Bitcoin Forum
April 25, 2024, 03:28:51 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 ... 96 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANNOUNCE] Electrum - Lightweight Bitcoin Client  (Read 274472 times)
Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1003


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 04:06:38 AM
 #621

Might I suggest you add a
Code:
sys.exit(0)

at the end of the while(True) in the watch_addresses file and then add an option to allow the script to end after its looped?

I've been trying to call this python script from another language and it just sits there awaiting for the connection to end and it never did i spent hours trying to figure out why. Anyways my situation is probably really specific but still adding a comment in thurr to reduce future programmers frustration or something. anyways great work mate, I've learned a lot about bitcoin tearing your library apart!

indeed, an option to end the loop would be useful
In fact I am thinking of making it a more general purpose program, that calls a command-line program each time an address receives or sends a payment
Something similar to the linux "at" command.



Would be interesting to see how that comes out, I don't know python well enough to contribute to anything but I see the amount of time it took to create everything..

I'm having an issue on an angstrom linux flavor maybe you could help me out with this Its a fresh install python version 2.7.2 and i installed electrum with no bugs(with the edcsa, slowaes packages installed) but i get the following error
Quote
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "setup.py", line 18, in <module>
    for lang in os.listdir('locale'):
OSError: [Errno 2] No such file or directory: 'locale'


What shall I do?  (I'm guessing for a quick fix I should look through the python and set the locale but i thought you'd like to know bow this error.)

just create the locale dir, or run mki18n.py
(I hope you have this problem because you are using the current git version)


To those who run into this issue I found:
I couldn't find where mki18n.py was so I just created one directory named "locale" (with out quotations) inside the electrum folder and the elctrum setup.py install file didn't return any errors and seems to be working fine thus far. Thanks again thomasV
The forum strives to allow free discussion of any ideas. All policies are built around this principle. This doesn't mean you can post garbage, though: posts should actually contain ideas, and these ideas should be argued reasonably.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction.
1714015731
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714015731

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714015731
Reply with quote  #2

1714015731
Report to moderator
1714015731
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1714015731

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1714015731
Reply with quote  #2

1714015731
Report to moderator
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
May 26, 2012, 04:21:48 AM
 #622

Quote
(I hope you have this problem because you are using the current git version)

or not?

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1003


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 04:40:58 AM
 #623

Quote
(I hope you have this problem because you are using the current git version)

or not?
Oh yeah forgot to answer that because i was so excited it worked: yes I git cloned electrum directly to the angstrom box
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
May 26, 2012, 04:47:24 AM
 #624

Quote
(I hope you have this problem because you are using the current git version)

or not?
Oh yeah forgot to answer that because i was so excited it worked: yes I git cloned electrum directly to the angstrom box

in that case you should have a file called mki18n.py

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1003


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 05:38:16 AM
 #625

Quote
(I hope you have this problem because you are using the current git version)

or not?
Oh yeah forgot to answer that because i was so excited it worked: yes I git cloned electrum directly to the angstrom box

in that case you should have a file called mki18n.py
I guess I typed it in wrong when I tried to run it -- so to answer your question yeah its there.
Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1003


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 05:47:35 AM
 #626

I'm on angstrom still and when I followed the instructions found here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum#How_to_send_a_transaction_with_an_offline_wallet

I get stuck at the sendtx command and get the following terminal output:
(The file name is indeed called tx_file1 - not typo)

Quote
:~/electrum# electrum sendtx `cat tx_file1`
Connected to electrum.bitcoins.sk:50001
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 448, in <module>
    r, h = wallet.sendtx( tx )
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/electrum/wallet.py", line 813, in sendtx
    tx_hash = Hash(tx.decode('hex') )[::-1].encode('hex')
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/encodings/hex_codec.py", line 42, in hex_decode
    output = binascii.a2b_hex(input)
TypeError: Odd-length string
Thanks mate



*Updated:

I tried the payto command as well and got a different error

Quote
electrum payto 17W7Hpno2CiD9Ma3YBrZfLaQrx61buFxXE 0001
Connected to electrum.bitcoins.sk:50001
Password:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 429, in <module>
    fee = options.tx_fee, change_addr = change_addr, from_addr = from_addr )
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/electrum/wallet.py", line 799, in mktx
    raise BaseException("Not enough funds")
BaseException: Not enough funds
None

ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
May 26, 2012, 06:29:26 AM
 #627

I'm on angstrom still and when I followed the instructions found here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum#How_to_send_a_transaction_with_an_offline_wallet

I get stuck at the sendtx command and get the following terminal output:
(The file name is indeed called tx_file1 - not typo)

