Bitcoin Forum
December 03, 2016, 12:42:04 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 [545] 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 ... 744 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1500 TH] p2pool: Decentralized, DoS-resistant, Hop-Proof pool  (Read 2028671 times)
naplam
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Coin Developer - CrunchPool.com operator


View Profile WWW
October 22, 2014, 09:33:59 PM
 #10881

No, the hash in that share was completely off, no 0 bits. I'd guess it's a hardware glitch. Not much of a problem if it happens only rarely but it should never happen normally.

1480725724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725724
Reply with quote  #2

1480725724
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480725724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725724
Reply with quote  #2

1480725724
Report to moderator
1480725724
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480725724

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480725724
Reply with quote  #2

1480725724
Report to moderator
newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 10:56:08 PM
 #10882

It shouldn't happen very often, rarely in fact. I find my S3's run best using --queue 0 in the cgminer settings, use the latest version also  Wink
How do I input this --queue 0 setting into cgminer?
I have ssh into one of the miner and entered vi /etc/config/cgminer
there are about a dozen settings listed there all starting with the word "option" (no quotes)
is this where the --queue 0 setting goes?
Cheers.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 22, 2014, 11:20:06 PM
 #10883

It shouldn't happen very often, rarely in fact. I find my S3's run best using --queue 0 in the cgminer settings, use the latest version also  Wink
How do I input this --queue 0 setting into cgminer?
I have ssh into one of the miner and entered vi /etc/config/cgminer
there are about a dozen settings listed there all starting with the word "option" (no quotes)
is this where the --queue 0 setting goes?
Cheers.

vim /etc/init.d/cgminer

Go to end of line 75 (older firmware) 70 (newer firmware)

Press “i” (enter edit mode)

Change the setting --queue 0 --failover-only

press "esc" (exit edit mode)

type    ":wq"  (without quotes)

Press "enter"

Go to web GUI, miner configuration, click "save & apply"

Done  Smiley

To check, go to processes tab, you should see the miner settings showing the new queue value on the cgminer process.

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
October 22, 2014, 11:48:56 PM
 #10884

It shouldn't happen very often, rarely in fact. I find my S3's run best using --queue 0 in the cgminer settings, use the latest version also  Wink
How do I input this --queue 0 setting into cgminer?
I have ssh into one of the miner and entered vi /etc/config/cgminer
there are about a dozen settings listed there all starting with the word "option" (no quotes)
is this where the --queue 0 setting goes?
Cheers.

vim /etc/init.d/cgminer

Go to end of line 75 (older firmware) 70 (newer firmware)

Press “i” (enter edit mode)

Change the setting --queue 0 --failover-only

press "esc" (exit edit mode)

type    ":wq"  (without quotes)

Press "enter"

Go to web GUI, miner configuration, click "save & apply"

Done  Smiley

To check, go to processes tab, you should see the miner settings showing the new queue value on the cgminer process.
Perfect instructions.
Thank you very much.
Very helpful.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2014, 12:01:08 AM
 #10885

Thanks & you're welcome  Smiley

These settings will stay after a reboot too, so no need to keep doing it. I find I get far fewer DOA/rejects using the zero setting, but it's not a hard & fast rule, it depends on your setup/network - many use "1" as their queue setting (ck recommended setting) with good results also - it's a case of suck it & see  Wink

Peace  Smiley

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
October 23, 2014, 05:02:40 AM
 #10886

If you have polled upstream and the recommended value for queue is 1, why use 0.
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2014, 09:17:59 AM
 #10887

Because

I find I get far fewer DOA/rejects using the zero setting, but it's not a hard & fast rule.....

Use whatever works best for you  Wink

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
K1773R
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526


/dev/null


View Profile
October 23, 2014, 09:55:57 AM
 #10888

If you have polled upstream and the recommended value for queue is 1, why use 0.
its a fix for a problem years ago. everyone who still uses/recommends it dosnt know anything about what hes doing Wink

[GPG Public Key]  [Devcoin Builds]  [BBQCoin Builds]  [Multichain Blockexplorer]  [Multichain Blockexplorer - PoS Coins]  [Ufasoft Miner Linux Builds]
BTC/DVC/TRC/FRC: 1K1773RbXRZVRQSSXe9N6N2MUFERvrdu6y ANC/XPM AK1773RTmRKtvbKBCrUu95UQg5iegrqyeA NMC: NK1773Rzv8b4ugmCgX789PbjewA9fL9Dy1 LTC: LKi773RBuPepQH8E6Zb1ponoCvgbU7hHmd EMC: EK1773RxUes1HX1YAGMZ1xVYBBRUCqfDoF BQC: bK1773R1APJz4yTgRkmdKQhjhiMyQpJgfN
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2014, 10:18:10 AM
 #10889

If you have polled upstream and the recommended value for queue is 1, why use 0.
its a fix for a problem years ago. everyone who still uses/recommends it dosnt know anything about what hes doing Wink

Attitude?

