Bitcoin Forum
October 25, 2021, 02:24:12 AM *
News: Latest Bitcoin Core release: 22.0 [Torrent]
 
   Home   Help Search Login Register More  
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 ... 371 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 836755 times)
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
February 01, 2012, 10:38:52 PM
 #881

Are there any GPU which are economical that get less than say 100 MH/s?

6670... not really economical but they need no extra power.

Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1635128652
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1635128652

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1635128652
Reply with quote  #2

1635128652
Report to moderator
ZodiacDragon84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


The king and the pawn go in the same box @ endgame


View Profile
February 01, 2012, 11:37:52 PM
 #882

What about AMD's APU processors? Cant one of those puppies pull about 30 Mhash/s due to their Radeon core?
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_Fusion

http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/AMD_Fusion
The Reference is near the bottom of the CPU section

Looking for a quick easy mining solution? Check out
www.bitminter.com

See my trader rep at Bitcoinfeedback.com
!
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 12:15:34 AM
 #883

What about AMD's APU processors?
Your point being?
Those APUs do support OpenCL but there are no good boards for them - being targeted at the econo crowd, the mobos are low-cost microATX devices.
It makes no sense whatsoever to use one in a mining rig, especially since the integrated GPU is pathetically weak.
ZodiacDragon84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


The king and the pawn go in the same box @ endgame


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 12:18:01 AM
 #884

I recall seeing a board that supported the processor, that also had 3 well spaced PCIe 2.1 X16 slots, and 6 RAM slots DDR3. I think is was made by MSI?

Looking for a quick easy mining solution? Check out
www.bitminter.com

See my trader rep at Bitcoinfeedback.com
!
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 12:27:09 AM
 #885

ASUS F1A75-V EVO has three PCIE slots.
Still, the board and APU are more expensive and far less flexible than the epic MSI 890fxa-gd70 and a Sempron 145.
The strongest Llano is still weaker than a hd 6570 which itself is by no means a card suitable for mining.
Why bother?
ZodiacDragon84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


The king and the pawn go in the same box @ endgame


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 12:32:23 AM
 #886

why bother? academics lad, academics!

Looking for a quick easy mining solution? Check out
www.bitminter.com

See my trader rep at Bitcoinfeedback.com
!
jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 12:34:28 AM
 #887

Ahhh... I stand corrected Grin
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1017


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 01:11:20 AM
 #888

I would point out the 3850 APU get 60 MH/s.  Any GPU (or CPU for that matter) with speed fast enough to complete 2x nonce range between average LP is unlikely to have a very low efficiency. Even w/ 3 LP per block that is only 40 MH/s.  For those with speeds > 1x nonce range per LP and 2x nonce range per LP efficiency is kinda hard to guestimate because a lot might depend on variance. 

Still we are more concerned with botnets consist of everything from Pentium III to modern CPU and some of those CPU get <1MH/s.  Thus their efficiency is something like 2%-5% range.  No modern rig should have a 5% efficiency, or even 10% or even 50%.
ZodiacDragon84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


The king and the pawn go in the same box @ endgame


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 04:37:07 AM
 #889

I would point out the 3850 APU get 60 MH/s.  Any GPU (or CPU for that matter) with speed fast enough to complete 2x nonce range between average LP is unlikely to have a very low efficiency. Even w/ 3 LP per block that is only 40 MH/s.  For those with speeds > 1x nonce range per LP and 2x nonce range per LP efficiency is kinda hard to guestimate because a lot might depend on variance. 

Still we are more concerned with botnets consist of everything from Pentium III to modern CPU and some of those CPU get <1MH/s.  Thus their efficiency is something like 2%-5% range.  No modern rig should have a 5% efficiency, or even 10% or even 50%.

Understood. However, it is also my understanding from an underground site I occasionally peruse, that some botmasters have figured out remote GPU mining. They set up the drivers and APP SDK to auto download on update, get the python or other dependencies, and run a dumbed down daemon to hash away after system has been idle for x-time. They troll sites where gamers hang out bragging about their hardware, and if they have an ATI card, they just ping the ip from the forums, and go to town. That is another reason I like Doc Haribos Java. It dont hide from you.  Smiley

Looking for a quick easy mining solution? Check out
www.bitminter.com

See my trader rep at Bitcoinfeedback.com
!
Geir
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 546
Merit: 100



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:48:38 AM
 #890

I’ve actually gotten security warnings twice from Symantec on cgMiner.exe now. So apparently cgminer is being used form something malicious out there.