Quote
:~/electrum# electrum sendtx `cat tx_file1`
Connected to electrum.bitcoins.sk:50001
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 448, in <module>
    r, h = wallet.sendtx( tx )
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/electrum/wallet.py", line 813, in sendtx
    tx_hash = Hash(tx.decode('hex') )[::-1].encode('hex')
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/encodings/hex_codec.py", line 42, in hex_decode
    output = binascii.a2b_hex(input)
TypeError: Odd-length string
Thanks mate



*Updated:

I tried the payto command as well and got a different error

Quote
electrum payto 17W7Hpno2CiD9Ma3YBrZfLaQrx61buFxXE 0001
Connected to electrum.bitcoins.sk:50001
Password:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 429, in <module>
    fee = options.tx_fee, change_addr = change_addr, from_addr = from_addr )
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/electrum/wallet.py", line 799, in mktx
    raise BaseException("Not enough funds")
BaseException: Not enough funds
None


ok, can you first explain why you updated your first report with another one, completely different and seemingly unrelated?
it might be that you solved the first problem and encountered another one, but if that is the case, it would be clearer to remove your first report completely.
In the absence of information I can only make guesses as to whether your first problem is solved.

Second, your 2nd traceback says "not enough funds".
if you take the time to post this, I assume that it is because you think there is a bug here, and that it should have accepted the transaction.
so, it would help me to know this:
 - did you notice the "not enough funds" message before you posted your bug report?
 - does your wallet actually have enough funds for the transaction? (1btc + fee)
 - is there a reason why you typed 0001 for the amount? looks like you mistyped a decimal point

More generally, when posting a bug report, try to give comprehensive information about the situation.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1003


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 07:24:08 AM
 #628

I'm on angstrom still and when I followed the instructions found here: https://en.bitcoin.it/wiki/Electrum#How_to_send_a_transaction_with_an_offline_wallet

I get stuck at the sendtx command and get the following terminal output:
(The file name is indeed called tx_file1 - not typo)

Quote
:~/electrum# electrum sendtx `cat tx_file1`
Connected to electrum.bitcoins.sk:50001
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 448, in <module>
    r, h = wallet.sendtx( tx )
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/electrum/wallet.py", line 813, in sendtx
    tx_hash = Hash(tx.decode('hex') )[::-1].encode('hex')
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/encodings/hex_codec.py", line 42, in hex_decode
    output = binascii.a2b_hex(input)
TypeError: Odd-length string
Thanks mate



*Updated:

I tried the payto command as well and got a different error

Quote
electrum payto 17W7Hpno2CiD9Ma3YBrZfLaQrx61buFxXE 0001
Connected to electrum.bitcoins.sk:50001
Password:
Traceback (most recent call last):
  File "/usr/bin/electrum", line 429, in <module>
    fee = options.tx_fee, change_addr = change_addr, from_addr = from_addr )
  File "/usr/lib/python2.7/site-packages/electrum/wallet.py", line 799, in mktx
    raise BaseException("Not enough funds")
BaseException: Not enough funds
None


ok, can you first explain why you updated your first report with another one, completely different and seemingly unrelated?
it might be that you solved the first problem and encountered another one, but if that is the case, it would be clearer to remove your first report completely.
In the absence of information I can only make guesses as to whether your first problem is solved.

Second, your 2nd traceback says "not enough funds".
if you take the time to post this, I assume that it is because you think there is a bug here, and that it should have accepted the transaction.
so, it would help me to know this:
 - did you notice the "not enough funds" message before you posted your bug report?
 - does your wallet actually have enough funds for the transaction? (1btc + fee)
 - is there a reason why you typed 0001 for the amount? looks like you mistyped a decimal point

More generally, when posting a bug report, try to give comprehensive information about the situation.

Yes that would help wouldn't it?  Apologies for your waste your time to write all that, I'm usually better at question asking...

Well mainly I just wanted to do a test send of 0.001 BTC & there is currently 0.1001 BTC ( http://blockexplorer.com/address/1oqzzEJKVyChXkgEWb6wkcWoWVPi9KsdN ) and the fee is currently set to the default have not touched it and in the code it seemed both of those payto and sendtx both relayed to sendtx function so i thought the issue might have been related.

The reason there is a 0001 instead of a 0.001 is that was a copy error from the terminal.