Use whatever works best for you  Wink

Be nice  Wink


"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
IYFTech
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686


WANTED: Active dev to fix & re-write p2pool in C


View Profile
October 23, 2014, 10:36:10 AM
 #10890

@ Ki773r: PatMan is correct. I done some testing of these settings some time ago & posted the results:

I've ordered from batch 1, batch 4 and batch 5.  Even in batch 5 the issues remain, although I did get "lucky" as one of my batch 5 units actually hashes at 504GH/s stable.

I also have one of those lucky ones at 505Gh/s from B1 - it's the most stable one out the lot!!

Following up from this, I've been experimenting a little more with my settings & here's a screen of the results:



(click for larger)

This is 4 x S3's running at various clock speeds. Looking at the graph, I was running --queue 1 up until ~3am (yup, I'm a night time fiddler Cheesy) before changing the setting to --queue 0 & letting them run for the same amount of time. It can clearly be seen that after changing the setting to --queue 0, the DOA rate dropped & smoothed out - this was also confirmed by my nodes info page. Average hash rate was slightly higher as a result, so I'll be keeping all my S3's running with the --queue 0 setting from now on. I'm not saying that this will work for everyone, but it's definitely good for my setup & worth giving a try if you're experiencing a higher than expected DOA rate.
The dip in hash rate at the end of the graph was due to a reboot after updating Xubuntu.

Smoke'em if ya got'em  Cool

Edit: It's also worth mentioning that my reject rate was at ~4% with --queue 1 - and ~2% with the 0 setting. This is running on a local node.

You are quite knowledgeable of p2pool, but to suggest that someone "doesn't know anything about what he is doing" when they clearly do, belittles you & your "legendary" status. Seems you owe him an apology  Wink

-- Smiley  Thank you for smoking  Smiley --  If you paid VAT to dogie for items you should read this thread:  https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1018906.0
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 23, 2014, 10:39:09 AM
 #10891

I was just looking for that - I remember reading it, thanks  Wink

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
October 23, 2014, 09:59:15 PM
 #10892

A Q6700 was great in its day, but you can't go by GHz alone.  That chip is now 7 years old!  That's ancient in compute terms.   I use this link below to judge single thread performance.  Even a 1 year old i3 is twice as fast.  Sorry, don't mean to rip on the Q6700.  I loved that chip, in its day.  https://www.cpubenchmark.net/singleThread.html
pimpstar
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 02:11:15 AM
 #10893

Hi everyone,

I'm having a bit of trouble installing/setting up p2pool to mine with litecoin (will be merge mining later when i can get this done first).

The issue im having is whenever i point my miner to my p2pool, it says this after New Work for Worker:

"> Couldn't link returned work's job id with its handler. This should only happen if this process was recently restarted!"

and it just floods with this message.

Any idea on how I can fix this? Any help is greatly appreciated Smiley
newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 04:34:58 AM
 #10894

Hi everyone,

I'm having a bit of trouble installing/setting up p2pool to mine with litecoin (will be merge mining later when i can get this done first).

The issue im having is whenever i point my miner to my p2pool, it says this after New Work for Worker:

"> Couldn't link returned work's job id with its handler. This should only happen if this process was recently restarted!"

and it just floods with this message.

Any idea on how I can fix this? Any help is greatly appreciated Smiley
I get this when I restart the bitcoin program, it all clears up and acts normally after about 2 mins - have you let it run longer than a couple of mins?
newbuntu
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 61


View Profile
October 24, 2014, 09:41:19 AM
 #10895

Every once in a while I see a line that says "bad peer banned ... "
can someone please elaborate on what this actually is?
Is this actually someone attempting something nefarious?
Is this a permanent ban for this peer?
Is there a ban list I can manually edit?
Cheers.

EDIT:
I do have firewalls enabled for each device and at each level of the network.
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204



View Profile
October 24, 2014, 09:51:51 PM
 #10896

What are ideal share difficulty and pseudo difficulty settings for an S4?
PatMan
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


Watch out for the "Neg-Rep-Dogie-Police".....


