Bitcoin Forum
May 20, 2019, 03:44:40 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 [169] 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1255386 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
antirack
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 485
Merit: 500

Immersionist


View Profile
June 18, 2014, 08:20:02 AM
 #3361

Passive 2-phase immersion cooling is often misunderstood. There is no need for a chiller, it uses a simple dry tower, which is essentially the same thing as a radiator in the front of your car or your water cooling system of a PC. And it also works in very hot climates.

The systems are designed to work with hot water (aka hot water cooling). It takes very little energy to cool water from say 70C to 50C even when it's extremely hot outside like in Arizona or other hot places.  (this hot water can in fact also be used to heat up buildings like schools or offices)

http://www.electronics-cooling.com/2014/02/bitcoin-2-phase-immersion-cooling-and-the-implications-for-high-performance-computing/



The PUE of less than 1.01 includes the _total_ cooling process, including device and building cooling. There is nothing else required. There is no trickery. In fact it's less than that. If you'd use wet towers, or a river near by, it would be lower. But why waste the water and waste time with an open system (needs frequent cleanup)?
1558323880
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558323880

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558323880
Reply with quote  #2

1558323880
Report to moderator
1558323880
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558323880

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558323880
Reply with quote  #2

1558323880
Report to moderator
1558323880
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558323880

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558323880
Reply with quote  #2

1558323880
Report to moderator
BITDEER BTC/BCH ETH LTC ZEC DASH START MINING BTC NOW
WITH NEW GENERATION S17 ANTMINER!
Highly Reduced Electricity Fee $0.067/T/DAY! GET STARTED
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1558323880
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558323880

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558323880
Reply with quote  #2

1558323880
Report to moderator
1558323880
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558323880

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558323880
Reply with quote  #2

1558323880
Report to moderator
1558323880
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1558323880

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1558323880
Reply with quote  #2

1558323880
Report to moderator
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 08:40:51 AM
Last edit: June 18, 2014, 09:21:44 AM by Collider
 #3362

@ recent debate

I highly doubt bitfury will go for immersion cooling (atleast not in the short term).

Bitfury rigs are specifically designed for free air cooling, with input temperature requirements of only under 35°C, still reaching 0,785W/GH at this level.
The devices are 6U 3.5TH, so they do use some space.

@bitmaintech

Apparently they have recieved their 28nm chips (earlier than what i would have expected, my guess was July)

Power consumption at chip level 0.59W/GH, at normal clock frequency.

This should translate to about ~0.73W/GH at the wall if they use high quality components.

While this is an okay design, Spondoolies can reach that with an sp10 clocking at 1 TH on their 40nm chips.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 09:43:47 AM
 #3363

@ spondoolies

How about setting up a p2pool node in your hosted datacenter?

This would provide additional incentive for people to switch to p2pool, and setup of a p2pool node is really easy and fast.

The reason why i am asking is that p2pool requires low latency, with the server directly at your DC, everyone would benefit from a very low p2pool latency there.

Further, I don´t know of any p2pool node in israel.
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
June 18, 2014, 09:46:43 AM
 #3364

Passive 2-phase immersion cooling is often misunderstood. There is no need for a chiller, it uses a simple dry tower, which is essentially the same thing as a radiator in the front of your car or your water cooling system of a PC. And it also works in very hot climates.

The systems are designed to work with hot water (aka hot water cooling). It takes very little energy to cool water from say 70C to 50C even when it's extremely hot outside like in Arizona or other hot places.  (this hot water can in fact also be used to heat up buildings like schools or offices)

http://www.electronics-cooling.com/2014/02/bitcoin-2-phase-immersion-cooling-and-the-implications-for-high-performance-computing/



The PUE of less than 1.01 includes the _total_ cooling process, including device and building cooling. There is nothing else required. There is no trickery. In fact it's less than that. If you'd use wet towers, or a river near by, it would be lower. But why waste the water and waste time with an open system (needs frequent cleanup)?


Thank you for the explanation. We'll continue the discussion in HK 2014

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 10:18:52 AM
 #3365

@ spondoolies

How about setting up a p2pool node in your hosted datacenter?

This would provide additional incentive for people to switch to p2pool, and setup of a p2pool node is really easy and fast.

