Bitcoin Forum
December 06, 2019, 02:36:54 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.19.0.1 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 ... 486 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] Sia - Decentralized Storage  (Read 1346129 times)
TerraMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2015, 02:44:40 PM
 #881

When everyone refers to Siafunds, what is that referring too? The amount of KS .... or more?  confused.

BTC:1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
1575599814
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1575599814

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1575599814
Reply with quote  #2

1575599814
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
TerraMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2015, 02:46:15 PM
 #882


I think eventually they will be available on exchanges because they are tokens and they are in the blockchain.

Cool. I await Taek's confirmation

Confirmed.


=====

We've got a really simple "blockchain explorer": http://siacoin.com:9983/

It's not much but we're going to be expanding it over the coming weeks so that it includes more statistics and eventually a way to follow transactions and outputs around the network.
[/quote]
hah luv that little block explorer  Smiley

BTC:1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
nemo1618
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 02:50:38 PM
 #883

Can someone tell me, how to send Sia via "siac" ?

"siac help" should tell you all you need to know.

siac is organized by subcommands. The wallet subcommand is "siac wallet". You can get help specifically with wallet commands with "siac help wallet".

Specifically, you can send money with "siac wallet send [amount] [address]". Note that the amount can be in exp. notation, e.g. 5e27. Also note that the amount is in base units, not SC or KS (5e27 = 5KS).

When everyone refers to Siafunds, what is that referring too? The amount of KS .... or more?  confused.

Siafunds are assets that were sold in our crowdfund last year to fund initial development of Sia. They entitle the owner to receive a portion of all host income. i.e. they generate passive income. More info at http://www.siacoin.com/sianotes.html
xibeijan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 02:52:07 PM
 #884

In addition to copy & paste being broken, GUI wallet on OSX showing "Estimated Price Per GB: 858993466.21141 KS"
Wallet copy and paste is not broke, if that what you are referring to?
 
On windows:
Use control-c to copy and control-v to paste when in wallet, when transferring Sia etc.

Not sure on osx

Yes my friend.  Does not work on OSX is what I said.

Notable projects 2019: Semux, Dero, Wagerr, BEAM
TerraMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2015, 02:55:26 PM
 #885

When everyone refers to Siafunds, what is that referring too? The amount of KS .... or more?  confused.

Sia has a second cryptocurrency, called the Siafund. 3.9% of all successful storage contract payouts go to the holders
of the siafunds. There are 10,000 siafunds total, and all 10,000 are completely premined. Sia's parent company, Nebulous
Inc., holds approximately 8750 of these siafunds. The remaining siafunds were sold in a crowdfund which helped to
finance Sia's early development. The primary goal of siafunding is to provide a way to finance the development of Sia
without relying on donations or a premine. More people using Sia means more funding available to hire more developers.
 
Standard transactions are not subject to the fee, and neither are failed storage contracts (where the host was offline
or lost the file).
Thank you  Wink

BTC:1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
TerraMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2015, 02:56:33 PM
 #886

In addition to copy & paste being broken, GUI wallet on OSX showing "Estimated Price Per GB: 858993466.21141 KS"
Wallet copy and paste is not broke, if that what you are referring to?
 
On windows:
Use control-c to copy and control-v to paste when in wallet, when transferring Sia etc.

Not sure on osx

Yes my friend.  Does not work on OSX is what I said.
10-4

OSX is broke lol  Wink

For others with windows... its working.

BTC:1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
xibeijan
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1232
Merit: 1001


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 02:57:19 PM
 #887

In addition to copy & paste being broken, GUI wallet on OSX showing "Estimated Price Per GB: 858993466.21141 KS"
Wallet copy and paste is not broke, if that what you are referring to?
 
On windows:
Use control-c to copy and control-v to paste when in wallet, when transferring Sia etc.

Not sure on osx

Yes my friend.  Does not work on OSX is what I said.
10-4

OSX is broke lol  Wink

For others with windows... its working.

