Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 05:33:40 PM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 [543] 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2033416 times)
MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2014, 01:41:54 PM
 #10841

Pseudo share doesnt affect in founding block anyotherway than it restarts works everytime that changes, so selecting constant could help abit keeping miner busy. Large miners should use bigger sharedifficulty - that would help poolwide. Like btcaddress+501/100000000, then there should be less 5 s restart times, and big miners earn that way more too. Ckolivas proxy helps keeping miners busy also, I have got very good results with it in p2pool and solo pool, it squeezes juice out of miners, with s3s mindiff and startdiff have to be chosen so that you can see best share..

Last weeks bests with 2th= 2,347,645,293, one ~1,500000000,   537,352,921 .. newer got those kind of results without proxy.

S3:s doesnt show best share with all share diff + 512, 1024, 4096 doesnt show, 500, 4000 ... it shows

nohup ./ckpool -p -A -k> /dev/null 2>&1 &

Wondering how ants would perform if those are turned to diskless nodes and booted with tftp, that way cgminer could be running on some more powerfull machine, i think s2 s3 s4 are suffering constan restarts - the mainoboard doesnt have enough power. And that way I doesnt have to wait new firmware and cgminer...

http://wiki.gentoo.org/wiki/Diskless_nodes

It does matter with the S4, and the S2.  The S3 works correctly.

It doesn't work with my S2.  Doesn't matter what difficulty I set it to, I lose up to 10% of my hash rate by pointing it to p2pool.

M

True.  I should have said, it does work except lose up to 10%.  I still use it.  Some other brand miners are much worse, so I considered mining at 90% of normal as "working".  I know many will disagree.  Sorry... Smiley  

I would then say that the S4 is currently working at only 95% of normal.
1481304820
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481304820

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481304820
Reply with quote  #2

1481304820
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2014, 01:43:05 PM
 #10842

The default Bitmain 4.6.1 has been working pretty good for me.  I get 1.9 TH/s average.  And you have to set pseudo difficulty.  It doesn't work properly without it.  I haven't tried the latest version from ckolivas that was released within the last 24 hours, but I will try it now.
If you used pseudo difficulty with the existing S4 binary, you have circumvented the bulk of the issues, but there is still some gain with the new binary I provided. Just remove any queue value from the init script since 8192 is a crazy default.

Does removing the queue command completely set it to zero?

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2014, 01:43:41 PM
 #10843

The default Bitmain 4.6.1 has been working pretty good for me.  I get 1.9 TH/s average.  And you have to set pseudo difficulty.  It doesn't work properly without it.  I haven't tried the latest version from ckolivas that was released within the last 24 hours, but I will try it now.
If you used pseudo difficulty with the existing S4 binary, you have circumvented the bulk of the issues, but there is still some gain with the new binary I provided. Just remove any queue value from the init script since 8192 is a crazy default.

OK. I tried your new binary and it appears the same.  I assume because I'm using the pseudo difficulty as you stated.  BTW, I am using "--queue 0 --scan-time 1 --expiry 1", which is the typical recommended settings for p2pool.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2014, 01:44:00 PM
 #10844

Does removing the queue command completely set it to zero?
1 is the default. Also I edited the previous post to mention submitting stales.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2014, 01:44:43 PM
 #10845

The default Bitmain 4.6.1 has been working pretty good for me.  I get 1.9 TH/s average.  And you have to set pseudo difficulty.  It doesn't work properly without it.  I haven't tried the latest version from ckolivas that was released within the last 24 hours, but I will try it now.
If you used pseudo difficulty with the existing S4 binary, you have circumvented the bulk of the issues, but there is still some gain with the new binary I provided. Just remove any queue value from the init script since 8192 is a crazy default.

Does removing the queue command completely set it to zero?

No.  It will use the default, which is 1.  I would set it to 0 for p2pool use, but 1 is good for other pools.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2014, 01:44:54 PM
 #10846

OK. I tried your new binary and it appears the same.  I assume because I'm using the pseudo difficulty as you stated.  BTW, I am using "--queue 0 --scan-time 1 --expiry 1", which is the typical recommended settings for p2pool.
Give it time too since the original does not submit stales. Scan time and expiry are irrelevant and recommendations for this stem from the dark ages of getwork mining, not stratum. The difference between queue 1 and zero at thousands of work items per second is nothing but it may slow the device down.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2014, 01:48:43 PM
 #10847

Does removing the queue command completely set it to zero?
1 is the default. Also I edited the previous post to mention submitting stales.

Right, thanks. I've always run mine with the zero value - seems to work the best with p2pool for me  Wink

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
October 19, 2014, 03:57:55 PM
 #10848

For the last block found (325976), I received a payment much higher than normal or expected.  I'm definitely not complaining.  This is great! Smiley   But I want to understand why?  The payout tab showed the normal expected amount, by my payment was 4x that amount.  Anyone know why this could happen?

Edit:  To add a bit more info.  My P2Pool server and default payout address is a different address.  I'm talking about my mining address only.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
October 19, 2014, 04:16:07 PM
 #10849

For the last block found (325976), I received a payment much higher than normal or expected.  I'm definitely not complaining.  This is great! Smiley   But I want to understand why?  The payout tab showed the normal expected amount, by my payment was 4x that amount.  Anyone know why this could happen?

