Bitcoin Forum
September 28, 2016, 01:44:37 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3151 (80.4%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 3915

Pages: « 1 ... 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 [631] 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 ... 1104 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3855810 times)
bspurloc
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 569


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 05:35:16 PM
 #12601

I am using Cgminer on my Avalon. When I did the firmware upgrade recently, it upgraded the cgminer and there was a new load balancing feature.
I didn't use it right away as I had some worries of loss of hash.. but so far if I accumulate the total gh/s from the 3 pools, I have noted that I am reporting ~3-5 gh/s higher than when I had all ~110gh/s pointed to slush.

Pools are reporting atleast ~114-115gh/s combined...

Because the avalon is stand alone, and has the upgraded cgminer I split it 3 ways, then I have a little setup of usb jalapenos and BEs used by my MacPro which stays on 24 hrs a day usually rendering video cuts/edits..

So I think I am doing OK. I have some small amount of PPS which is nice to see it constantly accumulate.. and then I have my larger amounts of hashing power pointed at the 3 pools listed, all using the luck based system (PPLNS or whatever).


Anyone have any advice on solo mining? Should I maybe point my 20gh/s of USB miners to solo rather than PPS? anyone have some unbelievable luck lately?

So, as much as I love slush (i've basically only mined here since July) I've decided to go Load Balance between bitminter slush and guild.
I have ~100gh/s split ~33/ghs between the 3.

Then I have an additional 20gh/s (BEs & 2 jala) that I am currently trying out PPS on guild with. (Never did this before, seems logical for slower miners)

Who thinks I should try solo with the 20gh/s? SHA256 Alt coin?
Any comments on PPS vs PPLNS, which is better for more or less hash??

All speculative I know.. but fun to discuss...
How are you load balancing? Through BFGMiner's load balance option or manually by configuring several devices split up? I want to load balance but don't trust automated load balancing, also you lose some hashing power that way too.

20gh/s for solo mining? that is like wanting to solo mine with a Video card. so the answer would be NO.
maybe u have a typo and meant 20th/s then try it. but that seems low for solo mining too for today
1475027077
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475027077

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475027077
Reply with quote  #2

1475027077
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
smiley123
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 101



View Profile
October 18, 2013, 06:17:28 PM
 #12602

Is anyone else experiencing that reward payout is not happening?  Had my confirmed reward above the threshold for at least 2 hours and no payout... Wake up slush server, put some more coals into that engine....

Yeah me too

Now 3 hours over due.... Huh

And now 4 hours... Slush, PLEASE!!!!
+1
Add me to the list.
inevertell
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 07:44:17 PM
 #12603

I am using Cgminer on my Avalon. When I did the firmware upgrade recently, it upgraded the cgminer and there was a new load balancing feature.
I didn't use it right away as I had some worries of loss of hash.. but so far if I accumulate the total gh/s from the 3 pools, I have noted that I am reporting ~3-5 gh/s higher than when I had all ~110gh/s pointed to slush.

Pools are reporting atleast ~114-115gh/s combined...

Because the avalon is stand alone, and has the upgraded cgminer I split it 3 ways, then I have a little setup of usb jalapenos and BEs used by my MacPro which stays on 24 hrs a day usually rendering video cuts/edits..

So I think I am doing OK. I have some small amount of PPS which is nice to see it constantly accumulate.. and then I have my larger amounts of hashing power pointed at the 3 pools listed, all using the luck based system (PPLNS or whatever).


Anyone have any advice on solo mining? Should I maybe point my 20gh/s of USB miners to solo rather than PPS? anyone have some unbelievable luck lately?

So, as much as I love slush (i've basically only mined here since July) I've decided to go Load Balance between bitminter slush and guild.
I have ~100gh/s split ~33/ghs between the 3.

Then I have an additional 20gh/s (BEs & 2 jala) that I am currently trying out PPS on guild with. (Never did this before, seems logical for slower miners)

Who thinks I should try solo with the 20gh/s? SHA256 Alt coin?
Any comments on PPS vs PPLNS, which is better for more or less hash??

All speculative I know.. but fun to discuss...
How are you load balancing? Through BFGMiner's load balance option or manually by configuring several devices split up? I want to load balance but don't trust automated load balancing, also you lose some hashing power that way too.

20gh/s for solo mining? that is like wanting to solo mine with a Video card. so the answer would be NO.
maybe u have a typo and meant 20th/s then try it. but that seems low for solo mining too for today

That's why I was asking about it. Wondering if anyone has been lucky at all with solo mining. Could find a block after a year which would still be more that it would mine ever on a pool... though I would have some coin instead of none if I am not lucky.

