Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 06:48:47 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 [65] 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4826942 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
PLaci1982
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


Live long and prosper. \\//,


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 10:49:56 AM
 #1281

2.0.0 works really well on Win 7, but not on Win XP....
I have a XP box with a HD 5770, and everything works well until I try to close the program by pressing Q...
After hitting Q, I get a sys msg about that cgminer.exe encountered an error, but the program still runs afterwards...  Huh
Clicking X to close the window closes the program, but the OC clocks doesn't change back to original, and the memory clock does stay the same after a restart...

Hardware Expert / WinXP, Win7 Expert

1J5oPkyGVdb4mv44KGZQYsHS2ch6e1t4rc
1481395727
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395727

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395727
Reply with quote  #2

1481395727
Report to moderator
1481395727
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395727

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395727
Reply with quote  #2

1481395727
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481395727
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481395727

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481395727
Reply with quote  #2

1481395727
Report to moderator
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 11:29:06 AM
 #1282

As per the README: grab AMD's ADL, unzip and copy the header (*.h) files from the "include" directory to the "cgminer/ADL_SDK" directory. After that, configure should pick up card control support and it'll be available in the compiled binary.

Any other link or torrent to download ADL_SDK? I hate write down forms for AMD.

TIA

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2011, 12:27:41 PM
 #1283

Hi Gents

Just want to report a possible bug here of some kind.

Here is what I am running.

Windows 7 64x
Cgminer 2.0
AMD 11.8 Drivers

(I have been running cgminer since 1.5.something and I am a HUGE fan)
 
CGMINER 2.0 Has Same Great Mining performance as 1.6.2 if I clock the cards with my own util (Saphire Trixx or MSI Afterburner)

But if I use CGMiner to clock my cards, I am getting significantly less performance
like 20 Mhash per card difference (total of 3 cards in machine)

I am 100% positive I am using the correct syntax to clock the cards at command line
and its the same if I go into the program and use CGMiner to clock them manually

it does not matter if I have auto-tune features on or off, I know the developer is a linux guy, but has any one run into this issue yet? I would love to be able to use cgminer to clock my cards and start mining with a nice batch file (more time for madden 2012)
Any Ideas?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 01:33:54 PM
 #1284

2.0.0 works really well on Win 7, but not on Win XP....
I have a XP box with a HD 5770, and everything works well until I try to close the program by pressing Q...
After hitting Q, I get a sys msg about that cgminer.exe encountered an error, but the program still runs afterwards...  Huh
Clicking X to close the window closes the program, but the OC clocks doesn't change back to original, and the memory clock does stay the same after a restart...


I get the same behavior on my WinXP system.  But the program seems to work fine.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 01:34:51 PM
 #1285

As per the README: grab AMD's ADL, unzip and copy the header (*.h) files from the "include" directory to the "cgminer/ADL_SDK" directory. After that, configure should pick up card control support and it'll be available in the compiled binary.

Any other link or torrent to download ADL_SDK? I hate write down forms for AMD.

TIA

You have the option to bypass the registration and go straight to the download.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 01:38:49 PM
 #1286

The adl include files are only needed for compiling it. I have compiled adl support into the windows binaries myself. I tried very hard to make the code work on both platforms, and even I'm surprised the windows version works as well as the linux one. There is no ADL support for any other operating systems though.

Thanks for the clarification.  After updating to Catalyst 11.6 everything is working fine for me on WinXP.
Thanks again for your work,
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Shevek
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 01:50:00 PM
 #1287

As per the README: grab AMD's ADL, unzip and copy the header (*.h) files from the "include" directory to the "cgminer/ADL_SDK" directory. After that, configure should pick up card control support and it'll be available in the compiled binary.

Any other link or torrent to download ADL_SDK? I hate write down forms for AMD.

TIA

You have the option to bypass the registration and go straight to the download.

Ooopss! Thanks a lot!

