Bitcoin Forum
October 16, 2019, 11:18:54 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 [121] 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 »
  Print  
Author Topic: ANTMINER S4 Discussion and Support Thread  (Read 300686 times)
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 05, 2015, 02:58:28 PM
 #2401

Hi Everyone,

I think my S4 PSU died this morning, I have only had the machine 3 months or so and i think the psu is dead, could anybody help me figure out if it is and how i go about replacing the PSU

I woke up this morning to find one breaker on my board had tripped, I checked the S4 and the PSU doesnt show any signs of life at all, I have checked the fuse and thats ok, but the psu does not boot at all, is there anything i can do to fault find.

I know i had one of the newer PSUs that didnt have the issue the first batch did, and the S4 has been running flawlessly since i purchased it, just a bit depressing to see one of my best machines go down Sad

Any help would be really appreciated.
My 2-cents is to get an IBM 2kw PSU (208-240v only) and breakout board to replace it. http://www.gekkoscience.com/products/IBM2K_board.html is a good source for the breakouts and PSU's or check eBay for the PSU's. Together they should run around $75-80 total+ shipping.
I got 4 of the beasts for when my S4's croak...

That's exactly what I'm doing with my 5 S4s, it's definitely the way to go.
1571267934
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571267934

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571267934
Reply with quote  #2

1571267934
Report to moderator
1571267934
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571267934

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571267934
Reply with quote  #2

1571267934
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1571267934
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571267934

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571267934
Reply with quote  #2

1571267934
Report to moderator
1571267934
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571267934

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571267934
Reply with quote  #2

1571267934
Report to moderator
1571267934
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1571267934

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1571267934
Reply with quote  #2

1571267934
Report to moderator
ZymurBits
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 04:05:08 PM
 #2402

Hi Everyone,

I think my S4 PSU died this morning, I have only had the machine 3 months or so and i think the psu is dead, could anybody help me figure out if it is and how i go about replacing the PSU

I woke up this morning to find one breaker on my board had tripped, I checked the S4 and the PSU doesnt show any signs of life at all, I have checked the fuse and thats ok, but the psu does not boot at all, is there anything i can do to fault find.

I know i had one of the newer PSUs that didnt have the issue the first batch did, and the S4 has been running flawlessly since i purchased it, just a bit depressing to see one of my best machines go down Sad

Any help would be really appreciated.
My 2-cents is to get an IBM 2kw PSU (208-240v only) and breakout board to replace it. http://www.gekkoscience.com/products/IBM2K_board.html is a good source for the breakouts and PSU's or check eBay for the PSU's. Together they should run around $75-80 total+ shipping.
I got 4 of the beasts for when my S4's croak...

That's exactly what I'm doing with my 5 S4s, it's definitely the way to go.

Anyone know if this would work for an S2 as well?
kingcolex
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988
Merit: 1213


First 100% Liquid Stablecoin Backed by Gold


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 04:29:19 PM
 #2403

Would these fans work as a quieter replacement on the standard S4 Fans? Especially if I am Underclocking ?

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16835553002

What CFM do the current fans produce?

NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1348


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 08:01:06 PM
 #2404

Hi Everyone,

I think my S4 PSU died this morning, I have only had the machine 3 months or so and i think the psu is dead, could anybody help me figure out if it is and how i go about replacing the PSU

I woke up this morning to find one breaker on my board had tripped, I checked the S4 and the PSU doesnt show any signs of life at all, I have checked the fuse and thats ok, but the psu does not boot at all, is there anything i can do to fault find.

I know i had one of the newer PSUs that didnt have the issue the first batch did, and the S4 has been running flawlessly since i purchased it, just a bit depressing to see one of my best machines go down Sad

Any help would be really appreciated.
My 2-cents is to get an IBM 2kw PSU (208-240v only) and breakout board to replace it. http://www.gekkoscience.com/products/IBM2K_board.html is a good source for the breakouts and PSU's or check eBay for the PSU's. Together they should run around $75-80 total+ shipping.
I got 4 of the beasts for when my S4's croak...

That's exactly what I'm doing with my 5 S4s, it's definitely the way to go.

