Bitcoin Forum
December 14, 2017, 05:30:31 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 »  All
  Print  
Author Topic: [Guide] Dogie's Comprehensive Avalon Avalon2 Setup [HD]  (Read 30922 times)
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 01, 2014, 01:55:14 AM
 #1

Dogie's Miner Setup Guides:
    ASICMiner Blade
ASICMiner Cube
ASICMiner Tube
ASICMiner Prisma
Avalon Avalon2
Avalon Avalon3
Avalon Avalon4
Avalon Avalon6
SpondooliesTech SP10
SpondooliesTech SP20
SpondooliesTech SP30
SpondooliesTech SP35
Technobit HEX16B
Technobit HEX8A1
Technobit HEX4M
Technobit 2HEX4M
KNCMiner Saturn/Jupiter
Bitmain AntMiner S1
Bitmain AntMiner S2
Bitmain AntMiner S3
Bitmain AntMiner S4
Bitmain AntMiner S4+
Bitmain AntMiner S5
Bitmain AntMiner S7
Bitmain AntMiner C1
Bitmain AntMiner U3
RockMiner R-Box
RockMiner New R-Box
RockMiner R3-Box
RockMiner T1
HashCoins Apollo
HashCoins Ares
NonceTech Sampo
Yiazo YBF
BTCGarden AMV1
Bitmine Coincraft Desk V2
HashRatio Tsunami
XBTech Pacific 1250
BitCrane T-110
Black Arrow Prospero X1
AMT 1.25TH
C-Scape HexFury USB
C-Scape BiFury USB
MoonlightMiner NanoFury II USB
    Gigampz PSU breakout board


    Guide meta thread
    DefaultTrust Visualisation
    Power Supply analysis guide
    Manufacturer trustworthiness guide
___________________________________________________________________________________________________________________________


Nicely formatted version available at dogiecoin.com!



Contents:
0a) What to Expect
0b) What You Need
1) Powering
2a) Cooling
2b) Cooling mod (optional)
3) Case
4a) Configuration (TL-WR703N)
4b) Configuration (Raspberry Pi)
5) Troubleshooting
6) Where to buy


0) What to Expect (top)
The Canaan Creative team have continued to focus on keeping their design modular, and as such their mining units can be arranged into larger units.
Each Avalon 2 units can be run at 100GH and consume ~350W or combined in a 2U rack mountable case that includes a PSU. A external controller is
required for both full systems and individual modules. You can use a modified WR703N router like in gen 1 Avalons or a Raspberry Pi.

Chips70x 55nm Avalon 2 A3255
Hashrate~105GH
Rated Voltage12V
Rated Current28A
Power.Consumption~340W

 
 
      


0b) What You Need (top)
You will need a few accessories and a power supply to get started. I recommend buying the controller directly from Avalon as they will preflash it with the
correct firmware.


                             Click your flag to find everything you need to get started at Amazon!             
                    
                                         
 

1) Powering (top)
Full units come with two Delta Electronics DPS-500YB-F PSUs that provide a combined 1KW of continuous power at extremely high efficiency. Only one
mains power cable is required as the PSUs are internally bridged. Replacement PSUs combined require 2x24pin ATX, 2x4pin ATX, 2x8 pin PCI-E connectors
and can be purchased here. Individual modules require a typical computer PSU with 1x24 pin ATX, 1x8 pin ATX, 1x8 pin PCI-E connectors.

      


2a) Cooling (top)
Both the full units and individual modules are cooled using the same fan layout. Each module has its own 80mm Delta GFB0812SHG fan that sucks air
through the sealed heatsink and across the back of the module. These are premium high pressure, expensive fans that utilise two independent rotors.
Cooling is power efficient but noisy and designed with data centres in mind.