The reason why i am asking is that p2pool requires low latency, with the server directly at your DC, everyone would benefit from a very low p2pool latency there.

Further, I don´t know of any p2pool node in israel.

Does p2pool nodes use stratum to connect to miners?
How can one monitor his hash rate in p2pool?
Where can one check the p2pool luck?

Regards`
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
June 18, 2014, 10:19:45 AM
 #3366

@ recent debate

I highly doubt bitfury will go for immersion cooling (atleast not in the short term).

Bitfury rigs are specifically designed for free air cooling, with input temperature requirements of only under 35°C, still reaching 0,785W/GH at this level.
The devices are 6U 3.5TH, so they do use some space.

i agree, ive seen nothing to support immersion cooling for bitfury. that said, they have the funding and a quality chip design that could be converted for IC

@bitmaintech

Apparently they have recieved their 28nm chips (earlier than what i would have expected, my guess was July)

Power consumption at chip level 0.59W/GH, at normal clock frequency.

This should translate to about ~0.73W/GH at the wall if they use high quality components.

While this is an okay design, Spondoolies can reach that with an sp10 clocking at 1 TH on their 40nm chips.

the S3 is scheduled for 505GH/390W, or about 0.78w/GH (0.6w/gh at chip level) at maximum speeds. Undervolting by 0.1V will improve the efficiency to about 0.6W/GH (0.4w/GH at chip level). Its possible that further undervolting may be possible but bitmain has only given so much info thus far. No sign of IC, but they are geared towards users seeking less density/noise

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 10:57:46 AM
Last edit: June 18, 2014, 11:41:06 AM by Collider
 #3367

@ spondoolies

How about setting up a p2pool node in your hosted datacenter?

This would provide additional incentive for people to switch to p2pool, and setup of a p2pool node is really easy and fast.

The reason why i am asking is that p2pool requires low latency, with the server directly at your DC, everyone would benefit from a very low p2pool latency there.

Further, I don´t know of any p2pool node in israel.

Does p2pool nodes use stratum to connect to miners?
How can one monitor his hash rate in p2pool?
Where can one check the p2pool luck?

Regards`
It uses stratum.

You can monitor the hashrate on the included web interface, like here http://pool.centralcavern.uk:9332/static/
You can also install further plugins for better graphs and stuff.

I don´t know where to check p2pool luck at the moment.

More info: http://p2pool.in/

Also there is an easy guide in the pools section.
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 12:02:08 PM
 #3368

@ spondoolies

How about setting up a p2pool node in your hosted datacenter?

This would provide additional incentive for people to switch to p2pool, and setup of a p2pool node is really easy and fast.

The reason why i am asking is that p2pool requires low latency, with the server directly at your DC, everyone would benefit from a very low p2pool latency there.

Further, I don´t know of any p2pool node in israel.

Does p2pool nodes use stratum to connect to miners?
How can one monitor his hash rate in p2pool?
Where can one check the p2pool luck?

Regards`
It uses stratum.

You can monitor the hashrate on the included web interface, like here http://pool.centralcavern.uk:9332/static/
You can also install further plugins for better graphs and stuff.

I don´t know where to check p2pool luck at the moment.

More info: http://p2pool.in/

Also there is an easy guide in the pools section.


Our clients can select any Stratum pool they want. Today most our clients use Eligeus and BTCGuild. Small minority use ghash.io. Regarding setting our own node, we don't have the attention for that at the moment.
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
June 18, 2014, 01:54:26 PM
 #3369

@ spondoolies

How about setting up a p2pool node in your hosted datacenter?

This would provide additional incentive for people to switch to p2pool, and setup of a p2pool node is really easy and fast.

The reason why i am asking is that p2pool requires low latency, with the server directly at your DC, everyone would benefit from a very low p2pool latency there.

Further, I don´t know of any p2pool node in israel.

Does p2pool nodes use stratum to connect to miners?
How can one monitor his hash rate in p2pool?
Where can one check the p2pool luck?

Regards`
It uses stratum.

You can monitor the hashrate on the included web interface, like here http://pool.centralcavern.uk:9332/static/
You can also install further plugins for better graphs and stuff.

