Bitcoin Forum
April 22, 2019, 09:27:07 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.17.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 [157] 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1255367 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
windpath
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1236
Merit: 1001


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2014, 12:12:03 AM
 #3121

Unless you want to start the fire of the century, or you cool with liquid nitrogen, you will never get 32 SP 10s in a single rack...
1555925227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555925227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555925227
Reply with quote  #2

1555925227
Report to moderator
1555925227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555925227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555925227
Reply with quote  #2

1555925227
Report to moderator
100% New Software
PC, Mac, Android, & HTML5 Clients
Krill Rakeback
Low Rake
Bitcoin Poker 3.0
Bad Beat Jackpot
SwC Poker Relaunch
PLAY NOW
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1555925227
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1555925227

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1555925227
Reply with quote  #2

1555925227
Report to moderator
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 12:20:13 AM
 #3122

Rockminer is not forcing you to buy more than your home circuit can handle.

Not everyone needs to buy 3kw+ worth of miners to turn a profit.

Sure, but having 6TH/s for 2700W is much better than having 6 spaghetti monsters that do 2.6Th/s for 2900W.

Quote
http://www.eia.gov/electricity/monthly/epm_table_grapher.cfm?t=epmt_5_6_a

About half of the states average about $0.1/kwh for residential. Not many places have rates below $0.05/kwh but they do exist.

So the average is $0.1/kwh. Add cooling costs and we are at $0.13/kwh. Very very close to the DC costs so that means that there is no benefit in having miners at home.

Quote
If that is your way of thinking you would probably be interested in a 5PH immersion cooled rig from xbtec. Plenty of power and efficiency.

As I said it's obviously that you are not a miner, but you are trying hard to understand them. Immersion cooling is too expensive for most of the miners. It's for very big mining operations so that's out of the question.

You still haven't replied about shipping costs for 84kg for the 5TH/s.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1004



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 12:22:24 AM
 #3123

Zvi, I was wondering how to allow API access so MultiMiner can see the miner on the network like it does the Antminers and such.
I have it setup as the default like this.
Quote
api-listen
True

api-allow
W:127.0.0.1
It is like something is missing to make it work.

Thanks

bkpduke
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 158
Merit: 100



View Profile WWW
June 14, 2014, 12:24:46 AM
 #3124

I want to ask some of the self proclaimed DC people who obviously know more than anyone.

Lets say you stuffed 32 SP10's into a rack leaving room for a switch up top.  How many circuits would that one rack need?  Hell how about you give me a AMP figure.

The SP products are bad ass but I think most of you have to much koolaid you are trying to hand out.  You act like you are going to run these miners for years LOL!  I kept stuff for no more than 2 months before sold and moved onto newer equipment.



We run a hosting company (don't ask, I won't colo your miners :p).  On 208V circuits, we are seeing that each SP10 pulls 6.5A.

32 SP10 x 6.5A = 208A total.

That is AT MINIMUM 7 X 30A circuits for a single cab, leaving you zero margin for fluctuations.  Most DCs won't let you pull more than 80% of the rated circuit.

Realistically, the power density is higher than most DCs will let you purchase, even those that advertise high power density.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.

With all the above said, the SP10s are still the most power-efficient miners I have seen to date.  For our hosting operations I have to buy power in bulk, so I simply squeeze one or two of these SP10s into a cab where I have power that is paid for, but not fully utilized.
jimmothy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 770
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 12:43:36 AM
 #3125

Rockminer is not forcing you to buy more than your home circuit can handle.

Not everyone needs to buy 3kw+ worth of miners to turn a profit.

Sure, but having 6TH/s for 2700W is much better than having 6 spaghetti monsters that do 2.6Th/s for 2900W.

I guarantee that you will have a bigger profit margin on 1.2w/gh @ $0.1/kwh now vs 0.5w/gh @ $0.15/kwh in september.

Quote
Quote
http://www.eia.gov/electricity/monthly/epm_table_grapher.cfm?t=epmt_5_6_a

About half of the states average about $0.1/kwh for residential. Not many places have rates below $0.05/kwh but they do exist.

So the average is $0.1/kwh. Add cooling costs and we are at $0.13/kwh. Very very close to the DC costs so that means that there is no benefit in having miners at home.

You don't need to add cooling costs if you are below ~3000W. Only when you need to add an air conditioner.

Quote
You still haven't replied about shipping costs for 84kg for the 5TH/s.

Probably not much considering you could have it shipped via boat and have it in only a month.
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 12:53:04 AM
 #3126

I guarantee that you will have a bigger profit margin on 1.2w/gh @ $0.1/kwh now vs 0.5w/gh @ $0.15/kwh in september.

Quote
Probably not much considering you could have it shipped via boat and have it in only a month.

Not your best day it seems. This is the second contradictory statement. Are they hashing now or in a month?

Their ROI will go down the toilet if they start hashing in a month when SP30 starts to ship and they will regret for sure not getting a more power efficient miner.

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
blaiser
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 03:50:56 AM
 #3127

I want to ask some of the self proclaimed DC people who obviously know more than anyone.