At stock, the fan runs at 90% and temperatures reach 53C. Documentation suggests that this sensor temperature should not be allowed to run for long
periods of time above 60C. Dropping the fan to 80% immediately puts us up to 59C. I've tested a mod below to allow individual modules to run silently,
while providing more cooling than the original system. The trades are that it prevents the module fitting in a 2U case, increases the space required and
removes the one directional airflow. At 90%, noise levels are similar to generation 1 Avalons while at around 40-45%, the fan becomes essentially inaudible.

      
 
      



2b) Cooling mod (optional) (top)
Remove the heatsink shroud by removing two small screws. Place 3x 120mm fans, mid range rpm on a fan controller, blowing into the heatsink. Ambient
remained at 25C and test results are provided below. A fan speed of 45% is recommended as we get maximum cooling with the fan remaining silent. You
will need a fan controller and 3x120mm PWM controllable fans per module to perform the mod.

SettingsTemps
Stock53C
@80% 59C
@80%+.mod....47C
@70%+ mod48C
@60%+ mod49C
@50%+ mod50C
@40%+ mod51C
@30%+ mod53C




3) Case (top)
Avalon2 cases are designed to be 2U rackmountable, or stackable. Individual modules are well protected although the interface PCBs are exposed.

       


4a) Configuration (TL-WR703N) (top)
The same configuration steps are required for both the full unit and individual modules.

Wiring:
  • Plug in a usb cable from the Avalon2/module to the WR703N.
  • Plug in a network cable from the WR703N to your router, and power it on.

Configuration:
  • Power on the power supply using its switch at the back.
  • Make sure or your router's subnet is 0, ie 192.168.0.x. If not then change it to 0, this is just temporary. ***If this is not possible, see below***
  • Using a browser, navigate to 192.168.0.100 - this goes to the WR703N's configuration page.
  • Login using "root" as the username.
  • Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> WAN -> Edit.
  • Change protocol to DHCP and click "Save & Apply".
  • Using a browser, navigate to your router and find the IP it has assigned the WR703N and navigate to that IP.
  • Navigate to the page Status -> Miner Configuration. Enter your pool information in the below format.
  • Navigate to the page "Miner Status" to check mining has started.
  • You can then change your router subnet back to whatever you are used to using.

Alternative Subnet Change:
  • Unplug your computer from all internet sources.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the WR703N to your computer.
  • Navigate to Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Centre -> Change Adapter Settings.
  • Right click on your ethernet adapter -> Properties.
  • Click on "Internet Protocol Version 4" and click properties.
  • Select "Use the following IP address" and enter the following:
  • IP Address: 192.168.0.1, Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway: 192.168.0.100.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the WR703N to you router.
  • Restart the configuration instructions as above.

Antpool Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.antpool.com:3333
User    : username.worker or username_worker - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
BTCGuild Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:3333
User    : username_worker
Password: anypassword
GHash IO Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://us1.ghash.io:3333
User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword


4b) Configuration (RaspberryPi) (top)
The same configuration steps are required for both the full unit and individual modules.

Wiring:
  • Plug in a usb cable from the Avalon2/module to the Raspberry Pi.
  • Plug in a network cable from the Raspberry Pi to your router, and power it on.

Configuration:
  • Put the SD card into another computer.
  • Download the RasperryPi Avalon 2 OS
  • Download the Win32 Disk Imager and use it to flash SD card with this image.
  • Put SD card into RaspPi and power it on.
  • Power on the power supply using its switch at the back.
  • Make sure or your router's subnet is 0, ie 192.168.0.x. If not then change it to 0, this is just temporary. ***If this is not possible, see below***
  • Using a browser, navigate to 192.168.0.100 - this goes to the Raspberry Pi's configuration page.
  • Login using "root" as the username.
  • Navigate to Network -> Interfaces -> WAN -> Edit.
  • Change protocol to DHCP and click "Save & Apply".
  • Using a browser, navigate to your router and find the IP it has assigned the Raspberry Pi and navigate to that IP.
  • Navigate to the page Status -> Miner Configuration. Enter your pool information in the below format.
  • Navigate to the page "Miner Status" to check mining has started.
  • You can then change your router subnet back to whatever you are used to using.

