Bitcoin Forum
September 25, 2016, 05:27:40 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3151 (80.4%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 3915

Pages: « 1 ... 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 [655] 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 ... 1103 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3852501 times)
inevertell
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
November 14, 2013, 03:15:17 PM
 #13081

So, does anyone know the situation with the payouts?

Is all fixed now for future payouts? I have enough confirmed balance to pass my threshold, but it has not yet paid out since this morning.

Just wondering.

A watched pot never boils

Good point, was just "worried" because of the recent payout issues. But I got my payout soon after.

Analogy also works here when watching the stats page for too much of the day too..
Seems we have much better luck when I am not staring at a 10hr block with my finger on Cmd+R (mac speak for reload)
1474781260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474781260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474781260
Reply with quote  #2

1474781260
Report to moderator
1474781260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474781260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474781260
Reply with quote  #2

1474781260
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1474781260
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1474781260

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1474781260
Reply with quote  #2

1474781260
Report to moderator
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 290



View Profile
November 14, 2013, 05:09:30 PM
 #13082

What could help in your  case is using deterministic wallets. So you only need to back up once, then all addresses you create will be deterministic.
I think Electrum supports this, don't know about Multibit.

I now created twice as many receive addresses than I need and will never create new ones. That's one sure way to know my backup will remain valid. I have also setup MS synctoy to create a backup with one click whenever I need straight to my file server's mapped drive which is running on RAID 5. Will never lose a single coin to my own stupidity.


You're blaming the digital size of a piece of hardware for your misuse which caused you to lose important data? Windows, on a bad day, takes 10gb. Most of my XP installs are between 600-700mb, and Windows 7 installs are 3-7 depending on how I slipstreamed it.

The size wasn't the issue.. your problem was you started writing data back to a drive instead of performing surgery to recover the data.
I'm not blaming the size per se, my problem was I only found out that my backup was bad after installing Windows 8 all over again and a bunch of software that I use daily including multibit. Problem with 256GB drive with Lenovo's oem stuff is that a chunk of it is backup/restore partition and stuff. So 256GB isn't really 256GB. My C Drive is 189GB formatted, Windows 8 takes approximately 30GB and all my software (plus documents etc) installed is typically about 80GB on its own. That's nearly 110GB almost immediately gone out of 189GB that I'm allowed to store on. With those odds, I pretty much overwrote my wallet before I even realized what I had done. So to blame anything is silly, I blame myself for my stupid action. People do stupid things but what makes me feel even worse is that I own an IT company  Roll Eyes Luckily my identity is safe or I'd lose business if people find out I did this to myself.

All in all, I'm no longer angry at the situation because I know for a fact that it is all gone and no way to get it back. I'm just moving on but I learnt a very important lesson which will prevent this from happening ever again.

Keep Slush rounds short by donating to my wallet 1Pbmm1L69wNG7HaCHGLmVKzVCsq6p3UTds and also in case I actually helped someone.
TObject
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 75


View Profile
November 14, 2013, 09:12:18 PM
 #13083

Just be careful not to sync the file a wrong way. LOL

Also, I have read the other day about a guy whose NAS lost a drive out of a RAID5 array and never notified him something was wrong. When the NAS lost another drive, his data was gone. So, you may want to test that your RAID failure notification is in working order.

Maybe an extra copy of the wallet on a CD-R? That reminds me to make a fresh one today.
BuhTuglia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile WWW
November 15, 2013, 12:33:39 AM
 #13084


Just thinking, I don't have the resources to do this, but I'd like to understand the math involved.

How much hash power would a guy need to solo mine, reasonably? I mean, one block a day, one a week, one a month and one a year. Is this calculateable? At the present difficulty level?

Thanks, if anyone sees fit to reply...

russell

Just another dust miner... Enquiring Gnomes want to Mine!
Send nothing to 16SVa2iQA6HuNPDGYShpmeEvUBRi2gW7f1
Current C
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 17


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 01:04:28 AM
 #13085

Hello,

I have 3 ASICminer blades on the way. I would like to mine with this pool.

