Bitcoin Forum
March 26, 2017, 07:01:55 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.14.0  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 831 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.10.0  (Read 5011077 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2011, 06:50:29 AM
 #1481

Thanks very much Gilles  Smiley. Could you be so kind as to email me patches for these instead or provide a git branch that I could pull off? That would be most helpful.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1490554915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490554915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490554915
Reply with quote  #2

1490554915
Report to moderator
1490554915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490554915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490554915
Reply with quote  #2

1490554915
Report to moderator
1490554915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490554915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490554915
Reply with quote  #2

1490554915
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1490554915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490554915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490554915
Reply with quote  #2

1490554915
Report to moderator
1490554915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490554915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490554915
Reply with quote  #2

1490554915
Report to moderator
1490554915
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1490554915

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1490554915
Reply with quote  #2

1490554915
Report to moderator
Roodemol
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 06:52:11 AM
 #1482

Thanks very much Gilles  Smiley. Could you be so kind as to email me patches for these instead or provide a git branch that I could pull off? That would be most helpful.

No problem, you´ve got mail. All the modified files are attached.
Gilles

You like my work? Feel free to send me a coin:
1JXGvtLFwTafEanEA4hwBYfRbMbgHae9Jt
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2030


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 09:10:09 AM
 #1483

Thanks very much Gilles  Smiley. Could you be so kind as to email me patches for these instead or provide a git branch that I could pull off? That would be most helpful.

No problem, but that will take until next week.

Gilles
Note - you don't need to do the last 3.5 rounds of calculation to be able to determine if a hash is a share.
See here for discussion of that and other optimisations elsewhere in the thread:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=7964.msg455128#msg455128
(My last Edit of that and a few posts above that one for the discussion)
Also the comments about setting up the beginning of the hash process that is common across multiple calls

Pool: https://kano.is Here on Bitcointalk: Forum BTC: 1KanoPb8cKYqNrswjaA8cRDk4FAS9eDMLU
FreeNode IRC: irc.freenode.net channel #kano.is
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with full block verification on all blocks
bitlane
Internet detective
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


I heart thebaron


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 03:45:40 PM
 #1484

Considering I have been mining for about a half a year, I almost feel stupid for having to ask this question....BUT;

Why do some pools produce up to 10-15% stales at times, while other, using the EXACT SAME SETTINGS produce less than 1-1.5% ?

I have no clue what it takes to set up a pool for mining, but I assumed it was pretty standard yet I notice that some mining software is more friendly at certain pools than others.

On my PPS Pool, I am able to get away with about 1% stales (CGMiner kicks ass!), while on a Proportional Pool that I mine on, I get approx 10-14% Stales constantly and the only thing that differs in my settings are the login details......LOL

I used to notice the same while using Guiminer and switching between Phoenix & POCLBM, depending on which was faster on certain pools and generated the least number of stales.

Any comments ?

cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2011, 04:01:38 PM
 #1485

Considering I have been mining for about a half a year, I almost feel stupid for having to ask this question....BUT;

Why do some pools produce up to 10-15% stales at times, while other, using the EXACT SAME SETTINGS produce less than 1-1.5% ?

I have no clue what it takes to set up a pool for mining, but I assumed it was pretty standard yet I notice that some mining software is more friendly at certain pools than others.

On my PPS Pool, I am able to get away with about 1% stales (CGMiner kicks ass!), while on a Proportional Pool that I mine on, I get approx 10-14% Stales constantly and the only thing that differs in my settings are the login details......LOL

I used to notice the same while using Guiminer and switching between Phoenix & POCLBM, depending on which was faster on certain pools and generated the least number of stales.

Any comments ?

actually most pools are custom coded back/front ends

many of the new pools use pool push but even with those they make a lot of modification and create their own custom front ends.

Also large amount of stales could have to do a problem with the server that the pool is on cannot keep up or even connection problems.

So to answer your problem it could be a number if different things and the best place to start would be that particular pools thread / operator.

hope i could help...
pokerface6578
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 21


View Profile
September 16, 2011, 07:09:04 PM
 #1486

Hi, my client is suddenly not working. I reboot from windows and try to log onto the deepbit pool with no success, rebooted, same thing. tried btcguild, again, no dice. ive doublechecked all my login info, none of it is mis typed. resetting my router did nothing.....

edit- ive downloaded it in windows and retested, surprise surprise, it works with both pools there however back in linux its not working. I keep getting invalid credentials/url
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
September 16, 2011, 10:00:03 PM
 #1487

ckolivas,

just wanted to thank you for this upgrade. I really like the way the temps/fan rpm is displayed in stats. I cannot say enough about how much I love CGMINER!

thanks again.

Mining at GuildMiners.com with 11 GPU's for a total of 4 GHash/sec
exclusively with CGMINER-2.0.2

 
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2011, 03:19:29 AM
 #1488

Considering I have been mining for about a half a year, I almost feel stupid for having to ask this question....BUT;

Why do some pools produce up to 10-15% stales at times, while other, using the EXACT SAME SETTINGS produce less than 1-1.5% ?

