Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:36:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 [320] 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2029992 times)
xyzzy099
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 939



View Profile
August 09, 2013, 07:52:21 PM
 #6381

Tried bfgminer?  Works better for me with my little Erupters.

What driver do you use for the erupters with BFGMiner?  I have tried WinUSB (zadig) and the Silicon Labs CP210x drivers, and BFGMiner refuses to see either.

Libertarians:  Diligently plotting to take over the world and leave you alone.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480934170
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934170

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934170
Reply with quote  #2

1480934170
Report to moderator
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 09, 2013, 09:22:10 PM
 #6382

Latest cgminer released yesterday has libusb replaced with a version that resolves most historical AMU problems

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
daemondazz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 01:36:50 AM
 #6383

This is the answer.

on p2pool, load average: 0.98 0.92 0.87

vs

ozco, load average: 0.19 0.16 0.20

You do understand what the load average figures are telling you, right? It is simply a count of how many processes running on the system needed CPU time per second during that interval, it does not tell you anything at all about the actual CPU time spent servicing those processes.

Eg, if I do a

Code:
while /bin/true; do echo "."; sleep 1; done

The load average will show as 2, even though you can probably see that the actual amount of CPU time spent was likely < 0.001% ?

A high load average may be an indication of the system being CPU starved, but I'd judge "high load average" to be 10-12x the number of CPUs present in the system, depending on the type of processes the machine is running.

Computers, Amateur Radio, Electronics, Aviation - 1dazzrAbMqNu6cUwh2dtYckNygG7jKs8S
Ghost of USD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 03:43:52 AM
 #6384

This is the answer.

on p2pool, load average: 0.98 0.92 0.87

vs

ozco, load average: 0.19 0.16 0.20

You do understand what the load average figures are telling you, right? It is simply a count of how many processes running on the system needed CPU time per second during that interval, it does not tell you anything at all about the actual CPU time spent servicing those processes.

Eg, if I do a

Code:
while /bin/true; do echo "."; sleep 1; done

The load average will show as 2, even though you can probably see that the actual amount of CPU time spent was likely < 0.001% ?

A high load average may be an indication of the system being CPU starved, but I'd judge "high load average" to be 10-12x the number of CPUs present in the system, depending on the type of processes the machine is running.

Of course I do.

In this case it is the cgminer process causing that load, just as ebereon suggested.

Tried bfgminer?  Works better for me with my little Erupters.

Thanks for the suggestion.

After a bit of tinkering, and with the help of this script http://luke.dashjr.org/tmp/code/avalonhost-raminst, I managed to get the latest bfgminer working on my Avalon.

The difference is staggering. HW error rate dropped from 0.95% to 0.58%, and cpu usage while mining on p2pool went from 90% down to 8% max.




1ghostLfPmdYi4PuDsECRBXYadsGSHofz
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 10, 2013, 07:16:44 AM
 #6385

The difference is staggering. HW error rate dropped from 0.95% to 0.58%, and cpu usage while mining on p2pool went from 90% down to 8% max.
Are you mining directly with stratum to p2pool?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Ghost of USD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 07:49:36 AM
 #6386

The difference is staggering. HW error rate dropped from 0.95% to 0.58%, and cpu usage while mining on p2pool went from 90% down to 8% max.
Are you mining directly with stratum to p2pool?

Yes.
 
Code:
root@OpenWrt:~# cgminer --lowmem --avalon-options 115200:32:10:43:300 -o stratum+tcp://192.168.1.77:9332 --api-allow W:127.0.0.1 --api-listen --avalon-cutoff 90 --avalon-temp 70
 [2013-08-10 00:44:56] Started cgminer 3.3.1 
 [2013-08-10 00:44:57] Probing for an alive pool
 [2013-08-10 00:44:57] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 82.382325                   
 [2013-08-10 00:44:57] Pool 0 difficulty changed to 128
 [2013-08-10 00:44:57] Stratum from pool 0 detected new block                   
 [2013-08-10 00:44:57] Stratum from pool 0 requested work restart
   

1ghostLfPmdYi4PuDsECRBXYadsGSHofz
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
August 10, 2013, 08:16:22 AM
 #6387

This is the answer.

on p2pool, load average: 0.98 0.92 0.87

vs

ozco, load average: 0.19 0.16 0.20

You do understand what the load average figures are telling you, right? It is simply a count of how many processes running on the system needed CPU time per second during that interval, it does not tell you anything at all about the actual CPU time spent servicing those processes.

