Bitcoin Forum
December 05, 2016, 10:33:26 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 [496] 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2029982 times)
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
August 06, 2014, 09:55:55 AM
 #9901

优秀的交代!

无需道歉,你的英语 - 谷歌翻译是我们的朋友  Wink
这是一件好事从我们的中国朋友听到

和平  Smiley

Excellent explaination!

No need to apologise for your English - Google translate is our friend  Wink
It's always good to hear from our friends in China

Peace  Smiley

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
1480934006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934006
Reply with quote  #2

1480934006
Report to moderator
1480934006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934006
Reply with quote  #2

1480934006
Report to moderator
1480934006
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480934006

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480934006
Reply with quote  #2

1480934006
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
wlz2011
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 71


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 04:06:35 PM
 #9902

优秀的交代!

无需道歉,你的英语 - 谷歌翻译是我们的朋友  Wink
这是一件好事从我们的中国朋友听到

和平  Smiley

Excellent explaination!

No need to apologise for your English - Google translate is our friend  Wink
It's always good to hear from our friends in China

Peace  Smiley

嗨!PatMan Smiley

我的朋友 Smiley

我们约好了年底P2POOL   2PH/S Grin

我募集到中国朋友大概800T算力,目前P2POOL真实算力1.5PH/S 。 Cheesy

一起加油! Cheesy


Hey! PatMan   Smiley

My friend   Smiley

We made ​​an appointment at the end P2POOL 2PH / S   Grin

I raise to Chinese friends about 800T count force, the current count P2POOL real force 1.5PH / S.  Cheesy

Come together! Wink
contactlight
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 168


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 05:07:52 PM
 #9903

I've tried that as well. I live in San Francisco and I have dedicated servers in a datacenter in San Francisco as well. I set up a full Bitcoin node on one of them and set up P2Pool. My latency was under 20ms and my DOA was around 2%. It was pretty much the most optimal setup that you can get without having them on the same network.

My node (http://96.44.166.190:9332) is in LA.  Looks like I have two folks there with a pair of S3s.  Try pointing your workers there and see if you notice a difference.

Also, despite all the talk going on here, I don't recommend messing with share size with + or /.  Just use your payout address and see what happens.  Once you know that's working, then try customizing it.

M

Switching them to your node right now with the default settings. Let's see what happens. I'll test them on your node until 7am tomorrow.

My miner is the address ending with "osx".

Yes, I saw it pop on shortly after I posted my message.

M

Take a look at my graph. The guy averaging at 157GH/s found two shares while I, averaging at 1TH/s found none. My Antminer interface shows I just found a share with 13,352,425 difficulty but that's not displayed.
ftoole
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 06:53:21 PM
 #9904

I have 5 S3's running on p2pool. on the average they are above par with expected performance from mining calculators. But individually thier is a variation in performance. I have had them on p2pool for a full week yet do to the fact i had to get an ssd since my plater drive just ran up the latency. I had been running just a 200 gh miner but after i add the s3's it wouldn't get any shares so i moved it to a pool.
kgb2mining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 07:09:30 PM
 #9905

Ok, so I've run into a wall here with setting up my own node... need some help.

I followed the instructions here (using the Kryos script):
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=651819.0

Fresh Ubuntu 14.04 install, server only, no Desktop environments.  Dedicated HP physical server.

Different coind's appear to be up and running fine.  Blockchain is sync'd and I do see ongoing messages about connections to other nodes and Processblocks ACCEPTED, etc.

Leaving the default rpcport=8332 in bitcoin.conf didn't seem to work well, couldn't do a simple telnet connect test from any machine or miner.
Changing to rpcport=9332 I can now at least telnet in from other machines and my test S1.  I can see the connections in netstat.

I downloaded and have norgan's frontend up on a different apache webserver, not the node itself.  Supposedly it works with it remote in this fashion, but I'm getting no input on the pages so maybe it doesn't, or maybe it's the server.

Main problem is I can't get my test miner to see the node.

So, any suggestions?

Pertinent config lines:
rpcallowip=x.x.x.0/25
port=8333
rpcport=9332

ftoole
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 07:18:14 PM
 #9906

Ok, so I've run into a wall here with setting up my own node... need some help.

