Bitcoin Forum
December 04, 2016, 06:17:12 AM *
News: To be able to use the next phase of the beta forum software, please ensure that your email address is correct/functional.
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 [283] 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 ... 426 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] BTC Guild - Pays TxFees+NMC, Stratum, VarDiff, Private Servers  (Read 828546 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:28:58 PM
 #5641

Your problem, based on your logs, is something completely out of my control.  As far as I can tell, you can't even connect to stratum.btcguild.com:3333, period, let alone authenticate.

It worked fine (aside from hash decrease) until I restarted it.  Now I can connect to EU just fine.

I think others reported problems as well.

I have 3 rigs pointing to a scrypt server and they are running fine.

I'll try resetting my DSL...

M

Alright, I think I've been able to duplicate the issue, time to run some packet capture to see what the hell the stratum proxy is doing that is non-standard.  Next time you supply logs, please dont' use '-q'.  Either leave that off or use '-v' so it actually outputs information.

Not sure if it was my inet reset or if you fixed something.  Proxies are connecting just fine now to backup server, and [ms] values are in their normal range again.  Now I need a few minutes to see if the hashrate comes up.

I use -q on the proxy because the output looks better for normal use.  I'll remember to remove it if debugging in the future.

M

Hashrate is climbing, looks encouraging.

I'd love to not use the stratum proxy.  Seems to be the only game in town.  I have on my to do list making my own... but haven't made the time to do it yet, and I don't know how successful I'll be.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
1480832232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832232
Reply with quote  #2

1480832232
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1480832232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832232
Reply with quote  #2

1480832232
Report to moderator
1480832232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832232
Reply with quote  #2

1480832232
Report to moderator
1480832232
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1480832232

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1480832232
Reply with quote  #2

1480832232
Report to moderator
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:29:15 PM
 #5642

I reset the stats. now the hashrate is floating between 166 - 177. Something isn't right. Whether it is wonky hardware on our end, or problem on the server side, there is a problem. If i had to guess, i'd guess a marginal timing problem.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
mdbssm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:30:25 PM
 #5643

Try resetting your stats if your speed is showing up very low.  I know Bitfury is one of the many ASICs that is complete garbage in its firmware, which means it's not good at handling server disconnects.  There have been a few server restarts over the last few hours (switching to new software, new software crashing and restarting, and then switching back to the old software after it had crashed).

on the site, my hashrate is now rising. it is 166 and climbing. maybe i had trouble during one of the restarts. I've don nothing on my end, just watching.

2 of my BF rigs dropped offline this afternoon as well. Could not re-connect to US stratum server. After rebooting / restarting stratum proxy etc I was finally able to get connected to the EU server.
os2sam
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1918


Think for yourself


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:32:18 PM
 #5644

Anyone else noticing cgminer 3.10.0 crashing when connecting to BTCGuild?  Runs fine on Eligius and p2pool, but as soon as it connects to Guild it just quits.

It's self-compiled on Debian, running 2x Nanofury and 1x Bitburner Fury.

My guess is you messed up your argument on the worker name/port or something similar.  Works fine on bfgminer 3.9 and 3.10 here.

It gets a few shares then craps out.  cgminer.conf hasn't changed in....oh...about 3 months. It's CGminer, not bfgminer, too (only using cg because bfg doesn't support the Bitburner). So, I think your guess is wrong.

I'm pointing out the issue in case it's something with the new servers?  Nothing's changed here.

Trying to get a working version of cgminer 3.10 working, but since cgminer likes to fuck with drivers and make itself incompatible with bfgminer it's taking a long time.  I'm not seeing anybody else complaining about a similar issue though...I'm still thinking it's a config problem.

Absolutely nothing has changed on the validation server in the last week.  Any connection attempts have been connecting to the validation server all week.  Additionally, the communication between the server and client is identical to what it used to be.

I updated my CGMiner 3.8.4 to 3.10.0 and it seems to be working fine here for over an hour now.

Win Vista w/Jalapeno and 49 BE's.

A: Because it messes up the order in which people normally read text.
Q: Why is top-posting such a bad thing?
A: Top-posting.
Q: What is the most annoying thing on usenet and in e-mail?
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2014, 10:35:35 PM
 #5645

I believe I've got the problem figured out.  Once again the slush stratum proxy never fails to disappoint in its ordering/formatting of his own damn protocol.  Restarting with a fix in place.


mdude77:  Can you try restarting pointing at the stratum.btcguild.com:3333 address?

