Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 12:35:26 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 ... 830 »
  Print  
Author Topic: OFFICIAL CGMINER mining software thread for linux/win/osx/mips/arm/r-pi 4.9.2  (Read 4819434 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2011, 05:54:07 AM
 #1401

Welcome back to BTC talk.  Grin

New version:2.0.2 (most important change is fix for a rare crash)

- Exit cleanly if we abort before various threads are set up or if they no
longer exist.
- Fix a rare crash in HASH_DEL due to using different mutexes to protect the
data.
- Flag devices that have never started and don't allow enabling of devices
without restarting them.
- Only force the adapter speed to high if we've flagged this device as being
managed.
- Flag any devices with autofan or autogpu as being managed.
- Use a re-entrant value to store what fanspeed we're trying to set in case the
card doesn't support small changes.     Force it to a multiple of 10% if it
fails on trying to speed up the fan.
- Do not bother resetting values to old ones if changes to GPU parameters report
failure, instead returning a failure code only if the return value from get()
differs.
- Remove redundant check.
- Only display supported values from fanspeed on change settings.
- Missing bracket from output.
- Display fan percentage on devices that only support reporting percent and not
RPM.
- Properly substitute DLOPEN flags to build with ADL support when -ldl is needed
and not when opencl is not found.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481027726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027726
Reply with quote  #2

1481027726
Report to moderator
1481027726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027726
Reply with quote  #2

1481027726
Report to moderator
1481027726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027726
Reply with quote  #2

1481027726
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481027726
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481027726

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481027726
Reply with quote  #2

1481027726
Report to moderator
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2011, 05:55:07 AM
 #1402

Code:
[P]ool management [G]PU management [S]ettings [D]isplay options [Q]uit
 GPU0: [875/750MHz 69.5C 57%] [359.5/130.4 Mh/s] [Q:57 A:52 R:1 HW:0 E:91% U:1.74/m]
 GPU1: [875/750MHz 75.5C 85%] [359.5/138.0 Mh/s] [Q:53 A:53 R:1 HW:0 E:100% U:1.77/m]
 GPU2: [875/750MHz 69.5C 51%] [359.5/137.3 Mh/s] [Q:53 A:49 R:1 HW:0 E:92% U:1.64/m]
 GPU3: [875/750MHz 73.0C 85%] [359.4/137.2 Mh/s] [Q:66 A:54 R:1 HW:0 E:82% U:1.80/m]
 GPU4: [875/750MHz 69.5C 49%] [360.4/137.5 Mh/s] [Q:57 A:46 R:0 HW:0 E:81% U:1.54/m]

This is amazing, no monitoring scripts or separate windows needed.  Having trouble with the auto-gpu though, can anyone tell me how to properly set it so the fan will jump to 100% before the engine clock is lowered?

In version 2.0.1 or later, specify a max fanspeed up to 100 with --gpu-fan 100 or --gpu-fan 0-100


Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
mmortal03
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1395


View Profile
September 11, 2011, 06:11:53 AM
 #1403

MASSIVE UPGRADE VERSION 2.0 - Links in top post

Major feature upgrade - GPU monitoring, (over)clocking and fan control for ATI
GPUs.

Wow, this will be great if it works on my non-reference Gigabyte Super Overclock 5870 in a ViDock/netbook setup.  The Gigabyte OC Guru tool doesn't work in that scenario (doesn't see the card), and the Catalyst Control Center isn't available for it to use the OverDrive features, either.  So far, because the OC Guru doesn't work in this setup, I've had to use reference cards with OverDrive, only, if I want to overclock.

I just tested it on my desktop, and it overclocks the card just fine, so at least I know in advance that it doesn't matter whether it's a non-reference card or not. The real test is going to be if it also detects the card and can overclock it when plugged into my ViDock setup over at a friend's place.  I'll try to test this in the next few days.  Thanks for your work, I'll definitely be sending a donation if it works!

Okay, bummer, so I just tested using cgminer to overclock my Gigabyte Super Overclock 5870 card when running it through my x1 ViDock, and it won't take the overclocking commands. Sad

In comparison, I've had no problem overclocking a reference 5870 when running it over my x1 ViDock, and I've had no problem overclocking the non-reference Gigabyte 5870 itself with cgminer when it is plugged into a regular x16 PCIe slot on a rig.  So, might anyone know why it won't allow me to overclock it when plugged into the ViDock?

The one thing I haven't tried is to see if the card will still overclock when plugged directly into an x1 PCIe slot on a rig.  The reason I mention this is because the only thing I can think of is that it might need the higher pins on the x16 slot for the overclocking commands to actually be sent to it, but then I'm not knowledgeable enough to know if that is even plausible.

