Bitcoin Forum
December 08, 2016, 06:14:30 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3160 (80.5%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.1%)
Total Voters: 3924

Pages: « 1 ... 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 [627] 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 ... 1105 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3929667 times)
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 09:02:23 AM
 #12521

I'm making progress here. Do I need two separate copies of BFGMiner on the hard drive to run 2 instances? What happens to config file if I run 2 instances from one copy?

You definitely need 2 separate copies in different folders.

In my case, I only use one copy since I don't run the instances off of a config file.  I just input the parameters as a shortcut target of bfgminer.exe (i.e. one shortcut with BE options and another with BFL options...and so on and so forth).
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481177670
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481177670

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481177670
Reply with quote  #2

1481177670
Report to moderator
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 09:53:36 AM
 #12522

I'm making progress here. Do I need two separate copies of BFGMiner on the hard drive to run 2 instances? What happens to config file if I run 2 instances from one copy?

You definitely need 2 separate copies in different folders.

In my case, I only use one copy since I don't run the instances off of a config file.  I just input the parameters as a shortcut target of bfgminer.exe (i.e. one shortcut with BE options and another with BFL options...and so on and so forth).

If you run from *.bat files, then place the shortcuts on the desktop, then it should work ok.
To be on the safe side, for the bfl device, specify the com port number in the second *.bat file. That way you know its not even looking at anything else.

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 10:49:56 AM
 #12523

I'm making progress here. Do I need two separate copies of BFGMiner on the hard drive to run 2 instances? What happens to config file if I run 2 instances from one copy?

You definitely need 2 separate copies in different folders.

In my case, I only use one copy since I don't run the instances off of a config file.  I just input the parameters as a shortcut target of bfgminer.exe (i.e. one shortcut with BE options and another with BFL options...and so on and so forth).

If you run from *.bat files, then place the shortcuts on the desktop, then it should work ok.
To be on the safe side, for the bfl device, specify the com port number in the second *.bat file. That way you know its not even looking at anything else.

I don't use .bat files either.  I just use a shortcut with specific parameters for each instance; and yes, they're conveniently placed on the desktop.  In my case, I run the BE array first with its specific shortcut while the BFL device is turned off.  When the BE array is running and has settled, I then turn on the BFL device and run its specific shortcut.  Though the BFL device would run with the BE array in one instance using the BE-specific shortcut (-S all), BFGMiner would identify its chips as BE devices and would label it as such (ICA##).

Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 10:58:01 AM
 #12524

Hi mdopro1

Lots of Ideas here!
Does it help to in debugging your problem?

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Double your Personal Bitcoin Funds.


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2013, 05:15:40 PM
 #12525

Yup! Feels like I need to find a smaller pool. My reward is shrinking by each round.

You have to take into accout the round frequency also.
Smaller pool will change nothing for you. You will have higher rewards, but less frequently.
I didn't mean it literally - I like slush, but it's getting bigger.
Hi mdopro1

Lots of Ideas here!
Does it help to in debugging your problem?
Of course, great help.

I don't use .bat files either.  I just use a shortcut with specific parameters for each instance; and yes, they're conveniently placed on the desktop.  In my case, I run the BE array first with its specific shortcut while the BFL device is turned off.  When the BE array is running and has settled, I then turn on the BFL device and run its specific shortcut.  Though the BFL device would run with the BE array in one instance using the BE-specific shortcut (-S all), BFGMiner would identify its chips as BE devices and would label it as such (ICA##).
That's cumbersome in my application. My miners are at work and if anything happens or something crashes/power failures I would have to go back to work to perform the startup procedure - Nope!

But I use similar method. I use predefined shortcuts sitting on desktop and have a batch file launching these shortcuts. This batch file is in startup folder so in case of a power failure, computer turns back on automatically, windows logs in automatically and a startup script with time-delay runs. My script delays for devices and the operating system to finish loading - for example, if I run BFMiner too fast not all of my block erupters show up because I guess they are not ready to start working yet.

To prevent power issues, my block erupter USB hubs are on a UPS so they never power off in power failures. When power restores, my rigs auto start and all goes well. I don't have to drive to work ever - unless in rare case if I get BSOD on the rigs.

In case of BFL running computer, I have BFL and 2 GPUs - I am now running 2 instances with 2 separate copies, one controls BFL and the other controls GPUs. In my startup script I run GPU BFGMiner first because in my experience ASICs need a bit of time to get recognized on USB ports.

It's working well.

