Bitcoin Forum
December 10, 2016, 08:37:28 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 426 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] BTC Guild - Pays TxFees+NMC, Stratum, VarDiff, Private Servers  (Read 829665 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
BitcoinOxygen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 07:05:56 PM
 #1481

The problem with one getwork server has been fixed.  I'm HIGHLY recommending people quit using ancient miners and update to a Stratum enabled miner, or run the Stratum Proxy if that is not an option.

I'm connected but still have miner going on and off. I'd love to switch to Stratum but I have all my rig running BAMT. I have not had time to look into what needs to be done to switch. Can it even be used with BAMT?


Yes stratum can be used with BAMT.

If you need help setting it up please PM me and i will help you.

Regards
BitcoinOxygen

BTCOxygen PPS Mining Pool 2% Fee  <<<  Join Now
1481402248
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402248

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402248
Reply with quote  #2

1481402248
Report to moderator
1481402248
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402248

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402248
Reply with quote  #2

1481402248
Report to moderator
1481402248
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402248

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402248
Reply with quote  #2

1481402248
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481402248
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402248

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402248
Reply with quote  #2

1481402248
Report to moderator
1481402248
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402248

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402248
Reply with quote  #2

1481402248
Report to moderator
1481402248
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481402248

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481402248
Reply with quote  #2

1481402248
Report to moderator
Joshwaa
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 489



View Profile
January 23, 2013, 09:25:57 PM
 #1482

I would like info on setting up bamt with stratum.

Like what I said : 1JosHWaA2GywdZo9pmGLNJ5XSt8j7nzNiF
Don't like what I said : 1FuckU1u89U9nBKQu4rCHz16uF4RhpSTV
Don't Like BFL's Project Management : 1FuckbFLZpmWLuyHyFJw1RGkWm3yRM1L5D
abracadabra
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 946



View Profile
January 23, 2013, 10:01:37 PM
 #1483

I would like info on setting up bamt with stratum.

no need to pm anyone.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=127622.msg1355665#msg1355665

debianlinux
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
January 23, 2013, 10:08:40 PM
 #1484

I use stratum when I can which is mostly never since I'm almost always behind a firewall. I use BTC Guild and Bitminter specifically because they offer port 80 access.
BitcoinOxygen
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336



View Profile WWW
January 23, 2013, 10:28:35 PM
 #1485


Interesting guide.

Regards
BitcoinOxygen

BTCOxygen PPS Mining Pool 2% Fee  <<<  Join Now
deadwoodluke
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 29


View Profile
January 24, 2013, 12:03:40 AM
 #1486

I was just wondering is cgminer reporting an efficiency of 555% is normal. It is always around there btw, I use stratum.
beekeeper
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406


LTC


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2013, 01:13:05 AM
 #1487

I was just wondering is cgminer reporting an efficiency of 555% is normal. It is always around there btw, I use stratum.

Well.. yeah, most of the people who read a physics book will wonder.. Cheesy

25Khs at 5W Litecoin USB dongle (FPGA), 45kHs overclocked
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=310926
Litecoin FPGA shop -> http://ltcgear.com
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2013, 02:16:10 AM
 #1488

I was just wondering is cgminer reporting an efficiency of 555% is normal. It is always around there btw, I use stratum.

With Stratum, your efficiency is always going to be extremely high if you're mining on basically any GPU/FPGA.  Basically 1 share [diff1] per 30 seconds = 100% efficiency [if I'm remembering correctly], and it scales from there (1 per 15 = 200%, 1 per 10 = 300%).  I may be wrong, I can't remember exactly how efficiency was calculated on Stratum, since you basically receive 1 work unit per 30 seconds regardless of your speed.  The stat is mostly useless because of that fact.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
Frequency
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


sheeople


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2013, 09:10:46 AM
 #1489

Hello,

I was wondering why almost 60% of the BTCGUILD users are still on getwork???

I use cgminer so it automatically went to stratum with the later versions..!!!

I must say my setup runs very stable and 24/7 on Linux.... Wink






Put your money were your mouth is…       #coinderdotcom
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2013, 09:50:26 AM
 #1490

I was just wondering is cgminer reporting an efficiency of 555% is normal. It is always around there btw, I use stratum.