I followed the instructions here (using the Kryos script):
https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=651819.0

Fresh Ubuntu 14.04 install, server only, no Desktop environments.  Dedicated HP physical server.

Different coind's appear to be up and running fine.  Blockchain is sync'd and I do see ongoing messages about connections to other nodes and Processblocks ACCEPTED, etc.

Leaving the default rpcport=8332 in bitcoin.conf didn't seem to work well, couldn't do a simple telnet connect test from any machine or miner.
Changing to rpcport=9332 I can now at least telnet in from other machines and my test S1.  I can see the connections in netstat.

I downloaded and have norgan's frontend up on a different apache webserver, not the node itself.  Supposedly it works with it remote in this fashion, but I'm getting no input on the pages so maybe it doesn't, or maybe it's the server.

Main problem is I can't get my test miner to see the node.

So, any suggestions?

Pertinent config lines:
rpcallowip=x.x.x.0/25
port=8333
rpcport=9332



Sounds like ur firewall is blocking the 8332 port on ur ubuntu install.
Also 9332 is the stratum and http port for p2pool
your p2pool node ahould connect to the rpc port of your bitcoind. Not your miner. Your miner will connect to the 9332 port for p2pool. if you connect to the port for rpc then you will solo mine. Also id recomend using the default webpage till you get the node up and working then try to get a different frontend running. Babyn steps my friend.
CartmanSPC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile WWW
August 06, 2014, 07:23:47 PM
 #9907

That's why I'm still looking.  I want to be absolutely sure.  To this point, however, there is nothing in the code that I've seen to indicate anything other than what I've posted.  Besides, why take the chance?  If you intend to set your difficulty manually to some silly low value, just use /1 instead.

Basically, my search is now concentrating on finding some comparison to the effect of "take the greater of my desired share difficulty and p2pool's minimum share difficulty" during miner payout calculations.  If your assertion is correct, then I need to find some other piece of code that says, "if desired share difficulty equals 2**256-1, set share difficulty equal to minimum p2pool share difficulty".

/1 works just as well as /0 for BTC...anything up to the minimum p2pool share diff is fine and works the same.

It helps to see what's going on and dial it in if you use a modified node that shows the share diff and time to share per address.

Below is an example using a scrypt coin. Scrypt coins move much faster so its easier to see how it all works.


The minimum share diff on this coins p2pool is 0.00615 with Expected time to share of ~9 seconds for the node. That means that every 9 seconds a share is given to the node that is then taken by one of the miners on that node. This node has the majority of the hashrate so p2pool increases each miners share diff to the max possible of 0.184578 (0.00615 *30).

If one of the miners use /0 they will be given a share diff of 0.00615 instead of 0.184578 and their time to share would dramatically decrease. The 35.31 Kh/s guy should consider using /# but not too low as to collect dust...he could play with /# to get his time to share down to what he wants.

If I could I would bring up a BTC node so you could try it out but don't currently have the resources to do so.

kgb2mining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 07:34:40 PM
 #9908

Sounds like ur firewall is blocking the 8332 port on ur ubuntu install.
Also 9332 is the stratum and http port for p2pool
your p2pool node ahould connect to the rpc port of your bitcoind. Not your miner. Your miner will connect to the 9332 port for p2pool. if you connect to the port for rpc then you will solo mine. Also id recomend using the default webpage till you get the node up and working then try to get a different frontend running. Babyn steps my friend.
Ok, so it seems I found the first problem - in the install script it's using git to a git:// repo.  For those uf us building behind a corp firewall where the git port isn't open, that part has failed.

So, now I have the p2pool stuff downloaded and will go from there.  Will also let murdof know about this if he wants to update his instructions.

Thanks for the second set of eyes, I've been staring at this so long I overlooked that part.
ftoole
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 118


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 07:45:50 PM
 #9909

Ok, so it seems I found the first problem - in the install script it's using git to a git:// repo.  For those uf us building behind a corp firewall where the git port isn't open, that part has failed.

So, now I have the p2pool stuff downloaded and will go from there.  Will also let murdof know about this if he wants to update his instructions.

