Bitcoin Forum
November 19, 2017, 12:14:41 AM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux mining distro for the Raspberry PI - MinePeon  (Read 681052 times)
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2013, 08:16:15 AM
 #1621

Thankfully, the BitcoinTalk forum is up again.

Any news about MinePeon version 0.2.4?

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
1511050481
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511050481

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511050481
Reply with quote  #2

1511050481
Report to moderator
1511050481
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511050481

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511050481
Reply with quote  #2

1511050481
Report to moderator
1511050481
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511050481

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511050481
Reply with quote  #2

1511050481
Report to moderator
Coinlancer is Disrupting the Freelance marketplace!
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511050481
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511050481

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511050481
Reply with quote  #2

1511050481
Report to moderator
1511050481
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511050481

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511050481
Reply with quote  #2

1511050481
Report to moderator
Bonz
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 215


Mining history: BTC->LTC->FTC->CRC:2200kh/s


View Profile WWW
October 07, 2013, 01:32:52 PM
 #1622

ya it works great!!! i'm using it on 0.2.3a (the beta)

I've seen talk of LCD mods for Raspberry's mentioned before in this thread.

I didn't see anyone yet ask if the plate in this project could be utilized by Minepeon.

http://learn.adafruit.com/piminer-raspberry-pi-bitcoin-miner/initial-setup-and-assembly



If I've helped you, who knows it could happen =) PLZ donate      BTC - 34CGHYkhKi2eFP5GBhtsNpQdFvrxo7WT1u     LTC - WfGiVRgBTLWzfiEfg69QVReWiDvMuQxxHW
                                                                                              FTC - 9x9DT1QDe9bP5E75gSDnkwbVWmwjevpiAQ     CRC - Q5swva1yTrD3Gh7HijDSiETvk6evpe5apl
BaGRoS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
October 07, 2013, 02:17:42 PM
 #1623

I use latest git revision.
After restart, and connect putty to RPi
I wrote
screen -r
and see:
Code:
[2013-10-07 15:45:16] Started cgminer 3.5.0
 [2013-10-07 15:45:16] Loaded configuration file /opt/minepeon/etc/miner.conf
 [2013-10-07 15:45:16] Error in configuration file, partially loaded.
 [2013-10-07 15:45:16] Start cgminer with -T to see what failed to load.
 [2013-10-07 15:45:16] Started cgminer 3.5.0
 [2013-10-07 15:45:16] Loaded configuration file /opt/minepeon/etc/miner.conf
 [2013-10-07 15:45:16] Error in configuration file, partially loaded.
 [2013-10-07 15:45:16] Start cgminer with -T to see what failed to load.
 [2013-10-07 15:45:17] Need to specify at least one pool server.
Input server details.
URL:

MinePeon write this config
Code:
File: miner.conf

{
    "algo": "c",
    "api-listen": true,
    "api-port": 4028,
    "expiry": 120,
    "hotplug": 5,
    "log": 5,
    "no-pool-disable": true,
    "queue": 1,
    "scan-time": 60,
    "shares": 0,
    "kernel-path": "\/opt\/minepeon\/bin",
    "api-allow": "W:0\/0",
    "pools": [
        {
            "url": "stratum tcp:\/\/asc.coinmine.pl:6110",
            "user": "bagros.pi",
            "pass": 123
        }
    ]
}

but url is stratum+tcp://asc.coinmine.pl:6110 (!!  +  !!). When saving the configuration file removes the + character.
This is example.

Working config:
Code:
{
    "algo": "c",
    "api-listen": true,
    "api-port": "4028",
    "expiry": "120",
    "hotplug": "5",
    "log": "5",
    "no-pool-disable": true,
    "queue": "1",
    "scan-time": "60",
    "shares": "0",
    "kernel-path": "\/opt\/minepeon\/bin",
    "api-allow": "W:0\/0",
    "pools": [
        {
            "url": "stratum+tcp:\/\/asc.coinmine.pl:6110",
            "user": "bagros.pi",
            "pass": "123"
        }
    ]
}

I added " in the right places.
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2013, 06:12:15 PM
 #1624

but url is stratum+tcp://asc.coinmine.pl:6110

Confirmend bug ... I will have to fix that, it has something to do with the way php encodes JSON.

In the mean time, you don't actually need to put the "stratum+tcp://" in.  In fact it is probably bets that you don't.  The miners are actually very smart at working out how to access a mining port.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
darkfriend77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 462


View Profile
October 07, 2013, 06:40:02 PM
 #1625

hi ...

where can I set ... special cgminer commands like --avalon-options 115200:16:10:d:256 --bitburner-voltage 1230
so that it starts cgminer with these commands automaticly ...

sry if Im blind maybee i missed the info somewhere then please link it to mee ... so I can read up.

thx
Wed
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1179



View Profile WWW
October 07, 2013, 07:26:20 PM
 #1626

hi ...

where can I set ... special cgminer commands like --avalon-options 115200:16:10:d:256 --bitburner-voltage 1230
so that it starts cgminer with these commands automaticly ...

sry if Im blind maybee i missed the info somewhere then please link it to mee ... so I can read up.

thx

vim /usr/lib/systemd/system/cgminer.service
BaGRoS
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 3


View Profile
October 07, 2013, 07:38:44 PM
 #1627

but url is stratum+tcp://asc.coinmine.pl:6110

Confirmend bug ... I will have to fix that, it has something to do with the way php encodes JSON.