New Bitcoin fund doubling platform has launched!
Receive Automated Payment Every 2 Hours
Appealing alternative with Sophisticated algorithms.
https://Btc-Funds.com
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Double your Personal Bitcoin Funds.


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2013, 05:18:55 PM
 #12526

If you run from *.bat files, then place the shortcuts on the desktop, then it should work ok.
To be on the safe side, for the bfl device, specify the com port number in the second *.bat file. That way you know its not even looking at anything else.
Stating a com port might help if other ASIC devices are present on the same machine like block erupters. I'll look into that - Thanks a bunch.

I updated BFGMiner 2 latest version and it turns off GPU when ASIC is present. Shortcut parameters got too long to define GPU and ASIC all at the same time - hence 2 instances. Working good now.

I'm also now managing my blades with BFGMiner. 3 blades per rig on the same user. Seems like my variance has gotten bigger because difficulty increased drastically on that one user.

New Bitcoin fund doubling platform has launched!
Receive Automated Payment Every 2 Hours
Appealing alternative with Sophisticated algorithms.
https://Btc-Funds.com
visdude
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 670


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 06:18:40 PM
 #12527

Yup! Feels like I need to find a smaller pool. My reward is shrinking by each round.

You have to take into accout the round frequency also.
Smaller pool will change nothing for you. You will have higher rewards, but less frequently.
I didn't mean it literally - I like slush, but it's getting bigger.
Hi mdopro1

Lots of Ideas here!
Does it help to in debugging your problem?
Of course, great help.

I don't use .bat files either.  I just use a shortcut with specific parameters for each instance; and yes, they're conveniently placed on the desktop.  In my case, I run the BE array first with its specific shortcut while the BFL device is turned off.  When the BE array is running and has settled, I then turn on the BFL device and run its specific shortcut.  Though the BFL device would run with the BE array in one instance using the BE-specific shortcut (-S all), BFGMiner would identify its chips as BE devices and would label it as such (ICA##).
That's cumbersome in my application. My miners are at work and if anything happens or something crashes/power failures I would have to go back to work to perform the startup procedure - Nope!

Whatever.  I wasn't making a suggestion to your situation directly.  I was merely stating my personal experience to Mudbankkeith.
Mudbankkeith
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 868



View Profile
October 14, 2013, 06:53:17 PM
 #12528

Yup! Feels like I need to find a smaller pool. My reward is shrinking by each round.

You have to take into accout the round frequency also.
Smaller pool will change nothing for you. You will have higher rewards, but less frequently.
I didn't mean it literally - I like slush, but it's getting bigger.
Hi mdopro1

Lots of Ideas here!
Does it help to in debugging your problem?
Of course, great help.

I don't use .bat files either.  I just use a shortcut with specific parameters for each instance; and yes, they're conveniently placed on the desktop.  In my case, I run the BE array first with its specific shortcut while the BFL device is turned off.  When the BE array is running and has settled, I then turn on the BFL device and run its specific shortcut.  Though the BFL device would run with the BE array in one instance using the BE-specific shortcut (-S all), BFGMiner would identify its chips as BE devices and would label it as such (ICA##).
That's cumbersome in my application. My miners are at work and if anything happens or something crashes/power failures I would have to go back to work to perform the startup procedure - Nope!

Whatever.  I wasn't making a suggestion to your situation directly.  I was merely stating my personal experience to Mudbankkeith.

It's amazing how many different ways there are to work with BFGminer(and CG).
The occasional share-out of information, like this, does trigger new ideas.
Also the different combinations of devices bring their own quirks to the discussion.

BTc donations welcome:-  13c2KuzWCaWFTXF171Zn1HrKhMYARPKv97
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Double your Personal Bitcoin Funds.


View Profile WWW
October 14, 2013, 07:13:43 PM
 #12529

Also the different combinations of devices bring their own quirks to the discussion.
And updates breaking things the way they worked before, like GPU being disabled by default. My problem with that ended up being Windows' limitation on parameters on shortcuts. Worked it out though. Thanks to everyone who helped.

New Bitcoin fund doubling platform has launched!
Receive Automated Payment Every 2 Hours
Appealing alternative with Sophisticated algorithms.
https://Btc-Funds.com
macsheadroom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


Computer Service Tech


View Profile
October 14, 2013, 10:39:55 PM
 #12530

Anybody else have this today?

