Bitcoin Forum
December 09, 2016, 06:12:44 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 [285] 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 ... 426 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] BTC Guild - Pays TxFees+NMC, Stratum, VarDiff, Private Servers  (Read 829331 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2002


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 08:11:48 PM
 #5681

Sounds like the solution for those having cgminer crashes is to downgrade to a non 3.10 version.  Quite curious what the hell he did to break such a basic feature that has been working flawlessly for the last 6 months.


EDIT:  You can connect to 'cgminer.btcguild.com:3333' as a temporary workaround.  This server may disappear with little (or even 0) notice once the bug is known to be fixed.
You didn't read the quote. It's been broken forever.

Then it must be extremely rare, because I haven't seen any reports about it causing segfaults until 3.10.
The changes on it in 3.10 was my half arsed attempt to fix it when I was heading out to go overseas with little time to spare for it.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
1481263964
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263964

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263964
Reply with quote  #2

1481263964
Report to moderator
1481263964
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263964

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263964
Reply with quote  #2

1481263964
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1481263964
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481263964

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481263964
Reply with quote  #2

1481263964
Report to moderator
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2014, 05:49:06 AM
 #5682

There was a small bug over the last 12 hours approximately affecting the interaction between the website and backend servers when modifying worker settings like names, payment methods, and minimum difficulty.  The load balancer and backends were updated to run twice as many server processes, but only the original set of processes were able to receive notifications from the website when updating worker settings.  As a result, your difficulty and payment method may be different depending on which backend you connect to.

If you're experiencing this (shares paid to the wrong method or difficulty starting higher/lower than it should), you can toggle your settings back and forth to force an update to the mining servers.


This bug only affects *changes* made in the last ~12 hours.  If you have not changed any settings, this would not have any affect on your miners.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
AussieHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 08:45:20 AM
 #5683

The wheels are falling off ghash

8 orphaned/stale/rejected blocks out of the last 77 blocks.

https://blockchain.info/block-index/0000000000000000a3148a8588903340bdad49e7e7c2d127c54389c252a05eeb
https://blockchain.info/block-index/00000000000000021908a1679e01b236211710226ae38ba2f17185f976cdd5d0
https://blockchain.info/block-index/0000000000000001e7f22d05c29df9eb3c58f32c573b28236c576021b8437304
https://blockchain.info/block-index/00000000000000014245a97e19599ba06affd1279915ee10189e4494609eb876
https://blockchain.info/block-index/0000000000000000b614413beee558ba56835c230bb27bab951da5590e22cd37
https://blockchain.info/block-index/000000000000000134ae6df18d6792dc72a06632d0d134b2fe9fdbacd1cb7619
https://blockchain.info/block-index/00000000000000023198e09f05e27b0441e1b29ed8e47544df37cd117688a0de
https://blockchain.info/block-index/00000000000000020e14f90c4036355e6f4e3da3706f1120f06f3f031317a398
Lamalicious
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 110


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 09:15:06 AM
 #5684

More then 10% of the blocks. I wonder what causing it.

Bytecoin (not a Bitcoin fork - CPU mining, true anonymity) discussion thread - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=512747.0
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2014, 09:19:53 AM
 #5685

The wheels are falling off ghash

8 orphaned/stale/rejected blocks out of the last 77 blocks.


As much as I hate GHash.io (*nelson Ha-Ha*), curious why the post in this thread about them.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
jarhed
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 322



View Profile
January 22, 2014, 01:30:19 PM
 #5686

The wheels are falling off ghash

8 orphaned/stale/rejected blocks out of the last 77 blocks.

Sky is falling eh?
Aren't they just installing bigger wheels?
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
January 22, 2014, 02:20:52 PM
 #5687

The wheels are falling off ghash

8 orphaned/stale/rejected blocks out of the last 77 blocks.

Sky is falling eh?
Aren't they just installing bigger wheels?

Or maybe the price to pay for unsuccessful selfish mining attempts?

This is a semi-troll, agreed (but deserved, to some extent, IMHO)

★ ⏳ BitcoinQueue.com β ★ 📈 Real-time Bitcoin Unconfirmed Transaction Queue Charts ⏳ ★ Forum Topic
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 09:08:59 PM
 #5688

The wheels are falling off ghash

8 orphaned/stale/rejected blocks out of the last 77 blocks.


As much as I hate GHash.io (*nelson Ha-Ha*), curious why the post in this thread about them.