Proposals for improving bitcoin are like asses: everybody has one
1SheveKuPHpzpLqSvPSavik9wnC51voBa
MadHacker
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 02:18:26 PM
 #1288

Now if this $%&##^ 100% CPU bug can be squashed I'll be laughing.    Bloody AMD *shakes fist*.
just out  of curiosity... can't a Sleep(1); be added into each thread? this would fix the 100% cpu bug?
1ms shouldn't affect the mining at any signifigant level
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2011, 03:28:22 PM
 #1289

Now if this $%&##^ 100% CPU bug can be squashed I'll be laughing.    Bloody AMD *shakes fist*.
just out  of curiosity... can't a Sleep(1); be added into each thread? this would fix the 100% cpu bug?
1ms shouldn't affect the mining at any signifigant level
It's while the GPU code is executing that the CPU usage is high due to the driver consuming useless cycles. Sleeping when it comes back to the CPU will do nothing for that.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
sharky112065
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 383



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 03:56:52 PM
 #1290

Hi Gents

Just want to report a possible bug here of some kind.

Here is what I am running.

Windows 7 64x
Cgminer 2.0
AMD 11.8 Drivers

(I have been running cgminer since 1.5.something and I am a HUGE fan)
 
CGMINER 2.0 Has Same Great Mining performance as 1.6.2 if I clock the cards with my own util (Saphire Trixx or MSI Afterburner)

But if I use CGMiner to clock my cards, I am getting significantly less performance
like 20 Mhash per card difference (total of 3 cards in machine)

I am 100% positive I am using the correct syntax to clock the cards at command line
and its the same if I go into the program and use CGMiner to clock them manually

it does not matter if I have auto-tune features on or off, I know the developer is a linux guy, but has any one run into this issue yet? I would love to be able to use cgminer to clock my cards and start mining with a nice batch file (more time for madden 2012)
Any Ideas?

Cgminer cannot down clock the memory as much as MSI Afterburner or Trixx on some cards. So if that is happening and you do not have enough power you may be exceeding the power you need to get a steady Mhash out of you cards. That is what happened to me anyway.

The developer tells me it is because he uses the ATI stuff to change settings. MSI Afterburner and Trixx bypass the ATI stuff and change some settings on their own directly.

Donations welcome: 12KaKtrK52iQjPdtsJq7fJ7smC32tXWbWr
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 04:16:05 PM
 #1291

Hi Gents

Just want to report a possible bug here of some kind.

---Snip---

But if I use CGMiner to clock my cards, I am getting significantly less performance
like 20 Mhash per card difference (total of 3 cards in machine)

I'm using WinXP with 11.6 and am using it to overclock a Radeon 5770 and 5830 to 950Mhz and underclock the memory to 300MHz and I verified that the settings took with GPU Shark.  I could not do that with the ATI CCC.  And my hash rate has improved by 60 to 70Mhs for the pair of GPU's.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
cablepair
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 854


https://btc-republic.com/index.php?ref=cablepair


View Profile WWW
September 07, 2011, 04:36:25 PM
 #1292

Hi Gents

Just want to report a possible bug here of some kind.

---Snip---

But if I use CGMiner to clock my cards, I am getting significantly less performance
like 20 Mhash per card difference (total of 3 cards in machine)

I'm using WinXP with 11.6 and am using it to overclock a Radeon 5770 and 5830 to 950Mhz and underclock the memory to 300MHz and I verified that the settings took with GPU Shark.  I could not do that with the ATI CCC.  And my hash rate has improved by 60 to 70Mhs for the pair of GPU's.
Sam

Well for one thing ATI CCC is completely useless IMO anyway.

But
Hi Gents

Just want to report a possible bug here of some kind.

Here is what I am running.

Windows 7 64x
Cgminer 2.0
AMD 11.8 Drivers

(I have been running cgminer since 1.5.something and I am a HUGE fan)
 
CGMINER 2.0 Has Same Great Mining performance as 1.6.2 if I clock the cards with my own util (Saphire Trixx or MSI Afterburner)
/
But if I use CGMiner to clock my cards, I am getting significantly less performance
like 20 Mhash per card difference (total of 3 cards in machine)

I am 100% positive I am using the correct syntax to clock the cards at command line
and its the same if I go into the program and use CGMiner to clock them manually

it does not matter if I have auto-tune features on or off, I know the developer is a linux guy, but has any one run into this issue yet? I would love to be able to use cgminer to clock my cards and start mining with a nice batch file (more time for madden 2012)
Any Ideas?

Cgminer cannot down clock the memory as much as MSI Afterburner or Trixx on some cards. So if that is happening and you do not have enough power you may be exceeding the power you need to get a steady Mhash out of you cards. That is what happened to me anyway.

