Bitcoin Forum
January 21, 2021, 03:53:44 PM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 0.21.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 ... 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 [273] 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 ... 1121 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Obyte: Totally new consensus algorithm + private untraceable payments  (Read 1222696 times)
CryptKeeper
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1995
Merit: 1026


bitcoin and altcoin enthusiast


View Profile WWW
March 02, 2017, 06:59:47 PM
 #5441

Few questions regarding byte backups.

1) What's the difference between the "backup wallet seed" and "full backup" functions? I assume the full backup takes the wallet seed and the data from the `local` folder and then encrypts and compresses that data into a single file......am I close?

2) Is it necessary to complete both the "backup wallet seed" and "full backup" functions to properly secure my wallet?

3) With the addition of the "full backup" function in the 1.4.0 wallet, is one still required to backup the file in the `local` folder?


Thanks in advance!

1) exactly
2) no, the full backup is all you need
3) no

Follow me on twitter for the latest news on bitcoin and altcoins and I'll follow you back the same day!
Obyte - An open cryptocurrency platform ready for real world adoption
1611244424
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611244424

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611244424
Reply with quote  #2

1611244424
Report to moderator
1611244424
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611244424

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611244424
Reply with quote  #2

1611244424
Report to moderator
Each block is stacked on top of the previous one. Adding another block to the top makes all lower blocks more difficult to remove: there is more "weight" above each block. A transaction in a block 6 blocks deep (6 confirmations) will be very difficult to remove.
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1611244424
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1611244424

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1611244424
Reply with quote  #2

1611244424
Report to moderator
clovis A.
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1206
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 02, 2017, 07:22:26 PM
 #5442

Hi,
I have the seed + user folder from ver. 1.3 and I would like to reinstall the wallet on a new computer.
How do I do that with 1.4? when do I insert the old seed? do I just overwrite theh user folder?
thank you.

Imo, the easiest way to move your wallet to a new pc is by first installing 1.4 on the old pc and completing a "full backup." Be sure to close 1.4 on the old pc at this point. Then, install 1.4 on the new pc and "restore from full backup." I'm using WIN and this method worked like a charm for me.

Don't open 1.4 on the old pc after the full backup though, as Tony says this can cause issues with bbyte distribution as well as lost chat messages.

Please refer to Tony's post from last week, if necessary. https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1608859.msg17942383#msg17942383

.
|
.
.
|
s i a
.
|
.
.
|
.
.
|
.
.
|
.
.
|
.
Cloud storage is about to change
                          Are you ready?
bspus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2149
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 02, 2017, 07:41:18 PM
 #5443

Hi. I'm new to byteball. Yesterday I verified my bitcoin addresses and I am expecting the next phase of the airdrop.

I understand there are 2 kinds of assets. bytes and blackbytes, the latter being for anonymous transactions. Does that make blackbytes generally more valuable than bytes?

How come the exchange currently available only lists bytes? Is it because it's impossible to list blackbytes, due to their nature or simply they haven't done it yet?

Is it possible to convert or automatically trade between the two assets? Because if not, essentially we are talking about two entirely unrelated assets here, right?

Sorry if these questions are elementary but I can't really go through 275 pages of posts. Maybe the white paper explains the relation between bytes and black bytes but I have not had a chance to take a deep look at it

kaicrypzen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 653



View Profile
March 02, 2017, 08:04:25 PM
 #5444

I understand there are 2 kinds of assets. bytes and blackbytes, the latter being for anonymous transactions.

blackbytes are rather private, when you activate TOR they become anonymous.

Does that make blackbytes generally more valuable than bytes?

Currently, given the fact that all is given for free, that holding bytes is somehow incentivized by the rules of distribution, and that bytes can be exchanged against BTC (mainly on Cryptox), the market doesn't give blackbytes much value ... But yes for users to whom privacy matters, blackbytes should be more valuable.

How come the exchange currently available only lists bytes? Is it because it's impossible to list blackbytes, due to their nature or simply they haven't done it yet?

