Bitcoin Forum
August 18, 2018, 08:12:52 PM *
News: Latest stable version of Bitcoin Core: 0.16.2  [Torrent].
 
   Home   Help Search Donate Login Register  
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 375 »
  Print  
Author Topic: [1050 TH] BitMinter.com [1% PPLNS,Pays TxFees +MergedMining,Stratum,GBT,vardiff]  (Read 834510 times)
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 04, 2012, 11:49:17 PM
 #1101

Damn these long blocks!  Think its time for things to swing the other way now  Smiley

You're welcome:

639 45244 2012-03-03 12:35 5h 32m 473,702 547,532 57.9% 102.064 NMC BeaflagVonRathburg confirmed
638 169472 2012-03-03 12:35 5h 32m 475,886 1,496,978 27.2% 102.514 BTC BeaflagVonRathburg confirmed

1534623172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534623172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534623172
Reply with quote  #2

1534623172
Report to moderator
1534623172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534623172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534623172
Reply with quote  #2

1534623172
Report to moderator
Advertised sites are not endorsed by the Bitcoin Forum. They may be unsafe, untrustworthy, or illegal in your jurisdiction. Advertise here.
1534623172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534623172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534623172
Reply with quote  #2

1534623172
Report to moderator
1534623172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534623172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534623172
Reply with quote  #2

1534623172
Report to moderator
1534623172
Hero Member
*
Offline Offline

Posts: 1534623172

View Profile Personal Message (Offline)

Ignore
1534623172
Reply with quote  #2

1534623172
Report to moderator
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 307
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 06, 2012, 07:16:02 PM
 #1102

You're welcome:

639 45244 2012-03-03 12:35 5h 32m 473,702 547,532 57.9% 102.064 NMC BeaflagVonRathburg confirmed
638 169472 2012-03-03 12:35 5h 32m 475,886 1,496,978 27.2% 102.514 BTC BeaflagVonRathburg confirmed

Beaflag, can you do it again please  Smiley
Turbor
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1022
Merit: 1000


BitMinter


View Profile WWW
March 06, 2012, 07:35:12 PM
 #1103

Sending over some hashes soon. You will be GPU maxed Wink

Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 06, 2012, 10:25:32 PM
 #1104

You're welcome:

639 45244 2012-03-03 12:35 5h 32m 473,702 547,532 57.9% 102.064 NMC BeaflagVonRathburg confirmed
638 169472 2012-03-03 12:35 5h 32m 475,886 1,496,978 27.2% 102.514 BTC BeaflagVonRathburg confirmed

Beaflag, can you do it again please  Smiley

I've been having some serious stability issues. I'll get back on there if I can get it running again, but need some help.

- MSI H61-p21 MATX board
- G440 1.6ghz Celeron
- 1gb DDR3
- 4x 5870 on unpowered risers
- Cougar GX-1050 PSU
- 240v 20amp line

I had it running stable for a while, but I then bumper the clocks up to 960/170, from 950/170. I left it running and went to work. I noticed while at work that the machine went down for some reason. When, I got home I tried to restart it, but issues. I think it crashed X as it was still on, but not hashing. It will post, boot to the 11.04 menu screen, but when I try to start it just hangs at the Xubuntu 11.04 screen with the dots bellow it. Finally, it says:

unmount: can't unmount /cdrom: Device or resource busy.

My sata connectors are turned off in the bios so it doesn't make sense to me. I've tried clearing CMOS, but it didn't do anything. I know that this probably isn't the place for this, but I'd like to get this running soon.

P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 06, 2012, 11:07:04 PM
 #1105


I've been having some serious stability issues. I'll get back on there if I can get it running again, but need some help.