Alternative Subnet Change:
  • Unplug your computer from all internet sources.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the Raspberry Pi to your computer.
  • Navigate to Control Panel -> Network and Sharing Centre -> Change Adapter Settings.
  • Right click on your ethernet adapter -> Properties.
  • Click on "Internet Protocol Version 4" and click properties.
  • Select "Use the following IP address" and enter the following:
  • IP Address: 192.168.0.1, Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0, Default Gateway: 192.168.0.100.
  • Plug in an ethernet cable from the Raspberry Pi to you router.
  • Restart the configuration instructions as above.

Bitcoin Digger Register!
Code:
Servers :  stratum+tcp://geo.bitcoindigger.com:3333
User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword
BTCGuild Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://stratum.btcguild.com:3333
User    : username_worker
Password: anypassword
GHash IO Register!
Code:
Servers : stratum+tcp://us1.ghash.io:3333
User    : username.worker  - auto creates workers!
Password: anypassword




5) Troubleshooting

ProblemSolution
What temperatures should I aim for?- Try to achieve <60C for long lifetimes. Temperatures should not be let to rise above 65C.
How can I tell what firmware version I have now?- Navigate to System -> Cgminer API Log and look at "Firmware Version".
Where.can.I.find.the.latest.firmware.for.the.WR703N?- Download the latest firmware from here (the WR703N.bin).
Where.can.I.find.the.latest.firmware.for.the.Pi?- Download the latest firmware from here (the sdcard-vfat-ext4.img).
How do I install the latest firmware?- Download firmware as above. Navigate to System -> Upgrade and click "browse". Select the
downloaded file and click "Flash image". Do NOT interrupt this process or you will brick the unit.

      


Legal disclaimer: This information is for general guidance and does not constitute expert advice. We are not responsible if you, your property or a third
party is injured or damaged as a result of any interaction with this information, and no warranty is provided. All text and images are covered by copyright.

6) Where to buy (top)

                    
            


Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1513229432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513229432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513229432
Reply with quote  #2

1513229432
Report to moderator
1513229432
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1513229432

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1513229432
Reply with quote  #2

1513229432
Report to moderator
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2014, 02:06:02 AM
 #2

Added mod pics

sahkan
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 201



View Profile
March 02, 2014, 02:41:03 AM
 #3

As always very good guide. Unfortunately as of today these are a bit over priced, delivering around 300GHs at 1020W for 4.5BTC. 180GHs Ants at 360W are only 1.37BTC now.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2014, 03:03:46 AM
 #4

As always very good guide. Unfortunately as of today these are a bit over priced, delivering around 300GHs at 1020W for 4.5BTC. 180GHs Ants at 360W are only 1.37BTC now.
There will very likely be a price drop on these units, but yes, its mainly the chips that aren't competitive.

ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 589


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 07:11:58 AM
 #5

now these units is in final clearance sale now, about ~0.52 BTC for one 105G module.
this price is for China mainland only. for export will remain a 1.3B price.
 Smiley

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652

ASIC wannabe


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 07:47:20 AM
 #6

now these units is in final clearance sale now, about ~0.52 BTC for one 105G module.
this price is for China mainland only. for export will remain a 1.3B price.
 Smiley

huh? I would gladly buy a few full units shipped to canada (even without PSU) if the chinese price was shared globally. Why is it 250% as expensive outside of china?

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461 also selling 6" M-F-M PCIe splitters and PCIe-PCIe
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
ChuckBuck
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 602


Vietnamese Translator


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 03:46:30 PM
 #7

now these units is in final clearance sale now, about ~0.52 BTC for one 105G module.
this price is for China mainland only. for export will remain a 1.3B price.
 Smiley

That is a terrible business model.  Obviously you're gearing up for Avalon gen 3, why not share that price for the gen 2 globally?