Cool man.  Hope they fix it soon!

Notable projects 2019: Semux, Dero, Wagerr, BEAM
elpis
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 64
Merit: 10


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 03:00:21 PM
 #888

Why different addresses in sia wallet and checking http://127.0.0.1:9980/miner/status? Normally this?
nemo1618
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 03:14:42 PM
 #889

Why different addresses in sia wallet and checking http://127.0.0.1:9980/miner/status? Normally this?

When you view your wallet, it generates a new address that you can use to receive money. The wallet is able to generate new addresses on demand.
When the miner runs, it asks the wallet to generate a new address for it to "mine into." So even though the addresses are different, they both point to the same wallet.
go6ooo1212
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000


quarkchain.io


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 04:06:52 PM
 #890

Could someone share what are the chances hitting a block with 400MH/s
Cobra
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 289
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2015, 04:11:45 PM
 #891

Could someone share what are the chances hitting a block with 400MH/s

At the moment I think you have decent odds. I found a block a few hours ago with 450 MH/s. I will be happy if 1/day keeps up.
go6ooo1212
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000


quarkchain.io


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 04:15:27 PM
 #892

Could someone share what are the chances hitting a block with 400MH/s

At the moment I think you have decent odds. I found a block a few hours ago with 450 MH/s. I will be happy if 1/day keeps up.

Yeah , I have a rig and can use only one card of it , pleasures of mining... Smiley
mishax1
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2086
Merit: 1002


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 04:20:21 PM
 #893

So... how do you get more than 110mhs ?...   still a secret ?
go6ooo1212
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1512
Merit: 1000


quarkchain.io


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 04:28:38 PM
 #894

So... how do you get more than 110mhs ?...   still a secret ?

Nvidia gtx 970 with latest posted miner in the thread , but I can confirm positive work when I hit a block...
TerraMaster
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 280
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2015, 05:17:54 PM
 #895

Could someone share what are the chances hitting a block with 400MH/s
FYI,
after 2.5 days of mining on Radeons at 425 MH and NOT seeing anymore confirmed coins come in to any rigs after more than 24 hrs, I decided to shut 2 rigs down in my shed because of heat etc.. and electric bill!

Now this morning I got up and went out and turned on those 2 rigs to check wallet, only to find I HAD HIT a block on my 7950 miner, so Its back up and running lol.  Grin

I would say with Radeons, probably going to be lucky to hit a block per day  at your hashrate based on my experience.

I am dabbling with an old GeForce GT620, NVidia card I had lying around. Not sure if this card is capable of hashing or not? Anyone know if it will mine this coin?

PS: Note, the mining software all along had shown sometimes 2,500 blocks varies, mined at times on all machines,,, so I only really know I hit one 24 hours after the fact when I see a payout  Wink

BTC:1DiR25SPo84sThzTATr27EZEQZLt6hv6tG
CoinMin3r
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 509
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 05:30:10 PM
 #896

Could someone share what are the chances hitting a block with 400MH/s
FYI,
after 2.5 days of mining on Radeons at 425 MH and NOT seeing anymore confirmed coins come in to any rigs after more than 24 hrs, I decided to shut 2 rigs down in my shed because of heat etc.. and electric bill!

Now this morning I got up and went out and turned on those 2 rigs to check wallet, only to find I HAD HIT a block on my 7950 miner, so Its back up and running lol.  Grin

I would say with Radeons, probably going to be lucky to hit a block per day  at your hashrate based on my experience.

I am dabbling with an old GeForce GT620, NVidia card I had lying around. Not sure if this card is capable of hashing or not? Anyone know if it will mine this coin?