Lets say you stuffed 32 SP10's into a rack leaving room for a switch up top.  How many circuits would that one rack need?  Hell how about you give me a AMP figure.

The SP products are bad ass but I think most of you have to much koolaid you are trying to hand out.  You act like you are going to run these miners for years LOL!  I kept stuff for no more than 2 months before sold and moved onto newer equipment.



We run a hosting company (don't ask, I won't colo your miners :p).  On 208V circuits, we are seeing that each SP10 pulls 6.5A.

32 SP10 x 6.5A = 208A total.

That is AT MINIMUM 7 X 30A circuits for a single cab, leaving you zero margin for fluctuations.  Most DCs won't let you pull more than 80% of the rated circuit.

Realistically, the power density is higher than most DCs will let you purchase, even those that advertise high power density.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.

With all the above said, the SP10s are still the most power-efficient miners I have seen to date.  For our hosting operations I have to buy power in bulk, so I simply squeeze one or two of these SP10s into a cab where I have power that is paid for, but not fully utilized.

Nice information, thank you for sharing it.

Regards,

~Blaise

Hey man, can you spare some Teeth - GQZ1mXzbsviarDAjgGeVTRB5GmjyMtFj5N
blaiser
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 99
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 04:35:30 AM
 #3128

I want to ask some of the self proclaimed DC people who obviously know more than anyone.

Lets say you stuffed 32 SP10's into a rack leaving room for a switch up top.  How many circuits would that one rack need?  Hell how about you give me a AMP figure.

The SP products are bad ass but I think most of you have to much koolaid you are trying to hand out.  You act like you are going to run these miners for years LOL!  I kept stuff for no more than 2 months before sold and moved onto newer equipment.



We run a hosting company (don't ask, I won't colo your miners :p).  On 208V circuits, we are seeing that each SP10 pulls 6.5A.

32 SP10 x 6.5A = 208A total.

That is AT MINIMUM 7 X 30A circuits for a single cab, leaving you zero margin for fluctuations.  Most DCs won't let you pull more than 80% of the rated circuit.

Realistically, the power density is higher than most DCs will let you purchase, even those that advertise high power density.

.
.
.
.
.
.
.

With all the above said, the SP10s are still the most power-efficient miners I have seen to date.  For our hosting operations I have to buy power in bulk, so I simply squeeze one or two of these SP10s into a cab where I have power that is paid for, but not fully utilized.



Are you listed here? If not, perhaps you would be interested?

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0

~Blaise

EDIT: Oh sorry, you "won't" I misunderstood. ;(

Hey man, can you spare some Teeth - GQZ1mXzbsviarDAjgGeVTRB5GmjyMtFj5N
clownius
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 07:13:55 AM
 #3129

Wondering if you think one of these SP-30's would go well in my home rack.  I have a 22RU 800 deep rack in my garage (to cut down on noise) that has a pair of C6100's and a pair of single node 3U systems already.

Trying to work out the maths on the power draw and heat.  Running 240V in Australia with 4 power circuits (one dedicated to the rack) but not sure what standard wiring handles Amp wise.  Also how much heat do these pump out and how do they handle 30C+ temps which can be normal in summer?

Will be able to cover at least some of the power cost with my solar panels and can maybe spring for more.  But if i start needing AC to cool things it means moving them inside and then noise and AC costs would become a real issue.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 07:25:11 AM
 #3130

They are producing pretty much the amount of heat they draw in power... Why is this a recurring question?  

What do you think happens with the power inside the unit? I think it is extremely unlikely that a major amount of new particles are produced, or the energy is expelled via radiation. (Except from maybe infrared)

As to high temperatures, it can handle over 30°C but might run a little slower.
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 07:31:45 AM
 #3131

They are producing pretty much the amount of heat they draw in power... Why is this a recurring question?  

What do you think happens with the power inside the unit? The energy somehow gets converted to light? More particles are produced?

As to high temperatures, it can handle over 30°C but might run a little slower.


mate, did you get outta the wrong side of the bed this morning, clownius was only asking - 158 pages is a trawl to go through to find answers.
it takes nothing to be polite.

anyhoo... i've got my SP10 in the garage and it runs fine even when intake temp goes up to 34 degrees C - hashrate drops to just 1.4 (i'm not gonna go into the high rate for fear of Zvi slapping my wrists) So yeah, at 34, ASIC stats are up to 113C but don't go into the red. BUT: this is Scotland, not Australia - I'd advise some extra cooling in the land down under.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 07:40:56 AM
 #3132

Sry, yes i did get up at the wrong side of the bed.

Anyhow, with every computing appliance, energy in equals pretty much heat out, as energy cannot be destroyed.
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 07:45:31 AM
 #3133

Sry, yes i did get up at the wrong side of the bed.

Anyhow, with every computing appliance, energy in equals pretty much heat out.

We all get that way mate, no worries.. I've had concussion this last week and been behaving like a stinking troll around my wife and family (i normally resign my trolling to BCTalk).

With regards the energy -> heat, yup, it's quite simple really, and you are right... I reckon I may just get away with my garage location for the SP30 - the good thing for me is it'll be delivered once summer is gone, so I should be able to get it to peak performance. However, Australia in December? hmmm, not so sure... Another day closer....