Eg, if I do a

Code:
while /bin/true; do echo "."; sleep 1; done

The load average will show as 2,

No it won't. The load measures the number of processes using CPU, waiting for CPU or waiting for I/O system calls to complete (basically reads and writes on file descriptors).

even though you can probably see that the actual amount of CPU time spent was likely < 0.001% ?

A high load average may be an indication of the system being CPU starved, but I'd judge "high load average" to be 10-12x the number of CPUs present in the system, depending on the type of processes the machine is running.

Load > nb of CPU threads may not have anything to do with CPU, just fork large number of processes writing to disk, they won't use much CPU on modern hardware (where every I/O use DMA) but your load will be as high as the number of processes you forked.

In the case of cgminer on Avalon with p2pool, ckolivas already replied in an earlier conversation that p2pool makes cgminer use more CPU than traditional pools. This doesn't show on "normal" CPUs but Avalon has a very weak one.

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 11:45:57 PM
 #6388

An Avalon mining on P2Pool with even 3 modules does indeed take its CPU to the limit. The only real difference between P2Pool and other pools is that P2Pool's generation transaction is much larger. I'm guessing that the bottleneck is hashing the generation transaction ~16 times per second (though that isn't much...). If that's true, perhaps cgminer could be optimized to compress everything before the Stratum nonce to a SHA-256 midstate?

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 11:50:09 PM
 #6389

No that isn't the only difference, the other 2 major problems are:
1) it's python - so it will use more CPU
2) it only uses one thread by default and thus p2pool itself can easily get CPU starved on a machine with 16 cores ...

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
forrestv
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 510


View Profile
August 10, 2013, 11:51:54 PM
 #6390

No that isn't the only difference, the other 2 major problems are:
1) it's python - so it will use more CPU
2) it only uses one thread by default and thus p2pool itself can easily get CPU starved on a machine with 16 cores ...

I'm talking about the Avalon device's CPU.

1J1zegkNSbwX4smvTdoHSanUfwvXFeuV23
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:20:18 AM
 #6391

No that isn't the only difference, the other 2 major problems are:
1) it's python - so it will use more CPU
2) it only uses one thread by default and thus p2pool itself can easily get CPU starved on a machine with 16 cores ...

I'm talking about the Avalon device's CPU.
Ah OK, you mean profiling cgminer ... yep that does indeed need to be done.
Guessing about profiling is one of the common mistakes by most programmers ... but yes (again) it does need to be done.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
Ghost of USD
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 31


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:27:49 AM
 #6392

bfgminer has now been running for the past 20 hours on my Avalon @325 mining on p2pool. So far, it is working fast and stable.

Stats:
Code:
Miner Status Uptime        MH/s        A       R HW% Utility    Invalid WU      BestShare
001 ONLINE 0d 20:12:15 103454.057 6258 601 0.74% 5.162     8.76% 1445.371 11669957

Output of top:
Code:
Mem: 21880K used, 7220K free, 0K shrd, 2164K buff, 9140K cached
CPU:   3% usr   2% sys   0% nic  93% idle   0% io   0% irq   0% sirq
Load average: 0.05 0.08 0.12 3/42 1510
  PID  PPID USER     STAT   VSZ %VSZ %CPU COMMAND
 1274  1269 root     S    27728  95%   6% bfgminer -S avalon:/dev/ttyUSB0 -o ht
 1510  1505 root     R     1500   5%   0% top
 1505  1504 root     S     1504   5%   0% -ash
 1269  1268 root     S     1504   5%   0% -ash
  697     1 root     S     1500   5%   0% /usr/sbin/ntpd -n -p 0.openwrt.pool.n
  545     1 root     S     1472   5%   0% /sbin/netifd
    1     0 root     S     1432   5%   0% /sbin/procd
 1268   639 root     S     1244   4%   0% /usr/sbin/dropbear -F -P /var/run/dro
 1504   639 root     S     1220   4%   0% /usr/sbin/dropbear -F -P /var/run/dro
  655     1 root     S     1164   4%   0% /usr/sbin/uhttpd -f -h /www -r OpenWr
  639     1 root     S     1156   4%   0% /usr/sbin/dropbear -F -P /var/run/dro
  685     1 nobody   S      956   3%   0% /usr/sbin/dnsmasq -C /var/etc/dnsmasq
  432     1 root     S <    904   3%   0% ubusd
  434     1 root     S      768   3%   0% /sbin/askfirst ttyATH0 /bin/ash --log


1ghostLfPmdYi4PuDsECRBXYadsGSHofz
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2013, 03:28:13 AM
 #6393

