Bitcoin Forum
April 24, 2019, 07:08:51 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1255368 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
June 11, 2014, 06:14:08 PM
 #3001

SP10 and SP30 rack installation guidelines: here (download it and don't view in Dropbox online viewer if you want to open the embedded PDFs

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
1556132931
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1556132931

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1556132931
Reply with quote  #2

1556132931
Report to moderator
100% New Software
PC, Mac, Android, & HTML5 Clients
Krill Rakeback
Low Rake
Bitcoin Poker 3.0
Bad Beat Jackpot
SwC Poker Relaunch
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 06:15:58 PM
 #3002

No you were being a dick.   Where in my ONE sentence does it say "complaining about being tricked?".    You think "before more people do the foolish thing I did" translates to "you ripped me off"?
Bullshit.   Your response was a dickhead move and shows your character.    An apology should have been your reply.   

Yes that's exactly what I thought. My reply was exactly for this way of thinking. Since you weren't actually complaining that you were tricked then my answer shouldn't have offended you. You got the whole thing wrong, just like myself. That's why we need to call it even.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
zvisha
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 560
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 11, 2014, 06:22:53 PM
 #3003

Quote
If you create a file called /etc/mg_ignore_110_fcc the FW will not limit the 1100W. Note that this mode of work is not well tested by me, and can cause extreme heat in some cables. Make sure you have proper cables that match the amperage of the system. We take no responsibility of any damage done to the miner, PSU or your house if you set this flag. The PSU supports up to 14.5 Amper, so make the proper computation (and don't forget to add 10% to SP10 limit for PSU efficiency).

Can you give us some values to play with then?


You have to know the cables you have. There are 16A cables sold in stores. PSU supports 14.5A which is your limit. You have 110V.

14.5 * 110V = 1595W
PSU efficiency in 110V is ~85%, so your limit is 1595*0.85 is over 1300W, so it looks like assuming you have 16A cables you are clear to go. But if your voltage is 100V (which can happen) then you are limited more.

Just make sure you have 16A cables.

zvisha,

Maybe you shouldn't be encouraging this. The cables required need to be 20A for a continuous rating of 16A. The IEC 320 standard power cord for this rating is C19/C20 or C21/C22 connector/plug combination. However, these connectors will not fit the power supply which probably means the power supply was never intended (or tested) for 20A.

I don't encourage this. I think the disclaimer about "damage to your house" will make people consider. However, some people do have 16A cable and asked to enable this feature. It is way cheaper to buy proper cable then to install 220V. I found out there are some DCs in US that have 110V.
kendog77
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 06:27:03 PM
Last edit: June 11, 2014, 06:39:05 PM by kendog77
 #3004

Can someone confirm this page? I plugged all the numbers in and says the SP30 won't break even at all.

https://tradeblock.com/mining/a/1cd0d85758


Price is wrong : it's 5k$ not 12k$
Difficulty will never be 100MM in 7 months.
BTC/usd will not stay the same.

I changed it to 5,000 and was just about the same. I'll agree BTC/USD we'll never really know what it will be and well, difficulty is always on the rise. https://blockchain.info/charts/difficulty. Seriously, does it ever go down to make a difference?
Still no ROI in 12 months. If you aren't guaranteed a positive return on your investment then don't invest.

If the price of BTC goes up, a SP30 will probably ROI in fiat terms. However, with the price of BTC at $633, one could simply buy ~8 BTC right now for $5000, and it's very unlikely that 6TH delivered in September will ever mine 8 BTC, and that doesn't even include the cost of running the hardware.
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1203



View Profile
June 11, 2014, 06:40:44 PM
Last edit: June 11, 2014, 07:31:56 PM by Biodom
 #3005

Can someone confirm this page? I plugged all the numbers in and says the SP30 won't break even at all.

https://tradeblock.com/mining/a/1cd0d85758


Price is wrong : it's 5k$ not 12k$
Difficulty will never be 100MM in 7 months.
BTC/usd will not stay the same.

I changed it to 5,000 and was just about the same. I'll agree BTC/USD we'll never really know what it will be and well, difficulty is always on the rise. https://blockchain.info/charts/difficulty. Seriously, does it ever go down to make a difference?
Still no ROI in 12 months. If you aren't guaranteed a positive return on your investment then don't invest.

