Bitcoin Forum
November 23, 2017, 07:26:15 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 [86] 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 ... 139 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Linux mining distro for the Raspberry PI - MinePeon  (Read 681488 times)
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 05:50:32 PM
 #1701

Oh no! Not again! cgminer: LATEST-IS-3.6.4

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
1511465175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511465175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511465175
Reply with quote  #2

1511465175
Report to moderator
1511465175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511465175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511465175
Reply with quote  #2

1511465175
Report to moderator
1511465175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511465175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511465175
Reply with quote  #2

1511465175
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1511465175
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1511465175

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1511465175
Reply with quote  #2

1511465175
Report to moderator
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
October 18, 2013, 09:16:02 PM
 #1702

Oh no! Not again! cgminer: LATEST-IS-3.6.3


Are there any instructions on how to manually update just the CGMINER to the latest version by getting it directly from the GIT?

Or are there any specific configurations that needs to be done first>?

Cheers

We are getting very close to a new release, if you want you can download the PR (Pre Release) here;-

http://minepeon.com/forums/viewtopic.php?f=3&t=291

It has all of the latest as well as a lot of bug fix's and new features.

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
arcticfox
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
October 18, 2013, 09:27:38 PM
 #1703

    I was having issues running Minepeon 0.2.3a with CGminer and the USB Block Erupters. If I ran more than 12 Erupters (on three powered D-Link DUB-H7's), CGminer would crash my Raspi Pi. Tried to switch to BFGMiner, but could never get it working.
    
    Decided to try Minepeon 0.2.4PR2 and loaded the BFGminer config file. This time Minepeon is running BFGminer with 23 USB Block Erupters on 4 D-Link hubs without a hicckup for almost 9 hrs. Only thing I lost is my LCD output to my AdaFruit LCD and LCD Systems Info screens
tk1337
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
October 19, 2013, 12:12:02 AM
 #1704

   I was having issues running Minepeon 0.2.3a with CGminer and the USB Block Erupters. If I ran more than 12 Erupters (on three powered D-Link DUB-H7's), CGminer would crash my Raspi Pi. Tried to switch to BFGMiner, but could never get it working.
    
    Decided to try Minepeon 0.2.4PR2 and loaded the BFGminer config file. This time Minepeon is running BFGminer with 23 USB Block Erupters on 4 D-Link hubs without a hicckup for almost 9 hrs. Only thing I lost is my LCD output to my AdaFruit LCD and LCD Systems Info screens

If you want, I have an image of 0.2.3a w/ BFG set as the default, along with OS packages updated (about two weeks old), http://tk1337.com/downloads/minepeon-0.2.3a-bfg-2gb-im1.img.zip - Made it awhile back for a few people on here

If I helped you & you feel generous, donate some BTC to -> 1337tkvMSeY2fNgyNXVshAZixnGxLxuSmy
Do you like cheap GH/s? | MobileMinerApp Plugin for MinePeon
ct1aic
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 714


Are ฿itcoins Radioactive?


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2013, 06:46:47 AM
 #1705

Something very strange happened half hour ago...

I got 2 new USB Block Erupters and inserted them in 2 HUB's that already were being using to mine. Both stayed lighted. I did a reboot to the RPI affected. The bfgminer didn't started. I removed the 60 seconds sleep time... nothing... Transferred both Gizmos to the second RPI. The same. No bfgminer again after a reboot. Without the 2 new Gizmos, the first RPI didn't restarted bfgminer. Tried cgminer default and reboot. Nothing. Finally I did a reboot to the third RPI. bfgminer didn't started. Several restarts and the 3 RPI's have the same problem. No miner starts.

The 3 RPI had the last version of Arch and MinePeon, from 2 or 3 hours earlier.

I had to go back to MinePeon 0.2.4 PR1. With this old version, bfgminer started at the 3 RPI's and all 46 Gizmos are working again (with the 1970-01-01 problem).

What could be wrong, Neil?

Rui Costa, PortugalBTC : 1ct1aicGoUVpZeovsw3cCcPJZJHV5JXtW
MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
October 19, 2013, 07:39:14 AM
 #1706

What could be wrong, Neil?

Can you log in via ssh and do;-

chmod +x /opt/minepeon/etc/init.d/miner-start.sh

I may have inadvertently introduced a but in updating Wink .

Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
arcticfox
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 32


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 07:39:40 AM
 #1707

   I was having issues running Minepeon 0.2.3a with CGminer and the USB Block Erupters. If I ran more than 12 Erupters (on three powered D-Link DUB-H7's), CGminer would crash my Raspi Pi. Tried to switch to BFGMiner, but could never get it working.
    
    Decided to try Minepeon 0.2.4PR2 and loaded the BFGminer config file. This time Minepeon is running BFGminer with 23 USB Block Erupters on 4 D-Link hubs without a hicckup for almost 9 hrs. Only thing I lost is my LCD output to my AdaFruit LCD and LCD Systems Info screens

If you want, I have an image of 0.2.3a w/ BFG set as the default, along with OS packages updated (about two weeks old), http://tk1337.com/downloads/minepeon-0.2.3a-bfg-2gb-im1.img.zip - Made it awhile back for a few people on here

Thanks, I'll give it a try.
morefeeus
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 12:25:46 PM
 #1708

I have this hub on order from ebay.co.uk seller orico_pc:
ORICO 10-Port Aluminium USB3.0 Powered Hub

Ordered on 2013-07-16, before I'd done more research to know that USB3 may have problems with cgminer / Rasp Pi.  I'll let you know if it works with MinePeon.
PI and USB3 hubs don't work... Its USB 2 only with the Pi and you need to buy a decent one... None of those 10 port $6 on eBay jobs.
Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 01:08:00 PM
 #1709

I have this hub on order from ebay.co.uk seller orico_pc:
ORICO 10-Port Aluminium USB3.0 Powered Hub

Ordered on 2013-07-16, before I'd done more research to know that USB3 may have problems with cgminer / Rasp Pi.  I'll let you know if it works with MinePeon.
PI and USB3 hubs don't work... Its USB 2 only with the Pi and you need to buy a decent one... None of those 10 port $6 on eBay jobs.
Actually minepeon os base is arch linux and people have had success with USB 3.0 on minepeon it is the raspbian os that has issues. Also the orico USB hub isn't a cheap one. It is a good quality hub.

Feel free to correct me if I am wrong in the above that is just from what I have read.

Message me if you have any problems
RicRock
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 288



View Profile
October 19, 2013, 02:59:03 PM
 #1710


Feel free to correct me if I am wrong in the above that is just from what I have read.

I've used both Arch and wheezy.

It's a hardware thing, the foundation chose to use the BCM2835 chip in order to keep the raspberry pi under $35.

One link of many, the only forum I've found that claims they get USB3 devices to work with raspberry pi is this one.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1147

Beastlymac
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 630


Miner Setup And Reviews. WASP Rep.


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 03:56:58 PM
 #1711


Feel free to correct me if I am wrong in the above that is just from what I have read.

I've used both Arch and wheezy.

It's a hardware thing, the foundation chose to use the BCM2835 chip in order to keep the raspberry pi under $35.

One link of many, the only forum I've found that claims they get USB3 devices to work with raspberry pi is this one.

http://www.raspberrypi.org/phpBB3/viewtopic.php?f=7&t=1147


I stand corrected then I just thought I had seen Kano post that he was using a USB 3.0 hub with minepeon.

Message me if you have any problems
mtbitcoin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 877


Etherscan.io


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 04:52:13 PM
 #1712

Quote
Are there any instructions on how to manually update just the CGMINER to the latest version by getting it directly from the GIT?
Is there a specific reason that you need the latest version - i.e. does it fix a problem you are having or solve a security issue ?


The PR2 comes with CGminer 3.6.1 which I have been having issues running with the Bitburner Fury boards. Which is why I was wanting to give the latest release a go

Cheer

EtherScan::Ethereum Block Explorer | BlockScan::Coming Soon
tripppn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile WWW
October 19, 2013, 10:57:11 PM
 #1713

Has anyone else ran into an issue with some pools where it'll accept shares for about 15 mins then it stops.  Minepeon shows mining happening but non of the pools I have programmed are getting them.  Bitminter and BTCguild work great but recentley I started mining on GHash.io and that's one pool I'm having problems.  Also Coinotron mining PPC.

Ideas?

“You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of football team, or some nuclear weapons, but in the very least you need a beer.”
― Frank Zappa
lajz99
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 11:39:50 PM
 #1714

0.2.4PR2 is running great for me.  I love that it boots bfgminer rather than cgminer, will you keep it this way until it's easy to switch in the GUI?

