Bitcoin Forum
October 01, 2016, 12:07:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.0 (New!) [Torrent]. Make sure you verify it.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Poll
Question: What type of pool payouts do you prefer?
Bitcoins - 3152 (80.4%)
Bank transfer / USD - 407 (10.4%)
Gold/silver coins and bars - 359 (9.2%)
Total Voters: 3916

Pages: « 1 ... 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 [679] 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 ... 1104 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [40+ PH] SlushPool (slushpool.com); World's First Mining Pool  (Read 3859693 times)
jmevz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 09:30:58 AM
 #13561

My worker went offline for a little while. I've reconnected and it's hashing, but not showing that it's hashing on the workers screen? Is it because that takes a while to populate as it's an average hash rate display?

1475323627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475323627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475323627
Reply with quote  #2

1475323627
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1475323627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475323627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475323627
Reply with quote  #2

1475323627
Report to moderator
1475323627
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1475323627

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1475323627
Reply with quote  #2

1475323627
Report to moderator
Its About Sharing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Antifragile


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 09:46:11 AM
 #13562

I'm seeing the same thing, no hashing/current shares from the bitcoincz page. (everything is empty basically) But my miners are hashing away fine. Thought it was me testing a new Raspberry Pi with new worker, but the old worker shows the same when hashing as well.

Question - I am going to be getting more hashing power and I could swear there used to be a place to enter in your hashing power (when setting up a worker?) in order to hash at the correct difficulty or something like that. Is this gone now? All I need to do is create a worker and give it a pw?

Thanks,
IAS

BTC = Black Swan.
BTC = Antifragile - "Some things benefit from shocks; they thrive and grow when exposed to volatility, randomness, disorder, and stressors and love adventure, risk, and uncertainty. Robust is not the opposite of fragile.
jmevz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 09:51:36 AM
 #13563

I'm seeing the same thing, no hashing/current shares from the bitcoincz page. (everything is empty basically) But my miners are hashing away fine. Thought it was me testing a new Raspberry Pi with new worker, but the old worker shows the same when hashing as well.

Question - I am going to be getting more hashing power and I could swear there used to be a place to enter in your hashing power (when setting up a worker?) in order to hash at the correct difficulty or something like that. Is this gone now? All I need to do is create a worker and give it a pw?

Thanks,
IAS


So this could be a pool side issue then? I hope? - As per the hashing power, I don't think Slush's pool ever had the option to enter that detail? Not for as long as I've used it I don't think...

FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 09:59:07 AM
 #13564

Hi all,

I have some workers that work, some that don't. Will the shares from the workers that show up as idle be counted later on or are they lost???

Not in the scoring system that is used here. Taking a worker offline is causing its score & reward to begin dropping like a stone and the process starts within seconds.
Basically most of it is lost after a longer offline period (i.e. 1 hour), hence workers better work 100% of all time with 100% network connection.
(the only luck you can have is the round to take at least another ca. 15-30 Minutes after you restarted a worker. After that the score & reward is about completely recovered, even if you started very late in the round, which will basically grant you massive over-reward for that round on that worker)

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
jmevz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 10:01:23 AM
 #13565

Hi all,

I have some workers that work, some that don't. Will the shares from the workers that show up as idle be counted later on or are they lost???

Not in the scoring system that is used here. Taking a worker offline is causing its score & reward to begin dropping like a stone and the process starts within seconds.
Basically most of it is lost after a longer offline period (i.e. 1 hour), hence workers better work 100% of all time with 100% network connection.
(the only luck you can have is the round to take at least another ca. 15-30 Minutes, after which score & reward is about completely recovered, even if you started very late in the round, which will basically grant you massive over-reward for that round on that worker)

So I should wait until the next round before I start panicking, basically?

FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 10:06:42 AM
 #13566

IMHO no, because you'd miss out on getting potentially full credit for that worker for less work done due to the scoring system.