In the mean time, you don't actually need to put the "stratum+tcp://" in.  In fact it is probably bets that you don't.  The miners are actually very smart at working out how to access a mining port.

Neil

Do not write the characters " in the right places.


Setting writes like this:
Code:
{
    "algo": "c",
    "api-listen": true,
    "api-port": 4028,
    "expiry": 120,
    "hotplug": 5,

A write should be like this:
Code:
{
    "algo": "c",
    "api-listen": true,
    "api-port": "4028",
    "expiry": "120",
    "hotplug": "5",
lajz99
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 08, 2013, 01:30:02 AM
 #1628

Question #1 - Is it technically possible to have a web interface created that can monitor multiple MinePeon machines? (If yes, see #2.  If no, ignore #2.)
Question #2 - Can I commission you to do this?  (If so, will reach out via PM)

trichome
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48


View Profile
October 08, 2013, 02:36:17 AM
 #1629

I can't even get these hubs to hash without some serious HW errors unless i only have like 2 usb miners in each of the hubs connected to the main hub....  Any help on how to get 15 miners working well on 3 dlink hubs please let me know.  Or do i need a 4th to spread out the power, all i know is the roswell 10 port can easly take 7 or 8 just cant use it like the dlink in that i get com errors?  i dont know i dont have 2 to try..

I thought the same about the power draw.. His pi's are running off his hubs, which i have and they are giving me problems.  When I connect 2 dlinks to one, and that one's connect to pi. i cant even run 10 on the 2 connected hubs that way, 1 always doesnt start and have hardware errors.  And my Pi is powered with its own supply.  LOST!

I refuse to run my rPi's off the hubs, just doesn't seem logical when I have tons of extra 5v 1amp USB connectors sitting around (Apple i-Device chargers), plus I recently bought a nice surge protector that was laid out spaciously (to allow for power adapters), small surprise was that it also had 2x USB 5v @ 2a connections, so now I use those.

Also worth mentioning (possibly), power conditioning, not sure if this plays a huge role in things or not, but I noticed when I switched from a cheap surge protector coming off my UPS system to a not-so-cheap surge protector which had in-line power conditioning as well and not connected to my UPS, my rate of hardware errors has drastically gone down, a lot. Found this to be interesting, since I only changed the surge protector and the outlet to where it was getting the power.

I run RHB-500 Rosewill 10-Port hubs w/8 usable... I tried the "use the red wire (5v) and ground to a barrel-plug adapter from a PSU" (to get it to run all 10 ports) however the PSU I bought for $10 (still 400watt), tired it on one hub, couldn't get more than 6 to run... and couldn't find my multi-meter so I just said screw it and went back to using the power bricks, lol. I imagine it's due to the cheap-as-hell PSU...

Yeah i have 8 on a roswell in my config like i said and no problems with that guy going to replace these dhubs with another roswell.
tk1337
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
October 08, 2013, 05:09:49 AM
 #1630

Question #1 - Is it technically possible to have a web interface created that can monitor multiple MinePeon machines? (If yes, see #2.  If no, ignore #2.)
Question #2 - Can I commission you to do this?  (If so, will reach out via PM)

#1 - yes


I'm actually in the middle of making a system that grabs data from the rPi's on the network with a simple REST API and stores it in one location, also allowing me to see trends and other information.

Of course I am making this to play nice with pool API's as well, so I can see side-by-side what the miners are doing, what the pool is doing, etc...

If I helped you & you feel generous, donate some BTC to -> 1337tkvMSeY2fNgyNXVshAZixnGxLxuSmy
Do you like cheap GH/s? | MobileMinerApp Plugin for MinePeon
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
October 08, 2013, 06:38:25 AM
 #1631

Question #1 - Is it technically possible to have a web interface created that can monitor multiple MinePeon machines?

Absolutely, it actually even in the works.  It is what I call the "MineForeman".  It has not seen much work done to it in a while (time being the problem) but it still find's all of the MinePeon's on my networks and starts recording data from them (it is actually very useful for debugging).

Question #2 - Can I commission you to do this?  (If so, will reach out via PM)

I was hoping that the donations were going to fund it (and many other things) but it has not worked out that way, out of 20,000+ downloads and many running MinePeon's only about 15-20 donate on a regular basis.

If you are willing to step in and help out I am sure we can works something out though Cheesy .

Neil

P.S. neil@mineforeman.com is better than the PM system, at least it will be around tomorrow Tongue .

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
merv77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
October 08, 2013, 07:39:35 AM
 #1632

@tk1337 and @MineForemam.com

I'm curious to know if 'MinePeon' could be ported to run on a Beaglebone for running KNC miners..?

If yes, what would you require to make this work..?



MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
October 08, 2013, 08:24:42 AM
 #1633

@tk1337 and @MineForemam.com

I'm curious to know if 'MinePeon' could be ported to run on a Beaglebone for running KNC miners..?

We need an open source miner to run the KNC stuff but apart from that yeah, it is totally doable.  It is a badly kept secret on the MinePeon forums that the new build system even has an output for the Beaglebone (I have a prototype running right now with MinePeon).

If yes, what would you require to make this work..?

TIME!!! Unfortunately I still need my non-bitcoin work to make a living. 

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
merv77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
October 08, 2013, 08:50:56 AM
 #1634

@tk1337 and @MineForemam.com

I'm curious to know if 'MinePeon' could be ported to run on a Beaglebone for running KNC miners..?

We need an open source miner to run the KNC stuff but apart from that yeah, it is totally doable.  It is a badly kept secret on the MinePeon forums that the new build system even has an output for the Beaglebone (I have a prototype running right now with MinePeon).

If yes, what would you require to make this work..?

TIME!!! Unfortunately I still need my non-bitcoin work to make a living. 

Neil
thanks for quick reply...

what do you mean 'open source miner'...?  Do you need the source code from KNC..?  Is that the driver or is there more to it..?

Yes I'm also chewing into more time than I can afford in this bitcoin world Sad but I'm enjoying it   Grin

PS. I'm expecting a Jupiter later this week if I could help or even try the prototype Minepeon.. 

Ultimately, If I was KNC I would have employed you to develop this properly.. which I mentioned in their forum.
apetersson
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 666



View Profile
October 09, 2013, 09:55:19 AM
 #1635

apparently, running minepeon now completely killed my SD card. i don't have any hard proof, but i suspect it was constantly writing to the card.
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
October 09, 2013, 06:35:56 PM
 #1636

apparently, running minepeon now completely killed my SD card. i don't have any hard proof, but i suspect it was constantly writing to the card.

You don't need to prove it, I can tell you for certain.

MinePeon writes to the SD card a minimum of once every 5 minutes to record stats.  Apart from that I try to keep writes to a minimum but it definitely does them.

Neil

EDIT: A good SD card is always a must.

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
zpply
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 62


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 10:30:41 PM
 #1637

Is there a recent walk through for someone wanting to setup a new Pi with ASICMiners - think steps a grade 6 can follow. Smiley
merv77
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 476


1.21 GIGA WATTS


View Profile
October 09, 2013, 11:12:28 PM
 #1638

see if these help

https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=251675

http://www.raspians.com/full-guide-to-minepeon/
easynote
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 434


"Flixxo - Watch, Share, Earn!"


View Profile
October 10, 2013, 05:12:45 PM
 #1639

For when a new version? Smiley

X       ▄▄█████████▄▄
    ▄██▀▀         ▀▀██▄
  ▄██▀              ▀██▄
 ▄██     ██▄▄          ██▄
▄██      █████▄▄        ██▄
██       ████████▄▄      ██
██       ███████████▄    ██
██       ██████████▀     ██
▀██      ███████▀       ██▀
 ▀██     ████▀         ██▀
  ▀██▄   █▀          ▄██▀
    ▀██▄▄         ▄▄██▀
       ▀▀█████████▀▀
.flixxo    X▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
████████████▀▀███████
█████▀████░░░░░░▄████
█████░░░░░░░░░░▄█████
█████▄░░░░░░░░░░██████
██████░░░░░░░░░███████
███████░░░░░░▄████████
████▄▄░░░░▄▄██████████
██████████████████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
▄████████████████████▄
██████████████████████
█████████▀█▀██████████
██████▀▀▀▀▀████████
██████▄▄░░▄▄▄░░███████
████████░░███░░███████
████████░░░░░░▀███████
████████░░███▄░░██████
██████▀▀░░▀▀▀░░░██████
██████▄▄▄▄▄▄███████
█████████▄█▄██████████
██████████████████████
▀████████████████████▀
X[[]]X
cardcomm
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 294



View Profile
October 10, 2013, 05:31:30 PM
 #1640

apparently, running minepeon now completely killed my SD card. i don't have any hard proof, but i suspect it was constantly writing to the card.

You don't need to prove it, I can tell you for certain.

MinePeon writes to the SD card a minimum of once every 5 minutes to record stats.  Apart from that I try to keep writes to a minimum but it definitely does them.

Neil

EDIT: A good SD card is always a must.

How difficult would it be to set it up to optionally write to a USB drive volume, if one was found? (I know this sounds like a feature request, but it isn't. I promise. I was just thinking out loud...)

I'm a linux noob, but it would be cool if you could set the boot volume as read-only somehow, and even have all the OS temp file writes and everything go to the USB drive volume...

Easily see your cgminer status with my cgminerLCDStats app:  http://cardcomm.github.io/cgminerLCDStats/
Did my post help you or make you laugh? Let me know with Bitcoins at: 1CQfpMHQ5zVuZ5i9uxSHSSx4J8ZhehSjn3  Smiley
Pages: « 1 ... 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 [82] 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 ... 139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!