I have no clue what it takes to set up a pool for mining, but I assumed it was pretty standard yet I notice that some mining software is more friendly at certain pools than others.

On my PPS Pool, I am able to get away with about 1% stales (CGMiner kicks ass!), while on a Proportional Pool that I mine on, I get approx 10-14% Stales constantly and the only thing that differs in my settings are the login details......LOL

I used to notice the same while using Guiminer and switching between Phoenix & POCLBM, depending on which was faster on certain pools and generated the least number of stales.

Any comments ?

The short answer is some pools suck dick.

vapourminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1065

what is this "brake pedal" you speak of?


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 03:19:57 AM
 #1489

1st, wanted to thank you again for your program. sent ya another donation, 1.1122113 BTC.

those days of fiddling with clocks and fans with external programs are but a distant memory now. made a batch file with 4 choices (quiet while using computer, quiet while not using it, flat out while using, flat out while not using) thats so simple my wife can use it. tamed the day to day main computers mining perfectly. no more wondering if the card would overheat during hot days, or wasting fan cycles or wasting hash rate. cgminer keeps it maxing out hash rate given specific noise and display smoothness parameters now. that auto GPU clocking is Da Bomb!

2nd  wanted to reinforce to people a point you make in your docs about intensity not always increasing hash rate, and what happens if you set it too high, at least on anemic CPUs.

on my sapphire 5830 xtreme pushed by a P4 prescott 2.8 running 2.0.2 on XP pro, 2.4 SDK, 11.6 drivers:
.. it pulls 330 mh/s @ 1040/354 with I  @ 7, 8 or 9. however CPU usage goes up from a few % @ 7 to 40-50% @ 9. which increased the CPU power consumption a LOT on something like a P4 prescott. best power efficiency for the rig as a whole is at I 7, and no decrease in hash rate.

on my HTPC.. sapphire 6770 @ 1010/300 giving 230 MH/s, vista ultimate 32 bit, 2.4 SDK, 11.6 drivers with an E2150 dual core 1.80 Ghz: I 8 and 9 are the same hash rate. I 9 gives 35% CPU, I 8 gives 2 %. same hash rate. less heat and power on the CPU

so.. experiment people!




critical
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 03:22:59 AM
 #1490

hi guys, how do i set CGIMINER to kill itself and restart if one GPU is dead, because the auto restart doesn't seem to wake up the gpu, but killing cgiminer and restarting does
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2011, 04:04:00 AM
 #1491

New version: 2.0.3 - mainly bugfixes, links in top post.

- Various modes of failure to set fanspeeds and adl values have been addressed
and auto-fan should work now on most hardware, and possibly other values
which previously would not have worked.
- Fixed a crash that can occur on switching pools due to longpoll thread races.
- Use ATISTREAMSDKROOT if available at build time.
- Fanspeed management is returned to the driver default on exit instead of
whatever it was when cgminer was started.
- Logging of events deemed WARNING or ERR now will display even during
periods where menu input is being awaited on.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 04:59:31 AM
 #1492

I got a new graphics card, and wow, the fan was retarded on it, it wouldn't turn on until 95 degrees!

That's why I tried out the auto-fan feature in cgminer, and it works very well! Thanks for this! It kind of overspins for a little while, underspins for a little while, but EVENTUALLY finds the RPM to keep my GPU at 75 degrees or so (which is ~40 percent)
What's the commandline argument to start the fan at 41 percent?

May I suggest that cgminer display the fan as a percentage, instead of RPM? It would take less space

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2011, 05:31:02 AM
 #1493

I got a new graphics card, and wow, the fan was retarded on it, it wouldn't turn on until 95 degrees!

That's why I tried out the auto-fan feature in cgminer, and it works very well! Thanks for this! It kind of overspins for a little while, underspins for a little while, but EVENTUALLY finds the RPM to keep my GPU at 75 degrees or so (which is ~40 percent)
What's the commandline argument to start the fan at 41 percent?

May I suggest that cgminer display the fan as a percentage, instead of RPM? It would take less space
Yeah most fans are designed for low noise and not calibrated to run GPUs flat out the way we do while mining. Sounds like it does precisely what you need. --gpu-fan 41 will set it at that, but if you use auto-fan, which I recommend you do, do not pass it any parameters as default usually works best. The RPM is safer to demonstrate in case the fan is reportedly set to a percentage but has jammed, failed in some other way and the rpm would read 0. Safe is my primary concern. Cards that do not support RPM monitoring, cgminer will show the percentage instead.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 05:43:51 AM
 #1494

I got a new graphics card, and wow, the fan was retarded on it, it wouldn't turn on until 95 degrees!

That's why I tried out the auto-fan feature in cgminer, and it works very well! Thanks for this! It kind of overspins for a little while, underspins for a little while, but EVENTUALLY finds the RPM to keep my GPU at 75 degrees or so (which is ~40 percent)
What's the commandline argument to start the fan at 41 percent?