I'd just restart the worker and join back in any time, can't go wrong with that IMHO.

Taking a worker offline for a longer time however, is something I'd only do right after a round is finished (if possible, sometimes that waiting could take upto 15hrs Wink )

In short summary :
Bring worker online : anytime and ASAP, you can only gain from it
Bring worker offline : minimize downtime and bring back online ASAP - OR - wait until round is finished before stopping it

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
mike_980
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 10:08:28 AM
 #13567

hey guys, I was experiencing the same thing last night, BFG miner and my ASICS looked to be working perfectly, go to my workers screen and last share was ages ago...

I restarted BFG 3 or 4 times before it started to register and once it is working it does't seem to drop out. Then though I had to turn my internet connection off for a few minutes for another reason and I couldn't get it to register again so I switched to the 64bit version of bfgminer and it worked first time, not sure if it was coincidence or if there is a reason behind it though, looks to me like a pool issue as bfg gives no errors
jmevz
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 251


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 10:42:54 AM
 #13568

I restarted my miner instead of just restarting cgminer, and it seemed to work, unless it was a coincidence, but all good here!

FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 10:49:03 AM
 #13569

Just noted the famous bug struck me again :

21088    2013-12-07 20:06:32    3:08:21    1135667070    none    none    273645    25.32845328    1 confirmations left


This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
mike_980
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:11:40 AM
 #13570

what is the famous bug? sorry i'm new to bitcoin mining!

Also what do people think my chances of profit are? I managed to get a 335MH/s and a 2.6GH/s ASIC for £160 from ebay and i'm currently sitting at around 3GH/s, some days the BTC build faster than others but it seems like I will be getting maybe 0.005 every couple of days... best to sell my ASICS on ebay while they are still mad money?
pluMmet
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 131



View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:21:42 AM
 #13571

So let me understand this.. when Slushes pool shows my workers @ 0/mh for at least the last ten rounds (last 48 hours it turns out)  but my miners have been accepting hashes the whole time (like I just discovered is happening) the thinking here is to just reset my miners and hope I start getting shares for x amount of time until it stops again???
Its About Sharing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1050


Antifragile


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:24:28 AM
 #13572

I restarted my CGMiner and now Slush is picking things up again.

I just upgraded to MinePeon V5 (with CGMiner 3.8.4) and wonder if that might be the reason. Never had a problem with Slush NOT picking up my hashing.

Anyone that had the same problems running the same setup?

Thx,
IAS

ps - How do you just restart the worker? I saw that mentioned.

BTC = Black Swan.
BTC = Antifragile - "Some things benefit from shocks; they thrive and grow when exposed to volatility, randomness, disorder, and stressors and love adventure, risk, and uncertainty. Robust is not the opposite of fragile.
mike_980
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:26:37 AM
 #13573

well when I reset mine they started showing on the website, luckily I caught it pretty fast. With me though they have never stopped working as such, it's just they never started working when I opened BFGminer. I'd be interested to know if someones has dropped out without them restarting the program?
KNK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 614


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:32:11 AM
 #13574

It seems some of the backends have a problem with it's DB connection and is not storing the shares.

Got this problem when connected to 192.198.107.178, but because of load balancing - not sure it means much.

BTC tips: 1KNK1akhpethhtcyhKTF2d3PWTQDUWUzHE
0x00ff
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:50:18 AM
 #13575

I restarted for the third time now and it still doesn't show up. I'm on bfgminer 3.8.0..

Still free Bitcoins @ http://freebitco.in/
Donations welcome: 1H46SyAGqGf993MAYaht5SpxnEp2XQVS7
0x00ff
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:52:53 AM
 #13576

Really "bad coincidence" when the pool luck went to 170+% that shares are not accounted and block rewards go somewhere else...

Still free Bitcoins @ http://freebitco.in/
Donations welcome: 1H46SyAGqGf993MAYaht5SpxnEp2XQVS7
FalconFly
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252

Sentinel


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 12:04:13 PM
 #13577

what is the famous bug? sorry i'm new to bitcoin mining!

