Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2024, 09:40:13 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 [221] 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 ... 297 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Antminer S1 Sales open] Price changes daily, now 0.414 BTC for 180GH/s  (Read 346282 times)
dsheaffer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 11, 2014, 04:41:43 PM
 #4401

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


If it is the model below, it has a 104Amp 12V rail.  Two S1s at stock (350W) and one OC'd (525W) = 102.08Amps. You are right at the max amperage for the 12V rail and if any of the units draws even slightly more that than this at any point, you will cause the PSU to go into shutdown / autoprotect mode.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151109

Hope this helps
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
April 11, 2014, 04:42:09 PM
 #4402

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


While a stock ant pulls like 370-380 through a Platinum PSU. A GOLD is not as efficient and OC ants 10% use 20-25% more energy 18-20% use 35-40-45%+ more energy..
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
April 11, 2014, 04:51:22 PM
 #4403

Seasonics and Corsair are pretty strong though, I have run 750-760 watts for 2 regular ants off both brands 660 Platinum PSU, not for long periods though. Only a few days until the new 760s came in.
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198



View Profile
April 11, 2014, 04:54:47 PM
 #4404

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


Obviously test is to put the OC unit back to stock and see if it works. If so, you are overdrawing the PSU and will need to split up the units across multiple PSUs if you want to OC. I run 3 stock S1s per AX1200.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 11, 2014, 05:43:36 PM
 #4405

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


There probably isn't enough power on the 12V rail to run 3 S1s.  Check the specs of your PSU.

I'm running 3 OC'd S1s on a Rosewill 1300 gold and pulling about 1215 watts.  Mine is rated at 108A on the 12V rail.  > 87% efficiency, up to 92%.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
AquaTron1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 11, 2014, 10:31:31 PM
 #4406

Anyone here that order from 112bit.com this week get a confirmation on payment yet they havent responded back to any emails or pm's i have sent im sure there busy but its been three days and i have had no communication with them about my order. Sorry if this is off subject.

Thanks
AquaTron
jimmyl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 211
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 11, 2014, 11:10:10 PM
 #4407

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


If it is the model below, it has a 104Amp 12V rail.  Two S1s at stock (350W) and one OC'd (525W) = 102.08Amps. You are right at the max amperage for the 12V rail and if any of the units draws even slightly more that than this at any point, you will cause the PSU to go into shutdown / autoprotect mode.

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817151109

Hope this helps

Thanks for the help.

If I run 3 stock ants, how much amp would I be running?

AquaTron1
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 11, 2014, 11:19:13 PM
 #4408

Have S1 overclocked with the 393.75freq settings and im pullin about 3.11 amps each a stock S1 should pull around 3 amps thats assuming your on 120v if you run 220v its less must have right setup for 220v.
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1617
Merit: 1012



View Profile
April 12, 2014, 12:04:35 AM
 #4409

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


I am familiar with this PSU as I use it on a bunch of Jupiters. You need to connect one of PCI-e connectors to the 12V output marked "CPU" on the PSU. For some reason if you don't draw any load from the 12V CPU output the PSU will shutdown at around 600W.
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1005

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
April 12, 2014, 12:16:06 AM
 #4410

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


There probably isn't enough power on the 12V rail to run 3 S1s.  Check the specs of your PSU.

I'm running 3 OC'd S1s on a Rosewill 1300 gold and pulling about 1215 watts.  Mine is rated at 108A on the 12V rail.  > 87% efficiency, up to 92%.

M

I have a corsair AX1200 that is running on 213V power. It is able to handle 3 antminers tuned to 387.5MHz each.  (I tuned one down to 381MHz to slightly lessen the load and because that one unit was just over 1% hw errors)

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 12, 2014, 12:44:20 AM
 #4411

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


There probably isn't enough power on the 12V rail to run 3 S1s.  Check the specs of your PSU.

I'm running 3 OC'd S1s on a Rosewill 1300 gold and pulling about 1215 watts.  Mine is rated at 108A on the 12V rail.  > 87% efficiency, up to 92%.

M

I have a corsair AX1200 that is running on 213V power. It is able to handle 3 antminers tuned to 387.5MHz each.  (I tuned one down to 381MHz to slightly lessen the load and because that one unit was just over 1% hw errors)

I think it's the 220V that makes the difference.  Based on what I'm seeing with my 1300 @ 115V, I don't see how a 1200 would cut it @ 115V.

