Bitcoin Forum
February 16, 2019, 02:39:17 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 426 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] BTC Guild - Pays TxFees+NMC, Stratum, VarDiff, Private Servers  (Read 901186 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
ice_chill
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 250


View Profile
October 11, 2012, 03:34:07 PM
 #1101

CGminer 2.8.2 is broke for my FPGA Single and many others report the same https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=28402.7540
1550327957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550327957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550327957
Reply with quote  #2

1550327957
Report to moderator
1550327957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550327957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550327957
Reply with quote  #2

1550327957
Report to moderator
1550327957
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1550327957

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1550327957
Reply with quote  #2

1550327957
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 11, 2012, 09:21:03 PM
 #1102

Looks like cgminer's stratum support doesnt work properly on windows yet. You can bypass it by using http and --fix-protocol options but that defeats the purpose and you may as well use 2.7.7. Linux users stratum should work fine (I use it myself).

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626
Merit: 500


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
October 12, 2012, 12:32:03 AM
 #1103

Riiiiiiiiiiiiiight - trap all small miners into your stupid pool in order to prevent blockchain from becoming bloated. Fuck you!

I swear - if someone gives me a button which would permanently eliminate current and any future pool owners, I'd press
it right now. What next showoff of your power we can expect? Miners with less than 1 GHash/sec can't join? Fuck you!

You're welcome to fuck off and mine solo.

Sure, but not before I withdraw my BTCs from your pool. I don't need them, but I ain't gonna leave any for you.

If 0.10 BTC is too much for a miner to accumulate before needing to withdraw, then maybe they should reconsider mining, since they're obviously losing money by doing so.

That's not your fucking business. Leave profit-oriented suggestions for profit-oriented scumbags like you are.

You sir are a douche...
organofcorti
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2058
Merit: 1006


Poor impulse control.


View Profile WWW
October 12, 2012, 12:52:00 AM
 #1104

If 0.10 BTC is too much for a miner to accumulate before needing to withdraw, then maybe they should reconsider mining, since they're obviously losing money by doing so.

That's not your fucking business. Leave profit-oriented suggestions for profit-oriented scumbags like you are.

So .... why are you complaining if you aren't a profit oriented scumbag yourself?

Bitcoin network and pool analysis 12QxPHEuxDrs7mCyGSx1iVSozTwtquDB3r
follow @oocBlog for new post notifications
Naelr
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 231
Merit: 100


View Profile WWW
October 12, 2012, 01:47:44 AM
 #1105

Riiiiiiiiiiiiiight - trap all small miners into your stupid pool in order to prevent blockchain from becoming bloated. Fuck you!

I swear - if someone gives me a button which would permanently eliminate current and any future pool owners, I'd press
it right now. What next showoff of your power we can expect? Miners with less than 1 GHash/sec can't join? Fuck you!

You're welcome to fuck off and mine solo.

Sure, but not before I withdraw my BTCs from your pool. I don't need them, but I ain't gonna leave any for you.

If 0.10 BTC is too much for a miner to accumulate before needing to withdraw, then maybe they should reconsider mining, since they're obviously losing money by doing so.

That's not your fucking business. Leave profit-oriented suggestions for profit-oriented scumbags like you are.

What I don't understand is why someone hasn't kicked this guy off the forums he is obviously a troll looking to stir up some shit.  If you don't understand how PPS works or pools work or why your slow card isn't creating hundreds of BTC for you perhaps you should do you homework and ask the right questions.  I have been mining BTC for over a year now and I have been with BTC Guild for almost that entire time. Eleuthria has been informative, professional and an all around stand up guy!  I am a loyal BTC Guild miner for life... keep up the good work eleuthria I appreciate you.

Naelr

Join me in hosted mining.  And always use 2 Factor Auth whenever possible.
CEX.IO hosting mining
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 12, 2012, 10:13:13 AM
 #1106

Looks like cgminer's stratum support doesnt work properly on windows yet. You can bypass it by using http and --fix-protocol options but that defeats the purpose and you may as well use 2.7.7. Linux users stratum should work fine (I use it myself).
And I've updated cgminer yet again. Hopefully 2.8.3 should be the one that brings stable stratum mining with cgminer to the masses.

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1002



View Profile
October 12, 2012, 10:21:14 AM
 #1107

Looks like cgminer's stratum support doesnt work properly on windows yet. You can bypass it by using http and --fix-protocol options but that defeats the purpose and you may as well use 2.7.7. Linux users stratum should work fine (I use it myself).
And I've updated cgminer yet again. Hopefully 2.8.3 should be the one that brings stable stratum mining with cgminer to the masses.

Thanks for the consistent updates when rolling out the stratum support.  Great to see the bugs getting reported and fixed in a 24 hour window normally.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1154


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 12, 2012, 10:47:21 AM
 #1108

Looks like cgminer's stratum support doesnt work properly on windows yet. You can bypass it by using http and --fix-protocol options but that defeats the purpose and you may as well use 2.7.7. Linux users stratum should work fine (I use it myself).
And I've updated cgminer yet again. Hopefully 2.8.3 should be the one that brings stable stratum mining with cgminer to the masses.