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
QuiveringGibbage
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 597
Merit: 515


http://idontALT.com


View Profile WWW
June 14, 2014, 07:47:22 AM
 #3134

Wondering if you think one of these SP-30's would go well in my home rack.  I have a 22RU 800 deep rack in my garage (to cut down on noise) that has a pair of C6100's and a pair of single node 3U systems already.

Trying to work out the maths on the power draw and heat.  Running 240V in Australia with 4 power circuits (one dedicated to the rack) but not sure what standard wiring handles Amp wise.  Also how much heat do these pump out and how do they handle 30C+ temps which can be normal in summer?

Will be able to cover at least some of the power cost with my solar panels and can maybe spring for more.  But if i start needing AC to cool things it means moving them inside and then noise and AC costs would become a real issue.

I wouldn't be running these in my garage through summer (Sydney, no a/c). Winter I plan on running for a week maybe, just to play around and then have it hosted. I only have the 10amp from 1 power point to run it, if I can. I may have to under volt.

On a tangent; have you considered the cost of electricity running SP30 24 by 7 with the rates we pay for electricity? fyi.. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0 (H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation)

is the garage well ventilated?

I had a pair of these in a double garage, and it was 35c front / back 80c in May.

More pics here: http://imgur.com/a/mRbMZ#ZZd203T

Cheers,
QG

Bitcoin is at the tippity top of the mountain...but it's really only half way up.. Wink
clownius
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 448
Merit: 250


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 08:04:41 AM
 #3135

Thanks QuiveringGibbage and raskul thats the sort of info i was interested in hearing.  Real world experience.

At the end of the day i have no idea what 3000W of heat translates to in the ability of a garage to dissipate said heat without everything cooking.  I guessed someone has run a similar amount of hardware in a garage before.

My aim is to run a viable bitcoin setup that fits neatly into my current rack rather than getting rich with multiple units.  A sort of hobby farm to support the decentralisation of the bitcoin network.  Most of the power coming from my solar panels to reduce costs and keep things viable.

It sounds like this may be a bridge to far without factoring in AC costs and moving it inside sadly.  Especially with multiple servers already in place.  Maybe i can see whats on the market once i ship both my C6100's out.  That gives me well over 1000W more to play with power and heat wise.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 08:06:52 AM
 #3136

You can always put a 3 kw space heater in your garage to simulate it.

Once again, the units do work above 35°C.

I can´t remember what the maximum was that spondoolies tested it at, though.

Sp30 should have a bit more thermal headroom though.
lucazane
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1198
Merit: 1000



View Profile WWW
June 14, 2014, 09:32:12 AM
 #3137

You can always put a 3 kw space heater in your garage to simulate it.

Once again, the units do work above 35°C.

I can´t remember what the maximum was that spondoolies tested it at, though.

Sp30 should have a bit more thermal headroom though.
the spec say 35°C max ^^

The Blocks Factory Mining POOL : DGB(sha256d, Skein, Qubit, Groestl & Scrypt), FTC
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 09:50:17 AM
Last edit: June 14, 2014, 10:39:22 AM by Collider
 #3138

You can always put a 3 kw space heater in your garage to simulate it.

Once again, the units do work above 35°C.

I can´t remember what the maximum was that spondoolies tested it at, though.

Sp30 should have a bit more thermal headroom though.
the spec say 35°C max ^^
That obviously doesn´t mean it won´t work above the specified temperature. It just means full speed isn´t guaranteed then (and it might affect the lifecycle)

If you have cheap power available you could also think about ACing the unit, especially as most of the ACing should be needed when your solar panels produce the most electricity.
btc_uzr
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476
Merit: 250


let's have some fun


View Profile
June 14, 2014, 11:02:29 AM
 #3139

Any news of the June 10th batch? Shipping soon? Price barely moved with this batch.

can we have a status update on June batch please? thanks

Small number of shipping will be today.
More on Monday and Wednesday or Thursday next week.

So Spondoolies has joined the club of manufacturers facing delays and not being able to stick to their promised delivery time frame.
We reached this point faster than I expected, after such a good start..

Hope this was just a one-timer as I'm still on the fence watching..

..and Thou shalt spread the coin in the name of cryptography for eternity
raskul
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 14, 2014, 11:05:15 AM
 #3140

Any news of the June 10th batch? Shipping soon? Price barely moved with this batch.

can we have a status update on June batch please? thanks

Small number of shipping will be today.
More on Monday and Wednesday or Thursday next week.

So Spondoolies has joined the club of manufacturers facing delays and not being able to stick to their promised delivery time frame.
We reached this point faster than I expected, after such a good start..

Hope this was just a one-timer as I'm still on the fence watching..

I don't see any delays, your feeble attempt to spread FUD is below you, my friend.
June batch was billed to begin build on 10th June; therefore I would expect the shipping queue to run for a couple of weeks after the initial build date.

tips    1APp826DqjJBdsAeqpEstx6Q8hD4urac8a
Pages: « 1 ... 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 137 138 139 140 141 142 143 144 145 146 147 148 149 150 151 152 153 154 155 156 [157] 158 159 160 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!