If the price of BTC goes up significantly, a SP30 will probably ROI in fiat terms. However, with the price of BTC at $633, one could simply buy ~8 BTC right now for $5000, and it's very unlikely that 6TH delivered in September will ever mine 8 BTC.

it depends on the mindset, mostly, as you know. If difficulty rises will be limited to 30%, it might. Besides, Sp-30 will have residual value, which could be as much as same $5000 if BTC rises to $1000-1500 (KnC Jupiter went for $15K at one point), so you might spend 5K now (forget about how much BTC it is), then get BTC through mining, then sell Sp-30, recouping some (if not all of $$) cost and electricity. That's the plan.
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 11, 2014, 06:43:15 PM
 #3006

I don't think anyone here has a magic crystal ball accurate enough to predict the btc/usd rate and btc difficulty in 3 months, let alone 3 months after that.
psahx
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 07:30:30 PM
 #3007

Quote from: FAQ - rack installation guidelines.docxfrom Guy Corem (Spondoolies-Tech)

The height of the Miner is 1.25U but standard 1U rack mount ears may fit


Can we use these or these?
DevonMiner
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 467
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 10:11:20 PM
 #3008

+10 for Sponds:

OK ... so I have x2 SP10s ... and one was behaving below spec ... I have to say, the support from Spondoolies was exemplary.

Remo and Zvisha reacted VERY quickly to emails, gave good advice and online support ... and now my below average SP10 has become the quickest of the two!

Never before have I seen such dedication to a product, and dedication to the customer before in the BTC world.

Rock!

... Just wish I'd ordered some more SP30s in the GB ... OH WELL!


blaiser
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 10:50:16 PM
 #3009

+10 for Sponds:

OK ... so I have x2 SP10s ... and one was behaving below spec ... I have to say, the support from Spondoolies was exemplary.

Remo and Zvisha reacted VERY quickly to emails, gave good advice and online support ... and now my below average SP10 has become the quickest of the two!

Never before have I seen such dedication to a product, and dedication to the customer before in the BTC world.

Rock!

... Just wish I'd ordered some more SP30s in the GB ... OH WELL!




+1 - Hats off to Guy and his hand picked crew without question.

Hey man, can you spare some Teeth - GQZ1mXzbsviarDAjgGeVTRB5GmjyMtFj5N
klondike_bar
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1848
Merit: 1001

ASIC Wannabe


View Profile
June 11, 2014, 11:07:23 PM
 #3010

zvisha has been helping me out the last day or so with troubleshooting and getting some temporarily-lost stability back to the miner, however, i am still having some slight issues:

1) fans at 70% used to be fine but as of today sounded terrible. ive soundproofed somewhat and reduced to 60%, but its still a similar volume to what an unmuffled 60% would have sounded like last week. Without a dB meter i could be crazy though - getting this in a DC is top priority. the unit also has very slight vibrations that go away if i put a few pounds of pressure on the middle back edge of the lid.

2) The unit seems to always have a 10% or higher (right now, its about 16%!) error rate, even after hours of operation, temperatures of 26/77C, and most of the chips at 77C with a few at 113C.  Miner says 1.41Th while the pool says 1.25-1.3TH.  What is the accepted/error ratio for others?

the product is excellent, but it needs to be operated in a datacenter or somewhere that the fans running at 90-100% wont burst eardrums. I would really love to see the SP10 fit in an SP30 case to better dissipate the heat and use bigger/quieter fans.  Most DC racks cant handle anywhere near the 40-50kW draw that the SP10 and SP30 models enable

24" PCI-E cables with 16AWG wires and stripped ends - great for server PSU mods, best prices https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=563461
No longer a wannabe - now an ASIC owner!
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2014, 02:22:50 AM
 #3011

zvisha has been helping me out the last day or so with troubleshooting and getting some temporarily-lost stability back to the miner, however, i am still having some slight issues:

1) fans at 70% used to be fine but as of today sounded terrible. ive soundproofed somewhat and reduced to 60%, but its still a similar volume to what an unmuffled 60% would have sounded like last week. Without a dB meter i could be crazy though - getting this in a DC is top priority. the unit also has very slight vibrations that go away if i put a few pounds of pressure on the middle back edge of the lid.

2) The unit seems to always have a 10% or higher (right now, its about 16%!) error rate, even after hours of operation, temperatures of 26/77C, and most of the chips at 77C with a few at 113C.  Miner says 1.41Th while the pool says 1.25-1.3TH.  What is the accepted/error ratio for others?

the product is excellent, but it needs to be operated in a datacenter or somewhere that the fans running at 90-100% wont burst eardrums. I would really love to see the SP10 fit in an SP30 case to better dissipate the heat and use bigger/quieter fans.  Most DC racks cant handle anywhere near the 40-50kW draw that the SP10 and SP30 models enable

Then go ahead, put it in a DC. Can't run that at home unless you have a way of not hearing it.


Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
June 12, 2014, 02:49:39 AM
 #3012

Then go ahead, put it in a DC. Can't run that at home unless you have a way of not hearing it.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0 Need more reviews here!

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2014, 03:38:47 AM
 #3013

Then go ahead, put it in a DC. Can't run that at home unless you have a way of not hearing it.

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0 Need more reviews here!

What are the redline highs that should be at TEMP FRONT and TEMP BACK?

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
opentoe
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1260
Merit: 1000

Personal text my ass....


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2014, 03:42:23 AM
 #3014

zvisha has been helping me out the last day or so with troubleshooting and getting some temporarily-lost stability back to the miner, however, i am still having some slight issues:

1) fans at 70% used to be fine but as of today sounded terrible. ive soundproofed somewhat and reduced to 60%, but its still a similar volume to what an unmuffled 60% would have sounded like last week. Without a dB meter i could be crazy though - getting this in a DC is top priority. the unit also has very slight vibrations that go away if i put a few pounds of pressure on the middle back edge of the lid.

2) The unit seems to always have a 10% or higher (right now, its about 16%!) error rate, even after hours of operation, temperatures of 26/77C, and most of the chips at 77C with a few at 113C.  Miner says 1.41Th while the pool says 1.25-1.3TH.  What is the accepted/error ratio for others?

the product is excellent, but it needs to be operated in a datacenter or somewhere that the fans running at 90-100% wont burst eardrums. I would really love to see the SP10 fit in an SP30 case to better dissipate the heat and use bigger/quieter fans.  Most DC racks cant handle anywhere near the 40-50kW draw that the SP10 and SP30 models enable

I was also always getting 1.3TH consistently, then put the new firmware on. Now I'm down to 1.2TH. So I'm going the other way. I'm still on a 110V circuit and get switched over to a 208V soon so hopefully I'll see the nice 1.45TH that I see in all the Spondoolie video's.

Need help with your Newznab usenet indexer? http://www.newznabforums.com
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2014, 06:37:32 AM
 #3015

can we have a status update on June batch please? thanks

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
Biodom
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1932
Merit: 1203



View Profile
June 12, 2014, 06:41:25 AM
 #3016

can we have a status update on June batch please? thanks

Didn't you hear the news, they sold all remaining Sp-10 to Taras [LNU].
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2014, 06:43:37 AM
 #3017

can we have a status update on June batch please? thanks

Didn't you hear the news, they sold all remaining Sp-10 to Taras [LNU].

Biodom, I have an order for 2 SP10 from June batch, i guess you were just too late. that's how it is mucker  Cheesy
a s-t-a-t-u-s update - you perceive this to mean something other than a s-t-a-t-u-s update.

Don't act so butt-hurt about it.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
Guy Corem
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1134
Merit: 1029


Spondoolies, Beam & DAGlabs


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2014, 07:09:03 AM
 #3018

can we have a status update on June batch please? thanks

Small number of shipping will be today.
More on Monday and Wednesday or Thursday next week.

New Mimblewimble implementation: https://www.beam.mw
Spondoolies is back with the SPx36: https://www.spondoolies-tech.com/products/spx36
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2014, 07:10:05 AM
 #3019

can we have a status update on June batch please? thanks

Small number of shipping will be today.
More on Monday and Wednesday or Thursday next week.

thanks for the update, appreciated.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
jonnybravo0311
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1344
Merit: 1015


Mine at Jonny's Pool


View Profile WWW
June 12, 2014, 07:13:35 AM
 #3020

Did the 1.4.2 firmware update do something to disable mining on p2pool?  I have updated, and now my SP10 will not connect to ANY p2pool node.  I can connect to Eligius, BTCGuild, GHash, etc.  My local p2pool node?  No.  Any other p2pool node?  No.  Before anyone asks... yes, my local node is up.  I can confirm this because my 2 S1s are happily hashing away on it.  I have also pointed those two to another p2pool node and they hashed there as well.

Thanks for the help.

Jonny's Pool - Mine with us and help us grow!  Support a pool that supports Bitcoin, not a hardware manufacturer's pockets!  No SPV cheats.  No empty blocks.
Pages: « 1 ... 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 [151] 152 153 154 155 156 157 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!