Thanks for the consistent updates when rolling out the stratum support.  Great to see the bugs getting reported and fixed in a 24 hour window normally.

Quote
<Eleuthria> Now that I've paid you, I own you.  Get ta work! Smiley

Developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
ZERO FEE Pooled mining at ckpool.org, 1% Fee Solo mining at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1002



View Profile
October 13, 2012, 04:30:06 AM
Last edit: October 13, 2012, 04:46:30 AM by eleuthria
 #1109

The Stratum pools (Chicago, Dallas, and Germany) will be doing rolling restarts tomorrow at 10 AM (PDT, 5 PM GMT).  This will be adding back the "Block Solved" counters, and they will only be counting BTC blocks.  After the fix, the Hall of Fame will be resetting the Blocks Found counter.  Your old stats will be made visible at the bottom of the page just so you can look at your old number if you feel the need Smiley.

This will be the first restart of Stratum pools in over 2 weeks.  Everything has gone better than expected, with the only hiccups being some bugs in the first releases of cgminer to support Stratum.  The pool loads have gone to record low numbers, and this evening we've had a few peaks above 800 GH/s on the Stratum pools.  Bring on ASIC mining, the Stratum pools are ready for more power!

The expected downtime is around 3 seconds per server, with a 30 second window between restarting each server.  The Stratum based pools restart significantly faster than the old PoolServerJ servers, so downtime will be minimal.

EDIT/UPDATE:  Just to clarify, these restarts will be happening SATURDAY at 10 AM PDT/5 PM GMT.  The word "tomorrow" is a bit ambiguous since it's almost Saturday in PDT time, and it's already Saturday for most the world.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1002



View Profile
October 13, 2012, 06:09:04 PM
 #1110

Rolling restarts are over.  All stratum servers are up and running after a few seconds of downtime to update the software.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
iidx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 14, 2012, 03:46:05 AM
 #1111

Not sure if this has been asked and answered already, if it has I apologize.

Will the current (non stratum) interface be removed at some point?  I've been mining for a little over a year at BTC Guild with a non standard FPGA setup (6 PCIe FPGA dev boards, only 2250 MH/s total) using my own software to get and send work to the pool (since my FPGA interfaces aren't supported by the popular mining apps).

If there's a plan to move to stratum only connections, I'll assume you'll give everybody a heads up before the old protocol is shutdown?  That kind of news would get me off my butt and motivate me to actually revise my software to work with the new protocol  Grin.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1002



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 03:54:37 AM
 #1112

Not sure if this has been asked and answered already, if it has I apologize.

Will the current (non stratum) interface be removed at some point?  I've been mining for a little over a year at BTC Guild with a non standard FPGA setup (6 PCIe FPGA dev boards, only 2250 MH/s total) using my own software to get and send work to the pool (since my FPGA interfaces aren't supported by the popular mining apps).

If there's a plan to move to stratum only connections, I'll assume you'll give everybody a heads up before the old protocol is shutdown?  That kind of news would get me off my butt and motivate me to actually revise my software to work with the new protocol  Grin.


There are no plans to eliminate the non-stratum interface entirely.  However, as more people move to Stratum, I may eventually change DNS entries and merge multiple pool servers together, eventually pointing all of the getwork connections to a single server.  In this scenario, you would eventually lose the ability to run multiple BTC Guild servers as failovers, aside from one in the US and one in Germany.

Since I colocate my servers in Chicago and Dallas with multiple servers in each, this may never happen since it would not save me anything on operating costs, outside of possibly freeing up enough amps to fit another server in the rack without going over my limit.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
iidx
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35
Merit: 0


View Profile
October 14, 2012, 06:45:29 AM
 #1113

Thank you for the info!
bitcoindaddy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 479
Merit: 500


View Profile
October 14, 2012, 03:24:19 PM
 #1114

The Stratum pool in Chicago will become the default pool, since our Chicago connection is significantly higher quality than the one in Dallas TX.  Chicago has had only 1 minute of downtime in 2012 which may have been outside of my switch in the DC, but I was never able to confirm due to the shortness of the outage.

Sorry, which one is chicago? (DNS name?)

Is it possible to specify the stratum server directly to cgminer without having it switch off the getwork pool?
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1002



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 03:43:44 PM
 #1115

The Stratum pool in Chicago will become the default pool, since our Chicago connection is significantly higher quality than the one in Dallas TX.  Chicago has had only 1 minute of downtime in 2012 which may have been outside of my switch in the DC, but I was never able to confirm due to the shortness of the outage.

Sorry, which one is chicago? (DNS name?)

Is it possible to specify the stratum server directly to cgminer without having it switch off the getwork pool?