Anyone know if this would work for an S2 as well?
Certainly though is hefty overkill for the S2 as they 'only' pull a hair over 1kw. If you have >208v for feed then the HP 1200w CS (Common Slot) supplies would be a better match. Just have to do some soldering with those tp attach the PCIe power leads as breakout boards are not easy to find.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
Amph
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2226
Merit: 1003



View Profile
March 05, 2015, 08:17:38 PM
 #2405

Hi Everyone,

I think my S4 PSU died this morning, I have only had the machine 3 months or so and i think the psu is dead, could anybody help me figure out if it is and how i go about replacing the PSU

I woke up this morning to find one breaker on my board had tripped, I checked the S4 and the PSU doesnt show any signs of life at all, I have checked the fuse and thats ok, but the psu does not boot at all, is there anything i can do to fault find.

I know i had one of the newer PSUs that didnt have the issue the first batch did, and the S4 has been running flawlessly since i purchased it, just a bit depressing to see one of my best machines go down Sad

Any help would be really appreciated.

cheap psu can cause that, never buy a cheap psu, is the important component, you can try to return it but in the end i would suggest a corsair or seasonic

850w should be enough for the s4
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1348


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 10:24:50 PM
 #2406

Hi Everyone,

I think my S4 PSU died this morning, I have only had the machine 3 months or so and i think the psu is dead, could anybody help me figure out if it is and how i go about replacing the PSU

I woke up this morning to find one breaker on my board had tripped, I checked the S4 and the PSU doesnt show any signs of life at all, I have checked the fuse and thats ok, but the psu does not boot at all, is there anything i can do to fault find.

I know i had one of the newer PSUs that didnt have the issue the first batch did, and the S4 has been running flawlessly since i purchased it, just a bit depressing to see one of my best machines go down Sad

Any help would be really appreciated.

cheap psu can cause that, never buy a cheap psu, is the important component, you can try to return it but in the end i would suggest a corsair or seasonic

850w should be enough for the s4

850w for an s4??? Roll Eyes
Hate to tell ya this but my s4's running stock speed and Vcore draw between 1,250 and 1,375w from the wall as reported by my UPS's.
My S2's report 1,039w again @ stock speeds.

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
cdjbolton
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 10:37:18 PM
 #2407

Hi Everyone,

I think my S4 PSU died this morning, I have only had the machine 3 months or so and i think the psu is dead, could anybody help me figure out if it is and how i go about replacing the PSU

I woke up this morning to find one breaker on my board had tripped, I checked the S4 and the PSU doesnt show any signs of life at all, I have checked the fuse and thats ok, but the psu does not boot at all, is there anything i can do to fault find.

I know i had one of the newer PSUs that didnt have the issue the first batch did, and the S4 has been running flawlessly since i purchased it, just a bit depressing to see one of my best machines go down Sad

Any help would be really appreciated.
My 2-cents is to get an IBM 2kw PSU (208-240v only) and breakout board to replace it. http://www.gekkoscience.com/products/IBM2K_board.html is a good source for the breakouts and PSU's or check eBay for the PSU's. Together they should run around $75-80 total+ shipping.
I got 4 of the beasts for when my S4's croak...

That's exactly what I'm doing with my 5 S4s, it's definitely the way to go.

So I thought id give you all a quick update, Used a link that was in a previous message and I was going to open a ticket, and noticed the live chat support.

Ended up speaking with yoshi and went through what was wrong, I spent 10 minutes on chat and in that time he had already arranged a replacement power supply for me  Grin

He advised me it would be shipped from america overnight, I was over the moon he also said the tracking information would follow.

I honestly expected the replacement to take at least a week or so, but to my excitement i checked my email this afternoon in work and low and behold the power supply was in the Manchester UPS depot which was unbelievable.

It ended up being less than 24 hours shipping  Grin Grin Grin Grin

I still have to pick up the power supply from UPS tomorrow, but I will update everyone with my progress.

Just wanted to say a big thank you to yoshi and bitmain very happy with the service.






cdjbolton
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 54
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 05, 2015, 10:40:35 PM
 #2408

Also thanks everyone one for your help just glad its sorted now. (Well until i test tomorrow)

I may end up buying the 2000watt ibm psu anyway, thanks for the link for the breakout boards, this was the thing i was struggling with as my soldering isn't the best  Wink
NotFuzzyWarm
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1960
Merit: 1348


Evil beware: We have waffles!