Anyways probably gonna stick with my setup for now.
BuhTuglia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 10:21:37 PM
 #12604


218539.065 Ghash/s?Huh

And what, just a few weeks ago we hit 100,000G? Where is all this hashpower coming from? Are there that many BFL machines out there? Or have all those Avalon chips found their way into machines? What can I order, not have to pay a ridiculously insane amount for, and expect to get in a reasonable time frame (a few weeks?)? Is all this just a few million Erupters?

Just another dust miner... Enquiring Gnomes want to Mine!
Send nothing to 16SVa2iQA6HuNPDGYShpmeEvUBRi2gW7f1
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 10:29:12 PM
 #12605


218539.065 Ghash/s?Huh

And what, just a few weeks ago we hit 100,000G? Where is all this hashpower coming from? Are there that many BFL machines out there? Or have all those Avalon chips found their way into machines? What can I order, not have to pay a ridiculously insane amount for, and expect to get in a reasonable time frame (a few weeks?)? Is all this just a few million Erupters?


Everybody says BFL like they should have an impact. I doubt BFL is even significant. I'm thinking KnC is the more likely source. And, there are a heck of a lot of Bitfury chips out there in various machines.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 290



View Profile
October 19, 2013, 01:56:23 AM
 #12606

I don't use .bat files either.  I just use a shortcut with specific parameters for each instance; and yes, they're conveniently placed on the desktop.  In my case, I run the BE array first with its specific shortcut while the BFL device is turned off.  When the BE array is running and has settled, I then turn on the BFL device and run its specific shortcut.  Though the BFL device would run with the BE array in one instance using the BE-specific shortcut (-S all), BFGMiner would identify its chips as BE devices and would label it as such (ICA##).
Just an update on your method of managing BEs and BFL on the same machine. I found myself in exact situation after getting rid of one of my rigs. I created a script that allows me to disable the BFL, run BFGMiner for BEs only, then enable BFL and start the second instance with BFL only.

It's a simple script but with my GPUs, wait times for all com ports to register it's a good 5 minutes long startup procedure - still beats turning off BFL. If you're interested I can give you my script and some instructions to work on.

Keep Slush rounds short by donating to my wallet 1Pbmm1L69wNG7HaCHGLmVKzVCsq6p3UTds and also in case I actually helped someone.
BuhTuglia
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 137



View Profile WWW
October 19, 2013, 02:12:12 AM
 #12607


They are "solo" mining.
The rest of us are like little flies picking up the scraps around the edges. Cry

I'm not sure why it's surprising for you. When the GPU clients appeared everyone with interest and disposable cash ran to build huge GPU farms. Now they go and build ASIC farms. nothing has changed really.

Not to mention the fact that bitcoin worth only a tiny fraction of todays value.

So do you guys think that mining will be such a big deal after the next block reduction? I suppose if the coin continues to rise in price, possibly. But when the blocksize hits 6.25 and then 3.125... Do you think that these giant mining consortiums, whoever or whatever they are, will still be willing to invest so much? I guess if you've bought a miner, just let it run, I realize people won't be turning them off, but will they be buying new hardware? Of course I'll be dead of old age, but I'm just speculating.

Just another dust miner... Enquiring Gnomes want to Mine!
Send nothing to 16SVa2iQA6HuNPDGYShpmeEvUBRi2gW7f1
brucemangy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile
October 19, 2013, 09:51:11 AM
 #12608

All my Block Eruptor stopped working 15 miutes ago for no obvious reasons ... using BFGMiner. Network on my RPi seems ok. Anyone else has issues with the pool ?
kabopar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 09:55:47 AM
 #12609

All my Block Eruptor stopped working 15 miutes ago for no obvious reasons ... using BFGMiner. Network on my RPi seems ok. Anyone else has issues with the pool ?
my rig is working ok, but I noticed a large drop in the pool's hash rate (from about 220TH to 198TH/s)
kabopar
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 10:06:27 AM
 #12610

All my Block Eruptor stopped working 15 miutes ago for no obvious reasons ... using BFGMiner. Network on my RPi seems ok. Anyone else has issues with the pool ?
my rig is working ok, but I noticed a large drop in the pool's hash rate (from about 220TH to 198TH/s)

now at 176TH, looks like another DDOS attack or some server fault at our pool?!
brucemangy
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 169



View Profile
October 19, 2013, 10:15:57 AM
 #12611

Working again for me ...
Nono242
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 10:19:58 AM
 #12612

Yep I had a problem for 20 min long. 2 of my miners didn't have answer from the pool. Back working now.
Server issue ?
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
October 19, 2013, 10:20:12 AM
 #12613

All my Block Eruptor stopped working 15 miutes ago for no obvious reasons ... using BFGMiner. Network on my RPi seems ok. Anyone else has issues with the pool ?
my rig is working ok, but I noticed a large drop in the pool's hash rate (from about 220TH to 198TH/s)

now at 176TH, looks like another DDOS attack or some server fault at our pool?!