I have a dedicated linux machine running ubuntu 12.4.

Ive already read quite a bit. but if there is any advice you can give on say power supply racking and cabling that would be awesome.
jmevz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 01:26:05 AM
 #13086

Hello,

I have 3 ASICminer blades on the way. I would like to mine with this pool.

I have a dedicated linux machine running ubuntu 12.4.

Ive already read quite a bit. but if there is any advice you can give on say power supply racking and cabling that would be awesome.

Aren't they just powered by USB? Plug and pray baby! Smiley

Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 01:35:17 AM
 #13087

Hello,

I have 3 ASICminer blades on the way. I would like to mine with this pool.

I have a dedicated linux machine running ubuntu 12.4.

Ive already read quite a bit. but if there is any advice you can give on say power supply racking and cabling that would be awesome.

Aren't they just powered by USB? Plug and pray baby! Smiley

No! the ASICminer block erupters are USB. the Blades use ethernet. they connect to your LAN. You host a Stratum Proxy on your computer, hence why he has the ubuntu computer. Definitely not plug & play. there are other threads covering making these work.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=205369.0;topicseen

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
Tally-ho Soy Sauce
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 02:18:16 AM
 #13088

Anyone experiencing very low reward for last 2 blocks?

I'm making a little less now that the pools gh's are going up. but its not much less.

Anything helps: 1PdmCooPWFjWCFUZfUT6gb2ZijhhDtjM3u

Buy and sell mastercoin - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=287145.0
chadtn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 02:37:12 AM
 #13089


Just thinking, I don't have the resources to do this, but I'd like to understand the math involved.

How much hash power would a guy need to solo mine, reasonably? I mean, one block a day, one a week, one a month and one a year. Is this calculateable? At the present difficulty level?

Thanks, if anyone sees fit to reply...

russell


At today's difficulty it would take around 25 terahashes or 25,000 gigahashes to average 1 block a day solo mining.  Around 3600 gigahashes could average 1 block a week.  Around 850 gigahashes to average 1 block a month.  Around 70 gigahashes to average 1 block a year.  All of those numbers are approximations and don't take into account difficulty changes or luck.  They just suggest the average amount of blocks you might expect to discover in that amount of time assuming everything else holds constant.

Chad
jmevz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 03:17:01 AM
 #13090

Anyone experiencing very low reward for last 2 blocks?

I'm making a little less now that the pools gh's are going up. but its not much less.

I was wondering why... stupid gh's Sad and difficulty level predicted in 2 days too...

Tally-ho Soy Sauce
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 01:14:47 PM
 #13091

Anyone experiencing very low reward for last 2 blocks?

I'm making a little less now that the pools gh's are going up. but its not much less.

I was wondering why... stupid gh's Sad and difficulty level predicted in 2 days too...

Yeah and with the price as high as it is i'm sure it will be going up a hell of a lot.

Anything helps: 1PdmCooPWFjWCFUZfUT6gb2ZijhhDtjM3u

Buy and sell mastercoin - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=287145.0
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 290



View Profile
November 15, 2013, 02:22:56 PM
 #13092

Yeah and with the price as high as it is i'm sure it will be going up a hell of a lot.
Better keep up! I'm still waiting for my KNC Sad

Keep Slush rounds short by donating to my wallet 1Pbmm1L69wNG7HaCHGLmVKzVCsq6p3UTds and also in case I actually helped someone.
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 614


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 02:54:22 PM
 #13093


Just thinking, I don't have the resources to do this, but I'd like to understand the math involved.

How much hash power would a guy need to solo mine, reasonably? I mean, one block a day, one a week, one a month and one a year. Is this calculateable? At the present difficulty level?