View Profile
March 06, 2015, 02:56:27 AM
Last edit: March 06, 2015, 08:42:29 PM by NotFuzzyWarm
 #2409

Also thanks everyone one for your help just glad its sorted now. (Well until i test tomorrow)

I may end up buying the 2000watt ibm psu anyway, thanks for the link for the breakout boards, this was the thing i was struggling with as my soldering isn't the best  Wink
Glad that went well Cheesy
Ja the 2kw PSU's are great, lots of reserve margin with a S4 and enough oomph to push overclocking pretty high if desired. I'd think hitting near 3THs would not be unreasonable.

and of course 2kw is perfect for 3 of the S5's @ stock speed, maybe even goosed a bit...

Oh, re: soldering. When it comes to server power supplies and their associated wiring the most common problem is using a soldering iron that is too low wattage (most are 25-35w). Due to the heavy wiring and large PSU contacts being very good at sucking the heat away you need at least a 65w iron with large flat tip for fast & decent joints

For bitcoin to succeed the community must police itself - Joshua Zipkin aka Joshua Alexander leaked AMT A1 miner skype chats
How a miner mfgr SHOULD operate: HaggsFIN trip to Canaan My info useful? Donations welcome! 1Fuzzyk398kDWVjuC5qPX5v6CjSkvbgAbd
-Support Sidehacks miner development. Donations to:   1BURGERAXHH6Yi6LRybRJK7ybEm5m5HwTr
RealMalatesta
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008
Merit: 1014


Join telegram: @vipgameio to get best giveaways


View Profile
March 06, 2015, 08:49:26 PM
 #2410

My second PSU died - and Bitmain sent the replacement faster than I could imagine. So while I'm normally a grumpy old man, this really was more than I ever expected. Thanks.


  ███       ███    ███  ███▀▀▀▀█▄  ▄██████████      ▄███▄       ████   ████     ██████████
  ███       ███        ███    ██  ███             ▄██ ██▄    ▄██  ██ ██  ██▄   ███
  ███       ███    █▀   ███   ██▀  ██             ▄██   ██▄   ███  █████  ███   ███
  ███       ███        ██████▀    ██     ████   ▄█████████   ███   ███   ███n  ██████████
  ▀██▄     ▄██▀   ██    ███        ██       ██   ███     ███  ███         ███   ███
    ▀██▄ ▄██▀    ▄██    ███        ███▄    ▄██   ███     ███  ███         ███   ███
      ▀███▀    ▄█████▄  ███         ██████████   ███     ███  ███         ███   ██████████
        ▀      ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀  ▀▀▀          ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀    ▀▀▀     ▀▀▀  ▀▀▀         ▀▀▀   ▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀ 
BEYOND    TRANSPARENCY













█  
.
 














█████████████████████████
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ██
██ █████████████▀█████ ██
██ ███ ▀█████▀      ▀█ ██
██ ███     ▀▀      ▐██ ██
██ ███▌            ███ ██
██ ████▌          ▄███ ██
██ ██████       ▄█████ ██
██ ████▄▄▄▄▄▄▄████████ ██
██ ███████████████████ ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀

█████████████████████████
██ ▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄ ██
██ ████████████▀▀▀████ ██
██ ████████▀▀     ████ ██
██ █████▀    ▄▀  ▐████ ██
██ ██▀     ▄▀    ▐████ ██
██ ████▄▄ █▀     █████ ██
██ ██████ ▄▄█   ▐█████ ██
██ ████████████ ██████ ██
██ ███████████████████ ██
██▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄██
▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀▀
SockPuppetAccount
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 500


MiG Messenger - earn while chatting


View Profile WWW
March 07, 2015, 02:31:54 PM
 #2411

Does someone have a spreadsheet they can share showing voltage vs power usage vs hash rate for S4s?

Thanks.

M



What does the "good" column mean in the S4 chart?

