Bitcoin Forum
May 22, 2024, 08:53:49 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 27.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 [220] 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 ... 297 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [Antminer S1 Sales open] Price changes daily, now 0.414 BTC for 180GH/s  (Read 346282 times)
Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 09, 2014, 11:41:31 PM
 #4381



OK...maybe this is a noob question, but i have been getting my PSUs from NewEgg as well (my all time favorite seller of computer parts and various electronic gizmos).  However, I've been buying name brand PSUs in the 500-550W range.  One Thermaltake for $34 after rebate, one Corsair for $30 after rebate and I'm about to buy an EVGA for $30 after rebate -- all with free shipping.  Link for EVGA PSU here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817438016

They all have 3+ year warranties and the two I own seem to work just fine with the S1 (admittedly I have not yet overclocked the two I own so far)...why are you all buying the big power supplies to run multiple miners?  It seems to me if a big PSU does fail, you have multiple miners out of commission. Maybe I'm missing something?

How are you running an Ant on this PSU Huh It has only 1 PCIE cable with 2 connectors............you using a dual 4pin molex to 6pin PCIE adapter,or both blades on the one cable Huh  Not a good idea if you are  Roll Eyes

I prefer the Corsair CX600,it has 2 separate PCIE cables.So does the CX500  Wink 

I use 2 of those EVGA KR 500 with single 40A rail. Each one running like champs on each their own S1s to power. They are so inexpensive I just cut the CPU plug and spliced it into one of the S1 blade and used the PCI-E plug for the other blade. Running like great 2 months now. Also both S1 over clocked 375. no need to spend top dollar. EVGA make solid PS

Ok,very clever !!!  Wink 

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
dsheaffer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:18:41 AM
 #4382



OK...maybe this is a noob question, but i have been getting my PSUs from NewEgg as well (my all time favorite seller of computer parts and various electronic gizmos).  However, I've been buying name brand PSUs in the 500-550W range.  One Thermaltake for $34 after rebate, one Corsair for $30 after rebate and I'm about to buy an EVGA for $30 after rebate -- all with free shipping.  Link for EVGA PSU here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817438016

They all have 3+ year warranties and the two I own seem to work just fine with the S1 (admittedly I have not yet overclocked the two I own so far)...why are you all buying the big power supplies to run multiple miners?  It seems to me if a big PSU does fail, you have multiple miners out of commission. Maybe I'm missing something?

How are you running an Ant on this PSU Huh It has only 1 PCIE cable with 2 connectors............you using a dual 4pin molex to 6pin PCIE adapter,or both blades on the one cable Huh  Not a good idea if you are  Roll Eyes

I prefer the Corsair CX600,it has 2 separate PCIE cables.So does the CX500  Wink 

I use 2 of those EVGA KR 500 with single 40A rail. Each one running like champs on each their own S1s to power. They are so inexpensive I just cut the CPU plug and spliced it into one of the S1 blade and used the PCI-E plug for the other blade. Running like great 2 months now. Also both S1 over clocked 375. no need to spend top dollar. EVGA make solid PS

Ok,very clever !!!  Wink 


Huh? What's the problem with a single PCIE cable with two connectors?  The Thermaltake PSU ($35) I've been running rock solid  for two weeks now has one cable with two PCIE connectors.  Both the Thermaltake and the EVGA (Just ordered for $30 after rebate) have a single 42 and 40 amp +12V rail (respectively).  These may not be the best PSUs on the planet, but the Thermaltake seems to work just fine, and I expect the same from the EVGA PSU.  These PSUs were, after all, designed to run two video cards with potentially similar draws to the two S1 blades....My other PSU is a Corsair CX500, works just fine as well with two cables/PCIE connectors.

Is the concern wire gauge / fire hazard? While I have not done the math, the cable on the Thermaltake is just warm to the touch (my Starbucks coffee is way hotter Smiley.
J_Dubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:22:54 AM
 #4383

Date stamp on my order details says 4-8-2014, not sure if that was my day or theirs, waiting to hear back on a shipping inquiry...
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2128
Merit: 1005

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 02:22:11 AM
 #4384


Is the concern wire gauge / fire hazard? While I have not done the math, the cable on the Thermaltake is just warm to the touch (my Starbucks coffee is way hotter Smiley.


yeah, thats the issue. by running a full antminer on only a single wire lead (2 heads) you are putting 360W+ through only 3 wire pairs. Most 18awg wires cant handle this (so yours might be 16awg), and there are past reports of these sort of power connectors failing if overloaded.

If you go throught the bitfury threads, there are a lot of reports from users that used a similar PSU to run >400W to the bitfury board and ended up with small fires or melted wires.

just be mindful of the wire temperatures. If they get any warmer than 'warm' you start increasing the risk of it failing. higher temperatures can create higher resistance and increase the voltage drop, further increasing the amperage pulled by the hardware. If its just a very mild warmth then maybe putting a little airflow nearby will make sure it doesnt become a problem

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 02:31:27 AM
 #4385

Huh? What's the problem with a single PCIE cable with two connectors?  The Thermaltake PSU ($35) I've been running rock solid  for two weeks now has one cable with two PCIE connectors.  Both the Thermaltake and the EVGA (Just ordered for $30 after rebate) have a single 42 and 40 amp +12V rail (respectively).  These may not be the best PSUs on the planet, but the Thermaltake seems to work just fine, and I expect the same from the EVGA PSU.  These PSUs were, after all, designed to run two video cards with potentially similar draws to the two S1 blades....My other PSU is a Corsair CX500, works just fine as well with two cables/PCIE connectors.