With Stratum, your efficiency is always going to be extremely high if you're mining on basically any GPU/FPGA.  Basically 1 share [diff1] per 30 seconds = 100% efficiency [if I'm remembering correctly], and it scales from there (1 per 15 = 200%, 1 per 10 = 300%).  I may be wrong, I can't remember exactly how efficiency was calculated on Stratum, since you basically receive 1 work unit per 30 seconds regardless of your speed.  The stat is mostly useless because of that fact.
Yes that's right. It's largely of historical value when the getwork protocol was often the rate limiting step and means less and less with both stratum and variable difficulty.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2013, 06:17:06 PM
 #1491

Hello,

I was wondering why almost 60% of the BTCGUILD users are still on getwork???

I use cgminer so it automatically went to stratum with the later versions..!!!

I must say my setup runs very stable and 24/7 on Linux.... Wink


Yeah, I can leave my FPGAs on Stratum and the only time I get an idle warning is when I unplugged them.  I don't know why there is so much resistance to moving to Stratum on BTC Guild, there's quite an obnoxious warning to users who aren't using Stratum, but I suppose most users don't go to the site frequently enough for it to bother them.  I suppose once ASICs start to show up, I might have to take more drastic measures to encourage users to switch to Stratum [higher fees for using getwork, or something similar].  We had about 50% of the pool on Stratum for a while, but then ~300 GH/s of new miners showed up and they're almost exclusively on Getwork.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 24, 2013, 11:00:55 PM
 #1492

Hello,

I was wondering why almost 60% of the BTCGUILD users are still on getwork???

I use cgminer so it automatically went to stratum with the later versions..!!!

I must say my setup runs very stable and 24/7 on Linux.... Wink


Yeah, I can leave my FPGAs on Stratum and the only time I get an idle warning is when I unplugged them.  I don't know why there is so much resistance to moving to Stratum on BTC Guild, there's quite an obnoxious warning to users who aren't using Stratum, but I suppose most users don't go to the site frequently enough for it to bother them.  I suppose once ASICs start to show up, I might have to take more drastic measures to encourage users to switch to Stratum [higher fees for using getwork, or something similar].  We had about 50% of the pool on Stratum for a while, but then ~300 GH/s of new miners showed up and they're almost exclusively on Getwork.
Don't underestimate the amount of inertia on the part of miners. A large chunk of miners simply start mining and once everything is working they never touch it again till it breaks.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
debianlinux
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 221


View Profile
January 25, 2013, 02:46:45 PM
 #1493

When stratum works on port 80 I'll switch to stratum, mmkay.
iidx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
January 25, 2013, 03:48:06 PM
 #1494

I'm still using getwork because I have to use home made mining software to drive my FPGAs (I use a handful of pcie based FPGA dev cards).  I didn't know there was a stratum proxy available, maybe I will try seeing if that works soon.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2013, 04:25:30 PM
 #1495

I'm still using getwork because I have to use home made mining software to drive my FPGAs (I use a handful of pcie based FPGA dev cards).  I didn't know there was a stratum proxy available, maybe I will try seeing if that works soon.

The proxy is actually the best solution if you have a large number of mining clients required.  Native support is good in cgminer, since it will run multiple cards over one stratum connection.  However, if you have multiple PCs, they can all run through a single stratum connection via the proxy.  Stratum's work distribution method supplies you more work every 30 seconds than you could possibly exhaust.  Paired with variable difficulty, this means an entire farm of 100 PCs on the proxy uses roughly the same amount of external bandwidth as each PC would use individually with native stratum clients.  There is one small disadvantage, which is you lose fine measurement of individual rig performance under a proxy connection with multiple machines.

They each report separately, but because variable difficulty affects your whole farm, the time between shares on a per-worker basis will be longer.  Since they're solving higher difficulty work, this isn't a huge issue, it just means the per-worker speed estimates will be subject to higher variance.  That could be solved by splitting a large farm over a handful of proxies to keep per-worker variance lower.  Overall account variance is effectively unchanged regardless.


You can read up on how to start the proxy at: http://www.btcguild.com/stratum.php [or click 'Stratum Protocol' under Help & Support].


EDIT/UPDATE:  Just to be clear, I'm saying that the proxy is the best/most efficient solution for a large farm, but it does provide a single point of failure.  Having an automatic detection/restart of a proxy failure would mostly eliminate that risk.  If you're somebody who sets up their miner and completely ignores them for days at a time, it may not be the best solution.  Idle warnings would give notification of a full proxy failure though!

