Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 10:53:49 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 [68] 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4826223 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
toasty
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
September 08, 2011, 03:43:17 PM
 #1341

1) Dual GPU cards don't get adjusted/disabled correctly. For example, a 5970 will only disable the one GPU that has the temp sensor:

Code:
GPU 3: [80.5 C] [DISABLED /78.5 Mh/s] [Q:2 A:11 R:1 HW:0 E:550% U:1.81/m]
 GPU 4: [327.3/324.5 Mh/s] [Q:25 A:23 R:1 HW:0 E:92% U:3.78/m]
Out of curiosity, what does AMDOverdriveCtrl -h return as a list of adapters on machines with dual core GPUs like this one?


Code:
INF: Nr. of Adapters: 13
INF: Adapter index: 0, active, ID:9879600, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 1, inact., ID:9879600, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 2, inact., ID:9879600, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 3, active, ID:10442944, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 4, inact., ID:10442944, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 5, inact., ID:10442944, ATI Radeon HD 5700 Series
INF: Adapter index: 6, active, ID:11009344, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
INF: Adapter index: 7, inact., ID:11009344, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
INF: Adapter index: 8, inact., ID:11009344, ATI Radeon HD 5800 Series 
INF: Adapter index: 9, active, ID:11573824, ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 10, inact., ID:11573824, ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 11, inact., ID:11573824, ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series
INF: Adapter index: 12, active, ID:12191920, ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series

Code:
$ lspci |grep VGA
07:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Hemlock [ATI Radeon HD 5900 Series]
08:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Radeon HD 5800 Series (Cypress LE)
0b:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
0c:00.0 VGA compatible controller: ATI Technologies Inc Juniper [Radeon HD 5700 Series]
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481367229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481367229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481367229
Reply with quote  #2

1481367229
Report to moderator
1481367229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481367229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481367229
Reply with quote  #2

1481367229
Report to moderator
1481367229
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481367229

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481367229
Reply with quote  #2

1481367229
Report to moderator
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 03:45:49 PM
 #1342

The newest git pull is awesome.  Thank you for implementing the fan RPM. 

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0: 74.5C 2857RPM | 365.6/363.3Mh/s | Q:10 A:15 R:0 HW:0 E:150% U:5.51/m
 GPU 1: 75.5C 2466RPM | 357.4/362.0Mh/s | Q:7 A:10 R:0 HW:0 E:143% U:3.67/m
 GPU 2: 58.5C 0RPM | 358.4/360.8Mh/s | Q:2 A:13 R:0 HW:0 E:650% U:4.78/m
 GPU 3: 74.5C 3365RPM | 335.9/334.5Mh/s | Q:5 A:18 R:0 HW:0 E:360% U:6.61/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

The fact that I am evening mentioning this should be a complement to how polished cgminer is.  It appears that if a broken fan ruins your formatting. 

Great job with 2.0.0.  It is fantastic!

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 07:09:08 PM
 #1343

The newest git pull is awesome.  Thank you for implementing the fan RPM. 

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0: 74.5C 2857RPM | 365.6/363.3Mh/s | Q:10 A:15 R:0 HW:0 E:150% U:5.51/m
 GPU 1: 75.5C 2466RPM | 357.4/362.0Mh/s | Q:7 A:10 R:0 HW:0 E:143% U:3.67/m
 GPU 2: 58.5C 0RPM | 358.4/360.8Mh/s | Q:2 A:13 R:0 HW:0 E:650% U:4.78/m
 GPU 3: 74.5C 3365RPM | 335.9/334.5Mh/s | Q:5 A:18 R:0 HW:0 E:360% U:6.61/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It appears that if a broken fan ruins your formatting. 


Agreed, especially if you have two-core GPUs where the second core has no fan.

Adding a %4d to the fan speed formatting would be nice.

I guess I should shut up and put a little effort in my self.  Out of boredom, I fixed this and made a pull request. 

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0: 74.5C 2914RPM | 357.6/358.6Mh/s | Q:37 A:32 R:0 HW:0 E:86% U:4.69/m
 GPU 1: 74.5C 2571RPM | 358.1/358.3Mh/s | Q:34 A:35 R:0 HW:0 E:103% U:5.13/m
 GPU 2: 58.5C    0RPM | 357.4/358.3Mh/s | Q:37 A:37 R:0 HW:0 E:100% U:5.42/m
 GPU 3: 75.0C 3365RPM | 352.0/336.0Mh/s | Q:34 A:39 R:0 HW:0 E:115% U:5.72/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 07:26:05 PM
 #1344

I love opensource, you can always customize software the way you see fit.

I changed the GPU display (still within 80 characters):

Code:
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
 [P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU 0:  850MHz 72.0C 71% | 365.9/361.0Mh/s | Q:9 A:14 R:0 HW:0 E:156% U:9.13/m
 GPU 1:  850MHz 70.0C 67% | 360.9/363.2Mh/s | Q:11 A:6 R:0 HW:0 E:55% U:3.91/m
 GPU 2:  850MHz 58.0C  0% | 357.4/357.4Mh/s | Q:10 A:5 R:0 HW:0 E:50% U:3.26/m
 GPU 3: 1040MHz 74.5C 85% | 339.3/341.3Mh/s | Q:9 A:12 R:0 HW:0 E:133% U:7.83/m
--------------------------------------------------------------------------------

To achieve this I changed line 1871 of main.c:

Code:
wprintw(statuswin, "%4dMHz %.1fC %2d%% | ", gpu_engineclock(gpu), gpu_temp(gpu), gpu_fanpercent(gpu));

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
September 08, 2011, 08:44:10 PM
 #1345

I love opensource, you can always customize software the way you see fit.

