Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2024, 04:44:36 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 [261] 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Antminer S1 Sales open] Price changes daily, now 0.414 BTC for 180GH/s  (Read 346282 times)
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 01:48:09 PM
 #5201

1 of my S1's was dead this morning, thought it was a bad psu. Plugged it into another and one of the caps exploded and started on fire! This is it for me now for sure.
I find that highly unlikely.  Capacitors of the size found on the S1 aren't large enough to cause a fire unless you're stacking your S1s on top of gasoline or something.  
It's always possible that there was some freak accident, I suppose.
It exploded as soon as I turned on the psu. POP. I was able to blow it out right away. All thats left is the inside of the cap all charred. It was the big silver one located just below and to the right of the 6 pin connector. I will post a pic tomorrow.

It probably would have extinguished itself if I hadn't been there but its always a little scary with electrical fires.It doesn't look like there is much on the board to go up in flames but who knows. Lesson learned, I am getting a dry extinguisher asap just to be safe.

And I would be happy to replace the S1 with a S2 if I was given a super awesome coupon for the trouble. Win-Win.

Considering I have ordered 30 ants and this is the first bad blade its not too bad, 1 out of 60.

jewgalo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 02:06:29 PM
 #5202

anyone in canada have experience with getting these ants... whats the customs procedure like? how much did you end up paying in taxes / duties?

About $26 a machine.  No customs issues, just pay the man when he comes to your door.
Its even cheaper for multiples. My last order of 9 averaged $18 per ant. Shipping is fast and smooth, no problem getting them in the country.

About the same here, 92$ for each of my 5 unit orders

brooo thats nowhere near the same as $26 / $18 per unit... really dont wanna get stuck paying around $100 x 8 units... in the comments section if i ask them to put a low value on it will they oblige...?

Anyone want a voucher for a S2?



how much is it for and what are you looking to get for it? when does it expire?

Bro, 92\5=18.40

that was totally my bad i didn't fully read your post i guess... i thought you meant $92 per unit....
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1258
Merit: 1027


View Profile WWW
May 12, 2014, 03:27:57 PM
 #5203

Considering I have ordered 30 ants and this is the first bad blade its not too bad, 1 out of 60.



That is a little scary...

I've got 6 ants, been running for a while now with no real issues.

After I had it up and running I noticed 1 of the ants is missing 2x of the same capacitor that you had pop (in a different location on the PCB), seems to be running fine though...

aztecminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 12, 2014, 09:03:36 PM
 #5204



got them installed today.. they work well with the heatsinks. i am seeing low to mid 40's temps @400 mhz.. i think is good for fan redundancy too. i used #8 1 1/2 bolts worked great.
jewgalo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 09:09:26 PM
 #5205

is it safe to be running the ants 24/7 with an empty house 5 days a week for 8 hours or so... getting a little concerned of them blowing up or catching fire...
DebitMe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2786
Merit: 1011

Get Paid Crypto To Walk or Drive


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 09:10:28 PM
 #5206

is it safe to be running the ants 24/7 with an empty house 5 days a week for 8 hours or so... getting a little concerned of them blowing up or catching fire...

As long as you have them correctly powered and cooled, there should be no issue and nothing to worry about.

Get paid crypto to walk or drive. Play CoinHuntWorld! Earn Hundreds Monthly!
https://coinhunt.gsc.im/IZIijYr64Q
jewgalo
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 09:15:45 PM
 #5207

is it safe to be running the ants 24/7 with an empty house 5 days a week for 8 hours or so... getting a little concerned of them blowing up or catching fire...

As long as you have them correctly powered and cooled, there should be no issue and nothing to worry about.

won't be overclocking them until the warranty is up and plan on using corsair 80 plus gold 850W for each miner + stock fans...
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 09:25:57 PM
 #5208

is it safe to be running the ants 24/7 with an empty house 5 days a week for 8 hours or so... getting a little concerned of them blowing up or catching fire...

As long as you have them correctly powered and cooled, there should be no issue and nothing to worry about.

My ant was the only device on a 20 amp breaker using a 800 watt PSU. Shit happens.
aztecminer
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1092
Merit: 1000



View Profile
May 12, 2014, 09:30:10 PM
 #5209

is it safe to be running the ants 24/7 with an empty house 5 days a week for 8 hours or so... getting a little concerned of them blowing up or catching fire...

