord to me that what I should do is just flash the new OS to my SD card with the miner that is working. Sure enough it works Cheesy Sometimes it dose a lot of good to right your problems down. Hopefully if any one else is experiencing this problem this post will help them.
starsoccer9
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1642
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
February 17, 2015, 11:47:36 PM
 #2370

So this is what I have going on with the Antminer S4. When I power it up it turns on and the fans start turning on full speed and the LED screen lights up. However nothing is displayed on the screen and the two small LED lights to the side never light up. It runs like this until I cut it off....... As a side note I have two antminer S4's only one is doing this, the other works fine. If I switch the SD card from one miner to the other the one that is working continues to work and the one that is not working will not work no matter which SD card is in it. PLEAS HELP......after posting this and reading it the thought accord to me that what I should do is just flash the new OS to my SD card with the miner that is working. Sure enough it works Cheesy Sometimes it dose a lot of good to right your problems down. Hopefully if any one else is experiencing this problem this post will help them.

I wish it was that easy. I tried what you did but it didnot work
bittalc1
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 17, 2015, 11:54:35 PM
 #2371

So this is what I have going on with the Antminer S4. When I power it up it turns on and the fans start turning on full speed and the LED screen lights up. However nothing is displayed on the screen and the two small LED lights to the side never light up. It runs like this until I cut it off....... As a side note I have two antminer S4's only one is doing this, the other works fine. If I switch the SD card from one miner to the other the one that is working continues to work and the one that is not working will not work no matter which SD card is in it. PLEAS HELP......after posting this and reading it the thought accord to me that what I should do is just flash the new OS to my SD card with the miner that is working. Sure enough it works Cheesy Sometimes it dose a lot of good to right your problems down. Hopefully if any one else is experiencing this problem this post will help them.

I wish it was that easy. I tried what you did but it didnot work

hey, one of my miners has problem that the lcd is lit but the letters are not so black, but everything is working ok. Have you tried scanning your network with ip scanner to see if only your screen does not work?
You can try angry ip scanner, search it on google
MyRig
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 502


support@myrig.com


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2015, 12:46:53 AM
 #2372

It may be easier to return the whole unit to Denver, Colorado.  Or you can try 1 last thing to try hash with 1 hashing PCB with the PSU, if it works, power it off and add 2nd, and so on. If the PSU is defective or not sending enough power.

But usually, if good beagle bone and a good microSd won't work, then it would be the S4 control PCB to be the cause.

Please email support@bitmain.zendesk.com to request a replacement with your Bitmaintech.com Order ID and attach a Order Confirmation Page with the tracking number.  Your tracking number and the order number combo is used for the internal RMA # for identification

Thank you

we are sorry to hear that, it may be a time for the Control PCB unit to be replaced.  Could be the control PCB itself or it could be the beagle bone or combination of both.

However, once in a very while...  the MicroSD card physically goes bad.  We have seen a few cases where simple MicroSD card replacement from a local store (kingstone or Sony 4GH) took care of the problem.

if another MicroSD card doesn't work, please proceed with the parts replacement via warranty.  support @ bitmain . zendesk . com

Thank you


Please go to http://bitmain.zendesk.com  and go to S4 Download Section.  There are several version on bootable images you can use to restore S4 MicroSD card.

you can use the free software called HDD Guru Raw Disk Copy

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/

http://hddguru.com/software/HDD-Raw-Copy-Tool/HDDRawCopy1.10Setup.exe



Using windows, is there software to flash the S4 image? I cant seem to find any software. I looked at windows disk imager but it only takes .img files

I tried this, it still did not work. I cant connect to it at all, but both LED are Green and the LCD screen is lit up just blank

Hello,

I have tried switching out the sd card as well as the beagle bone black. Neither has worked.

Antminer & DragonMint Repair  E-mail: support@myrig.com   T: @MyRig_com
Return Address: MyRig 3700 Quebec Street, Unit 100-239, Denver, Colorado 80207, USA
MyRig
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 781
Merit: 502


support@myrig.com


View Profile WWW
February 18, 2015, 12:47:55 AM
 #2373

Sorry you had to deal with the RMA process but glad to hear your miner is hashing again!!   Cheesy


Now this i call good support,i got my replacement fan today, it was sent on 13 feb. Thanks BITMAIN for the fast response and fast shipping!!! My miner is happy again Cheesy

Antminer & DragonMint Repair  E-mail: support@myrig.com   T: @MyRig_com
Return Address: MyRig 3700 Quebec Street, Unit 100-239, Denver, Colorado 80207, USA
rpandassociates
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 02:45:19 AM
 #2374

I just got a used antminer S4 in from gawminers and had a similar issue it was failing to boot, when i started it the fans would run full steam and the LCD would light up but show blank. After waiting on hold with gawminers and not getting through i opened it up. Checked all connections everything was fine. I popped the microSD out reinserted it, hooked everything backup and lo and behold she fired up this time. So if your having a issue like i was and that other fellow had for some reason popping the SD out and reinserting it does the trick. Makes no sense but it worked and now i am hashing along just fine. Maybe bad SD terminal connection and by sliding it out and back in cleaned the contacts? The contacts are silver or similar I think they should be gold. maybe some kind of corrosion developed between the sd card strips and the terminals? Thats the only logic i can guess at.
rpandassociates
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 02:46:18 AM
 #2375

anyone know of a quieter fan This S4 is freaking loud!!!!!
dmwardjr
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1044


Crypto Trading Technical Analyst


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 03:44:35 AM
 #2376

anyone know of a quieter fan This S4 is freaking loud!!!!!

