Bitcoin Forum
November 17, 2017, 08:00:33 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.15.1  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028 2029 2030 2031 2032 2033 2034 2035 2036 2037 2038 2039 2040 2041 2042 2043 2044 2045 2046 2047 2048 2049 2050 2051 2052 2053 2054 [2055] 2056 2057 2058 2059 2060 2061 2062 2063 2064 2065 2066 2067 2068 2069 2070 2071 2072 2073 2074 2075 2076 2077 2078 2079 2080 2081 2082 2083 2084 2085 2086 2087 2088 2089 2090 2091 2092 2093 2094 2095 2096 2097 2098 2099 2100 2101 2102 2103 2104 2105 ... 2138 »
  Print  
Author Topic: Swedish ASIC miner company kncminer.com  (Read 3006430 times)
mindtrip
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1049



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2015, 11:33:38 PM
 #41081

On the hardware end.. Im looking into adding an additional PCI-E 6 pin port to the pcb. Physically it can be done.What I dont know is what effect this will have. I THINK it will just pull the power it needs and not overpower the board. I know the limitation are the VRMS as I believe they are rated at 40A, and cannot be changed without a reball or surface mount station. Im not promoting overclocking, Im trying to relieve the stress on the pci-e port, as Ive burned about 8 pci-e ports. I repaired them all to working order, but I would rather not have this happen. Anyone have any experience with this before I kill a very expensive pcb? Wink

Vegas

do they make a dual pcie pcb connector that will just use the same holes in the pcb?  seems that would save a lot of work

I remember reading a while back that there is a higher rated PCI-e Connector then what most miner manufacturers are using see this article
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/power-supply-specifications-atx-reference,3061-12.html
http://www.digikey.com/videos/en/v/Molex-Mini-Fit-Plus-HCS/1653078210001

particularly this section


Not sure but maybe you can install Plus HCS terminals that brings rated power up from 192Watts to 288 Watts

1510948833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948833
Reply with quote  #2

1510948833
Report to moderator
1510948833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948833
Reply with quote  #2

1510948833
Report to moderator
1510948833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948833
Reply with quote  #2

1510948833
Report to moderator
A blockchain platform for effective freelancing
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1510948833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948833
Reply with quote  #2

1510948833
Report to moderator
1510948833
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1510948833

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1510948833
Reply with quote  #2

1510948833
Report to moderator
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 23, 2015, 11:38:35 PM
 #41082

On the hardware end.. Im looking into adding an additional PCI-E 6 pin port to the pcb. Physically it can be done.What I dont know is what effect this will have. I THINK it will just pull the power it needs and not overpower the board. I know the limitation are the VRMS as I believe they are rated at 40A, and cannot be changed without a reball or surface mount station. Im not promoting overclocking, Im trying to relieve the stress on the pci-e port, as Ive burned about 8 pci-e ports. I repaired them all to working order, but I would rather not have this happen. Anyone have any experience with this before I kill a very expensive pcb? Wink

Vegas

do they make a dual pcie pcb connector that will just use the same holes in the pcb?  seems that would save a lot of work

I remember reading a while back that there is a higher rated PCI-e Connector then what most miner manufacturers are using see this article
http://www.tomshardware.com/reviews/power-supply-specifications-atx-reference,3061-12.html
http://www.digikey.com/videos/en/v/Molex-Mini-Fit-Plus-HCS/1653078210001

particularly this section


Not sure but maybe you can install Plus HCS terminals that brings rated power up from 192Watts to 288 Watts

Naw, a properly wired 6pin PCIE connector will have 3 +12v.
Whether our Titans use the middle one or not ...u would have to trace the connector on the PCB, most likely it does. Its video cards n the like that dont require the middle. Hence why that graphic notes only 2 12+ per 6pin PCIE.
The main issue is the 6pin PCIE connector itself(not the cables or anything). the actual connector is only rated to like 275 watts @ 12v

Either way, all this wiring crap is pointless. The main limit is 40Amps continuous on the VRM's and something like 45Amps max?? ... we already run them overspec.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 23, 2015, 11:42:41 PM
 #41083

Alright, my code rewrite for DCDC implimention is completed I think =P...
Itll be testing on my rig for a while, the changes are up on github.
I will be making a new release after this proves working correctly, with the new release ya'll get to test out my "upgrade" button on the STATUS page ... =)


Maybe next Ill come up w/ an autotune setup on all dies, for best voltages & clocks.... but that would be a huge undertaking =P, not sure how many people would use / want that.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
mindtrip
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1049



View Profile WWW
August 23, 2015, 11:42:47 PM
 #41084

http://www.molex.com/molex/products/family?key=megafit_power_connectors&channel=products&chanName=family&pageTitle=Introduction&parentKey=wire_to_board_connectors


This might require some modified input cables that fit the larger capacity so I envision some modified Y cable like KnC Supplied with the new connector to fit into the molex plug and the 2 whips to fit into our standard power supply plugs

vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 02:17:34 AM
 #41085

Great suggestions. Thanks for your input. Im already using thicker gauge wire in my Y connectors, but the main fault lies in the male PCI-E plug. Thats were most of the heat generates.