- MSI H61-p21 MATX board
- G440 1.6ghz Celeron
- 1gb DDR3
- 4x 5870 on unpowered risers
- Cougar GX-1050 PSU
- 240v 20amp line


This is probably not a good idea. No way that mATX motherboard was designed to deliver that much power to the PCIe slots.
Remove one or two cards, and see if it runs stable. If it does, you are going to need powered risers.

jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 12:33:20 AM
 #1106

This is probably not a good idea. No way that mATX motherboard was designed to deliver that much power to the PCIe slots.
Remove one or two cards, and see if it runs stable. If it does, you are going to need powered risers.
Roger that, the board has just one PCIe x16 slot and three PCIe x1 slots clearly not having been engineered for multi-GPU computing.
The fact of the matter is, only PCIe graphic cards are allowed to draw up to 75W per slot - all other PCIe devices are limited to 25W.
Do note that motherboards officially supporting triple- or even quadruple GPUs are equipped with additional power connectors for powering the cards up.

Fitting multiple PCIe x16 slots can be regarded as a kind of declaration by the manufacturer.
A typical mini-ATX board is what it is - an inexpensive piece of equipment meant for low-power PCs.

Did your combination of 5870s ever work in a stable fashion with this board?

Don't worry about that umount nonsense, the persistent liveusb version which you must be running is mounted as /cdrom.
While the system is running try issuing the command
cat /proc/mounts | grep cdrom
The result will point to your usb drive (/dev/sd*)
WhitePhantom
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 354
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 12:59:17 AM
 #1107

Did your combination of 5870s ever work in a stable fashion with this board?
I had it running stable for a while, but I then bumper the clocks up to 960/170, from 950/170.

That's the part that has me scratching my head.  Why'd it work stable until the overclock was increased and then fail to regain stability after returning to the original stable clocks?

Remove one or two cards, and see if it runs stable. If it does, you are going to need powered risers.

I would also be interested in knowing the results of trying it with only two or three cards.
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1005


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 01:36:00 AM
 #1108

It is right there in the quote you quoted.

"If it does you are going to need powered risers."

GPU can put 75W from the bus but most likey pulls no more than 35W.  However a mATX board likely wasn't designed for 120W+ from the bus.  If lucky you simply need powered extenders to take load off the bus.  If unlucky you damaged the VRMs on the motherboard.
Beaflag VonRathburg
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 443
Merit: 250



View Profile
March 07, 2012, 03:28:20 AM
 #1109

This is probably not a good idea. No way that mATX motherboard was designed to deliver that much power to the PCIe slots.
Remove one or two cards, and see if it runs stable. If it does, you are going to need powered risers.
Roger that, the board has just one PCIe x16 slot and three PCIe x1 slots clearly not having been engineered for multi-GPU computing.
The fact of the matter is, only PCIe graphic cards are allowed to draw up to 75W per slot - all other PCIe devices are limited to 25W.
Do note that motherboards officially supporting triple- or even quadruple GPUs are equipped with additional power connectors for powering the cards up.

Fitting multiple PCIe x16 slots can be regarded as a kind of declaration by the manufacturer.
A typical mini-ATX board is what it is - an inexpensive piece of equipment meant for low-power PCs.

Did your combination of 5870s ever work in a stable fashion with this board?

Don't worry about that umount nonsense, the persistent liveusb version which you must be running is mounted as /cdrom.
While the system is running try issuing the command
cat /proc/mounts | grep cdrom
The result will point to your usb drive (/dev/sd*)

I'd like to thank everyone for their assistance. The machine ran fine for three days at 950/170 and averaged around 1650 MHS. I actually have two of these machines that contain the exact same parts. I managed to bring the second machine online on another pool for testing purposes and it has been running without fault for almost 3.5 days now with the cards in it at:

0: 975 / 170   v1.100
1: 850 / 1200 v1.163
2: 975 / 170   v1.100
3: 975 / 170   v1.100
I have one weak card in that system that for some odd reason will not overclock, but that's another issue. I don't

I restarted the machine in question twice to disable some items in the bios, lower the ram voltage, and change some options. I changed the clocks to 960 around 12:30am and around 11am I noticed that it had gone down. I can check the pool's time line of my shift work to see the exact time, but I don't know if it would help any.