The reason it's loud is you need a fan to go up to just shy of 5,000 RPM's to keep it cool at default clock speeds in warm temperatures during the summer.  If you under clock it, it will make it quieter because of less heat to contend with, which means less fan speed.  Unless you have it working in warm climate.  If you have several of them, you are better off putting them inside of something while keeping them cool to keep the noise down.  Don't forget to get the heat out of the closure.  That's the most important thing!

Don't try to run this rig at default clock speed of 2000 GH/s with fans that are lower RPM.  Otherwise, it will run hot quite easily and possibly shut off periodically for reaching the 80 C threshold temperature depending on the ambient temperature they are sitting in.  

That is my opinion.  This rig just runs much hotter than the S3's.

So, basically, the only way to have these quieter is to run them at lower clock speeds in a room that does not have to high of an ambient temperature.

Follow me on Trading View for excellent signals in Bitcoin/US dollar - Bitstamp - https://www.tradingview.com/u/ProwdClown/.  Will be on a paid subscription website soon with trading signals and technical education using Wyckoff Method in conjunction with Godmode and Stochastic RSI indicators for many more crypto currency pairs besides BTCUSD.
rpandassociates
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 05:01:40 AM
 #2377

well the temps range for 47c-53c I live in florida but its a nominal 74 degrees F in my house, I am sure the office runs a bit warmer due to all these miners got 6 s3+'s, 2 C1's, and these 2 S4's. These S4's sound like vacuum cleaners Smiley fan speeds are 3900-4k

I guess its not the fans making the noise as much as its the air flowing through them. Wish i could afford 3M novek  immersion cooling tanks Smiley   
I am just blown away by the noise of these things 4x as loud as all my other miners put together.

I have them in a rack exhausting straight out the window w/ exhaust window fan so pretty good heat exhaust in place nice and toasty outside the window Smiley

Think these things are headed for the garage, probably build a room and have it exhaust into the attic. Bad part is going to have to AC the garage then. (summers coming) probably add a vent to the central AC or maybe get a portable AC then I am also going to have to run some electrical only a single 110v outlet in garage. But since i will be close to the panel shouldnt cost to much. more cost involved in air conditioning the garage, why i think a small miner room would be a good ideal, just have to figure out the airflow intake volume matching exhaust volume  Smiley

Just cant take this noise in the office its mind numbing. Might have to offload these on ebay and get S5's instead.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
February 19, 2015, 03:34:05 PM
 #2378

Give --bitmain-homemode a try, makes them significantly quieter and they run about 5c hotter. Very good tradeoff IMO.
picolo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 500


https://www.localcoinswap.com/


View Profile
February 19, 2015, 04:29:46 PM
 #2379

well the temps range for 47c-53c I live in florida but its a nominal 74 degrees F in my house, I am sure the office runs a bit warmer due to all these miners got 6 s3+'s, 2 C1's, and these 2 S4's. These S4's sound like vacuum cleaners Smiley fan speeds are 3900-4k

I guess its not the fans making the noise as much as its the air flowing through them. Wish i could afford 3M novek  immersion cooling tanks Smiley   
I am just blown away by the noise of these things 4x as loud as all my other miners put together.

I have them in a rack exhausting straight out the window w/ exhaust window fan so pretty good heat exhaust in place nice and toasty outside the window Smiley

Think these things are headed for the garage, probably build a room and have it exhaust into the attic. Bad part is going to have to AC the garage then. (summers coming) probably add a vent to the central AC or maybe get a portable AC then I am also going to have to run some electrical only a single 110v outlet in garage. But since i will be close to the panel shouldnt cost to much. more cost involved in air conditioning the garage, why i think a small miner room would be a good ideal, just have to figure out the airflow intake volume matching exhaust volume  Smiley

Just cant take this noise in the office its mind numbing. Might have to offload these on ebay and get S5's instead.

You will need AC in the garage.

                 ▄▄██████████████▄▄
             ▄███████████████████████▄
           █████████████████████████████
         ███▀▀█████▀▀ ██  ██  ▀▀██████████
        ██▀ ▄  ▀      ██  ██      ▀█████████
       █▀ ▄██▀        ██  ██        █████████
      ▀ ▄███▌      ███████████▄▄  ▄███████████
      ▄████▌        ▀██████████████████████████
    ▄██████     ██▄   ▀███████████████████████████▀
  ▄████████    █████▄▄  ▀███████████████████████▀
▄██████████    ████████▄  ▀███████████████████▀
    ███████    ██████████▄   ▀██████████████▀ ▄█
    ███████    ████████████▄▄  ▀██████████▀ ▄███
    ███████▌    ██████████████▄  ▀██████▀ ▄████
     ███████      ██████████████▄  ▀██▀ ▄██████
      ███████▄      ▀██████████▀      ████████
       ████████       ██  ██        █████████
        █████████▄    ██  ██     ▄██████████
          ██████████▄▄██▄▄██▄▄▄███████████
            ████████████████████████████
              ▀██████████████████████▀
                  ▀▀████████████▀▀
                  

LocalCoinSwap
   World's Most Inclusive 
         Cryptocurrency Marketplace
[]
██████████████
█████████████████
██░░░░░████████████
██░░░░░██████████████
█████████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
█████████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
█████████████████████
██░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░░██
█████████████████████
█████████████████████
TELEGRAM
TWITTER
FACEBOOK
REDDIT
INSTAGRAM
MEDIUM
LINKED IN
STEEMIT
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
February 20, 2015, 01:08:24 PM
 #2380

Does someone have a spreadsheet they can share showing voltage vs power usage vs hash rate for S4s?

Thanks.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
Pages: « 1 ... 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 [119] 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!