Bitcoin Forum
June 18, 2019, 08:35:10 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.18.0 [Torrent] (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 [211] 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 ... 726 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Spondoolies-Tech - carrier grade, data center ready mining rigs  (Read 1256072 times)
This is a self-moderated topic. If you do not want to be moderated by the person who started this topic, create a new topic.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 20, 2014, 05:35:52 AM
Last edit: July 20, 2014, 06:30:13 AM by Collider
 #4201

Can one SP30 be made to run off a single 120V/20A circuit?

This is a DC circuit with wiring good for 30A+ and a commercial grade PDU, so I don't intend to de-rate to 80%.
I would not recommend it, as the internal PSUs are not going to be able to deliver the full 2.5kW to the asics.
You would have your hashrate reduced by ~10%
You mean it will trip the breaker? Well I am paying a flat rate for the 20 Amp circuits so I guess I would have to under-clock the SP30.  Or maybe use 2 circuits and somehow find some other smaller hardware to use up the extra amps (probably S3s).

No, I don´t mean it would trip the breaker (which it easily could if the breaker shuts the line down at 20 amps).

I mean that the PSUs in the miner will not be able to supply the full amount of power on the internal 12V circuits because it is only rated to 1050W per PSU at 120V input.

Just switch to a 208V or 220V circuit, 120V circuits are a stupid idea anyway.


As the month is very near its end now, I am looking forward to my sp30.
1560846910
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560846910

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560846910
Reply with quote  #2

1560846910
Report to moderator
1560846910
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560846910

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560846910
Reply with quote  #2

1560846910
Report to moderator
1560846910
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560846910

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560846910
Reply with quote  #2

1560846910
Report to moderator
COINSWITCH
Trade 300+ coins
No Login
No KYC
Get $5 on 1st order
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1560846910
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560846910

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560846910
Reply with quote  #2

1560846910
Report to moderator
1560846910
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560846910

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560846910
Reply with quote  #2

1560846910
Report to moderator
1560846910
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1560846910

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1560846910
Reply with quote  #2

1560846910
Report to moderator
RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 06:49:35 AM
 #4202

So, when is the first batch SP30 going to be delivered?

Well this month for sure even if there are just 10 days left.

I know they are a good crew but without even having the first set of chips in you think it will really be that smooth?

How do you know they don't have the first set of chips in hand? You don't.

Just switch to a 208V or 220V circuit, 120V circuits are a stupid idea anyway.

Do you happen to know the reason why all US is using stupid 120V circuits?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
dogie
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1652
Merit: 1119


dogiecoin.com


View Profile WWW
July 20, 2014, 07:29:01 AM
 #4203

Do you happen to know the reason why all US is using stupid 120V circuits?

They've got Thomas Edison to thank for that. He wanted lots and lots and lots of local power stations all supplying low voltage DC, where as Westinghouse wanted big power stations delivering high voltage AC.

RoadStress
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1862
Merit: 1002


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 07:38:51 AM
 #4204

Do you happen to know the reason why all US is using stupid 120V circuits?

They've got Thomas Edison to thank for that. He wanted lots and lots and lots of local power stations all supplying low voltage DC, where as Westinghouse wanted big power stations delivering high voltage AC.

But why? What could be the explanation? And why aren't they changing those rules that are over 100 years old?

H/w Hosting Directory & Reputation - https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=622998.0
Powell
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 428
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 07:42:30 AM
 #4205

Because that 110V power has saved to many countries butts over the years.  'Merica!

But I will admit I still don't know why we won't conform with the metric system LOL!
ManeBjorn
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1288
Merit: 1004



View Profile
July 20, 2014, 07:42:58 AM
 #4206

They will not fix that as it makes the gov and monopolistic utilities too much money.

Do you happen to know the reason why all US is using stupid 120V circuits?

They've got Thomas Edison to thank for that. He wanted lots and lots and lots of local power stations all supplying low voltage DC, where as Westinghouse wanted big power stations delivering high voltage AC.

But why? What could be the explanation? And why aren't they changing those rules that are over 100 years old?

Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 20, 2014, 08:17:21 AM
 #4207

Pls, this is totally offtopic, anyone is grateful to tesla but please not on the spondoolies thread.

It hurts both my eyes and my hand when I need to scroll down for hours....

120V is inefficient and has greater losses (on virtually any appliance), but Americans aren´t known for their overly logical approach to many issues, so yeah.

If you are planning on installing some new circuits in your hosting site, better make them 208V or 230V ones, as to give your miner the maximum performance (and save some additional % on electricity).
tzortz
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 20, 2014, 08:31:41 AM
 #4208

I liked it a lot.

All is Mine!

1H7LUdfx9AFTMSXPsCBror3RDk57zgnc2R
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 20, 2014, 08:48:13 AM
 #4209

@spondoolies
Are the chips already in hand?
repairguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 08:51:40 AM
 #4210

Pls, this is totally offtopic, anyone is grateful to tesla but please not on the spondoolies thread.

It hurts both my eyes and my hand when I need to scroll down for hours....



Agreed


120V is inefficient and has greater losses (on virtually any appliance), but Americans aren´t known for their overly logical approach to many issues, so yeah.


the efficiency difference between 120v and 208/220/240 does exist, but is hardly worth mentioning.  As far as logic goes, I think the reason is very logical.  120v 240v(split phase) 208v (3 phase) is safer than 220 single phase.  A insignificant loss in efficiency for increased safety, seems logical to me. While still having the 240v available for higher demand loads but in a safer way than europe adds versatility.


If you are planning on installing some new circuits in your hosting site, better make them 208V or 230V ones, as to give your miner the maximum performance (and save some additional % on electricity).

Absolutely, but not for the reasons you mention.  My main consideration would be more power over the same wire.  Less material and labor for the same kw.
xstr8guy
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 784
Merit: 1000


Glow Stick Dance!


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 08:59:02 AM
 #4211

I liked it a lot.

Liked what?   Huh
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:02:50 AM
 #4212

PSUs are on average 3% more efficient on voltages above 200V compared to 120V.

This doesn´t even include higher losses through wires at 120V vs higher voltages.

Differences in safety are marginal (and probably nearly nonexistant), how do you get in trouble with "safety" on properly connected wires anyway?


It should be clear that the breakers should be switched off when you do any kind of maintenance on your wiring and open appliances....
Quote
If wall outlets all were fed with 240V you'd have the lower current and higher power advantage of the European system and it would be safer too, since each "hot" would still be only 120V from ground (not 240V) which keeps the reduced shock hazard advantage.

This even suggests that the 240V system would be safer if installed properly.
repairguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:03:55 AM
 #4213

They will not fix that as it makes the gov and monopolistic utilities too much money.

Do you happen to know the reason why all US is using stupid 120V circuits?

They've got Thomas Edison to thank for that. He wanted lots and lots and lots of local power stations all supplying low voltage DC, where as Westinghouse wanted big power stations delivering high voltage AC.

But why? What could be the explanation? And why aren't they changing those rules that are over 100 years old?

It doesn't need fixed.  Safety is the reason.  Only a few applications make sense to supply more than 240v. I have worked on electric motors that are 9600v.  This system is flexible to meet requirements while keeping safety in mind.  Thomas Edison lost that battle, how is he relevant?  The power plant has nothing to do with residential voltage. Our power plant makes 347,000v.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:07:38 AM
 #4214

The safety concern is pure bullshit.

Proper 240V wiring is actually safer than the common 120V......
repairguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:22:15 AM
 #4215

PSUs are on average 3% more efficient on voltages above 200V compared to 120V.


Yes that one specific item is more efficient at higher voltage.  It is probably one of the very few items, and only is because it is designed to work on both voltages. Items that are designed to work with 120v are the same efficiency.  This whole sub topic suggests changing the entire wiring system in the us to 200v+.  From an efficiency standpoint this is hard to justify for a 3% difference in one appliance.


This doesn´t even include higher losses through wires at 120V vs higher voltages.



This is the negligible difference that I mentioned.  Most household circuits draw less than 6 amps.  The resistive loss in the wire is barely noticeable.