The developer tells me it is because he uses the ATI stuff to change settings. MSI Afterburner and Trixx bypass the ATI stuff and change some settings on their own directly.

you may have an interesting point on that cgminer cannot downclock the memory, is it because it cant downclock past 300? You could be right. I was trying to downclock my mem to 180 which is the ideal spot for the cards I was testing this on.

I dont think it has anything to do with power though, this rig has a corsair 1200 watt PSU

but I bet your right on with the downclock thing

ckolivas: can you verify that CGMINER can't downclock mem past 300? This would be a feature I would very much like. I know the main stream thought is 300 is the sweet spot for mem, and I think this myth exists because it is the lowest point you can downclock in some early versions of software.

In any case I have 9 GPU's and have been mining since BTC was worth 0.85 USD - my point being?

I have thoroughly tested these cards every which way possible, and although 1 of my cards prefers 300 for memclock (my xfx 5830 which I hate BTW) all my 6870's and 5870's LOVE 180 plus I am getting some energy savings there (even if its not a lot it adds up)
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 04:40:23 PM
 #1293

When I build 2.0.0 (with the original or newer -1 source), it works fine as long as I don't add the ADL header files to the ADL_SDK folder.  When I do that, I get this at the end of the make step:
Code:
/usr/bin/ld: cgminer-adl.o: undefined reference to symbol 'dlclose@@GLIBC_2.2.5'
/usr/bin/ld: note: 'dlclose@@GLIBC_2.2.5' is defined in DSO /lib64/libdl.so.2 so try adding it to the linker command line
/lib64/libdl.so.2: could not read symbols: Invalid operation
collect2: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cgminer] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/cgminer-2.0.0'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/usr/src/cgminer-2.0.0'
make: *** [all] Error 2
This is running Fedora 15 with GLIBC 2.14-4.  I'm guessing that is the problem, and I'm guessing it is due to the AMD header files and outside of ck's control, but wanted to report it just in case.  I may look for some repo with a newer GLIBC at some point if I can find time, but in the meantime, FYI:  It would appear that you have to have a pretty recent version of GLIBC to compile the gpu monitoring support.

EDIT:  I actually resolved this issue by defining LDFLAGS to point at ..../ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/

I guess that means my guess was wrong.

For further clarification:  To get this running on Fedora 15 x86_64, I am running ./configure, gathering the CFLAGS and LDFLAGS settings from Makefile, and re-running ./configure with CFLAGS using those settings plus a -I..../ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/..../includes/ setting and LDFLAGS using those settings plus a -L..../ati-stream-sdk-v2.1-lnx64/lib/x86_64/ (where the .... sections indicate paths that may vary per machine that I don't remember and can't see at this very moment).  Finally, because Fedora 15's JSON library is too old, I am editing the Makefile to use the source's included JSON instead of my installed JSON (I haven't tried setting JSON_INCLUDES for .lconfigure yet).
Sekioh
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 163


FirstBits: 1sekioh


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 04:49:56 PM
 #1294

I know the main stream thought is 300 is the sweet spot for mem, and I think this myth exists because it is the lowest point you can downclock in some early versions of software.

Can we not test this with some clever CUDA/OpenCL code? run a light gpu loop thats heavy on memory operations for X amount of seconds, count ops/sec and write back out of gpu to the cpu to write to disk, then throttle down the memory more and repeat, you should be able to see a bottleneck at some point?

(in a slightly off topic but related issue, I can't clock my card, I got drivers installed and can mine, but EVERY clocking app {cgminer, overdrive, ccc (wont even start), clock tool} either doesn't run or has all sliders grayed out... nobody's helping in the technical forums D:> tried different drivers and ccc versions 11.5 thru 11.8 and it can't be messed up installs, I got frustrated and even reformatted and installed windows over and fresh installed the drivers for two of the versions .6 and .Cool
toasty
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 05:09:52 PM
 #1295

The new GPU features are awesome! A few suggestions/requests:


1) Dual GPU cards don't get adjusted/disabled correctly. For example, a 5970 will only disable the one GPU that has the temp sensor:

Code:
GPU 3: [80.5 C] [DISABLED /78.5 Mh/s] [Q:2 A:11 R:1 HW:0 E:550% U:1.81/m]
 GPU 4: [327.3/324.5 Mh/s] [Q:25 A:23 R:1 HW:0 E:92% U:3.78/m]

2) It'd be awesome if cgminer would record the current clocks on startup, and restore them on exit if the auto tuning changed them at all.

