Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 10:29:02 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 [349] 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2029612 times)
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 03:23:42 PM
 #6961

Code:
btcaddress+256
Should be ok.
thanks a lot,but i dont understand,why is
Code:
btcaddress+256
and
if i have another  82g avalon i also use btcaddress+256 ?
Quote
it a  fool idea

when i set btcaddress+256 i got a 99% reject!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

that'd be based off your hardware then,  i thought the avalons could handle variable difficulty.  maybe it's considering sub 256 stuff as rejects

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480890542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890542
Reply with quote  #2

1480890542
Report to moderator
1480890542
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480890542

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480890542
Reply with quote  #2

1480890542
Report to moderator
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
November 12, 2013, 03:29:22 PM
 #6962

Cheers for taking the time for to write that up zvs. It helps  to learn from others with experience.

--max-outgoing doesn't seem to exist on mine, is --outgoing-conns the same thing?  Running on Windows in case it matters.
Whoops.  No, I was just flat out wrong.  I just looked:

    p2pool_group.add_argument('--max-conns', metavar='CONNS',
        help='maximum incoming connections (default: 40)',
        type=int, action='store', default=20, dest='p2pool_conns')
    p2pool_group.add_argument('--outgoing-conns', metavar='CONNS',
        help='outgoing connections (default: 6)',
        type=int, action='store', default=10, dest='p2pool_outgoing_conns')


--outgoing-conns is the correct thing to use.  i've always just modified the source to change the settings.. not sure where I got --max-outgoing from...  and the --p2pool-node additions don't count towards that total

i'll edit the original message

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
gyverlb
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile
November 12, 2013, 04:08:02 PM
 #6963

Code:
btcaddress+256
Should be ok.
thanks a lot,but i dont understand,why is
Code:
btcaddress+256
and
if i have another  82g avalon i also use btcaddress+256 ?
Quote
it a  fool idea

when i set btcaddress+256 i got a 99% reject!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

that'd be based off your hardware then,  i thought the avalons could handle variable difficulty.  maybe it's considering sub 256 stuff as rejects

Avalons use cgminer which handles variable difficulty fine. At least I can confirm mine does (I don't set difficulty manually but p2pool adjusts difficulty automatically anyway and I don't get any suspicious reject %).
zkfq123 probably has a problem specific to his/her setup, but his/her bug report isn't really helpful (google "how to report a bug").

P2pool tuning guide
Trade BTC for €/$ at bitcoin.de (referral), it's cheaper and faster (acts as escrow and lets the buyers do bank transfers).
Tip: 17bdPfKXXvr7zETKRkPG14dEjfgBt5k2dd
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 04:53:00 PM
 #6964

it a  fool idea

when i set btcaddress+256 i got a 99% reject!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!11

256 is too high for 82GH/s.  I don't know where the double your hash rate idea came from.  Read here:

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=274023.0

Or just let p2pool do it for you  Wink

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
ksenter
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 90


View Profile
November 12, 2013, 06:06:56 PM
 #6965

Cheers for taking the time for to write that up zvs. It helps  to learn from others with experience.

--max-outgoing doesn't seem to exist on mine, is --outgoing-conns the same thing?  Running on Windows in case it matters.
Whoops.  No, I was just flat out wrong.  I just looked:

    p2pool_group.add_argument('--max-conns', metavar='CONNS',
        help='maximum incoming connections (default: 40)',
        type=int, action='store', default=20, dest='p2pool_conns')
    p2pool_group.add_argument('--outgoing-conns', metavar='CONNS',
        help='outgoing connections (default: 6)',
        type=int, action='store', default=10, dest='p2pool_outgoing_conns')


--outgoing-conns is the correct thing to use.  i've always just modified the source to change the settings.. not sure where I got --max-outgoing from...  and the --p2pool-node additions don't count towards that total

i'll edit the original message

Awesome thanks for the clarification!
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2013, 12:24:37 AM
 #6966

14iVxhdTHgog4nU6DmRzEmuXvJ2PxgqQ3w

7.8% orphans, 9.1% DOA over 375 shares on what looks like a local node, despite the doa % (not sure why else it'd be on a roadrunner cable line)

pm me if you want to fix it

1QKkhvTNVWbg3w1CFCVDUrgWJ8w5iRWaNF

8.5% orphans over 610 shares on a node in Germany (!)       (ed: there's also a secondary issue here)

pm me if you want to fix it

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
phillipsjk
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1008

Let the chips fall where they may.