Thanks, if anyone sees fit to reply...

russell

To make solo-mining reasonable you should find at least one block for each difficulty change on average, otherwise you will play catch up with the difficulty, which may never happen.
To get 1 block each 2016 blocks - you should have 1/2016 of the total network power. Now it is 5.2Ph, so you need at least 2.58Th ... You are better with double that, which is easier to calculate as 0.1% = 1/1000 or simply replace Ph with Th ... 5.2Ph => 5.2Th

BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569


View Profile
November 15, 2013, 11:34:14 PM
 #13094

Just be careful not to sync the file a wrong way. LOL

Also, I have read the other day about a guy whose NAS lost a drive out of a RAID5 array and never notified him something was wrong. When the NAS lost another drive, his data was gone. So, you may want to test that your RAID failure notification is in working order.

Maybe an extra copy of the wallet on a CD-R? That reminds me to make a fresh one today.


dont think it matters if he overwrites a newer wallet with a slightly older one.

I loaded up a copy of a wallet that was a month old, it just churned muchmuch much longer getting itself up to date
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 290



View Profile
November 16, 2013, 05:02:13 AM
 #13095

dont think it matters if he overwrites a newer wallet with a slightly older one.

I loaded up a copy of a wallet that was a month old, it just churned muchmuch much longer getting itself up to date
Correct. But as long as all receiving addresses were included in that backup. In my case I had a backup from a week ago but it didn't include the newest receiving addresses. Lesson learnt, no more new addresses - ever!

Keep Slush rounds short by donating to my wallet 1Pbmm1L69wNG7HaCHGLmVKzVCsq6p3UTds and also in case I actually helped someone.
chadtn
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 178


View Profile
November 16, 2013, 05:35:34 AM
 #13096

dont think it matters if he overwrites a newer wallet with a slightly older one.

I loaded up a copy of a wallet that was a month old, it just churned muchmuch much longer getting itself up to date
Correct. But as long as all receiving addresses were included in that backup. In my case I had a backup from a week ago but it didn't include the newest receiving addresses. Lesson learnt, no more new addresses - ever!

I could be totally off on this, but it seems like I remember reading that the client generates a bunch of addresses the first time it is run even if they aren't all initially displayed in your wallet.  I thought it said you didn't really need to backup the wallet again until you used all of those up.  Just throwing that out there.  I'm sure someone with more knowledge of how the client works will correct me if I'm wrong.  heh..

Chad
jmevz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
November 16, 2013, 08:35:12 AM
 #13097

So my worker status tells me 122 Gh/s yet pool side it's only showing 75. Could this be a pool side error, display error or something to do with my internet connection? I've looked into cgminer screen and ST: 2, so stale shares seem minimal?

I don't get it?

KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 614


View Profile
November 16, 2013, 08:58:04 AM
 #13098

So my worker status tells me 122 Gh/s yet pool side it's only showing 75. Could this be a pool side error, display error or something to do with my internet connection? I've looked into cgminer screen and ST: 2, so stale shares seem minimal?

I don't get it?
Wait for the round to end. The next one will show your correct hashrate.

BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
jmevz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
November 16, 2013, 09:42:45 AM
 #13099

So my worker status tells me 122 Gh/s yet pool side it's only showing 75. Could this be a pool side error, display error or something to do with my internet connection? I've looked into cgminer screen and ST: 2, so stale shares seem minimal?

I don't get it?
Wait for the round to end. The next one will show your correct hashrate.

Thanks KNK, however I boosted the heat of my machine up to it's 'happy' operating temperature of 68*C (it's a KNC) and hashrate is going up. If my miner status window says 122, and poolside says 75, but when I boost the temp it starts to rise to match, what the hell is going on there? Faulty component? Sorry, don't know much about this ASIC technology, only what I've read on forums and everybody saying the chips don't like the cold weather, which seems spot on? I might go read up on the chip technology being used in my miner...

Don't want to cook the thing!

Thanks Smiley

soy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 826


View Profile
November 16, 2013, 03:37:33 PM
 #13100

Current round duration: 10:13:36.  Does everyone in the pool work on the same potential block or while some of us are hashing for 10 hours for .011btc others in the pool are making 0.11 in like an hour?

And what are empty blocks?  Can Slush find ourselves mining an empty block?  How long before it's considered too long to be crunching data, 12 hours, 18 hours? 24 hours?
Pages: « 1 ... 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 [655] 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 ... 1103 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!