Is the concern wire gauge / fire hazard? While I have not done the math, the cable on the Thermaltake is just warm to the touch (my Starbucks coffee is way hotter Smiley.

While the part in bold is true, they likely didn't intend for them to drive two video cards at full power 24x7, such as your ant is doing.

M


I mine at Kano's Pool because it pays the best and is completely transparent!  Come join me!
dsheaffer
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 02:35:02 AM
 #4386


Is the concern wire gauge / fire hazard? While I have not done the math, the cable on the Thermaltake is just warm to the touch (my Starbucks coffee is way hotter Smiley.


yeah, thats the issue. by running a full antminer on only a single wire lead (2 heads) you are putting 360W+ through only 3 wire pairs. Most 18awg wires cant handle this (so yours might be 16awg), and there are past reports of these sort of power connectors failing if overloaded.

If you go throught the bitfury threads, there are a lot of reports from users that used a similar PSU to run >400W to the bitfury board and ended up with small fires or melted wires.

just be mindful of the wire temperatures. If they get any warmer than 'warm' you start increasing the risk of it failing. higher temperatures can create higher resistance and increase the voltage drop, further increasing the amperage pulled by the hardware. If its just a very mild warmth then maybe putting a little airflow nearby will make sure it doesnt become a problem

Thanks.  I will definitely keep an eye (or finger) on the wire temps.  

I did do a bit of research and it looks like it is fine to pull 30A through 3' of 18AWG...with the PCIE connectors we have 3 pair of (at least) 18AWG about 2' in length...seems like it should be OK...but I will still take the words of caution seriously.  The below table may help others.


@ 12 Volts   LENGTH OF WIRE
American Wire Gauge (AWG)

Amps 3'   5'   7'   10'   15'   20'   25'
0-1   18   18   18   18   18   18   18
1.5   18   18   18   18   18   18   18
2   18   18   18   18   18   18   18
3   18   18   18   18   18   18   18
4   18   18   18   18   18   18   18
5   18   18   18   18   18   18   18
6   18   18   18   18   18   18   16
7   18   18   18   18   18   18   16
8   18   18   18   18   18   16   16
10   18   18   18   18   16   16   14
11   18   18   18   18   16   16   14
12   18   18   18   18   16   16   14
15   18   18   18   18   14   14   12
18   18   18   16   16   14   14   12
20   18   18   16   16   14   12   10
22   18   18   16   14   12   12   10
24   18   18   16   14   12   12   10
30   18   16   14   12   10   10   10
36   16   14   14   12   10   10   10
40   16   14   12   12   10   10   8
50   16   14   12   10   10   10   8
100   12   12   10   10   6   6   4
150   10   10   8   8   4   4   2
200   10   8   8   6   4   4   2


Unacceptable
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2212
Merit: 1001



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 04:11:42 AM
 #4387



OK...maybe this is a noob question, but i have been getting my PSUs from NewEgg as well (my all time favorite seller of computer parts and various electronic gizmos).  However, I've been buying name brand PSUs in the 500-550W range.  One Thermaltake for $34 after rebate, one Corsair for $30 after rebate and I'm about to buy an EVGA for $30 after rebate -- all with free shipping.  Link for EVGA PSU here:

http://www.newegg.com/Product/Product.aspx?Item=N82E16817438016

They all have 3+ year warranties and the two I own seem to work just fine with the S1 (admittedly I have not yet overclocked the two I own so far)...why are you all buying the big power supplies to run multiple miners?  It seems to me if a big PSU does fail, you have multiple miners out of commission. Maybe I'm missing something?

How are you running an Ant on this PSU Huh It has only 1 PCIE cable with 2 connectors............you using a dual 4pin molex to 6pin PCIE adapter,or both blades on the one cable Huh  Not a good idea if you are  Roll Eyes

I prefer the Corsair CX600,it has 2 separate PCIE cables.So does the CX500  Wink  

I use 2 of those EVGA KR 500 with single 40A rail. Each one running like champs on each their own S1s to power. They are so inexpensive I just cut the CPU plug and spliced it into one of the S1 blade and used the PCI-E plug for the other blade. Running like great 2 months now. Also both S1 over clocked 375. no need to spend top dollar. EVGA make solid PS

Ok,very clever !!!  Wink  


Huh? What's the problem with a single PCIE cable with two connectors?  The Thermaltake PSU ($35) I've been running rock solid  for two weeks now has one cable with two PCIE connectors.  Both the Thermaltake and the EVGA (Just ordered for $30 after rebate) have a single 42 and 40 amp +12V rail (respectively).  These may not be the best PSUs on the planet, but the Thermaltake seems to work just fine, and I expect the same from the EVGA PSU.  These PSUs were, after all, designed to run two video cards with potentially similar draws to the two S1 blades....My other PSU is a Corsair CX500, works just fine as well with two cables/PCIE connectors.

