Bitcoin Forum
October 18, 2017, 08:52:07 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.0.1  [Torrent]. (New!)
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 1145 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [ANN] cudaMiner & ccMiner CUDA based mining applications [Windows/Linux/MacOSX]  (Read 3312130 times)
vosovich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:05:40 PM
 #1421

So it does pick a configuration when you use (capital) F, but you don't know which? If so, use the -D flag for debugging mode. It will give you more information about the auto-tuning process.

Seems like using just a K for me shows "Given launch config 'K' does not validate".

Interesting aside, it seems the 98x2 I've been using doesn't show up in the debug for autotune, despite being the best config I've found so far. This debug panel gives a few more leads to check out, though.

I was convinced that using -l F had worked for me in the past. However, I just checked to make sure and I can confirm what you have said. It does not work for me either.

EDIT for your EDIT: Yes, that does seem to be the case. What I did is run autotune a bunch of times to pick a few candidates. I ran it until I was convinced that no new configurations would pop up. Then I let the candidates run for a while and finally I picked the one with the best hashrate.
1508359927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508359927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508359927
Reply with quote  #2

1508359927
Report to moderator
1508359927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508359927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508359927
Reply with quote  #2

1508359927
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1508359927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508359927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508359927
Reply with quote  #2

1508359927
Report to moderator
1508359927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508359927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508359927
Reply with quote  #2

1508359927
Report to moderator
1508359927
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1508359927

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1508359927
Reply with quote  #2

1508359927
Report to moderator
trell0z
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
December 08, 2013, 11:28:02 PM
 #1422

Yeah it's the whole -l F / -l f (and that's even the correct kernel for my card, 580) etc thing that doesn't work, at least as far as I can understand the readme we're supposed to be able to do something like that, and it will autotune with my choosen settings, and for the kernel that I specify from the list of L/F/K/T.
Only result I get though is either "Given launch config 'x' does not validate" or the program crashes so yeah.. Otherwise I'm using the given launch config of F16x14 which I got out of normal autotune run with -D yes.

LTC: LNjjaezPP1wkmT9Ti3g2kTEsdNQ6w4VPBG
BTC: 1Kw3WS27rkFpxx2KCGVpaPUcdTCKVrPttt
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 02:55:04 AM
 #1423

Problem is, with capital letters it's just "unknown", with non-capital the program just crashes, even with "f", which is the correct one for my card..

you'll get a warning that the launch config is unrecognized, but it does indeed work (assuming you use uppercase letters)

But you need to watch out for minimum requirements regarding compute capability.

Christian

liermam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 03:18:03 AM
 #1424

I ran into a weird issue trying the Titan kernel on my GTX670. It was reporting almost 400khash, but every share was being invalidated by the CPU, besides otherwise acting fairly normally. Maybe there's an improvement to be made somewhere that could let Kepler achieve these kinds of khash rates.

For anyone looking for a config for their GTX670, I'm at 180 khash with these settings. If someone has something better, I'm all ears.
-i 1 -l K98x2 -C 2 -m 1

Try K14x16

Here is my brief summary of my results over the last two versions on a GTX670 (1254Mhz core, 3400Mhz memory) using K14x16 config and interactive mode, mining scrypt coin:

Ver 12-01, 64bit = 195Khash/s, GPU load ~99%, TPD ~80%, dips to 150Khash/s while still full GPU load
Ver 12-01, 32bit = 185Khash/s, GPU load ~90%, TPD ~75%, dips to 150Khash/s, but GPU load drops to 50% (I fixed this by opening up a browser window while I overnight. GPU load and hashrate return to normal)
Ver 12-07, 32bit = 190Khash/s, GPU load ~93%, TPD ~75%, clearly extra GPU utilization is resulting in extra Khash/s
Ver 12-07, 64bit = 205Khash/s, GPU load ~98%, TPD ~78%

Nice little update. Its good to not have to use the stratum proxy anymore as well. I hope these optimizations continue. I strongly believe this card is capable of at least 400Khash/s. If only the CPU could validate my card for the titan kernel =\

EDIT: Hmmm, just restarted my computer for the first time today, immediately opened up the cudaminer upon getting back to my desktop and noticed the same problem where the GPU utilization is only at 50% or so (getting 114Khash/s). By the time I opened this browser and typed the first sentence of this edit, the GPU load was already at 97% and my hashrate climbed to 209Khash/s. Anyone else having similar issues?
Greg121986
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 8


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 04:59:24 AM
 #1425

EDIT: Hmmm, just restarted my computer for the first time today, immediately opened up the cudaminer upon getting back to my desktop and noticed the same problem where the GPU utilization is only at 50% or so (getting 114Khash/s). By the time I opened this browser and typed the first sentence of this edit, the GPU load was already at 97% and my hashrate climbed to 209Khash/s. Anyone else having similar issues?