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
nbtcminer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 247


View Profile
January 25, 2013, 04:48:52 PM
 #1496

@Eleutheria:

+1. I ended up switching to stratum when I had some downtime and man I can't believe it how much more efficient it was. I should have switched as soon as it came out.
iidx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
January 25, 2013, 06:26:45 PM
 #1497

I'm still using getwork because I have to use home made mining software to drive my FPGAs (I use a handful of pcie based FPGA dev cards).  I didn't know there was a stratum proxy available, maybe I will try seeing if that works soon.

The proxy is actually the best solution if you have a large number of mining clients required.  Native support is good in cgminer, since it will run multiple cards over one stratum connection.  However, if you have multiple PCs, they can all run through a single stratum connection via the proxy.  Stratum's work distribution method supplies you more work every 30 seconds than you could possibly exhaust.  Paired with variable difficulty, this means an entire farm of 100 PCs on the proxy uses roughly the same amount of external bandwidth as each PC would use individually with native stratum clients.  There is one small disadvantage, which is you lose fine measurement of individual rig performance under a proxy connection with multiple machines.

They each report separately, but because variable difficulty affects your whole farm, the time between shares on a per-worker basis will be longer.  Since they're solving higher difficulty work, this isn't a huge issue, it just means the per-worker speed estimates will be subject to higher variance.  That could be solved by splitting a large farm over a handful of proxies to keep per-worker variance lower.  Overall account variance is effectively unchanged regardless.


You can read up on how to start the proxy at: http://www.btcguild.com/stratum.php [or click 'Stratum Protocol' under Help & Support].


EDIT/UPDATE:  Just to be clear, I'm saying that the proxy is the best/most efficient solution for a large farm, but it does provide a single point of failure.  Having an automatic detection/restart of a proxy failure would mostly eliminate that risk.  If you're somebody who sets up their miner and completely ignores them for days at a time, it may not be the best solution.  Idle warnings would give notification of a full proxy failure though!

I actually run 6 cards inside 1 pc (well, 1 card is inside and 5 cards are connected via an external pcie dev motherboard), and the software I wrote controls all of them in one instance.  Each card has 3 separate mining cores, but in the end there is only one instance of my software managing all the miners.  So, currently I have a single point of failure now anyway.

I will probably give it a shot soon and cross my fingers!  Hopefully my software won't know the difference.
Frequency
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518


sheeople


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2013, 07:14:02 PM
 #1498

Hey,

Were is lady luck at the moment reffering to pplns ..i pointed half of  my rigs at it today but i don not hope its me having this unlucky strike of block finds...   Huh Huh

It will hopefully get better i want to keep pplns ..for some longer period to see what wiull happen... Grin

Put your money were your mouth is…       #coinderdotcom
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 25, 2013, 10:17:32 PM
 #1499

Hey,

Were is lady luck at the moment reffering to pplns ..i pointed half of  my rigs at it today but i don not hope its me having this unlucky strike of block finds...   Huh Huh

It will hopefully get better i want to keep pplns ..for some longer period to see what wiull happen... Grin

You missed the luck train Sad.  The previous 3 days had some great runs of blocks, but the last 24 hours have been pretty bad.



I will probably give it a shot soon and cross my fingers!  Hopefully my software won't know the difference.

The proxy should trick any properly setup software.  The proxy talks to mining software in the old getwork protocol.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
iidx
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
January 25, 2013, 10:44:53 PM
 #1500

Hey,

Were is lady luck at the moment reffering to pplns ..i pointed half of  my rigs at it today but i don not hope its me having this unlucky strike of block finds...   Huh Huh

It will hopefully get better i want to keep pplns ..for some longer period to see what wiull happen... Grin

You missed the luck train Sad.  The previous 3 days had some great runs of blocks, but the last 24 hours have been pretty bad.



I will probably give it a shot soon and cross my fingers!  Hopefully my software won't know the difference.

The proxy should trick any properly setup software.  The proxy talks to mining software in the old getwork protocol.

Well I've fired up the proxy and switched to pplns.  So far so good...
Pages: « 1 ... 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 [75] 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 ... 426 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!