Because Mining is a Team sport. It is Us vs Them. They were orphanning everyone else, so it is good to see them get what they were giving. At least that is my guess. Go Team BTCguild!

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
navigator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 360


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 11:11:19 PM
 #5689

Should I make a 2nd account if I want to monitor the btc production of a new miner I'm adding?
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 11:31:59 PM
 #5690

Should I make a 2nd account if I want to monitor the btc production of a new miner I'm adding?

You can have 2 workers, no need for a 2nd account.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
navigator
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 360


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 11:42:08 PM
 #5691

Should I make a 2nd account if I want to monitor the btc production of a new miner I'm adding?

You can have 2 workers, no need for a 2nd account.

M

There are no individual stats for each worker. Mining under the same account I won't be able to see how much btc each miner is producing. I want to see how long it takes to mine back the btc that the new miner cost.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 22, 2014, 11:57:46 PM
 #5692

Should I make a 2nd account if I want to monitor the btc production of a new miner I'm adding?

You can have 2 workers, no need for a 2nd account.

M

There are no individual stats for each worker. Mining under the same account I won't be able to see how much btc each miner is producing. I want to see how long it takes to mine back the btc that the new miner cost.

There are stats, but you're right, not BTC stats per worker.  Sounds like you need a 2nd account.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
abyssmu
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 13


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 01:28:46 AM
 #5693

Hey guys. I'm somewhat new here. I have been trying to connect to the pool for a few days now and nothing has come of it.

I am using an older version of cgminer. 3.7.2 as it supports gpu mining because I have yet to purchase any ASIC miners.

I have tried many times to connect to many different pools, and nothing has happened. My miner gets up and running and it says it is doing stuff, but the website doesn't say a thing.

My best guess is that my computer is blocking the port preventing information from being sent, but I have tried opening and allowing 3333 through Windows Firewall, but it hasn't done a thing.

Anybody have any suggestions?

http://s909.photobucket.com/user/abyssmu1/media/Untitled_zps3148dcfb.png.html?filters[user]=138870818&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=0

That is what my miner looks like as it is working.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 02:21:24 AM
 #5694

Hey guys. I'm somewhat new here. I have been trying to connect to the pool for a few days now and nothing has come of it.

I am using an older version of cgminer. 3.7.2 as it supports gpu mining because I have yet to purchase any ASIC miners.

It's not worth using a GPU for BTC mining.  I suggest using it for scrypt mining on another pool, like multipool.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
BRADLEYPLOOF
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 519


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 02:51:21 AM
 #5695

Hey guys. I'm somewhat new here. I have been trying to connect to the pool for a few days now and nothing has come of it.

I am using an older version of cgminer. 3.7.2 as it supports gpu mining because I have yet to purchase any ASIC miners.

I have tried many times to connect to many different pools, and nothing has happened. My miner gets up and running and it says it is doing stuff, but the website doesn't say a thing.

My best guess is that my computer is blocking the port preventing information from being sent, but I have tried opening and allowing 3333 through Windows Firewall, but it hasn't done a thing.

Anybody have any suggestions?

http://s909.photobucket.com/user/abyssmu1/media/Untitled_zps3148dcfb.png.html?filters[user]=138870818&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=0

That is what my miner looks like as it is working.

The website doesn't say anything because you need to submit a difficulty 2 share and your best share at that point was a difficulty 1 share.  At 10 MH/S it will take you approximately 4 hours to find a single difficulty 2 share.  You are merely wasting power and working your graphics card for no reason.  Try mining litecoins at www.liteguardian.com.  When you convert your miner to --scrypt you'll do about 10 kh/s, which will net you about .001 litecoins per day...

My suggestion is to either buy some better graphics cards to mine litecoin or buy a few little asics to mine bitcoin.  Either way, you won't get rich, but you'll support the system.

EDIT: You will make more bitcoin per day going here: http://freebitco.in/?r=241175 and punching in two captcha words every hour...roughly 220 satoshis...and it takes a few seconds to do and wastes a LOT less electricity...
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
January 23, 2014, 04:11:59 AM
 #5696

Hey guys. I'm somewhat new here. I have been trying to connect to the pool for a few days now and nothing has come of it.

I am using an older version of cgminer. 3.7.2 as it supports gpu mining because I have yet to purchase any ASIC miners.

I have tried many times to connect to many different pools, and nothing has happened. My miner gets up and running and it says it is doing stuff, but the website doesn't say a thing.

