Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2016, 08:33:10 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.13.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 [284] 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 ... 426 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [CLOSED] BTC Guild - Pays TxFees+NMC, Stratum, VarDiff, Private Servers  (Read 828847 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Soros Shorts
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1457



View Profile
January 21, 2014, 01:18:28 AM
 #5661

Had to restart the stratum proxies of *all* my BitFury rigs because the hashrate dropped to 50% or less. May have something to with the way the BitFury software splits work up across all the configured pools.

If this keeps up I am going to remove all backup pools and mine solely against the private IP.
1481013190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481013190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481013190
Reply with quote  #2

1481013190
Report to moderator
1481013190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481013190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481013190
Reply with quote  #2

1481013190
Report to moderator
1481013190
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1481013190

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1481013190
Reply with quote  #2

1481013190
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1190

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 01:24:34 AM
 #5662

Just wanted to thank the forum-goers today.  This outage lasted a lot longer than I would've liked (well, hard to have any outage that is shorter than 0 minutes), and lasted longer than my original projections due to just how long the resync took.

However, for the first time in quite a while, the thread remained clear of useless posts, no demands, no crying foul.  Even my email inbox was *mostly* empty during this event.  The ability to concentrate solely on the task at hand (and providing updates) really made it easier to focus than having to pull double-duty as public relations.

Now to compensate us some dividends. Even my car insurance company does that.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
jesse11
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


Ants Rock


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 01:40:05 AM
 #5663

Yeah, my Cubes really took a hit, there running 94-97% on my end. Down 90%  Sad I'll move them till the problem is fixed.

Mining with: BE's,BE Cubes, K16's, AntMiners U1's and AntMiners S1's
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 01:41:23 AM
 #5664

Yeah, my Cubes really took a hit, there running 94-97% on my end. Down 90%  Sad I'll move them till the problem is fixed.

All problems are fixed now, every BTC Guild server (including validation server) has been reverted to the same software it was using for the last year.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
jesse11
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 333


Ants Rock


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 01:42:28 AM
 #5665

Thanks eleuthria  Smiley

Mining with: BE's,BE Cubes, K16's, AntMiners U1's and AntMiners S1's
BrandonMcPherson
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 205


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 02:27:18 AM
 #5666

GL with the bug finding, Eleuthria.
Trongersoll
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448


Retired Software Engineer


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 04:23:03 AM
 #5667

Yeah, my Cubes really took a hit, there running 94-97% on my end. Down 90%  Sad I'll move them till the problem is fixed.

All problems are fixed now, every BTC Guild server (including validation server) has been reverted to the same software it was using for the last year.

And my machine is back to running at the proper rate. When the old stuff works and the new stuff doesn't... You have your work cut out for you.

*insert appropriate begging line here* 
BTC: 1CS6AV7VnjcPLxaTFoUhTjXK4mQCTzfSxE
Doge: DB22tiynvXKg7SyPpnH9jyfitKLTZb6ejc
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 04:34:45 AM
 #5668

Yeah, my Cubes really took a hit, there running 94-97% on my end. Down 90%  Sad I'll move them till the problem is fixed.

All problems are fixed now, every BTC Guild server (including validation server) has been reverted to the same software it was using for the last year.

And my machine is back to running at the proper rate. When the old stuff works and the new stuff doesn't... You have your work cut out for you.

It's unfortunate that the only way to find out the new stuff doesn't work is by putting it live.  Every local test I can do turns out fine, but there are so many thousands of hardware configurations, software configurations, and just plain VOLUME of network activity that you can't properly test in a sterile development environment.

For now, I think I might hang up this attempt at a rewrite and fall back to what I know at least one other pool has done to get better multi-core utilization:  Just run the server process multiple times on multiple ports and have a proxy split the load on the same machine over the different ports.  It feels like a cop out, but I noticed during the live testing that a significant load still hit one core:  The one used for the primary network IO processing, which is extremely difficult to split over multiple cores/threads without significant overhead in mutex locking.  I get the feeling it wouldn't be any more efficient than just running multiple instances of the server.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 07:02:48 AM
 #5669

Hey, I'm sorry for the missing log file and debugging etc. but I thought it was worth mentioning that:

ALL of my cgminer instances that were connected to BTC Guild, that is various versions from 3.0.x to the latest have crashed at the same time, approximately 06:31 GMT today 21 Jan 2014. I could see a "cannot parse output" and then a Segmentation Fault on the terminal just before crashing, while other instances just exited like they had received a SIGTERM, SIGKILL (or SIGSEGV?).

Even my Antminer S1 with factory built-in firmware running modified cgminer crashed, too. It also crashed on my KnC Miner, but this one is the only one that respawned automagically thanks to the init scripts and monitoring.

Has anyone else experienced this? I'm cross-posting this here but I also posted on the cgminer thread.

