Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2019, 11:11:55 PM *
News: If you like a topic and you see an orange "bump" link, click it. More info.
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 [127] 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 300686 times)
madmartyk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918
Merit: 1012


Yes I am a pirate, 300 years too late!


View Profile
March 30, 2015, 01:36:09 AM
 #2521


If it looks like that on top i would love to see inside.   I have never seen anyone with that amount of dust in 3 weeks.  That is harsh conditions.  None of my S4's look anything like that.  I do spray them out every once in a while, but dust has never been a issue for me.

Same here, not a problem with dust, it's the noise!!  My wife is always bitching about it!!

1571267515
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571267515

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571267515
Reply with quote  #2

1571267515
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 30, 2015, 01:56:35 AM
Last edit: March 30, 2015, 03:20:43 AM by Prelude
 #2522

Speaking of dust, I bought 2 used S4s this week from someone local in Montreal who was running 16 S4s in a "data center". I've never seen more disgusting hardware in my life! Dirt was literally baked on everything, the picture doesn't really do it justice especially since the top of the hash boards were the cleanest part. Take a look:

Pre-cleaning (middle and bottom were much worse):



After cleaning and installing a proper replacement PSU:



And now she's purring:



I wish I would have weighed the S4 before and after cleaning. No kidding, there must have been a pound of dirt and filth in there. I'd love to see where this person is running their machines.

This unit actually had a huge defect, BITMAIN used a wrong nut and one of the 12v connections on a lower hash board was completely loose. It barely even touched the bolt's threads, slipping right off when trying to tighten it. I've never seen this nut before in an S4, so some asshole at BITMAIN's assembly line was too fucking lazy to get off his ass and fetch a proper nut right before he finished his shift on a Friday night.  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes The wire's terminal was completely charred along with the nut and washer, the rubber insulation almost completely melted away, and the hash board looks damaged but works fine as far as I can tell. I don't know why I didn't take pics, but I still have the charred connector on the PSU if anyone wants a look. I'm putting the blame on BITMAIN since, judging by the sorry state the S4 was in when I got it, the previous owner had never bothered to open it up.

Amusingly, somehow both units PSUs still worked even though they were stuffed with dirt/dust. Pretty funny considering I run my other S4s in a clean environment with very little dust, and I've had 4 out of 5 PSUs die on me.  Roll Eyes

Edit: Just noticed that you can see the charred washer in the second picture, beside the screw driver's handle.
notlist3d
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1470
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 30, 2015, 03:53:47 AM
 #2523

With all the pictures of dust I went ahead and cleaned my S4's.  They were pretty clean with running most of winter without a proper cleaning, just getting rid of dust on fans.

Only one that seemed to have a little dust was the one that I had on a metal shelf up higher.  Seems being above got a little extra dust.  But did not look bad.  Took a rag and some canned air and now look very clean Smiley
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806
Merit: 1028



View Profile
March 31, 2015, 05:52:17 AM
 #2524

There is a rumor that S4+ will soon be available.

Dear BITMAIN, we want (and need) new chips. New miners. Not polished old hardware like S3++, S4+...

p.s. and please don't forget about S2 uprade kits.  Roll Eyes

From Siberia with love! Hosting by Rabinovitch!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 31, 2015, 06:26:18 AM
 #2525

There is a rumor that S4+ will soon be available.

Dear BITMAIN, we want (and need) new chips. New miners. Not polished old hardware like S3++, S4+...

p.s. and please don't forget about S2 uprade kits.  Roll Eyes

Any more details on this rumor?
Rabinovitch
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1806
Merit: 1028



View Profile
March 31, 2015, 07:19:59 AM
 #2526

Sure.

- Hashing speed: 2.6 Th;
- Power consumption: 1500 Wt;
- The same S4 case;
- The same chips like in S4: 1382.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=658894.msg10922744#msg10922744

From Siberia with love! Hosting by Rabinovitch!
Never do any business with Kirill Stepanenko (Volgograd, Russia)
Пpoфeccиoнaльнo зaнимaюcь paзвёpтывaниeм фepм (ASIC, GPU, BURST), oбopyдoвaниeм пoмeщeний для мaйнингa.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
March 31, 2015, 09:39:04 AM
 #2527

Sure.

- Hashing speed: 2.6 Th;
- Power consumption: 1500 Wt;
- The same S4 case;
- The same chips like in S4: 1382.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=658894.msg10922744#msg10922744

Same junk PSU and fans?  And trashy firmware that doesn't work properly with p2pool or shorter alt coins, and keeps the fans running way too fast?

I'll pass thank you.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
nokati
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 102



View Profile WWW
March 31, 2015, 10:11:34 AM
 #2528

I think I have found a good fan for dust;
https://www.megekko.nl/product/443/376142/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfhbUZ1CSOM

what do you think?

Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1003



View Profile
March 31, 2015, 10:33:22 AM
 #2529

Sure.

- Hashing speed: 2.6 Th;
- Power consumption: 1500 Wt;
- The same S4 case;
- The same chips like in S4: 1382.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=658894.msg10922744#msg10922744

if we compare it to s5, it doesn't seems good at all

we have 2.6 tera vs 1155 gh/s, and 1500w vs 590

so 2.25 ratio vs 2.5 ratio, there is a loss of 0.25 ratio in hashing, which is about 288 gh/s lost...
bhanu545
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 772
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 31, 2015, 05:35:37 PM
 #2530

I have a problem with my S4, It stopped hashing, temp shows 0, but the miner is up and running. I reset, upgraded software again, but there seem to be some problem. Any help?


- Another problem with my miners is, when i change pool settings, 1 of my miners shuts down completely. Is this a common issue with new firmware? It wasnt the case before  Embarrassed Undecided  Cry Sad
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 956
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 01, 2015, 12:40:15 AM
 #2531

I think I have found a good fan for dust;
https://www.megekko.nl/product/443/376142/

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=gfhbUZ1CSOM

what do you think?

At 55CFM I don't think that fan moves anywhere near enough air to call it a replacement for the existing S4 fans.  Think you need something in the vicinity of 300 CFM.  And at $30USD I'd think you could do better by going with a Delta.  JMHO.
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 956
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 01, 2015, 12:40:54 AM
 #2532

I have a problem with my S4, It stopped hashing, temp shows 0, but the miner is up and running. I reset, upgraded software again, but there seem to be some problem. Any help?


- Another problem with my miners is, when i change pool settings, 1 of my miners shuts down completely. Is this a common issue with new firmware? It wasnt the case before  Embarrassed Undecided  Cry Sad

Can you SSH into it?
MyRig
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 792
Merit: 510


support@myrig.com


View Profile WWW
April 01, 2015, 02:06:11 AM
 #2533

Something must went wrong.  Can you try to reflash the firmware?


I have a problem with my S4, It stopped hashing, temp shows 0, but the miner is up and running. I reset, upgraded software again, but there seem to be some problem. Any help?


- Another problem with my miners is, when i change pool settings, 1 of my miners shuts down completely. Is this a common issue with new firmware? It wasnt the case before  Embarrassed Undecided  Cry Sad

Antminer & DragonMint Repair  E-mail: support@myrig.com   T: @MyRig_com
Return Address: MyRig 3700 Quebec Street, Unit 100-239, Denver, Colorado 80207, USA
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 02, 2015, 05:59:21 PM
 #2534

Does anyone know where the temperature sensor is on an S4 hash board?
Digitalmocking
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 02, 2015, 09:08:25 PM
 #2535

Will the S4 take 240V in?
Cyper_BLC
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 488
Merit: 270


Reverse Engineer


View Profile
April 02, 2015, 11:31:24 PM
 #2536

Does anyone know where the temperature sensor is on an S4 hash board?
there are 2 types of s4 hash board, which one is yours? put your board pic in here and i will show you temp.sensor is where. or you can find well with fine look LM75A 8pin SMD ic. Wink

For donations : 1CYPERv5yZ4c9FRzPyCz5u8vhttyKmVkto
Emeğe Saygı Göstermeyenler, BECERIKSIZ kişilerdir.
Kexkey
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 237
Merit: 100

Smile while thinking.


View Profile
April 03, 2015, 12:20:43 AM
 #2537

Speaking of dust, I bought 2 used S4s this week from someone local in Montreal who was running 16 S4s in a "data center". I've never seen more disgusting hardware in my life! Dirt was literally baked on everything, the picture doesn't really do it justice especially since the top of the hash boards were the cleanest part. Take a look:

Pre-cleaning (middle and bottom were much worse):

http://i.imgur.com/RUyQBlH.jpg

After cleaning and installing a proper replacement PSU:

http://i.imgur.com/e1xsEde.jpg

And now she's purring:

https://i.imgur.com/WgjcaKB.png

I wish I would have weighed the S4 before and after cleaning. No kidding, there must have been a pound of dirt and filth in there. I'd love to see where this person is running their machines.

This unit actually had a huge defect, BITMAIN used a wrong nut and one of the 12v connections on a lower hash board was completely loose. It barely even touched the bolt's threads, slipping right off when trying to tighten it. I've never seen this nut before in an S4, so some asshole at BITMAIN's assembly line was too fucking lazy to get off his ass and fetch a proper nut right before he finished his shift on a Friday night.  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes The wire's terminal was completely charred along with the nut and washer, the rubber insulation almost completely melted away, and the hash board looks damaged but works fine as far as I can tell. I don't know why I didn't take pics, but I still have the charred connector on the PSU if anyone wants a look. I'm putting the blame on BITMAIN since, judging by the sorry state the S4 was in when I got it, the previous owner had never bothered to open it up.