PS: Note, the mining software all along had shown sometimes 2,500 blocks varies, mined at times on all machines,,, so I only really know I hit one 24 hours after the fact when I see a payout  Wink
So who is getting those blocks then? I can see blocks are keep coming as sia wallet suggests.Me too getting no blocks from like 2 days.........
425 MH/s from one card?
Cobra
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 289
Merit: 250



View Profile
June 12, 2015, 05:58:59 PM
 #897

I found a block today on an overclocked Asus GTX 970 (4GB memory). Running the newer miner with the -s 0.2 and -c 1 set it is reaching 450 MH/s.

When running this I noticed it only uses 70% GPU.  Of course I am not using a "custom coded" miner so for kicks launched the same instance 3 times and the collective hashrate looks higher than if I was running individually 250/244/72 MH for each. 566 MH/s total and GPU use goes to 90% I am not sure if this is more effective or not but will run overnight and see what happens.
Taek
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 543
Merit: 500



View Profile
June 12, 2015, 06:29:44 PM
 #898

I'm finding ~2 blocks per day @ 330 MH/s. Maybe I've been getting lucky.

I think the majority of the hashrate is from people who are mining using less than 1GH/s. Lots of people getting blocks here-and-there. Only a few people are pulling more than a handful of blocks a day, and I don't think they're getting more than 20 or 30 each (someone may confirm or deny this).


Question:
Would you rather have the wallet go into your home (C:/Users/You/.hidden/Sia) folder, or do you like it with the executable? Either way we're going to be adding a siac call (and perhaps a memo to the 'about' page) that tells you where your wallet.dat file is being kept. The big advantage to putting the wallet.dat in the home folder is that you don't have to fret if you delete the folder with the executable, and you don't have to worry about losing it when you upgrade.

We can do it either way, I'm curious what you guys think is best. I'm personally leaning towards the home folder because I don't want people to lose their coins. (As an alternative, we could put a backup in the install folder, and keep the primary next to the executable)
Tobo
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 763
Merit: 500


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 06:39:26 PM
 #899

Question:
Would you rather have the wallet go into your home (C:/Users/You/.hidden/Sia) folder, or do you like it with the executable? Either way we're going to be adding a siac call (and perhaps a memo to the 'about' page) that tells you where your wallet.dat file is being kept. The big advantage to putting the wallet.dat in the home folder is that you don't have to fret if you delete the folder with the executable, and you don't have to worry about losing it when you upgrade.

We can do it either way, I'm curious what you guys think is best. I'm personally leaning towards the home folder because I don't want people to lose their coins. (As an alternative, we could put a backup in the install folder, and keep the primary next to the executable)

I like the home folder option. With this option I don't need to worry about updating or losing my wallet or blockchain (assuming blockchain is there too) every time when updating the client. When blockchain gets bigger in the future, it could take long time to download.
nemo1618
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 30
Merit: 0


View Profile
June 12, 2015, 06:52:31 PM
 #900

Question:
Would you rather have the wallet go into your home (C:/Users/You/.hidden/Sia) folder, or do you like it with the executable? Either way we're going to be adding a siac call (and perhaps a memo to the 'about' page) that tells you where your wallet.dat file is being kept. The big advantage to putting the wallet.dat in the home folder is that you don't have to fret if you delete the folder with the executable, and you don't have to worry about losing it when you upgrade.

We can do it either way, I'm curious what you guys think is best. I'm personally leaning towards the home folder because I don't want people to lose their coins. (As an alternative, we could put a backup in the install folder, and keep the primary next to the executable)

I like the home folder option. With this option I don't need to worry about updating or losing my wallet or blockchain (assuming blockchain is there too) every time when updating the client. When blockchain gets bigger in the future, it could take long time to download.

The assumption is that you would update by running an updater, which wouldn't overwrite your wallet.dat or blockchain.
Still, it would be easy for an uninformed user to accidentally wipe out their wallet.dat.
I think automatically backing up the wallet.dat to another location is a good compromise.

(The advantage of keeping the wallet.dat alongside the executable is that it makes Sia completely portable).
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 ... 486 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!