M

I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
bjalbert
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 166
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 12, 2014, 02:35:05 AM
 #4412

I thought they said next S1 batch was going to be today? Guess I will have to keep watching the site.
jimmyl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 211
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 12, 2014, 02:42:33 AM
 #4413

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


I am familiar with this PSU as I use it on a bunch of Jupiters. You need to connect one of PCI-e connectors to the 12V output marked "CPU" on the PSU. For some reason if you don't draw any load from the 12V CPU output the PSU will shutdown at around 600W.

That would be the top right hand corner.

I tried that too. 1 PCI-E connected to top right corner. And 2 PCI-E connected to both, left and right of the bottom 3 PCI-E slots. Still trip.

samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
April 12, 2014, 03:33:00 AM
 #4414

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.



Better deal is 2 660 or 760 catch them with rebates is nice
samsonn25
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 882
Merit: 1003



View Profile
April 12, 2014, 03:36:48 AM
 #4415

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


There probably isn't enough power on the 12V rail to run 3 S1s.  Check the specs of your PSU.

I'm running 3 OC'd S1s on a Rosewill 1300 gold and pulling about 1215 watts.  Mine is rated at 108A on the 12V rail.  > 87% efficiency, up to 92%.

M

I have a corsair AX1200 that is running on 213V power. It is able to handle 3 antminers tuned to 387.5MHz each.  (I tuned one down to 381MHz to slightly lessen the load and because that one unit was just over 1% hw errors)

I think it's the 220V that makes the difference.  Based on what I'm seeing with my 1300 @ 115V, I don't see how a 1200 would cut it @ 115V.

M

On 15amp breaker More than likely 115 can handle 115 x15 x 80% = 1380   20amp breaker can do 1860 watts.   More likely psu is possible
dsheaffer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 12, 2014, 03:40:08 AM
 #4416

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


There probably isn't enough power on the 12V rail to run 3 S1s.  Check the specs of your PSU.

I'm running 3 OC'd S1s on a Rosewill 1300 gold and pulling about 1215 watts.  Mine is rated at 108A on the 12V rail.  > 87% efficiency, up to 92%.

M

I have a corsair AX1200 that is running on 213V power. It is able to handle 3 antminers tuned to 387.5MHz each.  (I tuned one down to 381MHz to slightly lessen the load and because that one unit was just over 1% hw errors)

I think it's the 220V that makes the difference.  Based on what I'm seeing with my 1300 @ 115V, I don't see how a 1200 would cut it @ 115V.

M

All of this discussion about the overall wattage of the PSU, line (mains) voltage, PSU efficiency, etc is driving me crazy (and it's a short ride for me). Here is how I see it.

PSUs have one or more rails that deliver +12V; the 12V rail(s) has/have a max rated amperage; the 12V rail is the only "part" of the PSU the S1 uses; therefore overall PSU "wattage" is not a limiting factor. If the Ants you connect to a PSU draw more power than the PSU's rated +12V amperage, you will shut down the PSU (best case). We can express "power" in this case as amps since we know we are always talking about a 12V system.

Bitmain says the S1 draws "360W from the wall".  To give ourselves some headroom / room for error and variability, let's assume a non-overclocked S1 draws 30A (360w / 12V) from the +12V rail.  If the BM statement is accurate, you will actually draw less than 30A  at the 12V rail(s), but that's OK, we want a margin for error / variability in the amount of power we think the S1 draws. [Note if anyone has actually measured the amps drawn at the 12V rail, we can significantly refine our calculations]

Therefore, if you have three non-OC'd S1s on a given PSU, it better have at least a 90A rating on +12V rail.  Looking at the BM chip spec and doing a little math, it appears that if an S1 is OC'd to 400MHz it will draw just over 38A.  If you are connecting three S1s OC'd to 400MHz, your PSU should be rated at 115A on the 12V rail(s).  

We may have built in more headroom than necessary (we essentially assumed the PSU is 100% efficient, which is clearly impossible) and you may be able to get away with a PSU with it's 12V amps rated at less than that calculated above, but my sense is that we should keep an adequate margin for variability in the amp draw for a particular Ant at a particular moment in time.