I am having the same sort of issue. I am using -i 0 flag which typically results in 99% utilization for my GTX 760. On the prior cudaminer release I was not getting more than 75%, usually at 50%. The odd thing with the 12-07 release is I get 99% utilization when I am using my PC. If I leave the PC I see the utilization jump up and down quite often. After I leave the system running untouched I return to see that my hash rate goes between 155-201.

Also, I really do not understand the varying use of kernals. Is there a list of the kernals we can try? Does this equate to optimizations available in the CUDA architecture for each generation of silicon?
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 05:12:51 AM
 #1426

EDIT: Hmmm, just restarted my computer for the first time today, immediately opened up the cudaminer upon getting back to my desktop and noticed the same problem where the GPU utilization is only at 50% or so (getting 114Khash/s). By the time I opened this browser and typed the first sentence of this edit, the GPU load was already at 97% and my hashrate climbed to 209Khash/s. Anyone else having similar issues?

What OS are you running on? I have experienced this kind of issue on Windows Server 2012 R2, which is somewhat similar to Windows 8.1, I suppose.
trell0z
Jr. Member
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 43


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 10:17:42 AM
 #1427

Problem is, with capital letters it's just "unknown", with non-capital the program just crashes, even with "f", which is the correct one for my card..

you'll get a warning that the launch config is unrecognized, but it does indeed work (assuming you use uppercase letters)

But you need to watch out for minimum requirements regarding compute capability.

Christian



Oh ok cool! Will try to experiment a bit then.
Do you think you could change the text there to be a bit more obvious about it actually working? I mean I understand this isn't exactly something everyone will do, but should be a minor code change I guess with just some text?

LTC: LNjjaezPP1wkmT9Ti3g2kTEsdNQ6w4VPBG
BTC: 1Kw3WS27rkFpxx2KCGVpaPUcdTCKVrPttt
liermam
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 16


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 12:56:40 PM
 #1428

EDIT: Hmmm, just restarted my computer for the first time today, immediately opened up the cudaminer upon getting back to my desktop and noticed the same problem where the GPU utilization is only at 50% or so (getting 114Khash/s). By the time I opened this browser and typed the first sentence of this edit, the GPU load was already at 97% and my hashrate climbed to 209Khash/s. Anyone else having similar issues?

What OS are you running on? I have experienced this kind of issue on Windows Server 2012 R2, which is somewhat similar to Windows 8.1, I suppose.


Windows 7 SP1

Wizzard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 03:04:12 PM
 #1429

Any binary for Linux x64/x32, please? Cannot compile it in my KUbuntu x64 system.
mrm0
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 89


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 05:30:52 PM
 #1430

Any binary for Linux x64/x32, please? Cannot compile it in my KUbuntu x64 system.

A 32 bit, cudaminer version 2013-11-20 (alpha), compiled on Ubuntu 12.04.3 LTS

download 'whitecuda.jpg' image from http://postimg.org/image/ep07wmzjh/

verify the downloaded size, should be 4391396 Bytes

now do this:
Code:
$ dd if=whitecuda.jpg of=cudaminer bs=1 skip=1784

and there is your cudaminer binary - size 4389612 Bytes.

BTW: you really shouldn't trust binaries from the Internet...

1BUcKJVz5n34VwuiyiLtPud1PGn3BLkcPb  :-)
Wizzard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 06:54:19 PM
 #1431

Thank you very much, but it does not work as I expected. After installing the necessary libcudart5.5 i386 from debian and libgomp i386 from Ubuntu, it crashes (segmentation fault) with previous error GPU #0:  with compute capability 0.0
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 07:03:51 PM
 #1432

the github repo contains something quite significant: SHA256 was moved onto the GPU! It isn't fully optimized code yet, but it works. Not only does it give an effective speed-up, it also lowers the CPU load to near zero.

Now when I upgrade the PSU on my dedicated mining rig to 1.1 kW, I should be able to power 3 GTX 780 TI cards, hopefully. At the moment the "800W" PSU craps out when I run two cards under load. The 12V Rail of that thing is just so under-dimensioned, it's not funny.

I also found the cause for validation problems on some newer cards (the code to detect the card's ability for overlapping kernel execution was broken)

the brave can try github.... The not so brave have to wait for a new release...