3) Pressing "G" when you have more than a couple of cards makes it impossible to read the output, because the window the output is displayed to is too small unless you have a HUGE screen.

4) I'd love a way to specify different temperature thresholds per GPU on the command line. If I have different model cards in there, they have different points where they're happy. 5770s get crashy above 90-95, where 5970 and 6990 cards idle near there at times. Smiley

5) My ideal dream would be a way of somehow saying "Any 5970 cards you see, set the temperature thresholds to X/Y, the voltage to Z, etc. Any 5770 cards, the temperature threshold is..." so that I don't have to look up which cards are in which system, just to pass that along to cgminer.

6) Temperatures >100C should be allowed, no matter how bad of an idea that sounds. We have some cards that go up to 105-107C without issue.

7) Specifying an overclock/underclock range that cgminer is allowed to adjust the clock in would be handy.

Cool One step further, having it attempt to determine (maybe even saved into a local file) how high the clock was able to go without problems, and self-tuning the max clock rate while under the threshold temperature.





exahash
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 276



View Profile
September 07, 2011, 05:26:30 PM
 #1296

Cool One step further, having it attempt to determine (maybe even saved into a local file) how high the clock was able to go without problems, and self-tuning the max clock rate while under the threshold temperature.

^^^ That's the ticket.  Plus keep track of how long it was able to run at that clock rate and use that info to drive the adjustments.  I've got a bunch of cards that don't like to run for more than 20-30 mins at elevated clocks, and it can take a couple days to dial them in.

toasty
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 06:38:25 PM
 #1297

Code:
[2011-09-07 13:36:44] Overheat detected, increasing fan to 100%
[2011-09-07 13:36:46] Overheat detected, increasing fan to 100%
[2011-09-07 13:36:49] Overheat detected, increasing fan to 100%
[2011-09-07 13:36:51] Overheat detected, increasing fan to 100%
[2011-09-07 13:36:53] Overheat detected, increasing fan to 100%
[2011-09-07 13:36:55] Overheat detected, increasing fan to 100%

This should probably identify which GPU it's talking about, and maybe have some kind of throttling added to it, if a card's temperature is wiggling around the threshold.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 06:59:40 PM
 #1298

I know the main stream thought is 300 is the sweet spot for mem, and I think this myth exists because it is the lowest point you can downclock in some early versions of software.

(in a slightly off topic but related issue, I can't clock my card, I got drivers installed and can mine, but EVERY clocking app {cgminer, overdrive, ccc (wont even start), clock tool} either doesn't run or has all sliders grayed out... nobody's helping in the technical forums D:> tried different drivers and ccc versions 11.5 thru 11.8 and it can't be messed up installs, I got frustrated and even reformatted and installed windows over and fresh installed the drivers for two of the versions .6 and .Cool

Sorry if I'm stating the overly obvious, but in the ATI CCC did you unlock the overclocking page?  When I first started messing with this stuff I looked at the overclock page a bunch of times before I realized that the lock was actually a button.  I was really irritated about it being grayed out too.
Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
The00Dustin
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 806


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 07:03:40 PM
 #1299

2) It'd be awesome if cgminer would record the current clocks on startup, and restore them on exit if the auto tuning changed them at all.
Are you having trouble in that department, or did you just miss this?
STARTUP / SHUTDOWN:
When cgminer starts up, it tries to read off the current profile information
for clock and fan speeds and stores these values. When quitting cgminer, it
will then try to restore the original values. Changing settings outside of
cgminer while it's running may be reset to the startup cgminer values when
cgminer shuts down because of this.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
September 07, 2011, 07:08:54 PM
 #1300

The new GPU features are awesome! A few suggestions/requests:

3) Pressing "G" when you have more than a couple of cards makes it impossible to read the output, because the window the output is displayed to is too small unless you have a HUGE screen.


In Windoze I created a shortcut and changed the layout properties to 55 rows (Window height) instead of the default 25.  Now I can see the info for both of my GPU's at once.

You can also modify the pixels per character under the Fonts tab in conjunction with the layout window height to get more window realestate.

Sam

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
Pages: « 1 ... 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 [65] 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!