I've been working on it now for about an hour attempting to trouble shoot and here is what I have found. I am currently using the machine from the live boot CD to post this. I had the USB flash drive that I have the OS on installed. It would only sit at the Xubuntu 11.04 screen and eventually after about 30-45 minutes it would display the mounting error message. I booted the machine from the live CD with the flash drive still in the back by changing the boot order in the bios. With the flash drive in, but booting from the CD I had all sorts of odd issues. The flash drive did not immediately mount, but rather I had to remove it, and reinstall it for the drive to be seen. With it mounted, I went to explore the drive, but every time I attempt select the drive it shows for a split second and closes. I cannot access the files on the drive through a visual source. I haven't tried to terminal run anything as I'm pretty much a Linux noob. The machine would also not allow me to open any program or connect to my internet source. I removed the drive and am now running from the boot drive without any issues. I'm wondering if my physical reset of the computer via the pins somehow screwed up my flash drive. I'd really like to avoid having to reload the OS to a drive and reinstall all of the software, but that is my next logical thought process. As much as I would like to avoid it I think I'm going to give creating a new liveUSB from another flash drive a try unless anyone has any other thoughts?

jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 08:14:45 AM
 #1110

I haven't tried to terminal run anything as I'm pretty much a Linux noob.
Very well then, try this:
(1) with the USB stick inserted, boot up the system
(2) when you reach Xubuntu desktop, press the [Alt]+[F2] combination
(3) type xterm in the window that pops up
(4) a text-mode window will launch, that's the terminal
(5) issue the command sudo cat /proc/mounts | grep cdrom
     You should see a line beginning with something like
Code:
/dev/sda1 /cdrom
, this will tell you which device is mounted as /cdrom

     fdisk -l will give you plenty of info about mounted devices and filesystems, feel free to upload the output if it seems arcane.

     If you want to see the contents of the device mounted as /cdrom, type
Code:
ls -lh /cdrom
P4man
Hero Member
*****
Offline Offline

Activity: 518
Merit: 500



View Profile
March 07, 2012, 08:23:28 AM
 #1111

It also sounds as if your stick has gone haywire. Try another stick.

I still stand by my point that you are overstressing your motherboard way beyond what is was designed for though; it may or may not work for some time, it may go up in smoke, it may give all kinds of weird problems. Its not worth the risk and time troubleshooting IMO, just get some powered risers. Even if it wouldnt solve your current problem, it will likely prevent other, and possibly more serious ones, like a smoking motherboard.

jake262144
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 210
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 07, 2012, 09:14:36 AM
 #1112

...I still stand by my point that you are overstressing your motherboard way beyond what is was designed for though...
Preach to the choir, P4  Cheesy
The fact that he has two such boards and one has been running ok might indicate that the PCIe GPU power load is dangerously close to the design limit, a combination of four highly overclocked 5870 might be an edge case here.
At least use powered adapters for two of those four cards, this way you'll only need to purchase four adapters for both rigs - not a huge expense by any stretch of imagination.
boozer
Sr. Member
****
Offline Offline

Activity: 307
Merit: 250


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 04:10:56 PM
 #1113

Doc,

Is this the worse string of luck you have ever seen?   Sheesh!   Shocked   Every namecoin and BTC in the history is in the red cdf %, lol....   I keep waiting for the luck to swing Smiley

D&T,

Did you not like p2pool, or just come back to help us out?  Wink
DeathAndTaxes
Donator
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 1218
Merit: 1005


Gerald Davis


View Profile
March 09, 2012, 05:11:13 PM
 #1114

Did you not like p2pool, or just come back to help us out?  Wink

Temporarily.  I found a "glitch" w/ BAMT 0.4 and p2pool.  Don't have the time to upgrade those rigs till this weekend the other rigs already upgraded are still on p2pool.

Looks like I have wonderful timing.
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2012, 09:00:49 PM
 #1115

Yes, a lot of bad luck lately. I sure hope there is a lucky streak just around the corner.