I don´t know where to check p2pool luck at the moment.

More info: http://p2pool.in/

Also there is an easy guide in the pools section.


Our clients can select any Stratum pool they want. Today most our clients use Eligeus and BTCGuild. Small minority use ghash.io. Regarding setting our own node, we don't have the attention for that at the moment.
What???  It's not like you're busy trying to get a new product out the door or anything... Tongue

Hook me up with a decent Linux VM, and I'll take care of the rest for ya Smiley

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 04:17:51 PM
 #3370

@ spondoolies

How about setting up a p2pool node in your hosted datacenter?

This would provide additional incentive for people to switch to p2pool, and setup of a p2pool node is really easy and fast.

The reason why i am asking is that p2pool requires low latency, with the server directly at your DC, everyone would benefit from a very low p2pool latency there.

Further, I don´t know of any p2pool node in israel.

Does p2pool nodes use stratum to connect to miners?
How can one monitor his hash rate in p2pool?
Where can one check the p2pool luck?

Regards`
It uses stratum.

You can monitor the hashrate on the included web interface, like here http://pool.centralcavern.uk:9332/static/
You can also install further plugins for better graphs and stuff.

I don´t know where to check p2pool luck at the moment.

More info: http://p2pool.in/

Also there is an easy guide in the pools section.


Our clients can select any Stratum pool they want. Today most our clients use Eligeus and BTCGuild. Small minority use ghash.io. Regarding setting our own node, we don't have the attention for that at the moment.

i'm setting up centralcavern and as Collider has noted above, you can see the stats page via that link he has posted.
I'm also looking into adding more nodes across the globe for more local user access and better latency. I hope that SP10 and SP30 users will join us, please watch this thread for updates;

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=655493.0;topicseen

murdof has been assisting with the initial setup and i'm hoping that we can have plans about working on new developments together.
the first node is based in EU (Amsterdam) - more info on the thread link above.

sorry for gatecrashing the thread with this; the idea is to have 0% fee decentralised mining for everyone - p2pool is the easy way to accomplish this.


tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1236
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
June 18, 2014, 06:24:41 PM
 #3371

@ spondoolies

How about setting up a p2pool node in your hosted datacenter?

This would provide additional incentive for people to switch to p2pool, and setup of a p2pool node is really easy and fast.

The reason why i am asking is that p2pool requires low latency, with the server directly at your DC, everyone would benefit from a very low p2pool latency there.

Further, I don´t know of any p2pool node in israel.

Does p2pool nodes use stratum to connect to miners?
How can one monitor his hash rate in p2pool?
Where can one check the p2pool luck?

Regards`

Zvi,

I've been doing some front end development for p2pool, I'd be happy to configure/manage a node in your datacenter with our enhanced stats.

Here is our custom node front-end (where your miners would access their stats): http://minefast.coincadence.com/index.php

An example miner stats page: http://minefast.coincadence.com/miner.php?id=19vXrwKGUhK4cCU8tA4kWZgbChcmh9a6qj

And our (just announced yesterday, still in beta) new global stats page for p2pool (including luck): http://minefast.coincadence.com/p2pool-stats.php

raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 06:27:45 PM
 #3372

Cadence, i like  Grin it's my daughter's name.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
ZiG
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 406
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 18, 2014, 07:15:10 PM
 #3373

Cadence, i like  Grin it's my daughter's name.

How old is she... Grin

Just kidding...

Cheers
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 07:17:23 PM
 #3374

Cadence, i like  Grin it's my daughter's name.

How old is she... Grin

Just kidding...

Cheers

she will be only 6, on the 10th of July

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
BitCoin Operated Boy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 08:04:30 PM
 #3375

@ spondoolies

How about setting up a p2pool node in your hosted datacenter?

This would provide additional incentive for people to switch to p2pool, and setup of a p2pool node is really easy and fast.

The reason why i am asking is that p2pool requires low latency, with the server directly at your DC, everyone would benefit from a very low p2pool latency there.

Further, I don´t know of any p2pool node in israel.

Does p2pool nodes use stratum to connect to miners?
How can one monitor his hash rate in p2pool?
Where can one check the p2pool luck?

Regards`
It uses stratum.