I changed the GPU display (still within 80 characters):
It would appear that you will be outside the 80 character range as soon as your accepted and queued counts get up to the double digits, nevermind etiher being in the quadruple/quintuple digits.
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 08:56:03 PM
 #1346

You are right, I quickly realized that.  However, I normally just widen my terminal, problem solved.

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 09:03:11 PM
 #1347

ok here is a question
do we realy need to now the stats?
Quote
Q:9 A:14 R:0 HW:0 E:156% U:9.13/m
other then 'Q' I don't even know what the rest mean.
and not sure how queue count helps me in the long run...
what i want to know is if it is mining or not.
Sekioh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


FirstBits: 1sekioh


View Profile
September 08, 2011, 09:15:42 PM
 #1348

It would appear that you will be outside the 80 character range as soon as your accepted and queued counts get up to the double digits, nevermind etiher being in the quadruple/quintuple digits.

Or if the fan hits 100%? :O

Quote
Q:9 A:14 R:0 HW:0 E:156% U:9.13/m
other then 'Q' I don't even know what the rest mean.
and not sure how queue count helps me in the long run...
what i want to know is if it is mining or not.

After some other miners my guess is: "Query (of work?), Accepted, Rejected, HardWare faults?, Efficiency, don't know?"
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
September 08, 2011, 09:17:34 PM
 #1349

I have tried the new overclocking feature but it doesn't work for me.

My specs
5770, Llano A8-3850, Windows 7 x86, sdk-2.3, catalyst 11.8

It tells me GetEnginerange not supported.


Also, if you have the time I would like to request a new feature: It would be nice if the automatic intensity feature could work only for one gpu of your choosing.

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
DBordello
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 350


BTCPak.com - Exchange your Bitcoins for MP!


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 09:22:36 PM
 #1350

ok here is a question
do we realy need to now the stats?
Quote
Q:9 A:14 R:0 HW:0 E:156% U:9.13/m
other then 'Q' I don't even know what the rest mean.
and not sure how queue count helps me in the long run...
what i want to know is if it is mining or not.


I think it is
Q - Queued
A - Accepted
R - Rejected
HW - Hardware Failures
E - Efficiency
U - Utiliziation?  Shares/minute? 

Honestly, I think I could lose E and U.  They seem to be related to the hash rate.  Also, E appears to be random and not a function of the OC or anything. 

www.BTCPak.com - Exchange your bitcoins for MP: Secure, Anonymous and Easy!
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 09:36:29 PM
 #1351

ok here is a question
do we realy need to now the stats?
Quote
Q:9 A:14 R:0 HW:0 E:156% U:9.13/m
other then 'Q' I don't even know what the rest mean.
and not sure how queue count helps me in the long run...
what i want to know is if it is mining or not.


I think it is
Q - Queued
A - Accepted
R - Rejected
HW - Hardware Failures
E - Efficiency
U - Utiliziation?  Shares/minute? 

Honestly, I think I could lose E and U.  They seem to be related to the hash rate.  Also, E appears to be random and not a function of the OC or anything. 

Aren't all of these described in the README ?


Just took a quick glance through it
looks like it has everything but that.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 10:03:30 PM
 #1352

Look harder. From the readme:
Quote
The output line shows the following:
[(5s):204.4  (avg):203.1 Mh/s] [Q:56  A:51  R:4  HW:0  E:91%  U:2.47/m]

Each column is as follows:
A 5 second exponentially decaying average hash rate
An all time average hash rate
The number of requested work items
The number of accepted shares
The number of rejected shares
The number of hardware erorrs
The efficiency defined as the accepted shares / requested work and can be >100
The utility defines as the number of shares / minute

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 10:09:19 PM
 #1353

Queued requests per card and efficiency is an increasingly irrelevant value and poorly understood. I figure I'll just remove it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Sekioh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


FirstBits: 1sekioh


View Profile
September 08, 2011, 10:15:02 PM
 #1354

It was good early on, showing off optimizations but now everyones stole (or 'recreated') all the patches. Not as applicable now and screen real estate is more important now, imo. :]
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 10:48:37 PM
 #1355

Greate more room for other stuff
any chance you can get the temperatures of VRegs?
on my 6990 they run hotter then the GPU itself  Shocked
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 10:51:44 PM
 #1356

No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
ElectricMucus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Drama Junkie


View Profile
September 08, 2011, 10:57:00 PM
 #1357

No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
How is the new overclocking feature implemented anyway? Maybe I can figure it out myself why it doesn't work for me...

First they ignore you, then they laugh at you, then they keep laughing, then they start choking on their laughter, and then they go and catch their breath. Then they start laughing even more.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 10:58:17 PM
 #1358

No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
How is the new overclocking feature implemented anyway? Maybe I can figure it out myself why it doesn't work for me...
Using the ATI display library SDK

http://developer.amd.com/gpu/adlsdk/Pages/default.aspx

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 08, 2011, 10:59:22 PM
 #1359

No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
ok there may not be platform portable code...
however you could implement 2 versions
wrap them around
Code:
#ifdef WIN32
// win32 code version
#else
// linux version
#endif // WIN32
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 08, 2011, 11:01:37 PM
 #1360

No, there's no cross platform portable code for those. I'm having enough trouble reading anything off the second cores as well.
ok there may not be platform portable code...
however you could implement 2 versions
wrap them around
Code:
#ifdef WIN32
// win32 code version
#else
// linux version
#endif // WIN32

Or I could not. It was a bootload of work importing the adl sdk and sponsored code.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
Pages: « 1 ... 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 [68] 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!