It is a bit troublesome, as deposits and witthdrawls won't be automatic, either they would be processed manually or we can imagine chatting with a bot to deposit/withdraw. That's because to send/receive them, both devices should be paired, and payment requests done through a chat interface.

Is it possible to convert or automatically trade between the two assets?

Not for the time being.

Because if not, essentially we are talking about two entirely unrelated assets here, right?

For now the only relation is that you need bytes to pay for blackbytes' transaction fees.

kola-schaar
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 336
Merit: 260


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 09:13:31 PM
 #5445

A little decoration for the 3rd round..
bspus
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2149
Merit: 1000



View Profile
March 02, 2017, 09:59:30 PM
 #5446

I understand there are 2 kinds of assets. bytes and blackbytes, the latter being for anonymous transactions.

blackbytes are rather private, when you activate TOR they become anonymous.

Does that make blackbytes generally more valuable than bytes?

Currently, given the fact that all is given for free, that holding bytes is somehow incentivized by the rules of distribution, and that bytes can be exchanged against BTC (mainly on Cryptox), the market doesn't give blackbytes much value ... But yes for users to whom privacy matters, blackbytes should be more valuable.

How come the exchange currently available only lists bytes? Is it because it's impossible to list blackbytes, due to their nature or simply they haven't done it yet?

It is a bit troublesome, as deposits and witthdrawls won't be automatic, either they would be processed manually or we can imagine chatting with a bot to deposit/withdraw. That's because to send/receive them, both devices should be paired, and payment requests done through a chat interface.

Is it possible to convert or automatically trade between the two assets?

Not for the time being.

Because if not, essentially we are talking about two entirely unrelated assets here, right?

For now the only relation is that you need bytes to pay for blackbytes' transaction fees.

Precise and to the point. Thanks for your answers

Kamosdeaquario
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 112
Merit: 10


View Profile
March 02, 2017, 11:00:27 PM
 #5447

Hello everyone.
Who gets the transaction and storage fees?
crypt0hash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 04:02:36 AM
 #5448

Hello everyone.
Who gets the transaction and storage fees?
Fees and intrinsic value

The fees are collected partially by those who are first to reference your transaction as parent and partially by witnesses.
forzendiablo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1526
Merit: 1000


the grandpa of cryptos


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 04:03:41 AM
 #5449

can we get a normal exchange that doesnt trade only gigabytes but normal numbers?
we need serious one like bittrex or so, not unknown one like now

this is not looking good for the coin

yolo
crypt0hash
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 57
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 04:08:52 AM
 #5450

can we get a normal exchange that doesnt trade only gigabytes but normal numbers?
we need serious one like bittrex or so, not unknown one like now

this is not looking good for the coin
Maybe we have soon the internal exchange inside the wallet then its looking very good for byteball.
BlokF4No27
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 139
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 03, 2017, 06:58:00 AM
 #5451

Is this coin available in the exchanger like Yobit, Poloniex, Bittrex and many more? I find but not found.
pockets1989
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 48
Merit: 0


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 09:17:39 AM
 #5452

can we get a normal exchange that doesnt trade only gigabytes but normal numbers?
we need serious one like bittrex or so, not unknown one like now

this is not looking good for the coin

I understand your concern I feel same way just think you have to be patient once most of the money supply is released I'm sure it will be on major exchange give it time
SatoNatomato
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 378
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 09:42:54 AM
 #5453

Is this coin available in the exchanger like Yobit, Poloniex, Bittrex and many more? I find but not found.
You can trade it on bitsquare, cryptox.pl, inwallet trade bot, and slack channels.
doremi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 654
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 09:58:44 AM
 #5454

Is this coin available in the exchanger like Yobit, Poloniex, Bittrex and many more? I find but not found.
You can trade it on bitsquare, cryptox.pl, inwallet trade bot, and slack channels.

do thin client has inwallet tradebot?if yes..where is it?
nillohit
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 154
Merit: 100