==


jimrome
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 12, 2014, 03:44:56 AM
 #4417

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


There probably isn't enough power on the 12V rail to run 3 S1s.  Check the specs of your PSU.

I'm running 3 OC'd S1s on a Rosewill 1300 gold and pulling about 1215 watts.  Mine is rated at 108A on the 12V rail.  > 87% efficiency, up to 92%.

M

I have a corsair AX1200 that is running on 213V power. It is able to handle 3 antminers tuned to 387.5MHz each.  (I tuned one down to 381MHz to slightly lessen the load and because that one unit was just over 1% hw errors)

I think it's the 220V that makes the difference.  Based on what I'm seeing with my 1300 @ 115V, I don't see how a 1200 would cut it @ 115V.

M

I ran a few ax1200i's with 3 OC'd ants (393?) each with no issues, at least in the week or so they were running. Plugs were dedicated 120V 20A CCTs at ~124V.
jimmyl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 211
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 12, 2014, 04:01:09 AM
 #4418

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


There probably isn't enough power on the 12V rail to run 3 S1s.  Check the specs of your PSU.

I'm running 3 OC'd S1s on a Rosewill 1300 gold and pulling about 1215 watts.  Mine is rated at 108A on the 12V rail.  > 87% efficiency, up to 92%.

M

I have a corsair AX1200 that is running on 213V power. It is able to handle 3 antminers tuned to 387.5MHz each.  (I tuned one down to 381MHz to slightly lessen the load and because that one unit was just over 1% hw errors)

I think it's the 220V that makes the difference.  Based on what I'm seeing with my 1300 @ 115V, I don't see how a 1200 would cut it @ 115V.

M

All of this discussion about the overall wattage of the PSU, line (mains) voltage, PSU efficiency, etc is driving me crazy (and it's a short ride for me). Here is how I see it.

PSUs have one or more rails that deliver +12V; the 12V rail(s) has/have a max rated amperage; the 12V rail is the only "part" of the PSU the S1 uses; therefore overall PSU "wattage" is not a limiting factor. If the Ants you connect to a PSU draw more power than the PSU's rated +12V amperage, you will shut down the PSU (best case). We can express "power" in this case as amps since we know we are always talking about a 12V system.

Bitmain says the S1 draws "360W from the wall".  To give ourselves some headroom / room for error and variability, let's assume a non-overclocked S1 draws 30A (360w / 12V) from the +12V rail.  If the BM statement is accurate, you will actually draw less than 30A  at the 12V rail(s), but that's OK, we want a margin for error / variability in the amount of power we think the S1 draws. [Note if anyone has actually measured the amps drawn at the 12V rail, we can significantly refine our calculations]

Therefore, if you have three non-OC'd S1s on a given PSU, it better have at least a 90A rating on +12V rail.  Looking at the BM chip spec and doing a little math, it appears that if an S1 is OC'd to 400MHz it will draw just over 38A.  If you are connecting three S1s OC'd to 400MHz, your PSU should be rated at 115A on the 12V rail(s).  

We may have built in more headroom than necessary (we essentially assumed the PSU is 100% efficient, which is clearly impossible) and you may be able to get away with a PSU with it's 12V amps rated at less than that calculated above, but my sense is that we should keep an adequate margin for variability in the amp draw for a particular Ant at a particular moment in time.

==




Thanks for the detailed explanation.

That's why I cannot understand why my seasonic gold 1250 cannot handle 2 stock and 1 OC 375 ants.
2 stock should be 60 A in total.
1 OC should be less then 38A (for 400Mhz, mine is 375Mhz)
Total is only 98A.

Rating for this model is 104A.

I got a margin well over 5%. Am I missing something?

dsheaffer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 12, 2014, 04:16:27 AM
 #4419

Jimmy,

   I'm not familiar with this PSU, but perhaps the below review explains the problem.  IF the below is accurate, change the OC'd S1 to one of the 45A rails and see what happens.

This review is from: SeaSonic X-1250 1250W ATX12V / EPS12V SLI Ready 80 PLUS GOLD Certified Full Modular Active PFC Power Supply New 4th Gen CPU Certified Haswell Ready
Pros: See what everyone else has said below.