You can monitor the hashrate on the included web interface, like here http://pool.centralcavern.uk:9332/static/
You can also install further plugins for better graphs and stuff.

I don´t know where to check p2pool luck at the moment.

More info: http://p2pool.in/

Also there is an easy guide in the pools section.


Our clients can select any Stratum pool they want. Today most our clients use Eligeus and BTCGuild. Small minority use ghash.io. Regarding setting our own node, we don't have the attention for that at the moment.

i'm setting up centralcavern and as Collider has noted above, you can see the stats page via that link he has posted.
I'm also looking into adding more nodes across the globe for more local user access and better latency. I hope that SP10 and SP30 users will join us, please watch this thread for updates;

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=655493.0;topicseen

murdof has been assisting with the initial setup and i'm hoping that we can have plans about working on new developments together.
the first node is based in EU (Amsterdam) - more info on the thread link above.

sorry for gatecrashing the thread with this; the idea is to have 0% fee decentralised mining for everyone - p2pool is the easy way to accomplish this.



Would be cool to join once I receive my SP30s in August. I'm based in Uk too :-)
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 08:08:17 PM
 #3376

I only suggested setting up a p2pool node at the spondoolies datacenter, as their is no node (which i can find) in all of Israel.

When using p2pool you need a good ping to your node though, as to increase your mining rewards.


Come July/August, the sp30s hosted in the WA state DC should get a p2pool node up easily, either somewhere in WA or nearby.
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 08:12:24 PM
 #3377

I only suggested setting up a p2pool node at the spondoolies datacenter, as their is no node (which i can find) in all of Israel.

When using p2pool you need a good ping to your node though, as to increase your mining rewards.


Come July/August, the sp30s hosted in the WA state DC should get a p2pool node up easily, either somewhere in WA or nearby.

it's a great idea, and it should be set up by spondoolies themselves really - hosted miners, mining on an Israel node will find it greatly beneficial.


Would be cool to join once I receive my SP30s in August. I'm based in Uk too :-)
always mine on a p2pool node closest to where your miners are... and check your ping time before you do so - anything under 50ms is OK, the lower the better.

 Wink

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
June 18, 2014, 08:18:38 PM
 #3378

always mine on a p2pool node closest to where your miners are... and check your ping time before you do so - anything under 50ms is OK, the lower the better.
 Wink

I haven't read much about p2pool, but I'm getting 110ms from Iceland to CentralCavern so guess I won't mine there. Each p2pool has it's own luck and mines separately than the rest of p2pools or they are "connected"? I'm asking this because maybe I can rent a server from Iceland to setup a p2pool there. Does it need good hardware?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
Syke
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2968
Merit: 1030


View Profile
June 18, 2014, 08:21:27 PM
 #3379

I haven't read much about p2pool, but I'm getting 110ms from Iceland to CentralCavern so guess I won't mine there. Each p2pool has it's own luck and mines separately than the rest of p2pools or they are "connected"? I'm asking this because maybe I can rent a server from Iceland to setup a p2pool there. Does it need good hardware?

p2pool is a pool, so the "luck" is shared by all nodes, but your node actually creates the block, so you have full control over which transactions to include or not.

Buy & Hold
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 18, 2014, 08:22:42 PM
 #3380

always mine on a p2pool node closest to where your miners are... and check your ping time before you do so - anything under 50ms is OK, the lower the better.
 Wink

I haven't read much about p2pool, but I'm getting 110ms from Iceland to CentralCavern so guess I won't mine there. Each p2pool has it's own luck and mines separately than the rest of p2pools or they are "connected"? I'm asking this because maybe I can rent a server from Iceland to setup a p2pool there. Does it need good hardware?


all p2pool nodes are connected, yes, and you will get your avg payout when a block is found by the 'global' pool.
You should most certainly set up a node near to you, 110ms is rather high ( although i'll be sad to see you go - it's advisable  Wink )

Collider is looking for a node in Iceland too, so once you get it set up, let him know.

node is running on a 4xCPU VPS with 8GB Ram and a 80GB solid state disk drive based in Amsterdam running Ubuntu 14.04 x64.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
Pages: « 1 ... 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 [169] 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 211 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!