(Still need easier pool switching, but I know there are higher priorities)  Smiley

MineForeman.com
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 896



View Profile WWW
October 19, 2013, 11:45:24 PM
 #1715

0.2.4PR2 is running great for me.  I love that it boots bfgminer rather than cgminer, will you keep it this way until it's easy to switch in the GUI?

Check the settings page, you can change the miner there .  (and set parameters if you want)

(Still need easier pool switching, but I know there are higher priorities)  Smiley

Soon Tongue


Neil

Bitcoin News http://mineforeman.com/ || MinePeon - Bitcoin mining on the Raspberry PI http://mineforeman.com/minepeon/ || MinePeon Wiki http://minepeon.com/ || MinePeon Forums http://minepeon.com/forums/
lajz99
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile
October 19, 2013, 11:47:59 PM
 #1716

0.2.4PR2 is running great for me.  I love that it boots bfgminer rather than cgminer, will you keep it this way until it's easy to switch in the GUI?

Check the settings page, you can change the miner there .  (and set parameters if you want)

(Still need easier pool switching, but I know there are higher priorities)  Smiley

Soon Tongue


Neil

Nice, I just noticed that after I posted.  Awesome progress, I plan on adding a 4th for my Drillbit hardware that should arrive soon. 

tripppn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2013, 02:02:31 AM
 #1717

Has anyone else ran into an issue with some pools where it'll accept shares for about 15 mins then it stops.  Minepeon shows mining happening but non of the pools I have programmed are getting them.  Bitminter and BTCguild work great but recentley I started mining on GHash.io and that's one pool I'm having problems.  Also Coinotron mining PPC.

Ideas?

Upgraded to PR2 and seems to be running smoothy now.

“You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of football team, or some nuclear weapons, but in the very least you need a beer.”
― Frank Zappa
tripppn
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 756


View Profile WWW
October 20, 2013, 02:25:37 AM
 #1718

NM... still doing it.  Sad

“You can't be a real country unless you have a beer and an airline - it helps if you have some kind of football team, or some nuclear weapons, but in the very least you need a beer.”
― Frank Zappa
jadatkins
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 40



View Profile
October 20, 2013, 01:34:21 PM
 #1719

My ISP, Virgin Media, uses Google Apps to provide email service, and they appear to require SMTP authentication. Here is the information and some more information. My impression is that this is pretty normal, at least in the UK, and has been for about 5 - 10 years.

Having said which, I have tried putting my ISP's SMTP server in the relevant box in MinePeon, and haven't yet bothered unplugging the Butterfly miner to see if it works without a password.

I have now successfully received some emails from the Peon, so disregard the above. On the other hand, Gmail put them in my spam folder, and SMTP Auth might help with that. Actually, now that I look more closely, the email appears to have no 'To:' address, as if it's been BCC'ed - possibly it would help to fill that in? Perhaps this is because I entered into the Peon control panel the from address where the to address should be? I wasn't sure what should go in the box, because it just says 'email address' and not 'from' or 'to'. I think my ISP forces the from address to be a particular thing, so perhaps the 'to' address has been dropped by being the same.
tk1337
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266



View Profile
October 20, 2013, 06:18:02 PM
 #1720

My ISP, Virgin Media, uses Google Apps to provide email service, and they appear to require SMTP authentication. Here is the information and some more information. My impression is that this is pretty normal, at least in the UK, and has been for about 5 - 10 years.

Having said which, I have tried putting my ISP's SMTP server in the relevant box in MinePeon, and haven't yet bothered unplugging the Butterfly miner to see if it works without a password.

I have now successfully received some emails from the Peon, so disregard the above. On the other hand, Gmail put them in my spam folder, and SMTP Auth might help with that. Actually, now that I look more closely, the email appears to have no 'To:' address, as if it's been BCC'ed - possibly it would help to fill that in? Perhaps this is because I entered into the Peon control panel the from address where the to address should be? I wasn't sure what should go in the box, because it just says 'email address' and not 'from' or 'to'. I think my ISP forces the from address to be a particular thing, so perhaps the 'to' address has been dropped by being the same.

The SMTP auth should be completed soon, I have it working, just there are some oddities that I didn't look into the other day after I got it working the way TheMineForeman wanted it to.

If I helped you & you feel generous, donate some BTC to -> 1337tkvMSeY2fNgyNXVshAZixnGxLxuSmy
Do you like cheap GH/s? | MobileMinerApp Plugin for MinePeon
Pages: « 1 ... 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 [86] 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 123 124 125 126 127 128 129 130 131 132 133 134 135 136 ... 139 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!