Especially, since Bitmaintech is kicking your teeth in with their almost daily price drops.

██
█║█
║║║
║║║
█║█
██
'BTC MULTI-WALLET SOON'
▬▬▬▬ Download WHITEPAPER ▬▬▬▬

                    ▄██▄
                  ▄██████▄
                ▄██████████
              ▄██████████▀   ▄▄
            ▄██████████▀   ▄████▄
          ▄██████████▀    ████████▄
         ██████████▀      ▀████████
         ▀███████▀   ▄███▄  ▀████▀   ▄█▄
    ▄███▄  ▀███▀   ▄███████▄  ▀▀   ▄█████▄
  ▄███████▄      ▄██████████     ▄█████████
  █████████    ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
   ▀█████▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
     ▀▀▀   ▄██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ██████████▀    ▄██████████▀
          ▀███████▀      █████████▀
            ▀███▀   ▄██▄  ▀█████▀
                  ▄██████▄  ▀▀▀
                  █████████
                   ▀█████▀
                     ▀▀▀
e i d o o
██

███▀▀
▐▐▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▐▌
███▄▄
▀▀███
▐▌▌
▐▌
▐▌
▐▌▌
▄▄███
ngzhang
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 589


We will stand and fight.


View Profile
March 02, 2014, 08:16:17 PM
 #8

now these units is in final clearance sale now, about ~0.52 BTC for one 105G module.
this price is for China mainland only. for export will remain a 1.3B price.
 Smiley

That is a terrible business model.  Obviously you're gearing up for Avalon gen 3, why not share that price for the gen 2 globally?

Especially, since Bitmaintech is kicking your teeth in with their almost daily price drops.

so what's the benefit for me to profit the west? will it increase my trust level?  Smiley

at this price (0.5B for 105G), it can easily ROI in ~50 days. I'm too lazy to do so, but i can change my mine at any time.

CEO of Canaan-creative, Founder of Avalon project.
https://canaan.io/
Business contact: love@canaan.io
All PMs will be unread.
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2014, 09:04:04 PM
 #9

The lid is at the bottom of the module on that pic. You only need to remove two screws (or was it one...) that screws from the lid into the heatsink. Remember the module is upside down in that picture compared to the mod picture.

haaggus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2014, 09:37:20 PM
 #10

Sorry gotta order the rest of the gear. I ordered this TP Link TL-MR3020.

Tell me again, why can't my regular router work to connect the Avalon 2 to the modem? What is the purpose of having two routers for one modem? Thanks for your knowledge.

I also ordered the other TP-Link router that you recommended in the first post, and I'll send one back. If I have the corsair PSU and the wifi device, I can get this thing working? This is more complicated than my Jalapeno, ha. Having fun though.


https://bitcoin-trader.biz/?ref=dcmining
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 12, 2014, 10:53:08 PM
 #11

Sorry gotta order the rest of the gear. I ordered this TP Link TL-MR3020.

Tell me again, why can't my regular router work to connect the Avalon 2 to the modem? What is the purpose of having two routers for one modem? Thanks for your knowledge.

I also ordered the other TP-Link router that you recommended in the first post, and I'll send one back. If I have the corsair PSU and the wifi device, I can get this thing working? This is more complicated than my Jalapeno, ha. Having fun though.

This router is going to be loaded with custom firmware which allows it to act as the controller for the Avalon 2, not just as a source of internet. I'm not actually sure if the MR3020 can use the same custom firmware as the WR703N, but I'm guessing not.