Let's bring down this monster block now!

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
testconpastas2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:12:00 PM
 #1116

Hi everybody!.   Nice pool and client but a little bit "bad luckyed" since i came here . did I do this? Wink

i had a question I would like anyone answer me. In the luck graph  , each time axis segment is a month?


Thank you in advance.


Antonio.

Bitmessage: BM-2DAetLWJBKWHZoPbNCgg5z8jwaPpDYWwd4
gpg key id:C6EF5CE3
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 09, 2012, 10:36:17 PM
 #1117

i had a question I would like anyone answer me. In the luck graph  , each time axis segment is a month?

No, each block gets the same width in the graph. I should probably add timestamps on each one though.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
testconpastas2
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 199
Merit: 100



View Profile
March 09, 2012, 10:59:31 PM
 #1118

Thank you for the answer.   I was thinking it will be more "visual" if that graph has a fix time width  so you can see at a glance  last weeks or months' luck.   (some bad luck months will have 20 solved blocks and good lucked ones will have 40 for instance).

IMHO now  its more difficult to figure out how was last months luck.


 

Bitmessage: BM-2DAetLWJBKWHZoPbNCgg5z8jwaPpDYWwd4
gpg key id:C6EF5CE3
xkrikl
Full Member
***
Offline Offline

Activity: 159
Merit: 100


View Profile
March 10, 2012, 03:03:45 AM
 #1119

I have similar feelings as Antonio has ... is that bad luck bacause of me joining the pool? ;-)
I've directed my hashing power to your great pool month ago ... approx. where the Rewards graph starts today ... and I see that the pool since then generated only 1700 bitcoins instead of expected 2467 which is 30% less ... that's pretty bad luck! :-(

I like the pool and the interface. It's great!
Hope for better luck for the next month! :-)

Anyway I would have 2 suggestions to consider ...
- I'd like to see longer history for statistics as an option (blocks, shifts, ...)
- It would be also nice if the luck and reward graphs could go further into the past (again probably as an option)

Pajka
DrHaribo
Legendary
*
Offline Offline

Activity: 2436
Merit: 1019


Bitminter.com Operator


View Profile WWW
March 10, 2012, 09:14:00 AM
 #1120

Phew, kjakman finally ended that monster block. I hope we get some easier ones now.

Glad you like the pool, guys. And bad luck is just something that happens. Some time back we had +30% luck for a while. Luck will turn again, sooner or later! Let's hope it's now. Wink

IMHO now  its more difficult to figure out how was last months luck.

Yes, but it makes it easier to judge luck in general when every block gets the same size in the graph. If unlucky blocks get much more space, it will look like we have bad luck all the time. Maybe a new graph would be useful though that shows luck per time instead of per block.

- I'd like to see longer history for statistics as an option (blocks, shifts, ...)
- It would be also nice if the luck and reward graphs could go further into the past (again probably as an option)

Both are on my list. I will first add pagination for blocks, shifts and transaction history. Luck and reward graphs are lower priority.

▶▶▶ Bitminter.com - Your trusted mining pool since 2011.
Pages: « 1 ... 6 7 8 9 10 11 12 13 14 15 16 17 18 19 20 21 22 23 24 25 26 27 28 29 30 31 32 33 34 35 36 37 38 39 40 41 42 43 44 45 46 47 48 49 50 51 52 53 54 55 [56] 57 58 59 60 61 62 63 64 65 66 67 68 69 70 71 72 73 74 75 76 77 78 79 80 81 82 83 84 85 86 87 88 89 90 91 92 93 94 95 96 97 98 99 100 101 102 103 104 105 106 ... 375 »
  Print  
 
Jump to:  

Sponsored by , a Bitcoin-accepting VPN.
Powered by MySQL Powered by PHP Powered by SMF 1.1.19 | SMF © 2006-2009, Simple Machines Valid XHTML 1.0! Valid CSS!