View Profile WWW
November 15, 2013, 06:59:32 AM
 #6967


tip #7: compile bitcoind with outgoing connections of 1, run bitcoind with listen=1, maxconnections=2, with one node on connect... well, that's what I do, since I can monitor it constantly.. you'd probably want to change maxconnections to 3 or 4, in case one of the nodes craps out, be it due to the Interpol, cult of the dead cow, or whatever else.  an example conf file,


While a low number of connections may save bandwidth, wouldn't it possibly have the side-effect of making the Bitcoin network less resilient?

I guess I will see how much bandwidth is used when I finally get my node up.

James' OpenPGP public key fingerprint: EB14 9E5B F80C 1F2D 3EBE  0A2F B3DE 81FF 7B9D 5160
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2013, 03:36:33 PM
 #6968


tip #7: compile bitcoind with outgoing connections of 1, run bitcoind with listen=1, maxconnections=2, with one node on connect... well, that's what I do, since I can monitor it constantly.. you'd probably want to change maxconnections to 3 or 4, in case one of the nodes craps out, be it due to the Interpol, cult of the dead cow, or whatever else.  an example conf file,


While a low number of connections may save bandwidth, wouldn't it possibly have the side-effect of making the Bitcoin network less resilient?

I guess I will see how much bandwidth is used when I finally get my node up.

yeah, but if you are trying to run a node locally and are bandwidth starved, that's something you should do.  

otherwise you'll either randomly connect to an outgoing peer that is missing part of the block chain or have one connect to you.  then your upstream is saturated

i think it's not so bad in other parts of the world, but in the US, you really get gimped on upstream

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
jedimstr
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784



View Profile
November 15, 2013, 04:32:09 PM
 #6969


tip #7: compile bitcoind with outgoing connections of 1, run bitcoind with listen=1, maxconnections=2, with one node on connect... well, that's what I do, since I can monitor it constantly.. you'd probably want to change maxconnections to 3 or 4, in case one of the nodes craps out, be it due to the Interpol, cult of the dead cow, or whatever else.  an example conf file,


While a low number of connections may save bandwidth, wouldn't it possibly have the side-effect of making the Bitcoin network less resilient?

I guess I will see how much bandwidth is used when I finally get my node up.

yeah, but if you are trying to run a node locally and are bandwidth starved, that's something you should do.  

otherwise you'll either randomly connect to an outgoing peer that is missing part of the block chain or have one connect to you.  then your upstream is saturated

i think it's not so bad in other parts of the world, but in the US, you really get gimped on upstream

Not all of us... I've got 75down/35up rated (typically 86down/39up actual).  FiOS kicks a$$.

Running a local node at galactica.geekgalaxy.com:9332  
Any tips? Wink

maqifrnswa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 454


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 05:10:06 PM
 #6970

@zvs: When I'm mining on your node, and it goes down, my cgminer client totally locks up and stops working. Other nodes, however, don't have that problem and cgminer properly switches to failover nodes. Has anyone else seen this on your node? I don't remember the error it gave; I stopped mining on it after it happened a few times (3 times last week).
matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2013, 05:19:28 PM
 #6971

@zvs: When I'm mining on your node, and it goes down, my cgminer client totally locks up and stops working. Other nodes, however, don't have that problem and cgminer properly switches to failover nodes. Has anyone else seen this on your node? I don't remember the error it gave; I stopped mining on it after it happened a few times (3 times last week).

This keeps happening to us on OGnasty's node and we've had to take 1.1TH off P2Pool because of this plus we'll have 650GH/s Jupiter soon to hash on as well.  So that's 1.75TH/s for P2Pool if anyone can help us.  Does anyone have a list of the nodes you mention that enable a fallover?

Edit:  Although my friend hosting the miners says it's cgminer actually crashing and is a cgminer problem.

maqifrnswa
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 454


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 05:47:43 PM
 #6972

@zvs: When I'm mining on your node, and it goes down, my cgminer client totally locks up and stops working. Other nodes, however, don't have that problem and cgminer properly switches to failover nodes. Has anyone else seen this on your node? I don't remember the error it gave; I stopped mining on it after it happened a few times (3 times last week).

This keeps happening to us on OGnasty's node and we've had to take 1.1TH off P2Pool because of this plus we'll have 650GH/s Jupiter soon to hash on as well.  So that's 1.75TH/s for P2Pool if anyone can help us.  Does anyone have a list of the nodes you mention that enable a fallover?