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:37:32 PM
 #5646

I reset the stats. now the hashrate is floating between 166 - 177. Something isn't right. Whether it is wonky hardware on our end, or problem on the server side, there is a problem. If i had to guess, i'd guess a marginal timing problem.

back down to 140. Sad This is frustrating I'd hate to be Eleuthria right now. What i don't get is why the pool's over all hashrate hasn't dropped. Why only a few of us seem to be affected.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:38:01 PM
 #5647

I believe I've got the problem figured out.  Once again the slush stratum proxy never fails to disappoint in its ordering/formatting of his own damn protocol.  Restarting with a fix in place.


mdude77:  Can you try restarting pointing at the stratum.btcguild.com:3333 address?

Both backup and stratum.btcguild.com are working fine for me now.

My hashrate is still climbing, up to 26 now.  It was down to 18 when I reset my internet connection.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2014, 10:38:50 PM
 #5648

I reset the stats. now the hashrate is floating between 166 - 177. Something isn't right. Whether it is wonky hardware on our end, or problem on the server side, there is a problem. If i had to guess, i'd guess a marginal timing problem.

back down to 140. Sad This is frustrating I'd hate to be Eleuthria right now. What i don't get is why the pool's over all hashrate hasn't dropped. Why only a of us seem to be affected.

Only a few people are affected because it's only affecting fringe cases where the stratum commands are being sent in awkward ways that normal mining software doesn't do.  The problem mdude77 was having was related to how the stratum proxy sends it's auth+subscribe requests (it sends them in one packet), ONLY when using the '-cu' argument.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:44:37 PM
 #5649

I reset the stats. now the hashrate is floating between 166 - 177. Something isn't right. Whether it is wonky hardware on our end, or problem on the server side, there is a problem. If i had to guess, i'd guess a marginal timing problem.

back down to 140. Sad This is frustrating I'd hate to be Eleuthria right now. What i don't get is why the pool's over all hashrate hasn't dropped. Why only a of us seem to be affected.

Only a few people are affected because it's only affecting fringe cases where the stratum commands are being sent in awkward ways that normal mining software doesn't do.  The problem mdude77 was having was related to how the stratum proxy sends it's auth+subscribe requests (it sends them in one packet), ONLY when using the '-cu' argument.

lol.  good catch.  it was always unclear exactly when you use custom user and when you don't.  I had to play with it for an hour or more initially before I found a combination that worked here.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:50:27 PM
 #5650

I'm still having issues. I tried hitting the restart proxy button on the bitfury screen. it didn't make any difference. I'll let things run for a day incase it manages to fix itself. I need to shut it down tomorrow to add a couple of more cards so it will get a reboot then if all else fails.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
mdbssm
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 182


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:56:08 PM
 #5651

I'm still having issues. I tried hitting the restart proxy button on the bitfury screen. it didn't make any difference. I'll let things run for a day incase it manages to fix itself. I need to shut it down tomorrow to add a couple of more cards so it will get a reboot then if all else fails.

For my BF rigs, I need to restart the proxy, then stop the miner, wait 30 secs, then restart the miner.

ssh in and look at the error rates coming each chip from the /run/shm/.stat.log file. If the errors are high from the beginning, they don't seem to settle down as the hashrate ramps up. In that case, start and stop the miner again until you get a clean startup.
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 10:59:49 PM
 #5652

I'm still having issues. I tried hitting the restart proxy button on the bitfury screen. it didn't make any difference. I'll let things run for a day incase it manages to fix itself. I need to shut it down tomorrow to add a couple of more cards so it will get a reboot then if all else fails.

Everything looks normal now on my side, except the hash rate peaked ~30GH/s and won't go any higher.  In fact it looks like it's decreasing again.

I'm afraid something is still amiss.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 11:04:07 PM
 #5653

I'm still having issues. I tried hitting the restart proxy button on the bitfury screen. it didn't make any difference. I'll let things run for a day incase it manages to fix itself. I need to shut it down tomorrow to add a couple of more cards so it will get a reboot then if all else fails.

Everything looks normal now on my side, except the hash rate peaked ~30GH/s and won't go any higher.  In fact it looks like it's decreasing again.

I'm afraid something is still amiss.