My best guess is that my computer is blocking the port preventing information from being sent, but I have tried opening and allowing 3333 through Windows Firewall, but it hasn't done a thing.

Anybody have any suggestions?

http://s909.photobucket.com/user/abyssmu1/media/Untitled_zps3148dcfb.png.html?filters[user]=138870818&filters[recent]=1&sort=1&o=0

That is what my miner looks like as it is working.

The website doesn't say anything because you need to submit a difficulty 2 share and your best share at that point was a difficulty 1 share.  At 10 MH/S it will take you approximately 4 hours to find a single difficulty 2 share.  You are merely wasting power and working your graphics card for no reason.  Try mining litecoins at www.liteguardian.com.  When you convert your miner to --scrypt you'll do about 10 kh/s, which will net you about .001 litecoins per day...

My suggestion is to either buy some better graphics cards to mine litecoin or buy a few little asics to mine bitcoin.  Either way, you won't get rich, but you'll support the system.

EDIT: You will make more bitcoin per day going here: http://freebitco.in/?r=241175 and punching in two captcha words every hour...roughly 220 satoshis...and it takes a few seconds to do and wastes a LOT less electricity...

Of course all that dust from the free coin site will mess up your wallet.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2014, 09:34:33 PM
 #5697

There will be a server restart on all BTC Guild stratum servers at 0:00 GMT.  This restart is not to deploy new software, but to patch a bug that would arise at the next difficulty change.  The original (and still under use) stratum code for BTC Guild will not handle difficulties above 2.1b when it comes to Pay-per-Share recording.  This was a fix in the new pool software, but since that project has been scrapped, the fix is being rolled into the old software today.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2014, 11:19:54 PM
 #5698

There will be a server restart on all BTC Guild stratum servers at 0:00 GMT.  This restart is not to deploy new software, but to patch a bug that would arise at the next difficulty change.  The original (and still under use) stratum code for BTC Guild will not handle difficulties above 2.1b when it comes to Pay-per-Share recording.  This was a fix in the new pool software, but since that project has been scrapped, the fix is being rolled into the old software today.
I'm using CGMiner 3.8.1 with my AM sticks, after the restart everything should reconnect right ?

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2014, 11:22:30 PM
 #5699

There will be a server restart on all BTC Guild stratum servers at 0:00 GMT.  This restart is not to deploy new software, but to patch a bug that would arise at the next difficulty change.  The original (and still under use) stratum code for BTC Guild will not handle difficulties above 2.1b when it comes to Pay-per-Share recording.  This was a fix in the new pool software, but since that project has been scrapped, the fix is being rolled into the old software today.
I'm using CGMiner 3.8.1 with my AM sticks, after the restart everything should reconnect right ?

Ideally, restarts as fast as Guild's shouldn't cause problems.  But mining software is pretty unpredictable (see the cgminer crashes a few days ago).  Everytime there is a round of server restarts there tends to be a 5-10% drop in pool speed that lasts about an hour.  Some of that is probably just miners failing over and then coming back a few minutes later.  Some of that is almost certainly mining software/hardware failing to properly handle a disconnect.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
MoreBloodWine
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 924


I rule with an iron fist !


View Profile WWW
January 23, 2014, 11:31:32 PM
 #5700

There will be a server restart on all BTC Guild stratum servers at 0:00 GMT.  This restart is not to deploy new software, but to patch a bug that would arise at the next difficulty change.  The original (and still under use) stratum code for BTC Guild will not handle difficulties above 2.1b when it comes to Pay-per-Share recording.  This was a fix in the new pool software, but since that project has been scrapped, the fix is being rolled into the old software today.
I'm using CGMiner 3.8.1 with my AM sticks, after the restart everything should reconnect right ?

Ideally, restarts as fast as Guild's shouldn't cause problems.  But mining software is pretty unpredictable (see the cgminer crashes a few days ago).  Everytime there is a round of server restarts there tends to be a 5-10% drop in pool speed that lasts about an hour.  Some of that is probably just miners failing over and then coming back a few minutes later.  Some of that is almost certainly mining software/hardware failing to properly handle a disconnect.
Well, in either case I ot two backup pools in my config file. So assuming everything works out, I should drop to one of the backups and then I guess somehow CGMiner should sense BTC is back up and add mee back to it.

Want a chance at winning some BTC, LTC or another crypto currency ?
Then be sure to check out our Weekly Crypto Lotteries: Crypto Lottos

Pages: « 1 ... 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 [285] 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 335 ... 426 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!