Amusingly, somehow both units PSUs still worked even though they were stuffed with dirt/dust. Pretty funny considering I run my other S4s in a clean environment with very little dust, and I've had 4 out of 5 PSUs die on me.  Roll Eyes

Edit: Just noticed that you can see the charred washer in the second picture, beside the screw driver's handle.

Hi Prelude,

What is your PSU?  I have a few PSU's here but they have PCI-e connectors.  Do you know how I can convert the wires to connect to the screws in that series of S4?  Is it as simple as cutting the wire and screw it directly on the board?

Thanks!


This digital signature is not a digital signature.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 03, 2015, 01:50:58 PM
 #2538

Will the S4 take 240V in?

Yes.

Does anyone know where the temperature sensor is on an S4 hash board?
there are 2 types of s4 hash board, which one is yours? put your board pic in here and i will show you temp.sensor is where. or you can find well with fine look LM75A 8pin SMD ic. Wink


There's actually 3 that I know about, 1 is PCI-e version, next is nut/bolt version, and the last is a screw down terminal. I don't have pictures on hand, but thanks for telling me what to look for.

The reason I ask, is that I have reversed the fans in My S4s, so that exhaust is in front of the S4 (where the screen is) and now I'm probably over cooling the temperature chip and getting a false reading of the actual board temps. I'll have to do some testing to be sure, but I might have to put them back as they were originally and just have the S4s sitting backwards on my shelf.

Speaking of dust, I bought 2 used S4s this week from someone local in Montreal who was running 16 S4s in a "data center". I've never seen more disgusting hardware in my life! Dirt was literally baked on everything, the picture doesn't really do it justice especially since the top of the hash boards were the cleanest part. Take a look:

Pre-cleaning (middle and bottom were much worse):

http://i.imgur.com/RUyQBlH.jpg

After cleaning and installing a proper replacement PSU:

http://i.imgur.com/e1xsEde.jpg

And now she's purring:

https://i.imgur.com/WgjcaKB.png

I wish I would have weighed the S4 before and after cleaning. No kidding, there must have been a pound of dirt and filth in there. I'd love to see where this person is running their machines.

This unit actually had a huge defect, BITMAIN used a wrong nut and one of the 12v connections on a lower hash board was completely loose. It barely even touched the bolt's threads, slipping right off when trying to tighten it. I've never seen this nut before in an S4, so some asshole at BITMAIN's assembly line was too fucking lazy to get off his ass and fetch a proper nut right before he finished his shift on a Friday night.  Roll Eyes Roll Eyes The wire's terminal was completely charred along with the nut and washer, the rubber insulation almost completely melted away, and the hash board looks damaged but works fine as far as I can tell. I don't know why I didn't take pics, but I still have the charred connector on the PSU if anyone wants a look. I'm putting the blame on BITMAIN since, judging by the sorry state the S4 was in when I got it, the previous owner had never bothered to open it up.

Amusingly, somehow both units PSUs still worked even though they were stuffed with dirt/dust. Pretty funny considering I run my other S4s in a clean environment with very little dust, and I've had 4 out of 5 PSUs die on me.  Roll Eyes

Edit: Just noticed that you can see the charred washer in the second picture, beside the screw driver's handle.

Hi Prelude,

What is your PSU?  I have a few PSU's here but they have PCI-e connectors.  Do you know how I can convert the wires to connect to the screws in that series of S4?  Is it as simple as cutting the wire and screw it directly on the board?

Thanks!



All of my S4s are powered by IBM 2000W server PSUs. Yes, you could cut your wires, but then forget about selling your PSUs down the line. Personally, I would find a quality PCI-e 6 pin to 8 pin GPU adapter with at least 3x 18AWG wires and cut that instead of cutting the PSU's wires.
nokati
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 278
Merit: 102



View Profile WWW
April 03, 2015, 03:04:26 PM
 #2539

I just got 4x of this fan;
Noctua NF-F12 industrialPPC-3000 PWM, 120mm

Very impressed with the noice and quality, but it cant cool down the S4. Temps went up by 12 degree.

Have anybody any good suggestion about a fan for replacment? 3 of my fans are dead and I need to replace them. I dont care about the noice, I just want some good fans. Specially if they come having extra long wires it would  be perfect.

thanks!

Meech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 927
Merit: 1000



View Profile
April 03, 2015, 04:12:16 PM
 #2540

There is a rumor that S4+ will soon be available.

Dear BITMAIN, we want (and need) new chips. New miners. Not polished old hardware like S3++, S4+...

p.s. and please don't forget about S2 uprade kits.  Roll Eyes

Any more details on this rumor?
Confirmed with Bitmain.   S4+ inbound   should be announced officially soon.
Pages: « 1 ... 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 [127] 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!