An Avalon mining on P2Pool with even 3 modules does indeed take its CPU to the limit. The only real difference between P2Pool and other pools is that P2Pool's generation transaction is much larger. I'm guessing that the bottleneck is hashing the generation transaction ~16 times per second (though that isn't much...). If that's true, perhaps cgminer could be optimized to compress everything before the Stratum nonce to a SHA-256 midstate?
There's an obvious optimisation there that I didn't spot and it's only now that we have hardware being outstripped by the work generation requirements that I've looked into it. Thanks for the pointer, I shall see what I can do.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2013, 05:02:31 AM
 #6394

An Avalon mining on P2Pool with even 3 modules does indeed take its CPU to the limit. The only real difference between P2Pool and other pools is that P2Pool's generation transaction is much larger. I'm guessing that the bottleneck is hashing the generation transaction ~16 times per second (though that isn't much...). If that's true, perhaps cgminer could be optimized to compress everything before the Stratum nonce to a SHA-256 midstate?
There's an obvious optimisation there that I didn't spot and it's only now that we have hardware being outstripped by the work generation requirements that I've looked into it. Thanks for the pointer, I shall see what I can do.
Yes, that did it. I've committed code to the cgminer git tree which dramatically reduces the cpu usage (confirmed on my avalon mining to p2pool). When my server comes back online I'll upload new avalon firmware.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 08:26:11 AM
 #6395

Tried bfgminer?  Works better for me with my little Erupters.

What driver do you use for the erupters with BFGMiner?  I have tried WinUSB (zadig) and the Silicon Labs CP210x drivers, and BFGMiner refuses to see either.

Get rid of WinUSB.  Just use the VCP drivers for bfgminer - it'll work if you see your BEs being assigned a COM port in Windows.

The WinUSB drivers are, in my opinion, a HUGE mistake that the cgminer folks have made.  It's unnecessarily difficult to get working, and gives no real benefit.  The VCP drivers are a 2 second install, and they just work (or at least have for me on a few different machines on Server 2012, Win7 and Win8.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 11:52:29 AM
 #6396

I guess you haven't noticed all the FTDI code in the clone that bypasses the COM ports ... of the fact that the ztex is ONLY libusb ... as is the x6500 code ... of that the COM ports are actually about 5 or 6 different drivers underneath them ... i.e. it a mix of many different drivers and code ...

cgminer is purely only direct USB, libusb for all drivers, and simple instructions (Zadig) that all but the inept can follow.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:08:30 PM
 #6397

(Zadig) that all but the inept can follow.

That's not really true, is it?  WinUSB and zadiag is an unnecessary complication.  And an unreliable one at that. 

VCP drivers, as I said above, are so simple anyone can get those working.  It's a 2 second install, wait for the sticks to be installed, run miner.
bitpop
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


https://keybase.io/bitpop


View Profile WWW
August 11, 2013, 12:10:26 PM
 #6398

A complication is finding the com ports

Reputation  |  PGP  |  DigitalOcean  |  OpenVPN 2GB Free  |  TorGuard  |  Ethereum Classic
Bitcoin: 3DSh6AnmvBpDJFUz2mnLirMLmTMcFs9nDm
Bitmessage: BM-2cXN9j8NFT2n1FxDVQ6HQq4D4MZuuaBFyb
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 12:43:30 PM
 #6399

(Zadig) that all but the inept can follow.

That's not really true, is it?  WinUSB and zadiag is an unnecessary complication.  And an unreliable one at that. 

VCP drivers, as I said above, are so simple anyone can get those working.  It's a 2 second install, wait for the sticks to be installed, run miner.
No

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
August 11, 2013, 04:45:50 PM
 #6400

(Zadig) that all but the inept can follow.

That's not really true, is it?  WinUSB and zadiag is an unnecessary complication.  And an unreliable one at that. 

VCP drivers, as I said above, are so simple anyone can get those working.  It's a 2 second install, wait for the sticks to be installed, run miner.
No

Well, yes actually.  Huh 

I don't understand?

It really is as simple as running the VCP driver installer (double click, press next, press finish).  Plug in hub.  Plug in Erupters.  Wait a few minutes until Erupters are assigned COM port.  Run bfgminer with -S erupter:all flag, job done.   

That's literally from a fresh install of Windows.  No other driver.

How can running zadiag and changing drivers per stick and all that jazz possibly be easier that doing nothing? My mind is literally boggling as to how you think all those extra steps are easier than one step.  Huh
Pages: « 1 ... 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 [320] 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 349 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!