Keep in mind that GPU-Z detects the card properly when running it through the ViDock, and cgminer can detect the card just fine for mining, so it's not like the card isn't being detected at all.

Oddly enough, after some restarts and system updates, it seems to now be overclocking it over the ViDock. I can't say why, but I'm happy.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2011, 06:16:03 AM
 #1404

Quote from: mmortal03 link=topic=28402.msg518224#msg518224
Oddly enough, after some restarts and system updates, it seems to now be overclocking it over the ViDock. I can't say why, but I'm happy.
Is this with the new v2.0.2? Some changes I made to it should help set things even though it thinks it has failed now.
No, it still can't do what msi afterburner does, nor can it outdo the 125 difference limit on 6970s.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
freakfantom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73



View Profile
September 11, 2011, 07:48:18 AM
 #1405

I'm sorry to report this, but auto-fan option is broken for me in 2.0.2 (windows 7 64 11.8 ). Fan speed is just going down to zero Sad I had to manually specify --gpu-fan 65 to make it work.
phase
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 49



View Profile
September 11, 2011, 09:08:39 AM
 #1406

Got a weird thing going on here, I have a Sapphire 5970 OC Edition and an XFX 5970 Black / Limited Edition in the same system. The first core of the Sapphire underwent some sort of thermal damage and is now unstable in the >300 MHz ranges, I have also discovered that the other GPU's aren't fully loaded when running in the same instance as this damaged GPU, so I keep it running in a separate instance of cgminer with dynamic intensity. Now, the first and second GPU of the Sapphire show up as core 0 and 3, the XFX GPU's show as 1 and 2 in cgminer.

If I provide comma-separated engine values, it seems to take the same (lower) settings for both cores on the Sapphire 5970, or maybe it's interpreting the values I provide in reverse. The XFX card doesn't respond to my settings, it reports default overclock values for the card. All of these are clocked with AMDOverdriveCtrl (I have no choice, as the rig will crash if core 1 on the Sapphire goes over 300 Mhz). So far, I am blessed though with the auto fan control, which bypasses the Sapphire's shitty stock fan control. Smiley Go cgminer! On the XFX though, fan control is also acting weird, here the default algorithm seems to do better, and if I shut down cgminer with auto-fan enabled for the XFX, then the fan on the XFX will also quit until rebooted. No more toying around for me. Smiley
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2011, 10:30:42 AM
 #1407

That's somewhere between bizarre, amusing and depressing at the same time o_O

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
platorin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
September 11, 2011, 10:42:38 AM
 #1408

Hello,

some of us has been having problems with cgminer mining SC. No matter which pool we choose, we always get "unexpected error" message.

Any other mining software works fine. So I believe there is sometinh on cgminer side.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2011, 10:50:06 AM
 #1409

Hello,

some of us has been having problems with cgminer mining SC. No matter which pool we choose, we always get "unexpected error" message.

Any other mining software works fine. So I believe there is sometinh on cgminer side.
Unfortunately I'm not inclined to provide support for BTC forks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
platorin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
September 11, 2011, 10:53:41 AM
 #1410

Did you create cgminer or not? I believe you should treat everyone same and help to improve your software.

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2011, 10:56:32 AM
 #1411

Did you create cgminer or not? I believe you should treat everyone same and help to improve your software.
I most certainly did create cgminer as free software as a bitcoin miner to support and strengthen the bitcoin p2p network and I am under absolutely no obligation whatsoever to do jack shit.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
DiabloD3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1162


DiabloMiner author


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2011, 11:02:24 AM
 #1412

Did you create cgminer or not? I believe you should treat everyone same and help to improve your software.

You do realize its easy to get banned, right? Take my advice, shut the fuck up.

platorin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
September 11, 2011, 11:18:28 AM
 #1413

Did you create cgminer or not? I believe you should treat everyone same and help to improve your software.

You do realize its easy to get banned, right? Take my advice, shut the fuck up.

As a moderator on this forum you should respect the rules even more then an ordinary user. I do have right to mine whatever I want, I do have right ask questions and I do have right to expect equality in everything.
You can of course get me banned but this will only be another example of how some people involved into btc acts, reacts and threats others. And that of course, since I am a journalist, will be properly described and probably won't do good for btc project and community.

zaytsev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
September 11, 2011, 11:30:06 AM
 #1414

You don't seem to get it: here nobody owes you anything. You might ask nicely, but if you are refused you have to shut it up. This is what DiabloD3 is politely implying. If you can't comprehend it, maybe ban is the best thing for everybody.