TOP Network   Enable real-world business with Blockchain 4.0 technology  |
–––––––   Whitepaper   |   Twitter   |   Facebook   |   Linkedln   |   Telegram   |   Medium  –––––––
|   No Transaction Fee   |   300K TPS   |   50 Million Active Users   |
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 09:12:54 AM
 #891

I’ve actually gotten security warnings twice from Symantec on cgMiner.exe now. So apparently cgminer is being used form something malicious out there.

its used to run on botnets. Its old news, most AVs have been warning about most miner apps for some time now, for this reason. The better AVs give a correct warning, stating the app is potentially unwanted (which would be the case if your machine was infected by a trojan and running a miner without your knowledge). Unfortunately most just call it malware or a trojan, even though cgminer by itself demonstrably is not.

DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1017


Gerald Davis


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 02:15:58 PM
 #892

I’ve actually gotten security warnings twice from Symantec on cgMiner.exe now. So apparently cgminer is being used form something malicious out there.

its used to run on botnets. Its old news, most AVs have been warning about most miner apps for some time now, for this reason. The better AVs give a correct warning, stating the app is potentially unwanted (which would be the case if your machine was infected by a trojan and running a miner without your knowledge). Unfortunately most just call it malware or a trojan, even though cgminer by itself demonstrably is not.

Hopefully with cgminer dropping CPU support this will go away. 
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 03:44:13 PM
 #893

Welcome to our new king of the hill

1   michaelmclees   33,117

33GH, thats some serious hashing power!

Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2012, 06:34:05 PM
 #894

Welcome to our new king of the hill

1   michaelmclees   33,117

33GH, thats some serious hashing power!

looks like he left early Cheesy

sturle
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1437
Merit: 1001

https://bitmynt.no


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2012, 06:59:51 PM
 #895

Are there any GPU which are economical that get less than say 100 MH/s?
My fanless HD 5450 does 15 Mhash/s..  Don't make fun of it -- when it found a block in May, it paid for itself many times!  Perhaps I should go back to mining solo on that one.  Luck may strike again!

Sjå https://bitmynt.no for veksling av bitcoin mot norske kroner.  Trygt, billig, raskt og enkelt sidan 2010.
I buy with EUR and other currencies at a fair market price when you want to sell.  See http://bitmynt.no/eurprice.pl
Warning: "Bitcoin" XT, Classic, Unlimited and the likes are scams. Don't use them, and don't listen to their shills.
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 07:10:46 PM
 #896

IN may difficulty was roughly 1/10th what it is now. You were extremely lucky then, youd have to be extraordinary lucky now.

ZodiacDragon84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


The king and the pawn go in the same box @ endgame


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:19:43 PM
 #897

We need luck.This block is starting to p**s me off! Cry

Looking for a quick easy mining solution? Check out
www.bitminter.com

See my trader rep at Bitcoinfeedback.com
!
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:27:11 PM
 #898

Meh. You get pissed off too easily. While bitminter server was having trouble, I temporarily moved to eclipse. My first full block there was 8M shares and in the next few blocks, there were 3 more 5-6+M share blocks without a single truly lucky one.
https://eclipsemc.com/block_stats.php (Ii started at their block 446).

ZodiacDragon84
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 266
Merit: 250


The king and the pawn go in the same box @ endgame


View Profile
February 02, 2012, 08:34:17 PM
 #899

patience is a virtue

Looking for a quick easy mining solution? Check out
www.bitminter.com

See my trader rep at Bitcoinfeedback.com
!
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2716
Merit: 1034


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
February 02, 2012, 09:13:10 PM
 #900

Welcome to our new king of the hill

1   michaelmclees   33,117

33GH, thats some serious hashing power!

looks like he left early Cheesy

He pushed up to almost 40 GH/s, then stales started rising.

What I found strange is that the new server isn't breaking a sweat, and still things slow down badly when the number of requests per second goes over a certain point. After watching the logs and numbers for a while I've located several bottlenecks in my programming. I hope to have a new version of the pool back end up sometime tomorrow. It should be able to make full use of the more powerful server.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com 2011-2020
Pages: « 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 [45] 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 56 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 ... 371 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!