View Profile WWW
October 25, 2014, 12:14:34 AM
 #10897

What are ideal share difficulty and pseudo difficulty settings for an S4?

I don't own an S4, nor am I likely to, but I would hazard a guess at the standard 2048 that they work with? Maybe someone who's running one here can chime in?

Peace  Smiley

"When one person is deluded it is called insanity - when many people are deluded it is called religion" - Robert M. Pirsig.  I don't want your coins, I want change.
Amazon UK BTC payment service - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=301229.0 - with FREE delivery!
http://www.ae911truth.org/ - http://rethink911.org/ - http://rememberbuilding7.org/
Prelude
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1204



View Profile
October 25, 2014, 01:53:41 AM
 #10898

What are ideal share difficulty and pseudo difficulty settings for an S4?

I don't own an S4, nor am I likely to, but I would hazard a guess at the standard 2048 that they work with? Maybe someone who's running one here can chime in?

Peace  Smiley

Yeah, I figured 2048 would be ideal for the pseudo difficulty but I'm not sure what to set the other difficulty at? Sorry if this doesn't make sense, I just set up a p2pool node on Linux for the first time and I don't have much experience with p2pool in general.

It seems to be working very well without specifying either, though. 2 units are showing a combined 4.2TH/s and about 3% DOA. I'm just wondering if I can tweak anything else to make things as efficient as possible.
MissouriMiner
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 164



View Profile WWW
October 25, 2014, 08:06:22 AM
 #10899

What are ideal share difficulty and pseudo difficulty settings for an S4?

I don't own an S4, nor am I likely to, but I would hazard a guess at the standard 2048 that they work with? Maybe someone who's running one here can chime in?

Peace  Smiley

Yeah, I figured 2048 would be ideal for the pseudo difficulty but I'm not sure what to set the other difficulty at? Sorry if this doesn't make sense, I just set up a p2pool node on Linux for the first time and I don't have much experience with p2pool in general.

It seems to be working very well without specifying either, though. 2 units are showing a combined 4.2TH/s and about 3% DOA. I'm just wondering if I can tweak anything else to make things as efficient as possible.

2048 works well for me.  Your units are doing well.  I also have 2 and only average 3.9 TH/s combined based on cgminer/WebUI output.  I'm not sure what the DOA is for those 2 alone because I have a lot of other miners (mine, with same BTC address) on the pool.  I think I was seeing around 2% DOA when I tested them for a short time by themselves.   If you want to check out my stats, the address is http://bitcoin.missouriminer.com:9332.   I have 2x S4's, 5x S3's, and 2x S2's.  Totaling 8TH/s with 5.9% DOA.  I make about .06 per block.  ( P2Pool found 6 blocks in 1 day a few days ago! Smiley )  The S2's are driving most of the DOA, but I still get around 950 GH/s with them so I think they are worth running on the pool.  I have a dedicated business cable network connection for mining, 100Mb down, 4Mb up.  I have 2 separate cable feeds running to my house.  1 business and 1 residential.   Good luck.
Polyatomic
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 256


View Profile
October 25, 2014, 08:30:38 AM
 #10900


2048 works well for me.  Your units are doing well.  I also have 2 and only average 3.9 TH/s combined based on cgminer/WebUI output.  I'm not sure what the DOA is for those 2 alone because I have a lot of other miners (mine, with same BTC address) on the pool.  I think I was seeing around 2% DOA when I tested them for a short time by themselves.   If you want to check out my stats, the address is http://bitcoin.missouriminer.com:9332.   I have 2x S4's, 5x S3's, and 2x S2's.  Totaling 8TH/s with 5.9% DOA.  I make about .06 per block.  ( P2Pool found 6 blocks in 1 day a few days ago! Smiley )  The S2's are driving most of the DOA, but I still get around 950 GH/s with them so I think they are worth running on the pool.  I have a dedicated business cable network connection for mining, 100Mb down, 4Mb up.  I have 2 separate cable feeds running to my house.  1 business and 1 residential.   Good luck.


Fully blown sickness man ...
Pages: « 1 ... 495 496 497 498 499 500 501 502 503 504 505 506 507 508 509 510 511 512 513 514 515 516 517 518 519 520 521 522 523 524 525 526 527 528 529 530 531 532 533 534 535 536 537 538 539 540 541 542 543 544 [545] 546 547 548 549 550 551 552 553 554 555 556 557 558 559 560 561 562 563 564 565 566 567 568 569 570 571 572 573 574 575 576 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 ... 744 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!