Or all this weeks deliveries of miners?
When you take delivery, its out of the box and get hashing.
Then on saturday morning, shut them down and tidy up the rig.

By tonight the pool hashrate could be back up to 250TH.  That kind of swing in hashrate is as disruptive as a DDOS attack.

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
Speakeron
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 12:43:10 PM
 #12614

tonight the pool hashrate could be back up to 250TH.  That kind of swing in hashrate is as disruptive as a DDOS attack.

Why's that? As long as you're mining (and there's no evidence that hashrate swings affect the pool), your earnings only depend on your hashrate and the current difficulty.
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
October 19, 2013, 12:47:31 PM
 #12615

tonight the pool hashrate could be back up to 250TH.  That kind of swing in hashrate is as disruptive as a DDOS attack.

Why's that? As long as you're mining (and there's no evidence that hashrate swings affect the pool), your earnings only depend on your hashrate and the current difficulty.
Who mentioned earnings
This was a question about pool hash rate.

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
Speakeron
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 04:36:20 PM
 #12616

tonight the pool hashrate could be back up to 250TH.  That kind of swing in hashrate is as disruptive as a DDOS attack.

Why's that? As long as you're mining (and there's no evidence that hashrate swings affect the pool), your earnings only depend on your hashrate and the current difficulty.
Who mentioned earnings
This was a question about pool hash rate.

If your earnings aren't affected, why is it "as disruptive as a DDOS attack"?
macsheadroom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


Computer Service Tech


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 05:40:35 PM
 #12617

tonight the pool hashrate could be back up to 250TH.  That kind of swing in hashrate is as disruptive as a DDOS attack.

Why's that? As long as you're mining (and there's no evidence that hashrate swings affect the pool), your earnings only depend on your hashrate and the current difficulty.
Who mentioned earnings
This was a question about pool hash rate.

If your earnings aren't affected, why is it "as disruptive as a DDOS attack"?

my earnings are 1/3 what they were just 2 week ago because of increasing pool hash rate and difficulty increase. when I started here pool was 8 now were looking at 250... Roll Eyes

1FQkmrwQ7yf9MKGLsAUhY2jgMT8WjepwL7
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
October 19, 2013, 05:42:54 PM
 #12618

tonight the pool hashrate could be back up to 250TH.  That kind of swing in hashrate is as disruptive as a DDOS attack.

Why's that? As long as you're mining (and there's no evidence that hashrate swings affect the pool), your earnings only depend on your hashrate and the current difficulty.
Who mentioned earnings
This was a question about pool hash rate.

If your earnings aren't affected, why is it "as disruptive as a DDOS attack"?

Got it totally wrong. The hash rate has only gone back up to 223.747723TH

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
Speakeron
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 47


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 06:05:46 PM
 #12619

tonight the pool hashrate could be back up to 250TH.  That kind of swing in hashrate is as disruptive as a DDOS attack.

Why's that? As long as you're mining (and there's no evidence that hashrate swings affect the pool), your earnings only depend on your hashrate and the current difficulty.
Who mentioned earnings
This was a question about pool hash rate.

If your earnings aren't affected, why is it "as disruptive as a DDOS attack"?

my earnings are 1/3 what they were just 2 week ago because of increasing pool hash rate and difficulty increase. when I started here pool was 8 now were looking at 250... Roll Eyes

Your earnings aren't directly affected by the pool hash rate; they're only affected by the difficulty. Of course, difficulty increases because of the overall hash rate increase, but during any difficulty round, increases in the pool (or total network) hash rate has no affect at all on your earnings.

If you're only getting 1/3 from two weeks ago, you're probably just having bad luck at the moment. Difficulty then was a bit more that half of what it is now, so your earning should be about 1/2 (actually a little bit more).
vm1990
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092


bloginhell.me


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2013, 06:20:27 PM
 #12620

mining pool hashrate does affect your earnings as the 25btc block still has to be split by how many shares you submitted so for example a block took 100 shares and 1 user submitted all those share they would get 25bitcoin where as if 2 users submitted share they would get 12.5 each

▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
.JOIN THE CLUB !
 Bitcointalk.club
▄▄▄▄▄▄
▄▄▄▄
▄▄
BLOG:  www.bloginhell.me        BTC: 192tyaiwWxJ2UhSxUCbQW4JuA3Le5CEhWH                 Free 5GB Storage Cloud.Bloginhell.me 
Pages: « 1 ... 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 627 628 629 630 [631] 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 679 680 681 ... 1104 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!