Every DNS except for de.btcguild.com (and a few other very old European based DNS entries) point to Chicago currently, unless you connect to dallas.btcguild.com port 9332.

Right now I'm not allowing a direct stratum connection because it's running on different ports depending on which server it's on.  Once I have a chance to clean up all the stale ports so that it's consistent between all servers I'll publish a list of direct stratum DNS:port combinations.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626
Merit: 500


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
October 14, 2012, 05:23:26 PM
 #1116

The Stratum pool in Chicago will become the default pool, since our Chicago connection is significantly higher quality than the one in Dallas TX.  Chicago has had only 1 minute of downtime in 2012 which may have been outside of my switch in the DC, but I was never able to confirm due to the shortness of the outage.

Sorry, which one is chicago? (DNS name?)

Is it possible to specify the stratum server directly to cgminer without having it switch off the getwork pool?

Every DNS except for de.btcguild.com (and a few other very old European based DNS entries) point to Chicago currently, unless you connect to dallas.btcguild.com port 9332.

Right now I'm not allowing a direct stratum connection because it's running on different ports depending on which server it's on.  Once I have a chance to clean up all the stale ports so that it's consistent between all servers I'll publish a list of direct stratum DNS:port combinations.

With all the changes lately, I was wondering if I'm still connected to the optimal server(s). Is stratum.btcguild.com ok to connect to? Also, is the "private" pool from a while back still valid? It works, I am still using it for the backup backup pool for non-stratum rigs, just wanted to make sure.

Thanks again.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750
Merit: 1002



View Profile
October 14, 2012, 06:44:56 PM
 #1117


With all the changes lately, I was wondering if I'm still connected to the optimal server(s). Is stratum.btcguild.com ok to connect to? Also, is the "private" pool from a while back still valid? It works, I am still using it for the backup backup pool for non-stratum rigs, just wanted to make sure.

Thanks again.


Yes, stratum.btcguild.com is ok (it's Dallas, forgot to list that one).  I don't like to point people there anymore because it's not on port 8332 like the others, so unless you know the port you can't get onto it.

The "private" server is still around, though it's not protected like it was before.  I had to take down the EC2 instances because the costs were completely insane on bandwidth.  With the absolutely terrible luck for the last 4 weeks straight, I can't afford to be spending an extra $600/mo on EC2 bandwidth.  Once stratum support is close to universal, I might try using it again.

RIP BTC Guild, April 2011 - June 2015
BitMinerN8
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 626
Merit: 500


Mining since May 2011.


View Profile
October 14, 2012, 06:55:43 PM
 #1118


With all the changes lately, I was wondering if I'm still connected to the optimal server(s). Is stratum.btcguild.com ok to connect to? Also, is the "private" pool from a while back still valid? It works, I am still using it for the backup backup pool for non-stratum rigs, just wanted to make sure.

Thanks again.


Yes, stratum.btcguild.com is ok (it's Dallas, forgot to list that one).  I don't like to point people there anymore because it's not on port 8332 like the others, so unless you know the port you can't get onto it.

The "private" server is still around, though it's not protected like it was before.  I had to take down the EC2 instances because the costs were completely insane on bandwidth.  With the absolutely terrible luck for the last 4 weeks straight, I can't afford to be spending an extra $600/mo on EC2 bandwidth.  Once stratum support is close to universal, I might try using it again.

Yeah, that is crazy money. Ok, I'll switch to just btcguild.com as the stratum server then. Thanks.
beekeeper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


LTC


View Profile WWW
October 15, 2012, 09:15:33 PM
 #1119

Is there any upper limit?  Shocked
Quote
2012-10-15 11:00:46,516 INFO proxy client_service.handle_event # Setting new difficulty: 64

25Khs at 5W Litecoin USB dongle (FPGA), 45kHs overclocked
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=310926
Litecoin FPGA shop -> http://ltcgear.com
iCEBREAKER
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2072
Merit: 1063


Crypto is the separation of Power and State.


View Profile WWW
October 15, 2012, 09:54:51 PM
 #1120

Why no stratum on port80?  All the others are working great!  Thanks MM!


██████████
█████████████████
██████████████████████
█████████████████████████
████████████████████████████
████
████████████████████████
█████
███████████████████████████
█████
███████████████████████████
██████
████████████████████████████
██████
████████████████████████████
██████
████████████████████████████
██████
███████████████████████████
██████
██████████████████████████
█████
███████████████████████████
█████████████
██████████████
████████████████████████████
█████████████████████████
██████████████████████
█████████████████
██████████

Monero
"The difference between bad and well-developed digital cash will determine
whether we have a dictatorship or a real democracy." 
David Chaum 1996
"Fungibility provides privacy as a side effect."  Adam Back 2014
Buy and sell XMR near you
P2P Exchange Network
Buy XMR with fiat
Is Dash a scam?
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 426 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Bitcointalk.org is not available or authorized for sale. Do not believe any fake listings.
Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!