Cons: It's not really a single rail, contrary to the advertising Seasonic does to this day. Both JohnnyGuru and HardOCP found that it's really a 4 rail power supply with 30/30/45/45A limits on each of the 12V rails. Before you mark my review as unhelpful, hear me out. I'm running an SLI Lightning 680 setup, where each card draws 33A (in total my rig draws around 1100W from the wall under full load). Running Furmark the overcurrent protection would kick in, and my desktop would click off.

Other Thoughts: Bottom line, Seasonic is dishonest in the specs they advertise of this psu. Yes you have to be running an insanely power hungry graphics card to find this out, but it's still wrong. I had to sell this psu at a loss and move to the Corsair AX1200i, which can handle my rig no problem because it's a real single rail design.

==
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
April 12, 2014, 04:19:14 AM
Last edit: April 12, 2014, 04:32:10 AM by ZiG
 #4420

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.


There probably isn't enough power on the 12V rail to run 3 S1s.  Check the specs of your PSU.

I'm running 3 OC'd S1s on a Rosewill 1300 gold and pulling about 1215 watts.  Mine is rated at 108A on the 12V rail.  > 87% efficiency, up to 92%.

M

I have a corsair AX1200 that is running on 213V power. It is able to handle 3 antminers tuned to 387.5MHz each.  (I tuned one down to 381MHz to slightly lessen the load and because that one unit was just over 1% hw errors)

I think it's the 220V that makes the difference.  Based on what I'm seeing with my 1300 @ 115V, I don't see how a 1200 would cut it @ 115V.

M

All of this discussion about the overall wattage of the PSU, line (mains) voltage, PSU efficiency, etc is driving me crazy (and it's a short ride for me). Here is how I see it.

PSUs have one or more rails that deliver +12V; the 12V rail(s) has/have a max rated amperage; the 12V rail is the only "part" of the PSU the S1 uses; therefore overall PSU "wattage" is not a limiting factor. If the Ants you connect to a PSU draw more power than the PSU's rated +12V amperage, you will shut down the PSU (best case). We can express "power" in this case as amps since we know we are always talking about a 12V system.

Bitmain says the S1 draws "360W from the wall".  To give ourselves some headroom / room for error and variability, let's assume a non-overclocked S1 draws 30A (360w / 12V) from the +12V rail.  If the BM statement is accurate, you will actually draw less than 30A  at the 12V rail(s), but that's OK, we want a margin for error / variability in the amount of power we think the S1 draws. [Note if anyone has actually measured the amps drawn at the 12V rail, we can significantly refine our calculations]

Therefore, if you have three non-OC'd S1s on a given PSU, it better have at least a 90A rating on +12V rail.  Looking at the BM chip spec and doing a little math, it appears that if an S1 is OC'd to 400MHz it will draw just over 38A.  If you are connecting three S1s OC'd to 400MHz, your PSU should be rated at 115A on the 12V rail(s).  

We may have built in more headroom than necessary (we essentially assumed the PSU is 100% efficient, which is clearly impossible) and you may be able to get away with a PSU with it's 12V amps rated at less than that calculated above, but my sense is that we should keep an adequate margin for variability in the amp draw for a particular Ant at a particular moment in time.

==




Thanks for the detailed explanation.

That's why I cannot understand why my seasonic gold 1250 cannot handle 2 stock and 1 OC 375 ants.
2 stock should be 60 A in total.
1 OC should be less then 38A (for 400Mhz, mine is 375Mhz)
Total is only 98A.

Rating for this model is 104A.

I got a margin well over 5%. Am I missing something?


I think so...Chips Tolerance(s)...they are all DIFFERENT...I would NOT take the other's experience as MINE...Your results MAY ...and probably WILL VARY...

Mine...: I nave 5 S1's...3 are very stable @406MHz...200+ GHash...2 are "slackers"...No more than 192-199 GHash @400MHz...different heat...Temps...different power draws...Some chips are hotter than the others...on the same board(s)...I assume they consume More Amps...it is the QUALITY of the chips...Leakage current is individual for EVERY chip...

So, maybe you are running just on the edge of your Seasonic 1250...I have 3 of those...GPU farm...and they are great...but consider splitting...2 and 1/2 Ant per PSU...5 Ants on 2 Seasonics 1250... 2 x 1250 = 2500W ... / 5 Ants = 500W each (per Ant) is safe...IMHO...

Good luck..
Pages: « 1 ... 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 [221] 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 ... 297 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!