Anyway hardware updates:

Ive fixed so many cubes, I think my hands are going to fall off. Most people are reluctant to ship their cubes to me , and I dont blame them. It could be that they dont want to be without them, or dont want to incur the expensive shipping , or risk having them damaged in shipping. As I am the only person that I know of that can repair them, and even make them stronger than factory, I am getting so many cubes, im having a hard time keeping up. So Ive made some decisions that I think you guys are going to like.

Im going to start a manual that will include everything I know about repairing titan cubes. Ive put in a few hundered hours with these things. Most of it initially was all trial and error as there is no information about them on the internet, and Kncminer read the same old script when you call for support that says to tighten the single screw near the exhaust. blah, blah balh. I Tried that on 11 different cubes and it does NOT work, not once. Total lies. No surprise there. The same 11 cubes Ive repaired MY WAY to fully working order with MUCH lower temps and full voltage, no more .8v (dead dies). They are actually not dead by the way, they are idle. More on this in the manual. This manual will be the "master manual of titan cube repair". It will be massively detailed. The good news is , the repairs are very simple once you know what to do. There are about 10 different parts you will need that might cost under $100 total. The manual will include LOADS of pictures and some videos. The manual will have links to purchase the exact parts youll need. Initially I will be emailing the manual to our paid premium customers as a reward for early adopters and supporting us. I encourage those that receive the manual to please comment here on what your results were, good or bad. Im confident that youll be able to fix all of your cubes with the information contained. I respecfully ask, that you do NOT reveal the contents that are in this manual as I have spent hundreds of hours of testing to figure all of this out. You may comment on your results, and your opinion about the quality of the manual. Later down the road, it may become a separate paid item, not sure yet. I will be constantly updating the manual and will email a new version as it comes out. I have not started the manual yet as I needed to be positive that what I was doing was working, and that my repairs did not fail in a short time. ALL of my repairs have held, and not failed after the repair. So, I will begin the manual in the next few days, and we should see our first version released in about a month. Its going to be long and VERY detailed. I own 6 sets of titan batch 2, so just before release, I will create a you tube video showing how long my miners have been running (it will be over 24 hours on all of them), then I will go through each miner in the advanced section and show that all of them have low temps, and ALL of them have full voltage. Im seeing around 48C-55C on vrm temps after 24 hours @300MHZ. This will be absolute "proof of repair".

Vegas

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
Searing
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1540


Tips for help? 1BzbfMHCrTeLjc7eCGrYVhH3QXSRodSuke


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 05:49:55 AM
 #41086

Alright, my code rewrite for DCDC implimention is completed I think =P...
Itll be testing on my rig for a while, the changes are up on github.
I will be making a new release after this proves working correctly, with the new release ya'll get to test out my "upgrade" button on the STATUS page ... =)


Maybe next Ill come up w/ an autotune setup on all dies, for best voltages & clocks.... but that would be a huge undertaking =P, not sure how many people would use / want that.


I SOOOOOO want that...


On a side note.. I have 2 dies set to OFF I don't THINK they are completely gone but have had not luck on getting them up in any systematic manner ..if I used your
new (not yet made) mod above ....say just on one cube...you think there is a way to run thru such and see if it takes in some manner with a log file or some such
(or hell just watch it manually) I asked about something like this before and it was a no go....but a best voltages and clocks ..even if i just sit and watch it manually
on one cube may be a work around....(then again I probably don't know wtf I'm talking about ..I don't code) Smiley


Irregardless of the silly idea above which likely has nothing to do with what you mean ..I and others here appreciate your efforts Smiley


again end of the month i get paid and you get some btc Smiley

(that and the fact I can see my miners again.........so lonely) Smiley


       ▀
   ▄▄▄   ▄▀
   ███ ▄▄▄▄  ██
       ████
    ▄  ▀▀▀▀
▄▄
      ██    ▀▀
██▄█▄▄▄████████
▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▄▀▀███▀▀▀
██████████████████
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███▀▀▀▀▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀███ ▀
████▄▀▄▀▄▀████████
▀█████████████████
]
CoinPayments
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
█████
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████ ██
█████
shottky82
Newbie
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 4