Thanks for the second set of eyes, I've been staring at this so long I overlooked that part.
Lucky you get to put this all in your corp DC free power nice battery backup. why not vm it and throw it on a vm cluster. Wait that's wait id do that's why my boss won't let me in  their any more. LOL

I understand wanting to throw a server out a window. LOL
kgb2mining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 07:59:55 PM
 #9910

Lucky you get to put this all in your corp DC free power nice battery backup. why not vm it and throw it on a vm cluster. Wait that's wait id do that's why my boss won't let me in  their any more. LOL

I understand wanting to throw a server out a window. LOL
Lucky indeed, and quite frankly the only reason we even got into mining... after the research we found it not worth it to do if we had to go out and host on our own.  Would have just bought the BTC straight up otherwise.  This is quite fun however.

Although our VM farm is pretty beefy I was worried about disk contention with our other production VM's, so we found an 8-core machine with 36GB RAM (for now) and a nice RAID-10 setup leftover from a recent project refresh.  That box will host only the pool node, and go into a DMZ where we can open it up to incoming connections and hopefully keep latency down.  If all goes well I'll open it up for peering from other nodes and miners.

We did bring up another VM on the internal protected network which will host the web interface as well as our "hot wallet" so we can minimize the damage if the pool node gets hacked for any reason.  The miners sit on another segment of the protected network, and everything is properly firewalled off to make sure we're as tight as possible.

BTW - we do have roof access, and yes, gravity does quite a number on a 75-lb+ server... Wink

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
August 06, 2014, 10:19:21 PM
 #9911

Take a look at my graph. The guy averaging at 157GH/s found two shares while I, averaging at 1TH/s found none. My Antminer interface shows I just found a share with 13,352,425 difficulty but that's not displayed.

Looks like you got some shares finally?

Don't forget there are stales here.  They suck when it happens, especially if you wait a day for a share, but they do happen.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
kgb2mining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 07, 2014, 12:49:26 AM
 #9912

So, my local node is up and running all happy, and I have a couple miners pointed to it.  All I have to say is - Holy good DOA Batman!  Local node DOA rates so far are well under 2%, hovering around 1.1-1..2% pretty consistently, for around 2.6Th/s.  Will see how things progress over time and if all stays good I'll point all my miners to it.

Right now have 6 outbound peers, 0 in until we get the DMZ openings done.  Seems to be working fine without opening it so far.

So, silly n00b P2Pool question - if I use the same mining address as I switch pools, will the share history cross over?  I've been mining on coincadence and have obviously much share history there, will it transfer so I don't have any gaps in my earnings?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
August 07, 2014, 01:04:16 AM
 #9913

So, my local node is up and running all happy, and I have a couple miners pointed to it.  All I have to say is - Holy good DOA Batman!  Local node DOA rates so far are well under 2%, hovering around 1.1-1..2% pretty consistently, for around 2.6Th/s.  Will see how things progress over time and if all stays good I'll point all my miners to it.

Right now have 6 outbound peers, 0 in until we get the DMZ openings done.  Seems to be working fine without opening it so far.

So, silly n00b P2Pool question - if I use the same mining address as I switch pools, will the share history cross over?  I've been mining on coincadence and have obviously much share history there, will it transfer so I don't have any gaps in my earnings?

Share history is based on your shares in the alt chain ... so yes, it'll follow you.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
kgb2mining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 07, 2014, 01:14:55 AM
 #9914

Share history is based on your shares in the alt chain ... so yes, it'll follow you.

M
Thanks, I was hoping that was the case.
bryonp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
August 07, 2014, 01:37:33 AM
 #9915

Share history is based on your shares in the alt chain ... so yes, it'll follow you.

M
Thanks, I was hoping that was the case.

My 2 cents... I found that no incoming is just fine.
And yes point all of your machines to this and let it rip.
I have also tried the /0 + 220   /1 +220  and then just address and I find on my nod that its best left alone and add nothing but payout address..

You will get many more shares this way....you will get some DOA's and orphand... but over all you will get more in my opinion....

Good luck!
kgb2mining
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112


View Profile
August 07, 2014, 01:52:12 AM
 #9916

Share history is based on your shares in the alt chain ... so yes, it'll follow you.

M
Thanks, I was hoping that was the case.

My 2 cents... I found that no incoming is just fine.
And yes point all of your machines to this and let it rip.
I have also tried the /0 + 220   /1 +220  and then just address and I find on my nod that its best left alone and add nothing but payout address..

You will get many more shares this way....you will get some DOA's and orphand... but over all you will get more in my opinion....