Donations welcome: 1AKVi32aayHPkpi9HNmfpHpx4DCruHoK2A
zaytsev
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 59


View Profile
September 11, 2011, 11:31:45 AM
 #1415

ck, thanks for the %/RPM display fix!~ ^_^

Donations welcome: 1AKVi32aayHPkpi9HNmfpHpx4DCruHoK2A
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2011, 11:53:42 AM
 #1416

I'm sorry to report this, but auto-fan option is broken for me in 2.0.2 (windows 7 64 11.8 ). Fan speed is just going down to zero Sad I had to manually specify --gpu-fan 65 to make it work.
Most unusual  Huh What parameters are you passing?

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
freakfantom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73



View Profile
September 11, 2011, 12:23:52 PM
 #1417

I'm sorry to report this, but auto-fan option is broken for me in 2.0.2 (windows 7 64 11.8 ). Fan speed is just going down to zero Sad I had to manually specify --gpu-fan 65 to make it work.
Most unusual  Huh What parameters are you passing?

Thanks for the reply. I'm at a loss end myself Sad 2.0.1 works fine with the same bat file --log 10 --intensity 9 --failover-only --submit-stale --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 830 --gpu-memclock 300 --temp-target 82 --temp-overheat 88 But when I use this bat file with 2.0.2 fan speed starts to diminish almost to zero and gpu overheats and I have to stop cgminer. Now I have to use this bat file --log 10 --intensity 9 --failover-only --submit-stale --gpu-fan 65 --gpu-memclock 300 this way it works...
platorin
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336


View Profile
September 11, 2011, 12:43:25 PM
 #1418

Did you create cgminer or not? I believe you should treat everyone same and help to improve your software.
I most certainly did create cgminer as free software as a bitcoin miner to support and strengthen the bitcoin p2p network and I am under absolutely no obligation whatsoever to do jack shit.
Sorry about that but it was a little missunderstood. I was thinking about guiminer - not cgiminer!

Of course you do not need to do jackshit about it, since it's a different software and yours working fine!

Sorry for the inconvenience!

-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
September 11, 2011, 01:04:26 PM
 #1419

I'm sorry to report this, but auto-fan option is broken for me in 2.0.2 (windows 7 64 11.8 ). Fan speed is just going down to zero Sad I had to manually specify --gpu-fan 65 to make it work.
Most unusual  Huh What parameters are you passing?

Thanks for the reply. I'm at a loss end myself Sad 2.0.1 works fine with the same bat file --log 10 --intensity 9 --failover-only --submit-stale --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 830 --gpu-memclock 300 --temp-target 82 --temp-overheat 88 But when I use this bat file with 2.0.2 fan speed starts to diminish almost to zero and gpu overheats and I have to stop cgminer. Now I have to use this bat file --log 10 --intensity 9 --failover-only --submit-stale --gpu-fan 65 --gpu-memclock 300 this way it works...
Interesting. When you start it (the safe way) do the parameters all look to make sense in the menu under G->Change settings for that device? You can enable and disable autofan on the fly in there so can you see if that's any different? As in, see what is reported in the parameters after you enable autofan and what happens. You should be able to disable it on the fly, and ultimately it *should* cut out at 95 degrees with --auto-gpu on. I did add more autofan logic in there but it was supposed to make it safer, not the other way around  Lips sealed

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
freakfantom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 73



View Profile
September 11, 2011, 01:22:48 PM
 #1420

I'm sorry to report this, but auto-fan option is broken for me in 2.0.2 (windows 7 64 11.8 ). Fan speed is just going down to zero Sad I had to manually specify --gpu-fan 65 to make it work.
Most unusual  Huh What parameters are you passing?

Thanks for the reply. I'm at a loss end myself Sad 2.0.1 works fine with the same bat file --log 10 --intensity 9 --failover-only --submit-stale --auto-fan --auto-gpu --gpu-engine 830 --gpu-memclock 300 --temp-target 82 --temp-overheat 88 But when I use this bat file with 2.0.2 fan speed starts to diminish almost to zero and gpu overheats and I have to stop cgminer. Now I have to use this bat file --log 10 --intensity 9 --failover-only --submit-stale --gpu-fan 65 --gpu-memclock 300 this way it works...
Interesting. When you start it (the safe way) do the parameters all look to make sense in the menu under G->Change settings for that device? You can enable and disable autofan on the fly in there so can you see if that's any different? As in, see what is reported in the parameters after you enable autofan and what happens. You should be able to disable it on the fly, and ultimately it *should* cut out at 95 degrees with --auto-gpu on. I did add more autofan logic in there but it was supposed to make it safer, not the other way around  Lips sealed

I changed it in the menu - one card lowered fan to 58%, second got overheated though the fan was showing 100% and was automatically disabled. But the second card was just soundless in reality, the fan was not working actually, just pretending lol
Pages: « 1 ... 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 [71] 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 ... 830 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!