M

Looks like i'm back where i belong as well. Maybe it was the chicken that i sacrificed.  Roll Eyes

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2014, 11:20:54 PM
 #5654

I'm still having issues. I tried hitting the restart proxy button on the bitfury screen. it didn't make any difference. I'll let things run for a day incase it manages to fix itself. I need to shut it down tomorrow to add a couple of more cards so it will get a reboot then if all else fails.

Everything looks normal now on my side, except the hash rate peaked ~30GH/s and won't go any higher.  In fact it looks like it's decreasing again.

I'm afraid something is still amiss.

M

You should've clicked reset stats so it had a proper average window instead of including the downtime/outages.  I'm looking at your account now and it's almost at 37 GH/s.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
mdude77
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1358


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 11:27:19 PM
 #5655

I'm still having issues. I tried hitting the restart proxy button on the bitfury screen. it didn't make any difference. I'll let things run for a day incase it manages to fix itself. I need to shut it down tomorrow to add a couple of more cards so it will get a reboot then if all else fails.

Everything looks normal now on my side, except the hash rate peaked ~30GH/s and won't go any higher.  In fact it looks like it's decreasing again.

I'm afraid something is still amiss.

M

You should've clicked reset stats so it had a proper average window instead of including the downtime/outages.  I'm looking at your account now and it's almost at 37 GH/s.

Affirmative, at 37 now.  So the downtime was caused by my side, and I just happened to run into the authentication issue when I restarted the proxies?

Thanks for good work.

M

MMinerMonitor author, monitor/auto/schedule reboots/alerts/remote/MobileMiner for Ants and Spondoolies! Latest (5.2). MPoolMonitor author, monitor stats/workers for most pools, global BTC stats (current/nxt diff/USD val/hashrate/calc)! Latest (v4.2) 
Buyer beware of Bitmain hardware and services.
spazzcat
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57


View Profile
January 20, 2014, 11:27:34 PM
 #5656

I had my two cubes drop in the last hour, the only thing that seem to fix them was powering them off???

14169   ---   11,664   In Progress
14168   0.00016%   3,806   2014-01-20 06:03 PM
14167   0.00016%   3,710   2014-01-20 05:17 PM
14166   0.00139%   32,034   2014-01-20 04:32 PM
14165   0.00196%   45,362   2014-01-20 03:46 PM
14164   0.00211%   48,808   2014-01-20 02:59 PM
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 20, 2014, 11:35:18 PM
 #5657

I had my two cubes drop in the last hour, the only thing that seem to fix them was powering them off???

14169   ---   11,664   In Progress
14168   0.00016%   3,806   2014-01-20 06:03 PM
14167   0.00016%   3,710   2014-01-20 05:17 PM
14166   0.00139%   32,034   2014-01-20 04:32 PM
14165   0.00196%   45,362   2014-01-20 03:46 PM
14164   0.00211%   48,808   2014-01-20 02:59 PM

There's nothing a pool can do when it comes to poor hardware design.  Most ASICs are simply designed poorly, they're hacked together in a way that "works" and immediately shipped.  As a result, there have ALWAYS been problems with just about every ASIC hardware manufacturer where they randomly screw up when a server disconnect occurs.  Normally they work fine, but sometimes they just die and require a power cycle.

This is the one nice thing about ASICs which use USB, they're controlled by decent (and update-able) software that can normally get them to behave properly and handle things like disconnects without dying.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
Billbags
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280

Brainwashed this way


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 12:46:45 AM
 #5658

How are you connecting your cubes to the pool. I now use Slushs stratum proxy pointed at BTC guild and it is really stable.

Listen: meat beat manifesto ~ Edge of no control (pt.1)
Read:"He who controls the past controls the future. He who controls the present controls the past." ~ George Orwell
Think: http://unenumerated.blogspot.com/2014/12/the-dawn-of-trustworthy-computing.html
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 12:49:52 AM
 #5659

How are you connecting your cubes to the pool. I now use Slushs stratum proxy pointed at BTC guild and it is really stable.

That's how most do it.  The issues today only affecting 2 of the 4 public servers, so many users did not experience any disconnect/outage at all.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 01:14:24 AM
 #5660

Alright, everything is rolled back to the old software.  There's a definite bug in this new setup where it will occasionally stop accepting new connections.  I thought that was fixed after the patch this morning, but it just showed up again.

I won't be touching the pool software for the next week while doing a line-by-line review to try to figure out what is causing this to happen.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
Pages: « 1 ... 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 [283] 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 ... 426 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!