Edit:  Although my friend hosting the miners says it's cgminer actually crashing and is a cgminer problem.

it is a cgminer problem, I think I found some info here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=188533.0

funny thing is that OgNasty's node failsover fine for me! I have much smaller hashrate, maybe that has something to do with it too.
matthewh3
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1372



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2013, 09:57:23 PM
 #6973

@zvs: When I'm mining on your node, and it goes down, my cgminer client totally locks up and stops working. Other nodes, however, don't have that problem and cgminer properly switches to failover nodes. Has anyone else seen this on your node? I don't remember the error it gave; I stopped mining on it after it happened a few times (3 times last week).

This keeps happening to us on OGnasty's node and we've had to take 1.1TH off P2Pool because of this plus we'll have 650GH/s Jupiter soon to hash on as well.  So that's 1.75TH/s for P2Pool if anyone can help us.  Does anyone have a list of the nodes you mention that enable a fallover?

Edit:  Although my friend hosting the miners says it's cgminer actually crashing and is a cgminer problem.

it is a cgminer problem, I think I found some info here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=188533.0

funny thing is that OgNasty's node failsover fine for me! I have much smaller hashrate, maybe that has something to do with it too.

KNC have released a new firmware update today.  If anyone finds out this stops the cgminer P2Pool for KNC Jupiters bug let me know and the pool will gain 1.75TH.

zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2013, 10:21:13 PM
 #6974

@zvs: When I'm mining on your node, and it goes down, my cgminer client totally locks up and stops working. Other nodes, however, don't have that problem and cgminer properly switches to failover nodes. Has anyone else seen this on your node? I don't remember the error it gave; I stopped mining on it after it happened a few times (3 times last week).

I think this is caused by the stratum interrupts when the p2pool doesn't find a new share for 90 seconds?

It says something about it when I have my video card pointed there too, stops for about 1/2 a second also, but i'm using some .. 6 month old version of cgminer

maybe it works properly now, i dunno

but that's when it happens.  when there is no new block or no new share for 90 seconds

ed: it should be common to any p2pool?  my video card starts back up right away on cgminer 3.3.4, it just says stratum connection was interrupted and then restarts

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2013, 10:44:06 PM
 #6975


tip #7: compile bitcoind with outgoing connections of 1, run bitcoind with listen=1, maxconnections=2, with one node on connect... well, that's what I do, since I can monitor it constantly.. you'd probably want to change maxconnections to 3 or 4, in case one of the nodes craps out, be it due to the Interpol, cult of the dead cow, or whatever else.  an example conf file,


While a low number of connections may save bandwidth, wouldn't it possibly have the side-effect of making the Bitcoin network less resilient?

I guess I will see how much bandwidth is used when I finally get my node up.

yeah, but if you are trying to run a node locally and are bandwidth starved, that's something you should do.  

otherwise you'll either randomly connect to an outgoing peer that is missing part of the block chain or have one connect to you.  then your upstream is saturated

i think it's not so bad in other parts of the world, but in the US, you really get gimped on upstream

Not all of us... I've got 75down/35up rated (typically 86down/39up actual).  FiOS kicks a$$.

Running a local node at galactica.geekgalaxy.com:9332  
Any tips? Wink


no, i like your outgoing connections =p

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
gnar1ta$
Donator
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
November 16, 2013, 04:13:23 AM
 #6976

@zvs: When I'm mining on your node, and it goes down, my cgminer client totally locks up and stops working. Other nodes, however, don't have that problem and cgminer properly switches to failover nodes. Has anyone else seen this on your node? I don't remember the error it gave; I stopped mining on it after it happened a few times (3 times last week).

This keeps happening to us on OGnasty's node and we've had to take 1.1TH off P2Pool because of this plus we'll have 650GH/s Jupiter soon to hash on as well.  So that's 1.75TH/s for P2Pool if anyone can help us.  Does anyone have a list of the nodes you mention that enable a fallover?

Edit:  Although my friend hosting the miners says it's cgminer actually crashing and is a cgminer problem.

it is a cgminer problem, I think I found some info here:
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=188533.0

funny thing is that OgNasty's node failsover fine for me! I have much smaller hashrate, maybe that has something to do with it too.

KNC have released a new firmware update today.  If anyone finds out this stops the cgminer P2Pool for KNC Jupiters bug let me know and the pool will gain 1.75TH.

What flags are you using for cgminer?  I have had a dozen types of miners including a Jupiter on my node and they always fail over fine to my backup pool when I take the node down for maintenance. failover-only is the only thing I add to my conf for ASICs.

Losing hundreds of Bitcoins with the best scammers in the business - BFL, Avalon, KNC, HashFast.
kano
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Linux since 1997 RedHat 4


View Profile
November 16, 2013, 05:07:11 AM
 #6977

The question is if KnC has fixed the 10s LP issue (10s job reset)
... a KnC takes 10s to do an LP
So with that issue, 33% of your mining time on p2pool is ... idle.