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 08:07:45 AM
 #41087

Where to buy the premium version? Only on Ebay? Very intrested in the hardware manual, have 4 titan rigs and multiple cubes with different kinds of problems with some dies...
lenart_o
Member
**
Offline Offline

Activity: 78


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 11:39:06 AM
 #41088

Where to buy the premium version? Only on Ebay? Very intrested in the hardware manual, have 4 titan rigs and multiple cubes with different kinds of problems with some dies...
Like almost everyone Smiley
mindtrip
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1049



View Profile WWW
August 24, 2015, 11:42:05 AM
 #41089

Where to buy the premium version? Only on Ebay? Very intrested in the hardware manual, have 4 titan rigs and multiple cubes with different kinds of problems with some dies...

You can contact him directly for access to the premium code

vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 12:39:29 PM
 #41090

Where to buy the premium version? Only on Ebay? Very intrested in the hardware manual, have 4 titan rigs and multiple cubes with different kinds of problems with some dies...

You can contact him directly for access to the premium code

Heres the order page : http://bitcoinlasvegas.net/kncminer-titan-firmware-knc-miner-firmware-titan-firmware-kncminer-titan-customized-firmware-mod/

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 04:07:14 PM
 #41091

Where to buy the premium version? Only on Ebay? Very intrested in the hardware manual, have 4 titan rigs and multiple cubes with different kinds of problems with some dies...

You can contact him directly for access to the premium code

Naw, lets not confuse people, vegasguy handles all the premium sales =) ... if the .75% donation one works for you, thats already available as a flashable .img file from my github.

https://github.com/GenTarkin/Titan/releases/tag/v.98

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 04:58:29 PM
 #41092

Where to buy the premium version? Only on Ebay? Very intrested in the hardware manual, have 4 titan rigs and multiple cubes with different kinds of problems with some dies...

You can contact him directly for access to the premium code

Naw, lets not confuse people, vegasguy handles all the premium sales =) ... if the .75% donation one works for you, thats already available as a flashable .img file from my github.

https://github.com/GenTarkin/Titan/releases/tag/v.98

Hey GenTarkin, what are your thoughts on starting a new thread with links on the OP? Seems that our links and information is splintered throughout this thread. That way we can update the OP with latest information and latest links to free and premium. Let me know your thoughts. Anyone else is welcome to chime in.


Vegas

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 05:04:49 PM
 #41093

Alright, my code rewrite for DCDC implimention is completed I think =P...
Itll be testing on my rig for a while, the changes are up on github.
I will be making a new release after this proves working correctly, with the new release ya'll get to test out my "upgrade" button on the STATUS page ... =)


Maybe next Ill come up w/ an autotune setup on all dies, for best voltages & clocks.... but that would be a huge undertaking =P, not sure how many people would use / want that.


I SOOOOOO want that...


On a side note.. I have 2 dies set to OFF I don't THINK they are completely gone but have had not luck on getting them up in any systematic manner ..if I used your
new (not yet made) mod above ....say just on one cube...you think there is a way to run thru such and see if it takes in some manner with a log file or some such
(or hell just watch it manually) I asked about something like this before and it was a no go....but a best voltages and clocks ..even if i just sit and watch it manually
on one cube may be a work around....(then again I probably don't know wtf I'm talking about ..I don't code) Smiley


Irregardless of the silly idea above which likely has nothing to do with what you mean ..I and others here appreciate your efforts Smiley


again end of the month i get paid and you get some btc Smiley

(that and the fact I can see my miners again.........so lonely) Smiley



Yeah, it would most likely be a second script designed for tuning only of specific dies. I havent even thought about how to impliment yet and it would be a very hard thing to code up since there are so many operating variables of these miners, also its a one time thing, it tunes and its done. So, it doesnt have any long term headache savings. So, I may or may not get around to coding such mechanism, who knows. LOL! But, Ill keep everyone apprised.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 05:06:45 PM
 #41094

Where to buy the premium version? Only on Ebay? Very intrested in the hardware manual, have 4 titan rigs and multiple cubes with different kinds of problems with some dies...