As long as you have them correctly powered and cooled, there should be no issue and nothing to worry about.

My ant was the only device on a 20 amp breaker using a 800 watt PSU. Shit happens.



are u going to try to replace the popped cap ?? it probably wouldn't be that difficult . do u know how to solder ??
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 12, 2014, 09:35:38 PM
 #5210

is it safe to be running the ants 24/7 with an empty house 5 days a week for 8 hours or so... getting a little concerned of them blowing up or catching fire...

As long as you have them correctly powered and cooled, there should be no issue and nothing to worry about.

My ant was the only device on a 20 amp breaker using a 800 watt PSU. Shit happens.



are u going to try to replace the popped cap ?? it probably wouldn't be that difficult . do u know how to solder ??
I thought about it but want see what Bitmain does with the RMA. Pm'd them yesterday and got a response asking for my email. Havent heard back yet but Im sure they do sleep Smiley

Im not going to rake them over the coals, these things happen to all sorts of electronics, just bad luck.

Hoping they step up to the plate and give me some GOOD coupons as a gesture of good faith. If I see a juicy coupon then I can buy more gear. S2 for $1800 would be nice Smiley
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1005

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
May 13, 2014, 01:18:16 AM
 #5211

Considering I have ordered 30 ants and this is the first bad blade its not too bad, 1 out of 60.



That is a little scary...

I've got 6 ants, been running for a while now with no real issues.

After I had it up and running I noticed 1 of the ants is missing 2x of the same capacitor that you had pop (in a different location on the PCB), seems to be running fine though...

i had that capacitor fall off on one of my units. booting via a PSU-on would cause some chips on that side to not detect properly, but if i rebooted the antminer while leaving the 12V power on,it recognizes and runs just fine.

In the case of WPGDEEZ's unit:
1) did you possibly connect the 12V and GND backwards? this could cause angry capacitors and other damage.
2) clean everything up, remove the cap, and if there is no other damage (such as burnt traces, other swollen caps, or cracked resistors) try turning it on. I give you a 60% chance that it will boot and operate just fine without that capacitor if there's no other issues. (please double-check your wiring polarity first)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
GIXXER
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 10
Merit: 0


View Profile
May 13, 2014, 01:25:22 AM
 #5212

anyone in canada have experience with getting these ants... whats the customs procedure like? how much did you end up paying in taxes / duties?

No problems getting to Canada.  I paid a bit for taxes or broker fees wasnt sure didnt care enough too look because it wasnt that much.2132

Price dropped down to $213 for a S1 today.  Makes me wonder if they're unloading these for a reason.
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1258
Merit: 1027


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2014, 01:55:14 AM
 #5213


2) clean everything up, remove the cap, and if there is no other damage (such as burnt traces, other swollen caps, or cracked resistors) try turning it on. I give you a 60% chance that it will boot and operate just fine without that capacitor if there's no other issues. (please double-check your wiring polarity first)


I think this is a good idea, as long as your around to monitor it for a while....

Again, mine with 2 of those capacitors missing, in a different location, runs fine.

There was a "common sense" fire safety thread I contributed to a while ago, but cant seem to find it.

90% of the time turning the power off (away from the fire, like at the breaker) will extinguish any electrical fire quickly, assuming you are there when it starts.

Clean it up, inspect it and if all else looks OK give it a shot (with your hand on the breaker Wink )
 
BillTech
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 296
Merit: 250


View Profile
May 13, 2014, 02:49:42 AM
 #5214

looks like the caps in that area might have had a hard bump notice smaller cap to the left is  off kilter?
philipma1957
Legendary
*
Online Online

Activity: 4130
Merit: 7907


'The right to privacy matters'


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2014, 03:38:11 AM
 #5215

looks like the caps in that area might have had a hard bump notice smaller cap to the left is  off kilter?


yep and the one that blew was most likely just barely disconnected causing an arc and a pop.  