***crypto trader***


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 10:01:42 AM
 #5455

just open this link : byteball:Ar2ukVqx309sX+LoC9RVOpfATgXskt+Ser5jVr3Q2FOo@byteball.org/bb#0000

П    |⧛ ☛  Join the signature campaign and earn free PI daily!  ✅ |⧛    П
|⧛         ☛  PiCoin - get in now  ✅     ☛ No ICO!  ✅          |⧛
JANGKRIK BOSS
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 224
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 03, 2017, 10:07:28 AM
 #5456

just open this link : byteball:Ar2ukVqx309sX+LoC9RVOpfATgXskt+Ser5jVr3Q2FOo@byteball.org/bb#0000
That link for exchanger, but broken.

You can buy or sell bytes without leaving the wallet by chatting with a trading bot. You can also trade at Cryptox exchange and Bitsquare decentralized exchange.


Waiting available to poloniex (my best exchanger).
doremi
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 654
Merit: 500


View Profile
March 03, 2017, 10:11:30 AM
 #5457

just open this link : byteball:Ar2ukVqx309sX+LoC9RVOpfATgXskt+Ser5jVr3Q2FOo@byteball.org/bb#0000

it return with "upgrade required"
Kryptowerk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 847


Crypto artist and Bitcore (BTX) inspirer.


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2017, 10:11:51 AM
 #5458

I have a question about linked addresses:
Can you link more than one bitcoin address to ONE byteball address. If so, how? I guess I should just talk to the transitionbot and post my btc public key, is this right?

||     Best crypto investment advice: Invest in your education. Watch Andreas Antonopoulos.     ||
||  My art projects: CRYPTO COSMOS: A Cryptocurrency Card Game  |  Monero XMR Postcards + more | Poster  | BTC postcardsThe Great Bitcoin Hatching: Massive artwork (limited metal plate print)  ||
||  Community Crypto Project: Bitcore BTX - hybrid fork with SegWit support and 10 MB blocks  ||
kaicrypzen
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1106
Merit: 653



View Profile
March 03, 2017, 10:16:19 AM
 #5459

Can you link more than one bitcoin address to ONE byteball address. If so, how? I guess I should just talk to the transitionbot and post my btc public key, is this right?

Yes you can. If your current Byteball address isn't the one you want to link to, then you should first enter your Byteball address, then your Bitcoin address, the bot will then wait for a signed message, give it to it and it will link the addresses.

Kryptowerk
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 1274
Merit: 847


Crypto artist and Bitcore (BTX) inspirer.


View Profile WWW
March 03, 2017, 10:19:12 AM
 #5460


Yes you can. If your current Byteball address isn't the one you want to link to, then you should first enter your Byteball address, then your Bitcoin address, the bot will then wait for a signed message, give it to it and it will link the addresses.

Thanks. I already linked to my savings account, but now I want to link to my active account, too, before the next distribution. So this is easily possible then? Great!

||     Best crypto investment advice: Invest in your education. Watch Andreas Antonopoulos.     ||
||  My art projects: CRYPTO COSMOS: A Cryptocurrency Card Game  |  Monero XMR Postcards + more | Poster  | BTC postcardsThe Great Bitcoin Hatching: Massive artwork (limited metal plate print)  ||
||  Community Crypto Project: Bitcore BTX - hybrid fork with SegWit support and 10 MB blocks  ||
Pages: « 1 ... 223 224 225 226 227 228 229 230 231 232 233 234 235 236 237 238 239 240 241 242 243 244 245 246 247 248 249 250 251 252 253 254 255 256 257 258 259 260 261 262 263 264 265 266 267 268 269 270 271 272 [273] 274 275 276 277 278 279 280 281 282 283 284 285 286 287 288 289 290 291 292 293 294 295 296 297 298 299 300 301 302 303 304 305 306 307 308 309 310 311 312 313 314 315 316 317 318 319 320 321 322 323 ... 1121 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!