★ ⏳ BitcoinQueue.com β ★ 📈 Real-time Bitcoin Unconfirmed Transaction Queue Charts ⏳ ★ Forum Topic
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 08:06:36 AM
 #5670

Hey, I'm sorry for the missing log file and debugging etc. but I thought it was worth mentioning that:

ALL of my cgminer instances that were connected to BTC Guild, that is various versions from 3.0.x to the latest have crashed at the same time, approximately 06:31 GMT today 21 Jan 2014. I could see a "cannot parse output" and then a Segmentation Fault on the terminal just before crashing, while other instances just exited like they had received a SIGTERM, SIGKILL (or SIGSEGV?).

Even my Antminer S1 with factory built-in firmware running modified cgminer crashed, too. It also crashed on my KnC Miner, but this one is the only one that respawned automagically thanks to the init scripts and monitoring.

Has anyone else experienced this? I'm cross-posting this here but I also posted on the cgminer thread.

That's...interesting.  I can't think of anything that happened in the last 2 hours that could've caused such a crash.  Were all the machines behind the same router?  Have you been able to reconnect?

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 09:30:22 AM
 #5671

cgminer is still crashing on me too.  Now as soon as it connects to BTCGuild it segfaults.  Same instance of cgminer has been running on Eligius perfectly for 24 hours.  I've also tried it on p2pool, and also on ghash.io.  It's ONLY BTCGuild that makes cgminer crash out instantly.  bfgminer on the same machine connects perfectly to all pools.

NOTHING has changed in my setup, as the machine wasn't plugged in for a few days, and was working perfectly before.
frederikhk
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 35


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 09:50:13 AM
 #5672

can't connect with cgminer since yesterday Sad

i took a screenshot of cgminer right before it crashed:
HellDiverUK
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 574


View Profile
January 21, 2014, 01:46:06 PM
 #5673

According to CK, there's a bug in cgminer which BTCGuild breaks.

Yes, btcguild is a separate bug, sorry. BTCguild is the only pool that uses the redirect feature in stratum which was added blindly a long time ago when stratum support was first added and no pool used it. Cgminer's implementation is unfortunately buggy and the only workaround till I can fix it is to connect directly to btcguild's redirected url directly or use a different pool to avoid the crash.
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 05:23:41 PM
 #5674

Sounds like the solution for those having cgminer crashes is to downgrade to a non 3.10 version.  Quite curious what the hell he did to break such a basic feature that has been working flawlessly for the last 6 months.


EDIT:  You can connect to 'cgminer.btcguild.com:3333' as a temporary workaround.  This server may disappear with little (or even 0) notice once the bug is known to be fixed.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 05:45:54 PM
 #5675

Thanks for the quick server side workaround, very much appreciated. I will try it upon next crash.
I didn't have any other crash since my last post as far as I'm concerned.

★ ⏳ BitcoinQueue.com β ★ 📈 Real-time Bitcoin Unconfirmed Transaction Queue Charts ⏳ ★ Forum Topic
AussieHash
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 675



View Profile
January 21, 2014, 06:10:28 PM
 #5676

Sounds like the solution for those having cgminer crashes is to downgrade to a non 3.10 version.

Does this affect any kncminer firmware version(s) ?
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 06:12:46 PM
 #5677

Sounds like the solution for those having cgminer crashes is to downgrade to a non 3.10 version.

Does this affect any kncminer firmware version(s) ?

I have no idea.  The only ASICs I have are USB Block Erupters.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
matt4054
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134


BitcoinQueue.com


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 06:16:17 PM
 #5678

I'm hashing on BTC Guild with a KnC Saturn 0.99.1-tune without any issue

★ ⏳ BitcoinQueue.com β ★ 📈 Real-time Bitcoin Unconfirmed Transaction Queue Charts ⏳ ★ Forum Topic
-ck
Moderator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1988


Ruu \o/


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 08:08:29 PM
 #5679

Sounds like the solution for those having cgminer crashes is to downgrade to a non 3.10 version.  Quite curious what the hell he did to break such a basic feature that has been working flawlessly for the last 6 months.


EDIT:  You can connect to 'cgminer.btcguild.com:3333' as a temporary workaround.  This server may disappear with little (or even 0) notice once the bug is known to be fixed.
You didn't read the quote. It's been broken forever.

Primary developer/maintainer for cgminer and ckpool/ckproxy.
Pooled mine at kano.is, solo mine at solo.ckpool.org
-ck
eleuthria
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1750


BTC Guild Owner


View Profile WWW
January 21, 2014, 08:10:20 PM
 #5680

Sounds like the solution for those having cgminer crashes is to downgrade to a non 3.10 version.  Quite curious what the hell he did to break such a basic feature that has been working flawlessly for the last 6 months.


EDIT:  You can connect to 'cgminer.btcguild.com:3333' as a temporary workaround.  This server may disappear with little (or even 0) notice once the bug is known to be fixed.
You didn't read the quote. It's been broken forever.

Then it must be extremely rare, because I haven't seen any reports about it causing segfaults until 3.10.  BTC Guild has been using client.reconnect for a very long time.

R.I.P. BTC Guild, 2011 - 2015.
BTC Guild Forum Thread
Pages: « 1 ... 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 273 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 [284] 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 324 325 326 327 328 329 330 331 332 333 334 ... 426 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!