May I suggest that cgminer display the fan as a percentage, instead of RPM? It would take less space
Yeah most fans are designed for low noise and not calibrated to run GPUs flat out the way we do while mining. Sounds like it does precisely what you need. --gpu-fan 41 will set it at that, but if you use auto-fan, which I recommend you do, do not pass it any parameters as default usually works best. The RPM is safer to demonstrate in case the fan is reportedly set to a percentage but has jammed, failed in some other way and the rpm would read 0. Safe is my primary concern. Cards that do not support RPM monitoring, cgminer will show the percentage instead.
the auto-fan option kind of makes a sin x/x type graph around 40%fan where it jumps to 80% then down to 30% and then up to 50%, then down to 35% then up to 45%, etc.
is there any way to hint it to START the fan at 40% and then wait a couple of seconds for the card to heat up?

or maybe the auto-gpu function should be smarter about there kinds of things... let me actually look at the code and I'll see what you do exactly

iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 05:55:34 AM
 #1495

this is what you do:

Quote
else if (temp > ga->targettemp && fanpercent < top) {
         if (opt_debug)
            applog(LOG_DEBUG, "Temperature over target, increasing fanspeed");
         if (temp > ga->targettemp + opt_hysteresis)
            newpercent = ga->targetfan + 10;
         else
            newpercent = ga->targetfan + 5;
         if (newpercent > top)
            newpercent = top;
      } else if (fanpercent > bot && temp < ga->targettemp - opt_hysteresis) {
         if (opt_debug)
            applog(LOG_DEBUG, "Temperature %d degrees below target, decreasing fanspeed", opt_hysteresis);
         newpercent = ga->targetfan - 1;
      }

if temp is above 78, you bump up fans by 10
if temp is between 75.5 and 77.5 you bump up fans by 5
if temp is below 72 you decrease fans by 1

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2011, 06:00:48 AM
 #1496

I think I know what I do <_<

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 06:26:08 AM
 #1497

I think I know what I do <_<
oh, I'm just posting it in this thread for my own reference, lol
an ideal algorithm would look at the rate of change of temperature

if (temp < ga->targettemp && rate > 0)
{  } //do nothing and wait until temperature stops rising
if (temp < ga->targettemp && rate <= 0)
{ newpercent = ga->targetfan - 5; }
if (temp > ga->targettemp && rate => 0)
{ newpercent = ga->targetfan + 5; }
if (temp > ga->targettemp && rate < 0)
{ newpercent = ga->targetfan + 1; } //still increase, but slower

or something like that if you include the hysterisis as well for slower dropping of temperature when close to the target

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2011, 06:32:19 AM
 #1498

I think I know what I do <_<
oh, I'm just posting it in this thread for my own reference, lol
an ideal algorithm would look at the rate of change of temperature

if (temp < ga->targettemp && rate > 0)
{  } //do nothing and wait until temperature stops rising
if (temp < ga->targettemp && rate <= 0)
{ newpercent = ga->targetfan - 5; }
if (temp > ga->targettemp && rate => 0)
{ newpercent = ga->targetfan + 5; }
if (temp > ga->targettemp && rate < 0)
{ newpercent = ga->targetfan + 1; } //still increase, but slower

or something like that if you include the hysterisis as well for slower dropping of temperature when close to the target
Oh yes I know only too well how to make a control system. Considered it, thought it was too complicated, and decided that a simple approach was perfectly fine. After some initial relatively safe overshoot, it settles down anyway. So I don't see the point, but feel free to play with your own code Wink

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2100


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 17, 2011, 06:40:18 AM
 #1499

1st, wanted to thank you again for your program. sent ya another donation, 1.1122113 BTC.

those days of fiddling with clocks and fans with external programs are but a distant memory now. made a batch file with 4 choices (quiet while using computer, quiet while not using it, flat out while using, flat out while not using) thats so simple my wife can use it. tamed the day to day main computers mining perfectly. no more wondering if the card would overheat during hot days, or wasting fan cycles or wasting hash rate. cgminer keeps it maxing out hash rate given specific noise and display smoothness parameters now. that auto GPU clocking is Da Bomb!
Thanks man, and thanks a lot for donation Cheesy

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
iopq
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 644


View Profile
September 17, 2011, 06:45:39 AM
 #1500

Oh yes I know only too well how to make a control system. Considered it, thought it was too complicated, and decided that a simple approach was perfectly fine. After some initial relatively safe overshoot, it settles down anyway. So I don't see the point, but feel free to play with your own code Wink
my 5750 cooler iv just had a perfectly designed curve like - spin at 37% constantly at which point it's not audible, then increase fan speed by x% for each degree above 70something
I never heard it spin up ever

stupid sapphire 5850 just punches in at 100%, and instantly turns off again
who the hell designed their fan control/bios

Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 831 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!