Differences in safety are marginal (and probably nearly nonexistant), how do you get in trouble with "safety" on properly connected wires anyway?


It should be clear that the breakers should be switched off when you do any kind of maintenance on your wiring and open appliances....


Differences in safety are far from marginal.  Most electrocutions happen between a hot conductor and ground.  In the European system you have almost twice the potential voltage.

Everyone knows that you should disconnect power before servicing wiring and appliances.  Yet somehow people (including children) by the thousands get electrocuted each year.




Quote
If wall outlets all were fed with 240V you'd have the lower current and higher power advantage of the European system and it would be safer too, since each "hot" would still be only 120V from ground (not 240V) which keeps the reduced shock hazard advantage.

This even suggests that the 240V system would be safer if installed properly.


The usa 240v system is safer, However if everything in the us was converted to 240, it would be 240v to ground, why would we install an additional conductor and buss bar for everything, just to be safe when the system we have works fine. If that is correct then why didn't Europe do it that way?  For applications that need more power we have a similar system to Europe with 277v to ground 480v across phases.
Marvell1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1428
Merit: 1000


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:23:19 AM
 #4216

@spondoolies
Are the chips already in hand?
only thing I care about as well , all these power conversations et all are moot with no asics lol

⚫ ⚫ ⚫Make even more profit on crypto trading with secure automatic trading https://trade-mate.io⚫ ⚫ ⚫
repairguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:24:20 AM
 #4217

The safety concern is pure bullshit.

Proper 240V wiring is actually safer than the common 120V......

Please explain this one, I am anxious to know how you came up with that.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:28:04 AM
 #4218

We are not talking a 6A draw on a standard circuit.

We are in discussion specifically about the sp30, which needs massive Amps.

It's amperage that determines the wire sizes needed and a 120V system has to transmit almost twice the current (amperage) as a 220v system delivering the same amount of energy (watts). Because ampacity-to-wiresize is basically a square function, the wire has to be roughly four times as large. Otherwise, severe voltage drop will occur over any appreciable distance and more energy will be lost to heat generation due to resistance.


There is no greater safety risk as stated:
If wall outlets all were fed with 240V you'd have the lower current and higher power advantage of the European system and it would be safer too, since each "hot" would still be only 120V from ground (not 240V) which keeps the reduced shock hazard advantage.

Why is this even an issue? Are you chewing on random wires in your house, hoping they are not live and 220V?


Bottom line:

For miners, go with 208V+
repairguy
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 252
Merit: 250


View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:32:40 AM
 #4219

We are not talking a 6A draw on a standard circuit.

We are in discussion specifically about the sp30, which needs massive Amps.

It's amperage that determines the wire sizes needed and a 120V system has to transmit almost twice the current (amperage) as a 220v system delivering the same amount of energy (watts). Because ampacity-to-wiresize is basically a square function, the wire has to be roughly four times as large. Otherwise, severe voltage drop will occur over any appreciable distance and more energy will be lost to heat generation due to resistance.

I think you intended to say massive watts.

No we are talking about how the usa is stupid for using 120v.  120/240v split phase is suitable for most common applications and has lower potential voltage to ground=safe.

When you compare wire that is irrelevant, a properly installed 120v vs 240v circuit are equally safe as far as wire is concerned.
Collider
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714
Merit: 500



View Profile
July 20, 2014, 09:35:16 AM
 #4220

Yes, it has the same safety but higher efficiency, so it is clearly the right move to go with 240V, especially for miners.

Anyone who is going to use sp30s at home likely needs some electrical work done, so you might aswell get it done properly.

As for all the rest, datacenters normally provide 208V+ and this is the more suitable circuit for your sp30s.
Pages: « 1 ... 161 162 163 164 165 166 167 168 169 170 171 172 173 174 175 176 177 178 179 180 181 182 183 184 185 186 187 188 189 190 191 192 193 194 195 196 197 198 199 200 201 202 203 204 205 206 207 208 209 210 [211] 212 213 214 215 216 217 218 219 220 221 222 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 ... 726 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!