You can contact him directly for access to the premium code

Naw, lets not confuse people, vegasguy handles all the premium sales =) ... if the .75% donation one works for you, thats already available as a flashable .img file from my github.

https://github.com/GenTarkin/Titan/releases/tag/v.98

Hey GenTarkin, what are your thoughts on starting a new thread with links on the OP? Seems that our links and information is splintered throughout this thread. That way we can update the OP with latest information and latest links to free and premium. Let me know your thoughts. Anyone else is welcome to chime in.


Vegas

Im up for it, but the last time I posted a new topic regarding my firwmare(in the beginning) ... it was moved out of this forum and into altcoin/mining, and in there it just went ignored, so I chose not to persue a new topic. Since the mods are obviously being retarded about my firmware, or something... no idea why they moved the topic. Whatever.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
TheRealSteve
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 686

FUN > ROI


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 05:24:04 PM
 #41095

Possibly because the KnCMiner Titan is a piece of hardware designed for mining altcoins?  As it is, this thread should probably be split, but this mix of company/bitcoin/scrypt hardware is what happens when companies retain a single all-encompassing thread.

GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 06:43:24 PM
 #41096

Possibly because the KnCMiner Titan is a piece of hardware designed for mining altcoins?  As it is, this thread should probably be split, but this mix of company/bitcoin/scrypt hardware is what happens when companies retain a single all-encompassing thread.

Yeahp, so its hard to really advertise in this section I guess, but then again many that have Titans, browse this section... so w/e LOL!

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
August 24, 2015, 07:36:53 PM
 #41097

We could post in both?

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
KNCFUN
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 265



View Profile
August 24, 2015, 09:29:54 PM
 #41098

I read on one of the threads this:

I have removed the aluminum plate, so now I can see the Ericsson VRM's..... this is bad: they are the BMR4641002 (max 40A) instead of the BMR4641008 (max 50A).  :mad: ...... no OC possible !

The 1002 has a OverCurrentProtection of 48A and looking to my Advanced-page: nearly all the VRMs are already around 46-47A (and this is KnC's default setting).
They should have used the 1008 instead, which has 50A and an OCP of 62A.

So my question is how difficult would it be to replace the VRM on the board with BMR4641008 (max 50A)? Is this something that can be done with a soldering iron , or does it require a special machine like a reball machine? Is it JUST the top chip or the entire board underneath that VRM chip too?

Vegas
 

Vegas where can I find (buy) BMR4641008/203 ?

WTB working or unstable KNC TITAN cubes.
GenTarkin
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2170


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 12:44:11 AM
 #41099

So, today I was monitoring writes being made to the SD card while the rig is running, and it had a consistent average of 2.5KB/s being written. I set out to find out what was doing this, turns out its lighttpd's access log piling up into a gigantic log when ur actually just sitting at the webgui idle.
Ive turned the access log off to conserve the SD card. Would this be a mod anyone want me to put into next release at all? Or do yall prefer the logging to be on?
Let me know.

GenTarkin's MOD Kncminer Titan custom firmware! v1.0.4! <--- CLICK HERE
Donations: bitcoin- 1Px71mWNQNKW19xuARqrmnbcem1dXqJ3At || litecoin- LYXrLis3ik6TRn8tdvzAyJ264DRvwYVeEw
vegasguy
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1246


"Yobit pump alert software" Link in my signature!


View Profile
August 25, 2015, 12:48:53 AM
 #41100

My vote turn logging off.

Vegas

I want to make sure everyone knows that I just released my software called "Yobit pump alert". THis is custom software that uses an algo to detect the start of a pump here on yobit, the second it starts. YOu can even filter the coins you see by price. Most pumps start less than 100 sats , so you can easily filter the cheap coins, so they are the only ones displayed Smiley https://bitcointalk.org/index.php?topic=1945937.msg20241953#msg20241953
Pages: « 1 ... 2005 2006 2007 2008 2009 2010 2011 2012 2013 2014 2015 2016 2017 2018 2019 2020 2021 2022 2023 2024 2025 2026 2027 2028 2029 2030 2031 2032 2033 2034 2035 2036 2037 2038 2039 2040 2041 2042 2043 2044 2045 2046 2047 2048 2049 2050 2051 2052 2053 2054 [2055] 2056 2057 2058 2059 2060 2061 2062 2063 2064 2065 2066 2067 2068 2069 2070 2071 2072 2073 2074 2075 2076 2077 2078 2079 2080 2081 2082 2083 2084 2085 2086 2087 2088 2089 2090 2091 2092 2093 2094 2095 2096 2097 2098 2099 2100 2101 2102 2103 2104 2105 ... 2138 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!