Also what do people think my chances of profit are? I managed to get a 335MH/s and a 2.6GH/s ASIC for £160 from ebay and i'm currently sitting at around 3GH/s, some days the BTC build faster than others but it seems like I will be getting maybe 0.005 every couple of days... best to sell my ASICS on ebay while they are still mad money?

That's then you lose all or a large part of your Shares during a round for no apparent reason (bug, at least hope it's just a bug).
Since Slush is nowhere to be seen and things seem to run a bit unsmooth lately (don't want to say "falling apart"), let's hope nothing worse happened to the Pool.

Concerning your question about your devices, considering the current price frenzy and the almost-impossible profitability over the next months (due to skyrocketing difficulty).... Technically yes, selling them into the frenzy on EBay right now is probably your only way to actually profit. Demand is hughe and supply is minimal (at least here in Europe) - that's how it looks right now and a perfect chance to take significant profits in cold blood.

Since your USB ASICs use not much power, however, another price rise in BTC might change that calculation (but this is entirely speculative and IMHO only valid for fast USB devices, not those old Erupters).
If you're like me and just want to mine ~1 BTC to see what happens with it in the future - you might as well take your chances and keep them until their BTC output is below a "comfort level" that you set for yourself.

Another strategy that (at least right now) seems to work is to sell older/"profitability-obsolete" devices on EBay into the frenzy and buy more modern devices straight from the manufacturer.
(I'm looking into those ~5GH/s Bi*Fury USB devices right now, for me small-profile miner those are more than sufficient)

If you're only into aquiring BTC, more experienced guys will advise to wait for a price drop and simply buy BTC. If you manage to actually buy low/sell high, that's definitely the most easy and profitable way (if you're into profit alone).

For a good calculation, I use this nifty calculator...

This forum signature is like its owner - it can't be bought
0x00ff
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 56


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 12:08:25 PM
 #13578

My worker is showing uo again ... no restart in between.

Still free Bitcoins @ http://freebitco.in/
Donations welcome: 1H46SyAGqGf993MAYaht5SpxnEp2XQVS7
gourmet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 311


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 12:10:12 PM
 #13579

Question - I am going to be getting more hashing power and I could swear there used to be a place to enter in your hashing power (when setting up a worker?) in order to hash at the correct difficulty or something like that. Is this gone now? All I need to do is create a worker and give it a pw?

Thanks,
IAS

As per the hashing power, I don't think Slush's pool ever had the option to enter that detail? Not for as long as I've used it I don't think...

It did. There had been a field in each worker's record showing the "UserDiff" set for that worker (UserDiff is still mentioned in the thread subject). When setting a new worker, it was possible to either fill in the desired difficulty, or insert the hashpower of the new miner and let the pool calculate the apt difficulty.
Recently, UserDiff has been replaced by VarDiff - difficulty of accepted shares for particular worker is set dynamically by the pool, nothing has to be set manually.
madpoet
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 12:10:40 PM
 #13580

Yeah I had that happen yesterday:

21086   2013-12-07 14:59:45   1:33:32   559105002   none   none   273612   25.13870953    confirmed

Miner was fully online and the before and after blocks show normally so this was obviously a pool-side problem.
Pages: « 1 ... 629 630 631 632 633 634 635 636 637 638 639 640 641 642 643 644 645 646 647 648 649 650 651 652 653 654 655 656 657 658 659 660 661 662 663 664 665 666 667 668 669 670 671 672 673 674 675 676 677 678 [679] 680 681 682 683 684 685 686 687 688 689 690 691 692 693 694 695 696 697 698 699 700 701 702 703 704 705 706 707 708 709 710 711 712 713 714 715 716 717 718 719 720 721 722 723 724 725 726 727 728 729 ... 1104 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!