ToRs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 14, 2014, 08:44:35 PM
 #12

i was messing around with my WR703N when i accidentally change the DNS settings into 202.73.37.3...

after the changes was applied.. i can no longer access the web interface...

i can still ping the router... but no web interface.. no SSH...

any idea how can i have my web access back?


or do i need to restore to factory settings? (how to do this?)

and install the latest avalon firmware?



thanks
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 14, 2014, 11:33:58 PM
 #13

i was messing around with my WR703N when i accidentally change the DNS settings into 202.73.37.3...

after the changes was applied.. i can no longer access the web interface...

i can still ping the router... but no web interface.. no SSH...

any idea how can i have my web access back?


or do i need to restore to factory settings? (how to do this?)

and install the latest avalon firmware?
thanks

Google "WR703N reset safe mode" will help you in more detail, but you need to hold down the reset button when you power on the router until it flashes really fast. Then it will default to loading some 'safe' firmware with a known IP.

ToRs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 02:01:33 AM
 #14

thought of it and tried... but something is not right with the outcome...

after typing in firstboot... it asked me to confirm that all settings will be deleted... but after keying in "y" is says something is not loaded... (something like jffs2)

been looking for a hard reset... but couldn't find anything...


i have saw 1 post saying that there's a difference between failsafe mode on the factory settings.. and failsafe mode on openwrt...

the 2nd one ill be trying now... just took some sleep cause this thing already took me all day to figure out... lol
ToRs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 03:38:15 AM
 #15

ok.. so my bad... the failsafe mode works...

only thing wrong it what i did was.. after restarting.. i did try to find the router again at 192.168.1.1...

but actually.. it was set back to 192.168.0.100...

so all is okay... able to see my miner mining...

then reading some more.. i saw a new firmware for avalon which i ended upgrading mine... and now end up with this problem...

[Firmware Version] => 20140201
cgminer: 698d677
cgminer-openwrt-packages: 7a823a7
luci: 4544a03
Socket connect failed: Connection refused


lol... i should have stayed in my old version... sad thing is i didn't note down what version it was...

any idea what could possibly be the error here?
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2014, 06:11:14 AM
 #16

[Firmware Version] => 20140201
cgminer: 698d677
cgminer-openwrt-packages: 7a823a7
luci: 4544a03
Socket connect failed: Connection refused


lol... i should have stayed in my old version... sad thing is i didn't note down what version it was...

any idea what could possibly be the error here?
Check the frequency you set it at, it will only boot at stock and a few different (bad) multiples.

ToRs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 09:59:39 AM
 #17

i see.. thanks for taking time to answer me bro...

but got some more question...

my avalon is the knock off from china... and i read somewhere that this version doesn't fit my miner.. and i should be using the 20131123 instead?

is this true?

also... i noticed earlier when i had it running.. it gives to much HW errors...

http://i62.tinypic.com/2128xnq.jpg


sorry if this is too much.. but i got no other person here to ask... =D



also... in the diagnostics... i can only ping the IP.. not the URL... so my solution was to define the IP of the pools in the Hostname..

but seems slash pool has been changing IPs from time to time... i
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1456


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
March 15, 2014, 03:05:06 PM
 #18

Everything is fine, leave it alone to mine now.

ToRs
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
March 15, 2014, 06:07:32 PM
 #19

just for other's reference... incase somebody else's encounter the same issue i have...


1. Upgraded firmware to 20140201
- Won't work on 55nm avalon i think... i reverted back to 20131123.. you can find the bin files here
Code:
http://downloads.qi-hardware.com/people/xiangfu/avalon/


2. Couldn't resolve URL, can only Ping IP
- use 8.8.8.8 as your DNS


3. a lot of rejected work
- i find setting frequency to 1200 keeps me at 0 rejects... will try to play a little more and see if i can find my sweet spot.



for the hardware errors... still couldn't understand why i am getting too much... and how to lower it down if not totally avoid having it...

haaggus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile WWW
March 16, 2014, 06:28:55 AM
 #20

Dogie, I got the Corsair cx750 PSU, and it does not even turn on. Right out of the box, plugged-into the wall... Nothing. Not even a spark. Should I send it back?

https://bitcoin-trader.biz/?ref=dcmining
Pages: [1] 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 »  All
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!