Pool: https://kano.is BTC: 1KanoiBupPiZfkwqB7rfLXAzPnoTshAVmb
CKPool and CGMiner developer, IRC FreeNode #ckpool and #cgminer kanoi
Help keep Bitcoin secure by mining on pools with Stratum, the best protocol to mine Bitcoins with ASIC hardware
zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
November 16, 2013, 10:29:47 AM
 #6978

@zvs: When I'm mining on your node, and it goes down, my cgminer client totally locks up and stops working. Other nodes, however, don't have that problem and cgminer properly switches to failover nodes. Has anyone else seen this on your node? I don't remember the error it gave; I stopped mining on it after it happened a few times (3 times last week).
I thought about it some more...  since this behavior should be common to all p2pools (stratum "interrupted" after a 90s period of no block/new work), mine shouldn't cause a disconnect/lockup/whatever any more (or less) frequently than any others.

Maybe latency has something to do with it?  A really small window for stratum to reconnect?   Huh   If you're in the US, 198.12.127.2 should have low latency...  I'll drop the fee on it to 0%, anyway (ed: in about 10-15 minutes, have to check log and redo --p2pool-node's and such)... if ANYONE wants to mess with it.  

I assume that port 9332 works, though it does seem a bit odd that not one person has mined on there in 2-3 weeks though

ok, done.  i changed something in the code that might or might not do something as well

198.12.127.2:9332, has 0% fee now

ed: i just tested it myself.  had the 90s delay, didn't get an interrupted on my vid card, so i think i fixed it.  i'll reset 5.9.24.81 in a bit and put it back to 0% for a while

Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
canth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232



View Profile
November 16, 2013, 01:46:10 PM
 #6979


What flags are you using for cgminer?  I have had a dozen types of miners including a Jupiter on my node and they always fail over fine to my backup pool when I take the node down for maintenance. failover-only is the only thing I add to my conf for ASICs.

No flags set - it's essentially a default Jupiter but with 4 pools for failover. The symptom I've recently seen has been 2 Jupiters which stop hashing at the exact same time. When investigated, cgminer is no longer running, screen is no longer running. This behavior has not happened on other pools - only on p2pool and now twice in less than a week.

Failover works correctly for other non-p2pools. With the combination of no idle worker alerts and this crashing behavior, it's just easier and safer to use standard pools. Looking forward to when p2pool gets an alert feature.

zvs
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1386



View Profile WWW
November 16, 2013, 01:53:10 PM
 #6980

d'oh, I hadn't reset it yet and someone started.... and I got the 1/100 chance of the share..    still putting together a p2pool-node list =/

oh, it's set to wrong name, anyway... have to use payout address  Undecided

ok, i think the whole interrupt thing should be fixed now, and it's set back to 0%

ed:  haha, figures that hetzner's network starts messing up right after i fix that.  it's definitely reissuing the work faster now though, so no 1-2 second delay there if it goes 90 seconds w/o anything.  at least when hetzner isn't getting 20% ploss and 400ms ping times


Dacentec, best deals for US dedicated servers. They regularly restock $20-$25 Opterons with 8-16GB RAM & 2x1-2TB HDD's (ofc, usually lots of other good stuff to choose from).  I did a Serverbear benchmark of one of my $20/mo Opteron (June last year), it's here.  Have had about a half dozen different servers with Dacentec, & none have failed to sustain at least 40MB/s (burst higher). My favorite is a 12-month rent-to-own ZT Systems 2XL5520 16GB 2x2TB SATA for $40/month (got lucky with the 'off-brand', haven't seen a RTO 2xL5520 for under $50/mo since -- at least for monthly contracts).  wholesaleinternet.com has some ancient 2-core intel CPUs @ $10/mo sometimes (I got an Intel Core 2 6300 @ 1.86GHz, with a 250GB HDD with 46000 hours on it, LOL. $20 @ Dacentec is much better, if you can grab one). joesdatacenter.com (same location as Wholesale Internet) also occasionally has specials (or if you don't want to wait, it has an AMD Opteron 170 @ $16/mo).
Pages: « 1 ... 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 336 337 338 339 340 341 342 343 344 345 346 347 348 [349] 350 351 352 353 354 355 356 357 358 359 360 361 362 363 364 365 366 367 368 369 370 371 372 373 374 375 376 377 378 379 380 381 382 383 384 385 386 387 388 389 390 391 392 393 394 395 396 397 398 399 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!