Is the concern wire gauge / fire hazard? While I have not done the math, the cable on the Thermaltake is just warm to the touch (my Starbucks coffee is way hotter Smiley.


Yes,the cable itself is not rated for 400 watts,24hrs a day/7days a week/365 days a year,it MAY melt & COULD start a fire & maybe fry the miner too.Vid cards while gaming use NO WHERE near what these miners use.Even GPU's used for mining use about 30% more mining than gaming or video editing.  

300 watts per cable is about the max you want pull on that cable.So be careful  Wink

"If you run into an asshole in the morning, you ran into an asshole. If you run into assholes all day long, you are the asshole."  -Raylan Givens
Got GOXXED ?? https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9KiqRpPiJAU&feature=youtu.be
"An ASIC being late is perfectly normal, predictable, and legal..."Hashfast & BFL slogan Smiley
dquancey
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 587
Merit: 500


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:34:57 AM
 #4388

I'm looking at replacing the fans on the ants, as they're in my office and at full speed, can be a little too loud  Grin
Now, will this fan suffice?

http://www.quietpc.com/nx-120-pwm

Or recommend a decent, quiet replacement?
qosmio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 01:40:53 PM
 #4389

quiet fans = less wind = less cooling , better leave original

testing Smiley
J_Dubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 07:25:15 PM
 #4390

Anyone else order a few days ago but not get any shipping info??
TracerX
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 918
Merit: 1002



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:04:07 PM
 #4391

Anyone else order a few days ago but not get any shipping info??

It's 100% normal to receive the actual unit before BITMAIN updates the website.  Don't sweat it.
J_Dubbs
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322
Merit: 250



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:41:02 PM
 #4392

Anyone else order a few days ago but not get any shipping info??

It's 100% normal to receive the actual unit before BITMAIN updates the website.  Don't sweat it.

Thanks for the reply, eases my mind...
gurki
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 102
Merit: 10


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:46:44 PM
 #4393

Can you only order S1s with BTC? Is there a credit card option?
jjiimm_64
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1876
Merit: 1000


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:46:56 PM
 #4394

Anyone else order a few days ago but not get any shipping info??

It's 100% normal to receive the actual unit before BITMAIN updates the website.  Don't sweat it.

Thanks for the reply, eases my mind...
if you have access to 'myUps'  you will see the projected delivery of the ant 2 days before arrival.

1jimbitm6hAKTjKX4qurCNQubbnk2YsFw
nottm28
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574
Merit: 500



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:49:07 PM
 #4395

Can you only order S1s with BTC? Is there a credit card option?

No credit card option, BTC only. My recommendation would be to buy a coin on localbitcoins.com or some other reputable site.

donations not accepted
freebit13
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 616
Merit: 500

I got Satoshi's avatar!


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:50:40 PM
 #4396

I'm looking at replacing the fans on the ants, as they're in my office and at full speed, can be a little too loud  Grin
Now, will this fan suffice?

http://www.quietpc.com/nx-120-pwm

Or recommend a decent, quiet replacement?
Don't replace the original, simply add another, quieter fan on the other end, that'll slow down the main fan and make it quieter overall  Wink

Decentralize EVERYTHING!
smooth
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 1198



View Profile
April 10, 2014, 08:56:29 PM
 #4397

Can you only order S1s with BTC? Is there a credit card option?

From Bitmain directly you can only use BTC. You can buy from resellers though. For example, last time I looked there were some for sale from third parties on amazon.com

innoman
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 42
Merit: 0


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 09:21:44 PM
 #4398

Can you only order S1s with BTC? Is there a credit card option?

I've purchased an S1 and my S2 through 112bit.com--Juan G. (topminingcontracts on here) is much quicker to communicate with than bitmaintech directly.  He doesn't take credit card directly but will do escrow.  Instead, you order and then deposit money into an account (or wire it, if you choose... some banks have reasonable wire fees less than $15 but some are pretty overpriced). 

There are several posts about 112bit if you don't want to take my word.  The other options are eBay and Amazon but you probably won't get the best deals there.  The best option is definitely using BTC.  You can convert USD to BTC through like coinbase.com (or others, I am sure). 
qosmio
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 147
Merit: 100


View Profile
April 10, 2014, 11:28:23 PM
Last edit: April 11, 2014, 11:50:27 AM by qosmio
 #4399

Anyone else order a few days ago but not get any shipping info??

in the past bitmain shipped faster, still waiting for update for my april 9 order

edit:
shipped Smiley thank you

testing Smiley
jimmyl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 211
Merit: 100



View Profile
April 11, 2014, 04:31:14 PM
 #4400

Anyone running 3 S1 on a seasonic? I need help!

I keep getting the psu going into some sort of protection mode...ie no power after running for 10 minutes.

My PCI-E are plugged into the lower right 3 PCI-E slots.

Running 2 units seems ok. PSU is 1250W, 2 units stock, 1 unit OC 375.

Pages: « 1 ... 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 [220] 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 ... 297 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!