Good luck!

Thanks Smiley

Do you have any manual peers set in your config?  Or are you just letting your node figure it out on its own?

I've had the /0+220 in my S1's for the past few days and on coincadence it seemed to at least not hurt it, I was getting plenty of shares.  I left it in for the switch to my node, and will see what happens.
CartmanSPC
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1148



View Profile WWW
August 07, 2014, 04:55:01 AM
 #9917

/#+# should only be needed if your running on a node that has other miners on it that are not yours. Otherwise it may be best to let it autoadjust...i.e. don't use it.

bryonp
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 77


View Profile
August 07, 2014, 07:42:42 AM
 #9918

/#+# should only be needed if your running on a node that has other miners on it that are not yours. Otherwise it may be best to let it autoadjust...i.e. don't use it.
As this is what I have read.... so I tried to test things out because as everyone has noticed its getting much more difficult to find the shares.
BUT I am on my own and no one else is hashing on my node but me.
I think from what I have seen in the past 3 months hashing only p2pool that its best for me to leave it alone and let it auto adjust. I am running s-1's.
OK at least a few blocks to make it worth our time!!!!

OK 1 last thing, If you were to jump around a bit (node to node) and or reset your own pool
(it will reset all the shares and stuff back to 0 and start fresh for you)
BUT if you go here and find your addresss it will keep all your stats for you

http://p2pool.info/


windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 938


View Profile WWW
August 07, 2014, 12:41:27 PM
 #9919

/#+# should only be needed if your running on a node that has other miners on it that are not yours. Otherwise it may be best to let it autoadjust...i.e. don't use it.
As this is what I have read.... so I tried to test things out because as everyone has noticed its getting much more difficult to find the shares.
BUT I am on my own and no one else is hashing on my node but me.
I think from what I have seen in the past 3 months hashing only p2pool that its best for me to leave it alone and let it auto adjust. I am running s-1's.
OK at least a few blocks to make it worth our time!!!!

OK 1 last thing, If you were to jump around a bit (node to node) and or reset your own pool
(it will reset all the shares and stuff back to 0 and start fresh for you)
BUT if you go here and find your addresss it will keep all your stats for you

http://p2pool.info/




The data on p2pool.info has been incorrect since Forrest relaunched it. The most obvious is # of miners...


jonnybravo0311
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 994


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
August 07, 2014, 01:30:48 PM
 #9920

/#+# should only be needed if your running on a node that has other miners on it that are not yours. Otherwise it may be best to let it autoadjust...i.e. don't use it.
As this is what I have read.... so I tried to test things out because as everyone has noticed its getting much more difficult to find the shares.
BUT I am on my own and no one else is hashing on my node but me.
I think from what I have seen in the past 3 months hashing only p2pool that its best for me to leave it alone and let it auto adjust. I am running s-1's.
OK at least a few blocks to make it worth our time!!!!

OK 1 last thing, If you were to jump around a bit (node to node) and or reset your own pool
(it will reset all the shares and stuff back to 0 and start fresh for you)
BUT if you go here and find your addresss it will keep all your stats for you

http://p2pool.info/
Your local p2pool node does not persist your found/orphaned/dead shares across node restarts.  However, all of your active shares do indeed remain on the share chain - which is precisely why you can move from node to node without consequence.  p2pool.info seems to have some incorrect information, especially number of miners.  At this point I'm far more trusting of windpath's numbers on http://minefast.coincadence.com since he's been very active in the development of the front end and has spent time on this forum explaining how he makes his calculations and soliciting feedback from us on how to make things better or more accurate.

I'm really looking forward to hearing back from somebody regarding setting share difficulty to /0.  Everything I've seen in the code states that if you set it to 0, p2pool then sets it to 2**256-1.  There's nothing else there indicating that setting it to /0 will then set your difficulty to the p2pool minimum value.  I'm going to see if setting the pool to run in debug mode will offer any more insight to the effect of /0, and maybe lead me to a place in the code that I've missed thus far.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
Pages: « 1 ... 446 447 448 449 450 451 452 453 454 455 456 457 458 459 460 461 462 463 464 465 466 467 468 469 470 471 472 473 474 475 476 477 478 479 480 481 482 483 484 485 486 487 488 489 490 491 492 493 494 495 [496] 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 545 546 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!