20399    2013-10-14 15:15:05    2:08:56    xxxxxxxx     none             none    263619    25.17135824    51 confirmations left
20398    2013-10-14 13:06:09    4:13:30    xxxxxxxx    28278    0.00000000    263599    25.14919247    31 confirmations left

1FQkmrwQ7yf9MKGLsAUhY2jgMT8WjepwL7
mdopro1
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 308


Double your Personal Bitcoin Funds.


View Profile WWW
October 15, 2013, 12:01:08 AM
 #12531

Anybody else have this today?

20399    2013-10-14 15:15:05    2:08:56    xxxxxxxx     none             none    263619    25.17135824    51 confirmations left
20398    2013-10-14 13:06:09    4:13:30    xxxxxxxx    28278    0.00000000    263599    25.14919247    31 confirmations left
Looks like you may have lost the connection or something. Mine are ok. Assuming you X'd out total shares?

New Bitcoin fund doubling platform has launched!
Receive Automated Payment Every 2 Hours
Appealing alternative with Sophisticated algorithms.
https://Btc-Funds.com
macsheadroom
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 91


Computer Service Tech


View Profile
October 15, 2013, 12:47:44 AM
 #12532

Yep, my connection has been solid for so long now, I missed the obvious.

1FQkmrwQ7yf9MKGLsAUhY2jgMT8WjepwL7
gourmet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311


View Profile
October 15, 2013, 04:24:17 PM
 #12533

Just to make you all feel a little bit better:

Next Projected difficulty: 275,075,241

+45.3%

+85,793,992

Quite amazing.

I believe it will settle at about the recently common 30+ %.

I'm afraid I've underestimated it this time... :-(
Hashrate has been quite stable for the first several days of the cycle, then it has turned upwards quite quickly.
desired_username
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 867


View Profile
October 15, 2013, 07:14:31 PM
 #12534


I'm afraid I've underestimated it this time... :-(
Hashrate has been quite stable for the first several days of the cycle, then it has turned upwards quite quickly.

It happens with the best of us Smiley

This will be yet again an all time high difficulty increase. We are experiencing quite interesting times I believe.

I guess the next all time high change will be when Cointerra gear (hopefully) hits the market...It takes approximately 1227pcs 2TH units to provide the current network hasrate. I think they have a lot more preorders than that.

bobsmoke
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311



View Profile
October 15, 2013, 07:31:32 PM
 #12535

just to share some news: my KNC box just found Block #263890 ... cool stuff ... always good to contribute!
nottm28
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574



View Profile
October 15, 2013, 07:52:04 PM
 #12536


I'm afraid I've underestimated it this time... :-(
Hashrate has been quite stable for the first several days of the cycle, then it has turned upwards quite quickly.

It happens with the best of us Smiley

This will be yet again an all time high difficulty increase. We are experiencing quite interesting times I believe.

I guess the next all time high change will be when Cointerra gear (hopefully) hits the market...It takes approximately 1227pcs 2TH units to provide the current network hasrate. I think they have a lot more preorders than that.



There's been typically a ten fold hash rate increase every 3 months recently. Best to work with that.

donations not accepted
unknown.usr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
October 15, 2013, 08:48:31 PM
 #12537

So is an old skool block erupter worth $948 plus shipping now, or is that still too pricey?
desired_username
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 867


View Profile
October 15, 2013, 08:58:48 PM
 #12538

So is an old skool block erupter worth $948 plus shipping now, or is that still too pricey?

948$ is way overpriced, considering that it utilizes obsolete technology (110nm).
unknown.usr
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 106


View Profile
October 15, 2013, 09:06:28 PM
 #12539

So is an old skool block erupter worth $948 plus shipping now, or is that still too pricey?

948$ is way overpriced, considering that it utilizes obsolete technology (110nm).

Ooops, I meant $9.48
alh
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106


View Profile
October 16, 2013, 06:14:16 AM
 #12540

$9.48 is a pretty good price. If that is for one and includes shipping it's a pretty good
deal as far as it goes. It won't generate much BTC at current difficulties and may well
not pay for it self any time soon, if ever. If you check Ebay, the going price is about
$15 or so with shipping. Some folks try and get $30, and will be waiting a long time for
a buyer.
Pages: « 1 ... 577 578 579 580 581 582 583 584 585 586 587 588 589 590 591 592 593 594 595 596 597 598 599 600 601 602 603 604 605 606 607 608 609 610 611 612 613 614 615 616 617 618 619 620 621 622 623 624 625 626 [627] 628 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 ... 1105 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!