Both commands still give me the same errors previously posted above. Please, let me know if i left anything out.
Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1003


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
May 26, 2012, 07:34:58 AM
 #629

For some reason it thinks my balance is zero...
Quote
./electrum balance                   
Connected to electrum.bitcoins.sk:50001
0
~/electrum#


But my addresses say other wise(well just one address has bitcoins in it but here is the output)
Quote
:~/electrum# ./electrum addresses           
1oqzzEJKVyChXkgEWb6wkcWoWVPi9KsdN
13CQNUaA1W91jSRGyBBjAGKWTEbawLQZmL   
1JXXdR7UziFyiGGwkRLaTPqneDwfw5SHzi   
1J8tQak4EFMPoUc3qQgggNq52GbvyViLPt   
1Fsxqa46eDtXsaBbrCvPZqQ5UTDF2d3mkF
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
May 26, 2012, 08:19:42 AM
 #630

For some reason it thinks my balance is zero...
Quote
./electrum balance                   
Connected to electrum.bitcoins.sk:50001
0
~/electrum#

indeed, electrum.bitcoin.sk is having problems.
you would see it with the gui ("server not ready") but the command line lacks a warning
try with ecdsa.org

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
May 26, 2012, 08:22:51 AM
 #631

Yes that would help wouldn't it?  Apologies for your waste your time to write all that, I'm usually better at question asking...

Well mainly I just wanted to do a test send of 0.001 BTC & there is currently 0.1001 BTC ( http://blockexplorer.com/address/1oqzzEJKVyChXkgEWb6wkcWoWVPi9KsdN ) and the fee is currently set to the default have not touched it and in the code it seemed both of those payto and sendtx both relayed to sendtx function so i thought the issue might have been related.

The reason there is a 0001 instead of a 0.001 is that was a copy error from the terminal.

Both commands still give me the same errors previously posted above. Please, let me know if i left anything out.

I cannot tell you what caused the first error; I would need to see the transaction. I guess it was not correctly written to your file

concerning the second error:
the default fee is a fee per tx input.
the transaction you're trying to create has 2 inputs, so the fee would be 0.002 (unless you use the -f option). this explains the error.

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
divergenta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 28, 2012, 02:08:07 PM
 #632

I get 'Socket Error' all the time. Anyone else having this problem? Kind of annyoing thinking about changing back to the traditional client.

I'm using 0.42.
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000

Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2012, 02:18:23 PM
 #633

We're up to .52. Lots of but fixes since .42. Try the latest. I'm very happy with this client.

divergenta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 28, 2012, 02:24:24 PM
Last edit: May 28, 2012, 02:39:47 PM by divergenta
 #634

Oh my, I had totally missed that. Will update and see if it works better.  Cool
Thank you.

Update:
Updated and it works perfectly now!

Electrum in my <3
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000

Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2012, 02:34:15 PM
 #635

 Grin Send a little tip to ThomasV if it works better for you. He's been very responsive to our requests and bug reports.  Grin

divergenta
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 162
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 28, 2012, 02:40:25 PM
 #636

I sure will  Grin
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000

Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2012, 02:40:28 PM
 #637

Just curious, what's keeping this from working on a Mac?

Xenland
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 980
Merit: 1003


I'm not just any shaman, I'm a Sha256man


View Profile
May 28, 2012, 04:13:08 PM
 #638

Yes that would help wouldn't it?  Apologies for your waste your time to write all that, I'm usually better at question asking...

Well mainly I just wanted to do a test send of 0.001 BTC & there is currently 0.1001 BTC ( http://blockexplorer.com/address/1oqzzEJKVyChXkgEWb6wkcWoWVPi9KsdN ) and the fee is currently set to the default have not touched it and in the code it seemed both of those payto and sendtx both relayed to sendtx function so i thought the issue might have been related.

The reason there is a 0001 instead of a 0.001 is that was a copy error from the terminal.

Both commands still give me the same errors previously posted above. Please, let me know if i left anything out.

I cannot tell you what caused the first error; I would need to see the transaction. I guess it was not correctly written to your file

concerning the second error:
the default fee is a fee per tx input.
the transaction you're trying to create has 2 inputs, so the fee would be 0.002 (unless you use the -f option). this explains the error.

it seems that I am observing that python wont connect to the Internet properly to get the balance on my box and there for my tx_file contained the error displaying i had a balance of zero.
Tuxavant
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000

Bitcoin Mayor of Las Vegas


View Profile WWW
May 28, 2012, 07:02:13 PM
 #639

Saw this featured hinted at in another thread...

How, exactly, does electrum monitor off-line address balances?

ThomasV (OP)
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1896
Merit: 1353



View Profile WWW
May 28, 2012, 07:50:28 PM
 #640

Saw this featured hinted at in another thread...

How, exactly, does electrum monitor off-line address balances?

use 'deseed' if you want to watch an offline wallet
if you want to monitor a random address, there's a script named watch_address

Electrum: the convenience of a web wallet, without the risks
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 [32] 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 ... 96 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!