1740 GH/s at 950 watts?  Is that accurate?
wajira
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 07, 2015, 02:58:57 PM
 #2412

I replaced the s4 stock fans with Scythe GlideStream SY1225HB12SH-P ... Today bit sunny and warm here as I think room temp around 25-30

Model Number:   SY1225HB12SH-P
Fan Speed:   300 (±300) ~ 1,900rpm ±10%
Noise:   5.0 ~ 36.3 dBA
Airflow:   16.4 ~ 108.83 CFM
Rated Voltage:   DC12V
Rated Current:   0.45 A
Static Pressure:   3.04mmH20 (max)
Dimensions:   120x120x25mm
Connectors:   4-pin (4-pin Adapter Included)
Bearing Type:   Sleeve Bearing
MTBF:   30,000hours

http://i.imgur.com/ouiy2Nf.jpg
http://i.imgur.com/pEX3fG8.jpg
rpandassociates
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 174
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 08, 2015, 12:05:50 AM
 #2413

I replaced the s4 stock fans with Scythe GlideStream SY1225HB12SH-P ... Today bit sunny and warm here as I think room temp around 25-30

Those temps on your S4 are way to high I live in Florida its 78 degrees farenheit in my house I run my S4 at 200mhz 0725V Stock settings achieve 2.1 THs at a average of 52 degrees celsius on the miner stock fans running about 3600-32700 rpm

I would say those fans are not adequate especially considering you are underclocking
 
urdubit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10

The First Pakistan Bitcoin Exchange


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2015, 10:32:02 AM
 #2414

I am new to s4. My psu died due to fluctuation. I was able to get it repaired. Now it ran fine for 2 days. But now the fans dont turn on even on the psu. And there is a red blinking light on psu. I read somewhere that you can re flash the firmware onto the card. Can anyone tell me where I can download the full firmware the .img file that I can use wind32disk writer to flash onto the memory card?
dimke_yu
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 461
Merit: 250



View Profile WWW
March 09, 2015, 11:07:19 AM
 #2415

Here you can find how to: https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us/articles/204339655-How-to-create-a-bootable-MicroSD-card-with-factory-setting- and here https://bitmain.zendesk.com/hc/en-us under download section choose your device and image.

Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 09, 2015, 12:24:56 PM
 #2416

I am new to s4. My psu died due to fluctuation. I was able to get it repaired. Now it ran fine for 2 days. But now the fans dont turn on even on the psu. And there is a red blinking light on psu. I read somewhere that you can re flash the firmware onto the card. Can anyone tell me where I can download the full firmware the .img file that I can use wind32disk writer to flash onto the memory card?

Reflashing won't help you if you've got a dead PSU.
urdubit
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 104
Merit: 10

The First Pakistan Bitcoin Exchange


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2015, 07:38:07 AM
 #2417

well just got the psu tested by the guy who fixed it he seems to say its working fine. I believe its the board or the image itself as if the psu was dead its fan and lights in the back wont blink. I think the board on it is shorted or maybe the connecting wires have gone bad. Is there a way to check if the adriouno board is working or not?
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 11, 2015, 02:59:48 AM
 #2418

Plug a different psu to just the beaglebone, and turn it on. It should boot up normally but obviously not hash if the boards aren't plugged.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1568
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 13, 2015, 02:57:20 AM
 #2419

Bitmain, when can we expect a new firmware update to re-enable voltage control? The last update killed voltage control. I'd use the previous Oct 16th if I needed it right away, but the latest firmware is much more stable. With summer coming I'll be wanting to underclock and undervolt, along with many others I'm sure.
 
Please make sure that all 4 hash boards respond to voltage settings, previous firmware only controlled 3 of them while the forth was stuck at 0750.
Finksy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1003



View Profile
March 13, 2015, 06:03:03 AM
 #2420

For anyone else looking at PSU replacement alternatives, 1x of the IBM 2880W PSU's w/ breakout boards can power 2x S4's.  Most people w/ S4's are already equipped for 240V, and aren't concerned about noise (which are the only downfalls of these PSU's).  Check the thread in my sig if you're interested in North America, or J4bberwock's thread for EU/bulk purchases.
Bonus: They are 80+ Platinum rated, and already have fans fitted unlike the DPS-2000BB.

IBM 2880W PSU Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=966135 IBM 4K PSU Breakout Boards & Packages: https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1308296 
Server PSU-powered GPU rig solutions! https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1864539  Wallet address: 1GWQYCv22cAikgTgT1zFuAmsJ9fFqq9TXf 
Pages: « 1 ... 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 [121] 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!