-H 0 : single threaded CPU SHA256 hashing
-H 1 : multi threaded CPU SHA256 hashing
-H 2 : GPU based SHA256 hashing (now  the default)

I also found out that my code to overlap memory transfers and kernels was completely NOT working. Which is why moving the SHA256 part to the GPU results in an effective speed-up (there's now only memory copies from the GPU to the CPU - and it is much less data!). I will fix mentioned problem when I am in a fixing mood Wink

Christian
Wizzard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 07:13:11 PM
 #1433

I am sorry, what I am doing wrong if I get this kind of output?

make[2]: Entering directory `/home/wizzard/CudaMiner'
g++  -g -O2   -o cudaminer -pthread -L/usr/local/cuda/lib64 cudaminer-cpu-miner.o cudaminer-util.o cudaminer-sha2.o cudaminer-scrypt.o salsa_kernel.o spinlock_kernel.o legacy_kernel.o fermi_kernel.o test_kernel.o titan_kernel.o -L/usr/lib/x86_64-linux-gnu -lcurl compat/jansson/libjansson.a -lpthread  -lcudart -fopenmp 
salsa_kernel.o: In function `find_optimal_blockcount(int, KernelInterface*&, bool&, int&)':
/home/wizzard/CudaMiner/salsa_kernel.cu:286: undefined reference to `cudaDeviceSetSharedMemConfig'
collect2: error: ld returned 1 exit status
make[2]: *** [cudaminer] Error 1
make[2]: Leaving directory `/home/wizzard/CudaMiner'
make[1]: *** [all-recursive] Error 1
make[1]: Leaving directory `/home/wizzard/CudaMiner'
make: *** [all] Error 2
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 07:22:43 PM
 #1434


probably not using the CUDA 5.0 SDK? this function was added for Kepler type devices and probably came with CUDA release 5...
Wizzard
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 11



View Profile
December 09, 2013, 07:28:11 PM
 #1435

I also thought so, but I have libcudart5.0 installed...

edit: finally, it compiled successfully, I don't understant why Smiley
cbuchner1
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 742


View Profile
December 09, 2013, 11:58:01 PM
 #1436

Tired of heavy CPU load? Change your -H 1 switch to -H 2 (or just remove the switch, as 2 is now the default). Your GPU will do ALL the work - it may run a little hotter though. This release is now suitable for 1 MHash/s mining rigs or even bigger,  running on cheap mainboards with low end CPUs - even an Intel Atom would do Wink Of course the required nVidia GPUs doing this kind of hash rates aren't cheap...

Download the 2013-12-10 release. I also cleaned up the Readme a bit, fixed a bug that negatively affected hash validation on some cards.

With -H 2 (full offloading to GPU) it may be more efficient to run the x86 binary of cudaminer as the x64 version has increased register pressure in some CUDA kernels, leading to slightly lower hash rates sometimes. Because the cudaminer binary is mostly idling now, there's almost no use running the more bloated x64 binary.

Christian


Vanderi
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 283


default wtf btcer


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 12:54:01 AM
 #1437

Wow, great work Buchner. Again I love my twin GTX 680s a bit more, which isn't so little to begin with!

ground frickin' floor of awesomeness. An original wtf'er.
blackraven1425
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 98


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 12:54:58 AM
 #1438

2013-12-10 release

Using the new -H 2 option, with either x64 or x86, I'm sitting a few (3-4) khash lower than using -H 1. Obviously it's likely to have a much different effect on a lower end system like an Atom.
vosovich
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 28


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 01:26:01 AM
 #1439

Tired of heavy CPU load? Change your -H 1 switch to -H 2 (or just remove the switch, as 2 is now the default). Your GPU will do ALL the work - it may run a little hotter though. This release is now suitable for 1 MHash/s mining rigs or even bigger,  running on cheap mainboards with low end CPUs - even an Intel Atom would do Wink Of course the required nVidia GPUs doing this kind of hash rates aren't cheap...

Download the 2013-12-10 release. I also cleaned up the Readme a bit, fixed a bug that negatively affected hash validation on some cards.

With -H 2 (full offloading to GPU) it may be more efficient to run the x86 binary of cudaminer as the x64 version has increased register pressure in some CUDA kernels, leading to slightly lower hash rates sometimes. Because the cudaminer binary is mostly idling now, there's almost no use running the more bloated x64 binary.

Christian

I just tried the newest version, both x64 and x86 with the various settings for -H. The x64 builds used to be the most efficient for my GTX560, but the 12-10 x86 build gives an all-around 4% hashrate improvement over the 12-07 x64 builds. This holds for all the -H settings. Excellent stuff!
DuckDodgers
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 20


View Profile
December 10, 2013, 06:20:37 AM
 #1440

The x86 binary of the new build is a tad faster on my GTX580. Still using the -H1 switch, since my oldie i7-920 is way too fast to be even bothered into a full power state anyway.

Coin me:
LZEzXPQthUSQ3xt54ics1ZK8ot8jA5EkD5
Pages: « 1 ... 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 [72] 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 107 108 109 110 111 112 113 114 115 116 117 118 119 120 121 122 ... 1145 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!