   You can run that s-1 with 1 blade.     just make sure the good blade is properly attached to the controller.  if you have one blade and the controller running you get 100gh then just rma the 1 dead board.

there is a thread were someone had a dead blade I told him to switch the controller to the good blade it ran at 1/2 speed and he rma'd the one dead blade.
link

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=597800

▄▄███████▄▄
▄██████████████▄
▄██████████████████▄
▄████▀▀▀▀███▀▀▀▀█████▄
▄█████████████▄█▀████▄
███████████▄███████████
██████████▄█▀███████████
██████████▀████████████
▀█████▄█▀█████████████▀
▀████▄▄▄▄███▄▄▄▄████▀
▀██████████████████▀
▀███████████████▀
▀▀███████▀▀
.
 MΞTAWIN  THE FIRST WEB3 CASINO   
.
.. PLAY NOW ..
lowbander80
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1036
Merit: 1000


View Profile
May 13, 2014, 05:52:53 AM
 #5216

I would like to inform the BItmain community about what happened to me with my purchase from bitmain



I am very very SORRY but there one more UNHAPPY AND SCREWED CUSTOMER OF BITMAIN


UNHAPPY AND SCREWED CUSTOMER OF BITMAIN
UNHAPPY AND SCREWED CUSTOMER OF BITMAIN
UNHAPPY AND SCREWED CUSTOMER OF BITMAIN

ON 16/4/2014 just before Easter I ordered 2 x S1 antminers.

I have made a payment for 2pcs Antminer S1 on 16/4/2014
and up to today 28 days later nothing has arrived please help

Order number

00120140415051311075KBr9n9xw06B7

tracking EMS
(available already sent to BITMAIN MORE THAN ONE TIME)

Aparently I have lost my bitcoins lost my miners and I receive no HELP FROM BITMAIN....

I have lost one month mining plus my original of hard earned bitcoins...

I am not sure what will happen but for now am deeply dissapointed!!!!!!!

PLEASE HELP BITMAIN DONT LET YOUR CUSTOMERS DOWN.......

FIRST REPLY FROM BITMAIN

------------------------------------------------------------
Hi,
Sorry for the inconvenience.
We've requested EMS to double check the status and haven't get any result.
I'll inform you once get any update.
Thanks for your patience!
Best Regards,
-------------------------------------------------------------
Second reply from Bitmain

Hi,
Sorry for the delay.
We'll contact EMS to follow them right away and try to push them each day
before getting the info.
Thanks for your supportJ

-------------------------------------------------------------------

third reply from Bitmain

Hi,

Very sorry for the inconvenience.
We’ve called the EMS manager and he promised to provide an answer today.(two days ago)
I’ll inform you if any update.
Thanks for your patience.
Best Regards,


How would you rate thiS CUstoMER support

 
If I receive any help or compensation or refund from BITMAIN
I PROMISE TO WRITE IT HERE AND EDIT MY POST

IF NOT BITMAIN HERE IS YOUR GLORY
BITMAIN (OP)
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 741
Merit: 514


https://www.bitmain.com


View Profile WWW
May 13, 2014, 10:51:08 AM
 #5217

New price for AntMiner S1: 0.476 btc each one, shipping cost included.

Cloud Mining? Just Go to Hashnest.com          Best Liquidity   Lowest Price   100% Real Mining Back Up
rhj12345
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 138
Merit: 100


View Profile
May 13, 2014, 12:06:00 PM
 #5218


I have made a payment for 2pcs Antminer S1 on 16/4/2014
and up to today 28 days later nothing has arrived please help


I really feel your pain. I hope this get resolved by them soon. Have you reached out to Bitmain here in the forum?

I can't know the customer service problems you are having as everyone of my units was sent to me within 3 to 4 days and without an issue.

Hope you find help soon!  Wink
wpgdeez
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 728
Merit: 500


View Profile
May 13, 2014, 01:33:35 PM
 #5219

looks like the caps in that area might have had a hard bump notice smaller cap to the left is  off kilter?


yep and the one that blew was most likely just barely disconnected causing an arc and a pop.  

   You can run that s-1 with 1 blade.     just make sure the good blade is properly attached to the controller.  if you have one blade and the controller running you get 100gh then just rma the 1 dead board.

there is a thread were someone had a dead blade I told him to switch the controller to the good blade it ran at 1/2 speed and he rma'd the one dead blade.
link

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=597800


Yeah, that's the first thing I did, running at 95 ghash. It's not worth trying to revive the blade imo, its not trustworthy or worth the risk.
hdbuck
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1002



View Profile
May 13, 2014, 02:26:51 PM
 #5220

New price for AntMiner S1: 0.476 btc each one, shipping cost included.

wahhh so until how much you can drop the price before selling at manufacturing loss?
Pages: « 1 ... 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 [261] 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!