Edit:  To add a bit more info.  My P2Pool server and default payout address is a different address.  I'm talking about my mining address only.

Usually that means you found the block.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
October 19, 2014, 04:23:27 PM
 #10850

For the last block found (325976), I received a payment much higher than normal or expected.  I'm definitely not complaining.  This is great! Smiley   But I want to understand why?  The payout tab showed the normal expected amount, by my payment was 4x that amount.  Anyone know why this could happen?

Edit:  To add a bit more info.  My P2Pool server and default payout address is a different address.  I'm talking about my mining address only.

Usually that means you found the block.

M

Wow!  You are right.  First time ever.  I didn't even notice!  lol

2014-10-18 22:43:49.668550 GOT BLOCK FROM MINER! Passing to bitcoind! https://blockchain.info/block/00000000000000001928
73ad7facbe0898a86dc8426702c5bf19e37e7f93380b
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
October 19, 2014, 05:23:59 PM
 #10851

For the last block found (325976), I received a payment much higher than normal or expected.  I'm definitely not complaining.  This is great! Smiley   But I want to understand why?  The payout tab showed the normal expected amount, by my payment was 4x that amount.  Anyone know why this could happen?

Edit:  To add a bit more info.  My P2Pool server and default payout address is a different address.  I'm talking about my mining address only.

Usually that means you found the block.

M

Wow!  You are right.  First time ever.  I didn't even notice!  lol

2014-10-18 22:43:49.668550 GOT BLOCK FROM MINER! Passing to bitcoind! https://blockchain.info/block/00000000000000001928
73ad7facbe0898a86dc8426702c5bf19e37e7f93380b

Grats! Smiley

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2014, 01:04:53 PM
 #10852

All going well I'm going to be helping drop the biggest mine onto p2pool yet over the next day. Watch for it  Wink

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2014, 06:56:54 PM
 #10853

All going well I'm going to be helping drop the biggest mine onto p2pool yet over the next day. Watch for it  Wink

Where do you keep finding them?........ Cheesy

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 07:06:33 PM
 #10854

Looking forward to someone rewriting p2pool, I was running it earlier on a Q6700, and was getting terrible latency - one core was flat out. Sad  Single threaded .exe sucks.  A Core2Quad 2.66GHz with 6GB RAM should be able to totally maul p2pool.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2014, 07:17:21 PM
 #10855

Can't see it happening tbh. I can't see Bitmain keeping their promise about doing something with it either......

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
naplam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Coin Developer - CrunchPool.com operator


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2014, 07:25:04 PM
 #10856

Looking forward to someone rewriting p2pool, I was running it earlier on a Q6700, and was getting terrible latency - one core was flat out. Sad  Single threaded .exe sucks.  A Core2Quad 2.66GHz with 6GB RAM should be able to totally maul p2pool.
If you have tons of clients hashing at high hashrates, run several p2pool instances and load-balance with iptables or something.

mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 09:41:04 PM
 #10857

Looking forward to someone rewriting p2pool, I was running it earlier on a Q6700, and was getting terrible latency - one core was flat out. Sad  Single threaded .exe sucks.  A Core2Quad 2.66GHz with 6GB RAM should be able to totally maul p2pool.

Would running it in a VM with 1 thread help?  I've often theorized that a VM with 1 thread on a multicore machine performs better than on the multicore machine, as those multiple threads are used to run the "one" thread in the VM.

But I never actually tried it.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2014, 09:56:43 PM
 #10858

Looking forward to someone rewriting p2pool, I was running it earlier on a Q6700, and was getting terrible latency - one core was flat out. Sad  Single threaded .exe sucks.  A Core2Quad 2.66GHz with 6GB RAM should be able to totally maul p2pool.

Would running it in a VM with 1 thread help?  I've often theorized that a VM with 1 thread on a multicore machine performs better than on the multicore machine, as those multiple threads are used to run the "one" thread in the VM.

But I never actually tried it.
Only outright core speed matters since p2pool is in python which is single threaded. The faster the cores are the better. Having many cores does nothing as there is no way to "add them up". In fact, on an otherwise lightly loaded system, if you have a hyperthread CPU, disabling hyperthread in the BIOS will speed up python.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2014, 10:08:05 PM
 #10859

I find using niceness helps on Ubuntu too, -10 for both python & Bitcoind......

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
October 20, 2014, 10:31:49 PM
 #10860

Looking forward to someone rewriting p2pool, I was running it earlier on a Q6700, and was getting terrible latency - one core was flat out. Sad  Single threaded .exe sucks.  A Core2Quad 2.66GHz with 6GB RAM should be able to totally maul p2pool.

Would running it in a VM with 1 thread help?  I've often theorized that a VM with 1 thread on a multicore machine performs better than on the multicore machine, as those multiple threads are used to run the "one" thread in the VM.

But I never actually tried it.
Only outright core speed matters since p2pool is in python which is single threaded. The faster the cores are the better. Having many cores does nothing as there is no way to "add them up". In fact, on an otherwise lightly loaded system, if you have a hyperthread CPU, disabling hyperthread in the BIOS will speed up python.

I say that because I'm pretty sure I've seen a single threaded VM with high CPU usage, yet the underlying OS has low CPU usage spread across multiple threads.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Pages: « 1 ... 493 494 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 [543] 544 545 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!